August 16, 2012

  • Presentation Poetry: "Softening the Edges"

     

     

    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    8:15p.m. pdt August 15, 2012

    on edge again

    powerful prickly

    never know why
    and it hurts

    precise painful perilous brittle cutting seething
    agony searing the temples
    pricking purveyors of the impossible
    ripping serenity from the hinges of my sanity

    why do I feel this way why
    ?
    what is wrong today
    ?
    it's hot
    yes
    it's stifling

    but I have an air conditioned soul, don't I
    ?

    I'm the electric poet aren't I
    ?
    rescuing wisps of emotion from the abyss
    no.....don't talk to me
    don't bother me
    my soul SCREAMS...
    get out of my way
    damn it hurts so much

     

     

    but then,

    too slowly to be sudden
    a cloud, and then another
    appear on the horizon of possibility
    questions fade with father Sol
    as He slowly disappears
    beneath the line of trees rimming my painful brain

    and I relax

    finally
    awestruck with the passing of circumstance
    aware and awake and alive again

    the questions become answers

    if

    only

    for a moment

    I don't care about past prickly painful power
    I only care about impending solace
    as the crescent of the baby moon appears
    and Mother Earth begins her rest for the night
    under a blanket of pink pulcrhitude

    goodnight my demons

    hopefully I shall not meet you on the morrow
    and the pink will soothe sensing sure  
    and serenity will prevail again
    as she is
    and
    as she has
    during my yesterdays

    and tonight

    in the pink

    EDIT: 8/16/12 6:30a.m. pdt. BEHIND THE PRESENTATION: So last night I'm out taking my evening walk, trying to forget the depression which colored most of my day for no really reasonable reason. When pink appears like this, and it's usually a bit later in the year, I usually head to the beach, as with my Oct. 2010 PhotoPost: Pink Sunset. I'd only just posted a series of sunset cloudscapes on July 13th. But y'all have to know by now how much I enjoy looking at, photographing, and contemplating clouds, (which are not a normal enough occurence in the part of Southern California where I live most of the year.) Eager to snap some photos as the sun set, in preparation for a sequel to my internet movie "Cloudscaping" from 2008, I rushed home and grabbed the camera. (Still don't own a cellphone!) My home puter has a bad video card and it took forever to create this entry. The process included inspiration for a poem, and my plan was to print the entire poem across the images, like the title card. After FOUR total crashes and reboots, it was nearing 10pm, so I modified the post somewhat. Wish I could have gone down to the water, but magic time waits for no man! Hope this one gets some recs! That would really send the depression packing. winky  MFN/ppf

    Posted: August 15, 2012 10:04 PM

Comments (26)

  • moving, absolutely beautiful. Oh how I enjoy the beauty of poetry... the motion, emotion in the flow of word. Inspired =]

  • Very moving!  I feel like I am in church and I should maintain silence.

  • i love alliteration more than is reasonable.  and this was most lovely.  

  • I loved it! I can relate all too well with the depression :(

  • It was a beautiful sky last night!

  • Really phenomenal photos.  I really enjoy photography too.  I could see the feelings of your poem almost as well as I could see the photos. 
    I recently replaced my frequently crashing computer...I wasn't posting as much back then, if at all because of it so kudos to you for being persistent. 

  • I like it, it captures the feelings well, and the photos are beautiful.

  •  That's - lovely ! *loud applause !*

    I recommend your poetry !

  • Beautiful images! I love the sky glories! Makes me wish I had a glassed-in tower so I could enjoy it whenever I wished.

    The computer woes sound TERRIBLE. I am glad you persevered enough to share with us.

  • Lovely poem... prickly hot, my dear? I love the nice photos, they certainly create wonderful mood.

  • @RedHotFairy - Dear Fairy, I'm blocked from your site so can't visit, but I did want to thank you so much for your comments and recommendations.
    MFN/ppf

  • I absolutely love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply
    back as I'm wanting to create my own site and would love to find
    out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named.
    Cheers!

  • I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I can't
    in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.

    Do you have any? Kindly permit me know in order that
    I could subscribe. Thanks.

  • It's amazing to visit this site and reading the views of
    all friends regarding this post, while I am also keen of getting familiarity.

  • Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from
    an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I'm not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I'm thinking about creating my own but I'm not sure
    where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?

    Thanks

  • Does your site have a contact page? I'm having problems locating
    it but, I'd like to send you an e-mail. I've got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  • It's perfect time to make some plans for the future and it
    is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or
    advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

  • Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog?
    I'm not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I'm thinking about making my own but I'm not
    sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?
    Thanks

  • I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  • I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?

    A handful of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer
    but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any suggestions
    to help fix this problem?

  • What's up, its good article concerning media print, we all
    know media is a enormous source of data.

  • It's amazing for me to have a web page, which is beneficial in favor
    of my know-how. thanks admin

  • Quality articles or reviews is the important to interest the people to visit the website, that's what this web site is providing.

  • Howdy! I could have sworn I've visited this web site before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it's
    new to me. Regardless, I'm certainly delighted I discovered it and
    I'll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories