May 7, 2009

  • Featured Grownups: "This Blog's For You"

    featuredgrownups2

    Occasionally I will write an entry for the Featured Grownups blogring. The prompt this time out is:  "Pick a Xangan. Write a letter to that person telling him/her why Xanga wouldn't be the same without him/her. Quid Pro Quo: 1. Be positive, not negative. Write about what the person adds to Xanga that makes it a good place to be.It would be cool if you could keep the person you are writing about anonymous. ...my goal isn't really to point out individual Xangans as being awesome so much as it is to show some Xanga-love. Now, raise your imaginary glass in the air, and tell some Xangan or another that "this blog's for you!"


    I really don't want to select anyone in particular, because (and I can only speak for myself) I know whomever is "picked" in exercises like this will be deliriously happy, but those who might be overlooked might not feel as good. So, in the spirit of Universality, I will write my "This Blog's for You" entry to the "Universal Xangan." Something a bit different, but I'm always saying I "don't blog like most folks."

    This Blog is for you.

    Dear Xangan,

    You might have been present at the inception of this blogging service, or you might have started blogging here yesterday. You may be incredibly wordworthy, a fantastic writer and master of the English language, or you may be from another country than I, and your language is fleeting, sporadic, and haltingly imprecise. You may be pretty popular here on Xanga, or you might be shy and intimidated by others you perceive as more experienced in the art of social networking.

    You may be male, female, childish, rich in the throes of youthful abandon, or older, more experienced, and sure of yourself. You may be a master of HTML coding, and your blog is fantastically presented, with lots of groovy graphics and wonderful words. Or you may be "computer illiterate" and might not even know how to make a link.

    The world is a big place, teeming with wonder and specialness. Before the internet, the various denizens of the world population pretty much had to keep to themselves and the souls within their close vicinity. Now, almost a couple of decades after the institution of the internet became a part of so many of our lives, we can use this great medium not only to find the answers to almost any question, but to find camaraderie and friendship all over this grand world.

    The sliver of life which presents itself on your blog is unique and also universal. You may write about your daily routine such as it is, interspersed with family tales, photos of your pets, and good tidings for all. Or else you may be a bit snarky, with a strange sense of humor you find stimulated and goaded to perfection in this environment. You may think your boyfriend, husband, wife, special gal, dearly departed family member, goldfish, dog, cat, hampster, or ferret is the center of your personal universe, and this drives you musings , or else you consider yourself a true writer, chronicling the ongoing history of pop culture, or contributing to the arts and letters of humanity.

    You may be incredibly religious, and you wish to preach the word of whichever diety you worship to the masses. Or else you are secular and scientific, regaling your audience with facts and figures inherently important to you.

    You are funny. You are meticulous. You are sad. You are informative. You are a human being who has coupled with the technological advances of internet social networking so much that your blog is a part of you, and your readers can tell this simply by visiting your corner of cyberspace.

    You could be blogging somewhere else, but you chose to become a Xangan, a badge which carries with it the promise of new friends, new experiences, and new connections, and perhaps the re-establishment of old ones. You may blog each and every day, spitting out bits of wisdom in your pulses. Or you may have no pulse, and might decide to only pen a few important words every two or three weeks.

    You might be a staple of the "front pages" of the Xanga world, constantly looking for your internet fame and forturne,  or you may keep to yourself, rarely visiting other blogs in the Xangasphere.

    Dear, delightful Xangan. I sometimes think I know you well, and sometimes I don't know you at all. You may be nakedly honest as an "individual", or slyly invisible, preferring to act omnipresent in the community. You are all the parts of an incredible experience in world communication, whether you know it or not.

    Thank you for your posts. They are the glue which binds your blog together, and which in fact binds the whole community. Thank you as well for your comments, those reminders that we are not only together as a people, but we sometimes agree, and sometimes disagree, but that doesn't stop us from continuing the conversation.

    I wrote a poem a long time ago called "Thank you for you." I wish to dedicate this sentiment to you, the eternal Xangan, whether you are here right now reading this, or whether you left in the past and will never glimpse this tribute to your blog's ongoing existence.

    It's not the words or the pictures. It's not the videos or the coding. It's not the toolbars or the modules or the themes which are important in life. In acutality, it's not the blogging service or even the internet which binds us. It is our humanity, our shared existence as humans which matters most in our lives. The internet, and Xanga in particular, from my standpoint, have helped, and are currently helping to foster good will and friendship amongst humans. And this is important.

    Dear Xangan, thank you for being a part of this individual life. This blog's for you!

    Yours most respectfully,

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool


    More "anonymous" tributes to Xangans can be found on Featured Grownups HERE.  EDIT: 6:49 p.m.pdt. Neat to come home and see (after the maintenance anyway) that this entry is at #29 on Top Blogs and with 10 recs, is currently at #11 on Most Rec'd. I really appreciate that. Thank you so much to all of you who put me there again. This blog's for you, I might say. MFN/ppf

Comments (68)

  • I like it when someone takes off on a path that's a little different. I'm still debating if I'm going to participate...but yours was well written, and I could tell you'd been thinking about it a while.

  • A very thoughtful tribute Mike.

    Thanks.

  • Mike, this is incredibly written. So thoughtful, I am constantly impressed by your writing skill! Keep up the good work, and thank you!

  • Thanks to you I just found a blogring with what I think is full of very read-worthy bloggers. Thanks.

    I like this tribute too...very general, yet heartfelt....kudos sir

  • This is awesome that you were able to write to everyone. Too cool!

  • This was really cool.

  • Great idea.  It's always nice to show people you care.

  • Awesome x 2.

  • this is the best sort of tribute blog.

    ryc: that may be the most thoughtful comment, ever. and you're right; it's common for people not to maintain communication with the people who leave comments. that's why i try to visit a person's page to make a response, if i do. it definitely works.

    there isn't much pressure to write about anything in particular when you just write what you want, and that's what i do. if it's popular, then that's cool. i remember when it wasn't, but i still do it, and here i am.

  • That's awesome
    :love:

  • This was wonderful! I loved your spin on it!

  • You know what I really like about this post?  I think that it really captures the spirit of what Xanga is, and what it can be.  Thanks for writing that. 

  • everyone is saying very cool  so i will say this post is totally radical dude!

  • p.s holy crap i didnt know bill cosby had a xanga site!!!

  • You're welcome :)

  • This is so thoughtful of you to include everyone! Very nicely written, enjoyed reading it; thanks!

  • This letter was downright spiritually uplifting!  I, too found a new blog ring (I am so new) and you even made it sound like you could be writing to me because I was just now apologizing to ten because I didn't know how to make a link to one of my earlier blogs. And so, I say, right back at cha, that blog is for you, too!

  • This was nice, I liked that you never singled anyone out....surely everyone can find themselves in this post. I mean without......whatever it is, Xanga just would not be xanga. If there were not sad, angry, moving, stupid, helpful, etc. posts what would we all do!

  • RYC;  LOL...you are so right.  Randy is one of the five people I had in mind.  If you think about it, almost all spiritual journeys begin because something scares us.

    The universal you.  Good job.  And you are most kindly welcome for the lovely tribute.  *curtsies*  Hope you had a great birthday.  I see Disneyland hit your list of things to do on the big day.  I subbed and visited the doctor on mine.  Nell took me to dinner also.

    HUGS!!!

  • A true tribute to all Xangians. Nice to see you around again. :wave:

  • @gwennieg - Dear Thora, I did think about it a lot last night, but the actual writing took about a half hour. It was like writing one of my usual comments, actually.

    @epitomeof_aberrance - Dear Ice, Featured Grownups has always been a good place to find fine bloggers. My own Internet Island was pretty popular for a while during it's 2 year existence, but I got burned out writing all the prompts, and didn't want to repeat myself.

  • You always have my support Mike...One day you will be the blogging champion in Xangaland!

  • Mike, I think this is one of my favorite posts that you have written.  It encompasses the Xanga experience perfectly.

    How like you not to leave anyone out!  : )

  • Very well said/written -- especially: It is our humanity, our shared existence as humans which matters most in our lives.

    Thanks for including all of us in "This Blog is for You".

    Blessings, prayers 'n cheers :heartbeat: (that emoticon my not display properly, so . . . here's this )

  • That's what I always disliked about beauty contests. It makes one girl deliriously happy, but brings disappointment to dozens of other equally beautiful girls.

  • RE: My site: I never really droped you from my radar. I limit how many Xangans I sub to so that I'm not overwhelmed, but yours is one of those sites. So I'm usually reading even when I don't comment.

    Stay well!

  • Hi my dear BM,
    or shall i call you Mike?Well I must congratulate you on this post!Come to think of it,it is our humanity that binds us together @Xanga.com.The Xteam makes it easy also.To be honest I stumbled upon this URL by chance.Serendipitous I daresay!6 months ago I could never have imagined having a wonderful friend like u in the US.
    Love sadaboy india.

  • This was very nice, Mike! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it!

  • Wow what an excellent blog :) You are a great writer!

  • This is an amazing post.  It saddens me to think that Xanga might soon be history, just when I'm getting reacquainted with everyone here, meeting new (or new-to-me) Xangans, and trying to get back into the blogging habit.  Let's hope Xanga can be saved so that posts like this can continue to uplift and enrich us all.

  • This is a beautiful post and portrait of Xangans :) Thanks for sharing x

  • My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post's to be exactly
    I'm looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn't mind writing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you
    write in relation to here. Again, awesome site!

  • Regarding the new types of textile buildings, it seems that requirements from authorities have been unclear and have varied from case to case.

  • Excellent web site. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending it to several buddies ans also sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thanks on your sweat!

  • Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it ;) I
    will return once again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help others.

  • This blog was... how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something which helped me.
    Kudos!

  • Hi there terrific blog! Does running a blog like this take a large amount
    of work? I have virtually no knowledge of programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow,
    if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog
    owners please share. I know this is off topic however
    I simply needed to ask. Thanks a lot!

  • Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It's on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

  • Hello, I check your new stuff on a regular basis.

    Your humoristic style is awesome, keep doing what you're doing!

  • Asking questions are genuinely nice thing if you are not understanding something entirely, however this article gives nice understanding
    even.

  • Hi! I simply want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the excellent info you
    have got here on this post. I am coming back to your site for more soon.

  • My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using Movable-type on various websites for about a
    year and am nervous about switching to another platform.

    I have heard great things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  • This is the right site for everyone who really wants to find
    out about this topic. You understand so much its almost hard
    to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subject which has been discussed
    for many years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  • Hi there, I enjoy reading through your article.
    I like to write a little comment to suppport you.

  • Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using
    for this site? I'm getting fed up of WordPress because I've had
    issues with hackers and I'm looking at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  • I got this web page from my pal who told me concerning this site and at the moment this time I am visiting this web page and reading
    very informative posts at this place.

  • Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many of
    us have created some nice practices and we are looking to trade strategies with other folks,
    why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  • Inspiring quest there. What occurred after? Take care!

  • fantastic issues altogether, you simply won a logo new reader.
    What could you suggest in regards to your put up
    that you just made a few days in the past? Any positive?

  • Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you
    aided me.

  • It's appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this
    article. I want to read more things about it!

  • Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however I'd figured I'd ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me
    an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  • It's enormous that you are getting thoughts from this article as well as from our discussion made here.

  • Thanks for a marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.

    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and may come back later on. I
    want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  • What's up Dear, are you genuinely visiting this website on a regular basis, if so
    afterward you will without doubt take nice know-how.

  • You really make it appear so easy with your presentation but I
    to find this topic to be actually something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely large for me.
    I'm having a look forward to your next submit, I'll attempt to get the cling of it!

  • Excellent post. I will be going through some of these issues as well..

  • Hi there, after reading this remarkable post i am too happy to share my know-how here with mates.

  • We absolutely loge your blog and find the majority of your post's to
    be exactly I'm looking for. Would you offfer guest writers to write content
    for you? I wouldn't mind creating a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding
    here. Again, awesome weblog!

  • Thankss on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading
    it, you're a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blolg and will oftten come back sometime soon. I want to encourage yoou to definitely continue your
    grrat work, have a nice evening!

  • What's up to all, how is tthe whole thing, I think every one iss getting more
    from this website, and your views are nice for new users.

  • Saved as a favorite, I like your site!

  • Great information. Lucky me I came across
    your blog by chance (stumbleupon). I've bookmarked iit for later!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories