August 17, 2012

  • Are We Impressed Yet?

    The Olympics were fantastic, weren’t they? Weren’t you impressed with the opening and closing ceremonies? The overall achievements of so many wonderful young people? NBC’s coverage? Ryan Seacrest? Hey, I thought I was going to be impressed, and in some instances I was. I recently hooked up with American gymnast McKayla Maroney, one of the “Fierce Five”. She’s back in the states now, but for a few fleeting moments (in my effin dreams) we toured London and the continent. My puter’s graphics card (you know, the device which allows me to create composite graphics, video, etc.) has been acting up for months. (If you’d like to help me out, there’s a little paypal thingamajig over on the right somewhere, asking for money. hint hint. ) I wanted to present a rich, multi image post of some of our adventures, but alas, I can only give you a small inkling of one of the places we visited.

    In the country of France, we went to the Louver, er, I mean the Louvre, and saw the Mona Lisa!

    It’s a world famous impressive work of art!

    We weren’t impressed.

    Oh, by the way…….A lot of the older posts from 2004 through 2006, before “Themes” were introduced. have broken image links. Occasionally, I go back entry by entry and correct all the broken code. I recently did this with my 2004 Athens Olympics entry. Check out an early WhenWordsCollide blog entry HERE. HERE’s another one. You’ll find that I was creating eye popping original blogs even back then! EDIT: 7:25p.m. I got a couple of comments which told me I looked “grumpy” and “not happy” so I changed my expression. MFN/ppf

    Posted: August 16, 2012 8:41 PM

Comments (14)

  • This gave me a good chuckle

  •  You … don’t look happy here, Mike ?

  • Today I had to uninstall a LG television from the wall. Some stuff just don’t work out of the box.

    I have a e-GeForce graphics card with a fan sitting on my desk and I can see some dust in the heat sink that has a built in fan. Maybe your fan just needs a little cleaning so that heat would not make your graphics card act up. Maybe I could exchange my graphics card with yours?

  • great job

    i was not happy with nbc’s coverage
    and that gymnast has a bratty face. she was short on sportsmanship too

    haha matching your face with hers

  • I only watched the closing ceremony and the only reason I watched it was because I knew the Spice Girls were going to perform lol

  • To be honest I wasn’t impressed with the Olympics this year… so much so that I probably only watch an hour or so total.

  • If i had her coach, I would have a hard time smiling too.

    Parents who hope to have him coach their daughters sign a strict in loco parentis contract with him, that allows him (among other things) to limit their food intake. He has the worst record in US Olympic history for PERMANENTLY injured athletes,whom he then dumps. One of the local girls was offered a slot on his try out team, but when her parents read the contract, and the restrictions, they took a pass.

  • I watched the opening ceremonies, but was not all that inspired to watch the closing ones, which I was told were great (of course). Oh my, that face! I think it’s a very good thing that I do not have papparazzi following me around throughout my day, because I am sure they could catch some doozies of me!

  • that girl irritated me so much.

  • You look so grumpy! Seeing McKayla and being with her, even if only in your dreams, should put a smile on your face.
    I enjoyed the Olympics…Gotta love the Queen doing the Bond thing! And I always love gymnastics, though my fave (and no dreams day or night) was Aly (Alexandra R.) … And Gabby, too!…Watching your morph up in the top left corner made me think of this;
    http://youtu.be/iMwyun2KUI8  

    MUSIC – Eytan and the Embassy (whole album)

     (I posted it on my Facebook in July and have been singing along with this album ever since. It feels both new and of our generation.)

  • Coverage of Olympics in Croatia was pretty neat, with one exception when they showed a Champion’s League game instead of Croatian national waterpolo team. But at least they put that game on another channel, so it was all good :)

  • haha Your funny. Yeah I was pretty impressed with the Olympics this time. It kind of inspired me in so many ways. My favorite was the Rhythmic Gymnastics.. so amazing!

  • She has a ‘meh’ moment, my handsome sir. I like the Oscar touch at the bottom of the second pic.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories