June 5, 2006

  • poems27 


    "The Positive Future of Poetical Thought"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    © February 18, 1975



    While pondering books which emulate
    the essences of modern criticism
    I think back to Shelley
    And the basic denial of Godlike
    Persuasion.
    Then aided by unfailing vision, I
    can retrace the steps of my
    own inabilities,
    And I find that answers
    which seem easy now
    Did not seem so easy once.


    How is it that my
    essence of poetical thought
    Had lain so much in searches
    And the searches have
    Been terminated,
    Pending greater experience?


    How can I keep on writing
    If My Jesus can give
    Me the answers
    To the questions
    I had asked?


    How can I exist in poetry
    When style is judged by
    Experience
    And I have none
    Anymore.


    The answer rides quickly
    Like an unbridled horse
    Into my ramblings
    And I see
    Clearly
    That Poetical Thought
    Is a universal
    which uses me,
    In many ways--
    And asks questions
    Which may or may not be answered
    And it is only through
    Intense insight
    That they may be answered
    At all...


     


    "Prayer for Rain"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    © December 12, 1977



    Lifting lips to the scorching sunlight.
     Thirsting silently for pleasure.
    The clouds part wistfully
     They leave no room for water.
    Invisible tears fall from my face.
     There is no water here, you see.
    The grasses moan
     While nowhere man is free.


    Aggression mounts unavoidably
      Today,
      as in all days.
    And we only take it out on others.
    For the tears cease to come
    And the water fails to fall from the sky.


    Where is the pleasure of love?
    What happened?
    Will time answer both questions.
    Will he soothe us with
      the waters of life
      and the waters of love
    Or will he perish softly
    As he slowly dies of thirst.


     


    "A Sad Song"  Cathy poem
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    © October 23, 1978 4:30 p.m .



    Like a puppy patiently waiting for it's master 
    yet anything but patient
    Heart beating faster...
    Once you could slow it until I felt ecstasy.
    Like a flower waiting for the bee to come.
    but closing at nightfall alone...
    Once you caused my mind to buzz in rapture.
    Like a thirsty vegetable anticipating the waters of purity
    The waters flow
    But they hardly sink into the pores
    Once you could make me flow just by looking at me


    The story goes that the puppy waited
    for his master on the same streetcorner
    Every evening -
    And one day the man went away
    never to return
    The puppy stayed at the corner
    Till the elements killed him.
    A sad story.


    I will be your puppy
    And you will always appear
    Then say you have to leave
    And be a puppy for some other master
    I'll keep waiting on the corner
    for a miracle


     


    "Kismet's Holiday"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    © September 3, 1990 1:15 a.m.



    If words could tell you all you need to know right now
    I wish the fates would grant me words to say.
    A lasting friendship needs a bond. Please see how
    A knowing glance or smile comes into play.


    Thank you for a moment's dreams to heal,
    Thank you so sincerely for what bonds
    We might now feel.
    A few hundred miles or a talk on the phone
    I have looked to your eyes for the
    Power they own.


    If love were just a word and not a feeling
    I'd say I love you now before the day fades by
    It would be impossible for me to say I do not
    Care for you
    Because I see in you a purpose, and
    Hear heartquestions breathe a sigh.


    Hear me, gentle spirit, I have not the words
    You see.
    Hear me, dear Alyssa, with all due sincerity
    If two souls can touch in heaven, all
    attendant emotion breeds elation and mirth
    I reach out for a moment and wonder
    Could I ever touch your soul on Earth?


    I see your pout, I feel your pain,
    Your life's frustration
    I'm an old brick wall but I want to learn
    imagination
    I hope to help you see I'm not too
    rigid in my ways


    Thank you for your stories and your smile
    Thank you so sincerely for memories
    to last me for a while
    I did not know what to expect
    of you dear
    But my feeling confirms you have
    nothing to fear.

Comments (36)

  • Forlorn, questioning, nostalgic musings here.  My favorite kind of poetry, if it's good and reminds me of my own thoughts, mirrors me, not mimics because I am not yet so wise.  Sublime is the word that comes to mind, and sea - vexations, provocations, hush.  I stopped at this verse of yours - How can I keep on writing
    If My Jesus can give
    Me the answers
    To the questions
    I had asked? " and think on things similar.  I think of the multiple levels of Torah, and Paul, and Gospel, and interpretation of all sacred texts.  I think on man's experience through time, our learning journey, our wonder.  God, the Universe, is bigger than all of us.  Jesus can give you your answers, continually, flowing all the time, and still you would not be full until the end and all was one (and one is all to be a rock and not to roll)... but the questions are as beautiful, as growing, fractal upon fractal neverending (world without end amen?).    Beautiful beautiful post today, Mike.  Thanks!

  • :sunny:Michael these really speak to me today -- feeling sensative for some reason

  • So sad do you really feel that sad mike, Judi

  • Hey Michael, not a lot of time this morning, but I did enjoy your poetry. I really enjoyed "Prayer For Rain." It really coincides with a lot of what I'm working on currently.

    BE blessed!
    Steve

  • Hi Mike,

    Don't worry about messages asking you to participate in Socrates Cafe.  We have no intention of deleting you.  We are trying to identify our membership.  We have a large number of people who never participate and have never participated.  We also have members who have apparently abandoned their own sites.  Board members are visiting everyone's sites, mine included, to ask them to participate.  We are doing this periodically.  We will eventually delete those members who do not respond in any way.  We will not be deleting anyone who is active or expresses an interest in being active.  We have had some people resume participation because of the visits.

    Nancy

  • All of that sounds real pretty Mike. I just wish I appreciated poetry more than I do. I'm sure I would your stuff facinating.

  • Sad maybe but the feelings expressed give lessons on how to use words to make these feelings almost visible.

  • It's wonderful when responses are posted in one's blog but some days when overseas or even local blog friends are busy with something else more urgent, there could be less or none. I get very few eprops/comments but I am not shattered because these few comments are all so sincere and full of sense. Just try reading some of the other responses in other blogs, many of them don't even make sense? It's the quality of responses that is far more important and I try to practice this myself whenever I'm responding to blogs. Also, I go by the honorable words, "It's more blessed to give than to receive." Overall, the numbers are far less important than the essense.

    Having said the last line, it is even more important to post quality blogs like what you've got here. There'd be no need of a huge following. There is no need of having any following but rather having a good blog ring of choice friends. Anyone who has a whole campus of students can get loads of responses just by requiring the chore but even then, not all teachers would do this. And so it is more of a personal thing really, to blog, I mean. To gather a few but sincere and quality responses like what you've got above is excellent.

    If you did establish an eclectic ring of blog pals, that would be wonderful. I won't mind participating. A ring with a few members is better than a ring with just nonsense to get by. Keep blogging Mike. You've got a wonderful thing in here.

  • ppl come and ppl go and i never get used to them being gone- mostly bc it takes forever for me to acknowledge them... but the whole clown thing? those i don't understand. i like the really good ones, but most of the clowns i see are plain scary. they don't make me laugh. usually they have the opposite effect on me. like a nightmare i can't wake up from! :eek:

  • There is certainly a lot to find out about this topic.

    I really like all the points you have made.

  • At this time it looks like Movable Type is the best blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I've read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  • Saved as a favorite, I really like your web site!

  • Hi, Neat post. There is a problem with your site in internet explorer, would test this?
    IE nonetheless is the market chief and a good portion of people will
    omit your great writing due to this problem.

  • Heya i'm for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really
    useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give
    something back and aid others like you aided me.

  • I am now not positive where you are getting your info,
    however good topic. I needs to spend a while studying much more or figuring out
    more. Thanks for wonderful info I used to be in search of this info for my mission.

  • If you wish for to take a good deal from this article then you have to apply such techniques
    to your won weblog.

  • Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled
    upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I'll be subscribing for your feeds and even I achievement you get admission to persistently fast.

  • Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to return the choose?.I
    am trying to in finding things to improve my web site!I guess its ok to make use of some of your ideas!!

  • This is a topic which is close to my heart... Cheers!
    Where are your contact details though?

  • This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am actually pleassant to
    read everthing at alone place.

  • whoah this weblog is magnificent i really like reading your articles.

    Stay up the good work! You recognize, many individuals are looking around for this information, you could help them greatly.

  • Hi to every one, it's truly a good for me to pay a quick visit this
    web site, it consists of useful Information.

  • Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thanks a lot!

  • Simply wish to say your articlle is as astonishing.

    The clearness for your post is just cool and that i can think you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine along with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thsnks a million and please keeep up the enjoyable work.

  • I'm not sure exactly why but this blog is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?

    I'll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  • This is a topic that is near to my heart... Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?

  • Hi, I do believe this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it
    ;) I may return once again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the
    best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  • Thanks to my father who stated to me regarding this website,
    this website is truly awesome.

  • Good way of explaining, and nice paragraph to get
    facts concerning my presentation subject matter,
    which i am going to deliver in school.

  • Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I've been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Appreciate it

  • Hi there, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this article.

    It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  • Hiya very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I'll bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I am happy to find numerous helpful information here in the publish, we want develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  • Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you're working
    with? I've loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers
    and I must say this blo loads a lot quicker then most. Can you reecommend
    a gpod hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  • Hi there! I juist wanted to ask if you ever
    have any problems wth hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked
    and I ended uup losingg months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  • This is really interesting, You're a very skilled blogger.
    I've joined your feed and look forward too seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I've shared your web site in my social networks!

  • Hi there, You have done an excellent job. I'll certainly digg
    it and personally recommend to my friends. I'm confident they'll
    be benefited from this website.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories