May 4, 2009

  • PhotoPost: Celebrating my birthday at Disneyland

    celebrate

    The theme for Disney Theme Parks this year is "What Will You Celebrate Today?" At Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, CA and at Walt Disney World in Orlando, FLA, they are giving away free admissions to guests on their birthdays in 2009. Since my 56th birthday was on May 1st, I decided to visit the "happiest place on Earth" to celebrate my birthday. I had one of my best birthdays ever at Disneland Anaheim on Friday! My ex girlfriend Liz was going to accompany me, but she had to show up for jury duty. So I was to head out alone, but once I got to the park, it was as if I and a few hundred other people were being feted for the birthday celebration of a lifetime. I applaud the folks at Disney for this great idea for a "celebration".

    backofstation

    You can print a birthday ticket from your home computer, and when you get to the park, you don't have to pay the $69.00 (in California) admission fee. Just show proof of age, like a driver's license, and you are issued a "Happy Birthday" button to wear around the park. Whenever a Disney "cast member" or worker would see the button, they would wish me a "Happy Birthday". I really felt as if the whole place was a having a birthday party especially for me. In turn, when I would see others with a birthday button, I would wish them a Happy Birthday. The "celebration" was quite infectious.

    DSC03449

    I ended up spending most of the day at the park. Since I'm on crutches, I was able to enter through the exit on most rides, and didn't have to wait in long lines. (The wait for premium rides like Indiana Jones or Space Mountain was up to an hour, but I was able to go right up to the loading section.) Since I haven't been out and about that much this year, I did take my camera. I didn't shoot any video, but I did get almost 200 photos which can be seen on my Webshots Gallery Folder: "Disneyland on My Birthday". The first two pictures show the front and the back of the train station at the Disneyland entrance. Above is the corner of the Main Street Cinema, where six Mickey Mouse cartoons play endlessly.

    DSC03452

    This is the stove in the center of the General Store on Main Street in Disneland. I got to the park at about 10am, an hour after opening, and I stayed till about 8:30pm. Since I didn't have to wait in lines, I did get to ride quite a few attractions. I didn't take any photos inside the rides, which are pretty dark. (and no flash photography is allowed) I wanted to take photos which for the most part, didn't include the crowds of people, and are not the "typical" photos that people take when visiting the park.  

    princesses

    I did catch this couple rolling their two "Disney Princesses" in their strollers. The "Disney Princess" brand is quite popular, and there were little princesses all around the park. Thankfully, the Princess section was way in the back of Fantasyland, over by Toontown, and was far enough out of the way that I didn't encounter the millions of little girls who make a beeline right to the princess section. I did think this couple in their stroller were cute enough for a picture.

    goofy

    I inserted blue skies in some of the photos, like this one of the Goofy statue in the center of the park, looking back toward the train station at the entrance to Main Street. Otherwise, this shot is not composited at all. The Goofy statue is only about 18" high, and he's on a pedestal.

    DSC03460

    Here is a shot of the "Partners" statue in the center of the park, in the Plaza section which leads to all the various "lands" in Disneyland. This is rather normal view of the statue, but there were lots of other photogs gathering around, and I took a snap when I didn't see too many people in front of the statue.

    DSC03469

    This is the interior of the Golden Horseshoe Ice Cream Parlor in Frontierland. They used to have the "Golden Horseshoe" review in this building but no more. Liz told me that there are performances on the stage a few times daily, but not on the scale of the old review. I didn't know there were still shows, so I didn't stick around. I'd never been inside this particular building, and I've been to Disneyland many many times since 1967.

    frontmansion

    The first place I usually go when visiting Disneyland is the Pirates of the Caribbean ride, followed by the Haunted Mansion, pictured above. Like the Goofy shot, I composited another sky, a stormy cloudscape I shot in another time and place, in back of the mansion, to make the photo look more "spooky". There was a cloud cover when I visited, but the whole sky was white.

    watertower

    The only way to really get shots without people is to shoot above their heads, as I did of the water tower while standing on the Frontierland station waiting for the train.

    DSC03502

    After riding Pirates and the Haunted Mansion, I took the train to Toontown, and rode the Roger Rabbit Spin, then took off with my camera to find shots around Toontown. I didn't recomposite cloudscapes on these photos, so the white sky is what was really there. Toontown is built so that the buildings look like they're in a cartoon.

    DSC03504

    Another shot of Toontown. Very difficult to get shots without a lot of tourists. I took lots more photos, including the gas station and the trolley stand, but there were too many folks milling about for the photos to have much effect showing the architecture.

    DSC03511

    A shot of the Toontown City Hall.

    DSC03515

    Here is the statue of Mickey Mouse in front of his home in ToonTown, backed with the "Toontown Sign". Toontown was built after the success of the movie "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" in 1988.

    DSC03535

    After Toontown and "It's A Small World", which reopened recently after renovations, I shot some angles around Cinderella Castle, the focal point of Fantasyland.

    DSC03540

    Some pink roses framing the castle from the side of the moat.

    DSC03571

    Next I visited Tomorrowland, where I bought the Disney Treasures collector tin of "Tomorrowland" which includes the documentaries "Man in Space", "Man on the Moon" , and "Mars and Beyond". I spent some time in "Innoventions" and would have ridden Space Mountain, except that they closed the ride down suddenly while I was waiting. Here is a shot of the front of one of the monorail trains, which I took to Downtown Disney, where I had lunch at Ralph Brennan's Jazz Kitchen, a favorite restaurant when I visit the mouse house. At the Jazz Kitchen, my server gave me a free refill on my "Hurricane" rum drink, cause it was my birthday!

    DSC03578

    After lunch, I took the monorail back to Tomorrowland, then walked over to Adventureland for a spin on the Jungle Cruise, pictured here at the end of the ride, and the Indiana Jones ride. By now it was late afternoon, but my feet hardly hurt because I was not forced to wait in the long lines because of my handicap.

    DSC03592

    Before leaving the park, I stopped by the Disneyania Shop on Main Street, and narrowed my search for collectibles to three figures. I really wanted the large 2 and a half foot tall Jessica Rabbit, for $175.00, but I already have a Jessica figurine in my collection. There were also 1928 versions of stuffed Mickey and Minnie dolls ($125.00) and a Goofy One Man Band figurine I would have really loved to see in my collection, but at $350.00 was far too much money. I couldn't make up my mind, so I stepped outside to watch the "Celebration" parade, which occurs twice a day. This is one of the floats.

    DSC03629

    After the parade, I went back to the Disneyania store and chose this 7" tall wooden Steamboat Willie figurine for only $40.00. The ships wheel turns! I ended up not spending a fortune. Admission to the park was free. All in all, I had a great birthday, and while my feet do hurt a bit, and I did get a few callusses, I was able to walk around the total park on crutches and see everything I planned to see without too much trouble. I also got a "2fer" ticket which means I can come back before the end of the month and visit California Adventure, the 2nd Disney park in Anaheim for free!  I'd like to give thanks to all the Xangans and Facebook friends who wished me a Happy Birthday as well. I think my 56th was one of my best birthdays ever!

     

Comments (61)

  • You know...that looks like such a happy place that it makes me want to go!

  • Happy belated birthday. It looks like you had a good time. I haven't been to Disneyland since my junior year in high school (2003). Part of my wishes I could be a kid again.

  • great pics...it's as close as i'll ever go...you couldn't get me there without a court order in my hand a  gun to my head....

  • Happy Birthday (belated)! I love Disneyland. It is the happiest place on earth. Glad you had a good time

  • happy birthday dude!  you have some great photos here.  looks like your celebrated with a bang!

  • What an awesome way to celebrate!  I had seen that offer, but alas, I live much too far away from either Disney park.

    It would be great to have everyone wish you a happy birthday all day long! 

    I loved the dramatic cloud formations you inserted on the Haunted Mansion photo.

    I'm glad you got to have such a wonderful celebration of the day, and I think the Mickey memento is just perfect.

  • you know I would have gone with you! Happy Birthday Bro!

    that is a good gift you got -my hubby collects the porcelin ones-he has a showcase of them

  • That's fantastic that you got free admission on your birthday. I'd love to go again. I'll be in CA in July....a month too soon for me to get in free.

  • Sounds like a wonderful day. I've never been to Disneyland but I loved DisneyWorld! Happy belated birthday!

  • Happy Birthday Mike! :p

  • How awesome, Mike!

  • i'm glad it was such a great day! i've never been to Disneyland. your pics give it a much different feel from DisneyWorld! Happy Birthday again! :)

  • I wished you a Happy Birthday on Facebook.

    This looks as though from the pic and narration that you really had a good one.

    ~~Blessings 'n cheers :)

  • looks like you had a great time. glad your birthday was wonderful. looks like the california version of disney world is very similar to the florida one.

  • Happy birthday! Fun pictures!! :)

  • Absolutely simmering in jealousy...
    Hope you had a great birthday, hun.

  • Thanks for the visit Michael.

    RYC: I appreciated your kind words on my poem. Actually, I am one who saves writings (articles and poems): but I didn't remember that particular one. So I was surprised when I found it. Maybe "C.C." would have been pleased, but back in my H.S. days, girls did not let it be known to any guy that they were interested in them. If a guy did not make the first move, we kept our "crushes" to ourselves. What we didn't understand, I found out later, is that many guys also were shy and were afraid to make a move on us for fear of rejection. Times have changed, eh?

    ~~Blessings 'n cheers

  • HAPPY BIRTHDAY MIKE!
    I think you have "misspelled" your age... it's 36, right?
    Isabel

  • belated Happy Birthday Mike!  Glad you had a fun day!  Did you luck out on the no lines, and get a perfect item for your collection, or what?  Can hardly believe you're getting around so much when you should be babying your hip.  Will only being anesthesized and strapped on the operating table keep you still?  I can see there's no holding a good man down.  Thx for sharing the pics, take care dude.

  • Glad to see you have a good time.

  • Most likely You Also Make Most of these Slip-ups With bag ?

  • Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home
    a little bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog.
    A great read. I'll certainly be back.

  • I have learn a few excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much attempt you place to make such a fantastic informative website.

  • I know this if off topic but I'm looking into starting my own blog and was wondering
    what all is needed to get setup? I'm assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I'm not very internet smart so I'm not 100% positive.

    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Kudos

  • You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something
    that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad
    for me. I'm looking forward for your next post, I will try
    to get the hang of it!

  • Greetings I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Digg for something
    else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say
    thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don't have time to look over it
    all at the moment but I have book-marked it and
    also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the
    superb work.

  • Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of
    volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the
    same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to
    work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  • Article writing is also a fun, if you know afterward you can write or else it is complicated to write.

  • I'm curious to find out what blog system you're using?
    I'm experiencing some small security issues with my
    latest website and I'd like to find something more safeguarded.
    Do you have any suggestions?

  • Quality articles is the crucial to invite the users to go to see
    the site, that's what this web site is providing.

  • Hello, I read your blogs on a regular basis. Your writing style is witty,
    keep doing what you're doing!

  • Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how can we communicate?

  • Heya i'm for the first time here. I found this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back
    and help others like you helped me.

  • Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you're using?
    I've loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider
    at a honest price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

  • There is definately a lot to know about this subject. I really like all of the points you
    made.

  • This design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost...HaHa!)
    Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  • Thanks to my father who stated to me about this weblog, this blog is
    really awesome.

  • Do you mind if I quore a couple of youur posts as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My blopg is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit
    from some of the information you provide here. Please let
    me know if this okay with you. Cheers!

  • Thanks in support of sharing such a fastidious opinion, article is pleasant,
    thats why i have read it entirely

  • I was suggested this website through my cousin. I am now not positive whether this post
    is written by him as nobody else recognize such certain about my
    problem. You are wonderful! Thank you!

  • I am curious to find out what blog platform you are using?
    I'm having some minor security problems with my latest blog and I would
    like to find something more secure. Do you have any solutions?

  • Hi to all, for the reason that I am really keen of reading this weblog's post to
    be updated regularly. It contains pleasant stuff.

  • Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this
    good piece of writing.

  • Hi there to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this website, and
    your views are pleasant for new visitors.

  • Hello friends, how is everything, and what you would like to say regarding this post, in my
    view its truly awesome designed for me.

  • I'm truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It's a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  • Having read this I believed it was really enlightening. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this information together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  • I'm not sure why but this site is loading
    incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?
    I'll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  • Wow! Finally I got a blog from where I can in fact take useful information concerning my study and knowledge.

  • I really like it whenever people get together and share views.
    Great site, keep it up!

  • Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?

    I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worked hard on. Any suggestions?

  • It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you
    few interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read even more things about it!

  • Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful post.
    Many thanks for providing this info.

  • I was suggested this website by my cousin. I'm not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.

    You're amazing! Thanks!

  • I was very pleased to discover this great site. I wanted
    to thank you for your time just for this fantastic
    read!! I definitely really liked every little bit of it and I
    have you book-marked to see new things in your web site.

  • Wow, incredible blog layout! How lengthy have you ever been blogging
    for? you make running a blog look easy. The total glance of your website is great,
    as smartly as the content!

  • Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was
    a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

  • Incredible! This blpg looks exactly like my old one!
    It's on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout
    and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

  • Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth be told was once a entertainment accouynt it.

    Look advanced to far introduced agreeable from
    you! By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

  • I think that what youu published was very reasonable.
    However, what about this? what if you were to write a awesome headline?
    I ain't suggesting your information isn't good., however
    what iff you added a post title to posxibly get folk's
    attention? I mean PhotoPost: Celebrating my birthday att Disneyland | WhenWordsCollide iis a little plain. You ought to peek at Yahoo's home page
    andd watch how they create post titles to grab people to open the links.
    Youu might addd a related video or a related picture oor two to
    grab people interested about what you've written. In my opinion, it might make your website
    a little bbit more interesting.

  • Excellent beat ! I would like tto apprentice wile you amend
    your site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped
    me a acceptable deal. I hadd been a little bit
    acquainted of this your broadcadt provided bright clear idea

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories