February 7, 2013

  • WhenWordsCollide Header History

    The "Google Doodle" is an established part of the internet. On holidays, birthdays, and special occasions, the main page of Google's search engine displays an artistic (and sometimes interactive) version of their multicolored logo. HERE is a gallery of past "Doodles". (Dont go there, though. This isn't about them. It's about ME! happy Here on my blog, I used to feature a "revolving header." All versions of the same design, with the logo and the AllThingsMike graphic, and usually themed along with my profile pic, a morph of which features a lot of those is always in the upper left hand corner of the page. The "design" of my blogpage doesn't change much (it really displays neatly on my Kindle tablet, but I need to remove the various embedded flash files, which are passe in HTML5 sad) Over nearly a decade,  however, I have created, in my handy digital picture editor, a vast collection of interesting headers. I'm going to display some of them for you now. I probably won't go to the trouble of "dating" them. All have appeared on this blog over the past eight years. In no particular order: 

    This is the basic black header image I've used since 2010.

    Nuts and bolts.

    Theater curtains. Possibly first used for an ElectricMovies themed post. ElectricMovies is the site where I wrote movie reviews, even before being associated with the Xanga service. I haven't updated it since 2003, but wrote reviews on Xanga back when there was a "reviews" section in the old days. 

    One of many "cloudscapes". The cloudscape background didn't used to be covered by the white background for the entries in Xanga 1.0. My text would "scroll" over the background, and I took great pains to arrive at a balance in the contrast where you had no trouble reading the black text on black and white cloud images. 

    More clouds.

    My "borg" background included my famous profile pic as "Locutus Baldmike". Resistance is futile.

    Blue curtains. Blue is the color of my eyes and also my favorite color. www.allthingsmike.com has color coded sections. Allthingsmike was blue. ElectricPoetry green, and ElectricMovies red.

    Blackout header. Can't even remember using this. Possibly for one of my monochrome profile pics of old time celebrities.

    This is the "Clowns" background to my Clowns website which was the theme of my blog (and my profile natch) when I created the Clowns "website in a weekend" and accompanying MikeVideo Internet Movie in 2006. 

    Rocks.

    Green marble.

    Groucho Marx. (This is the real Groucho in the header. My profile was doctored to give me the Groucho look as well.

    Paisley print. (Actually I take that back. It's red marble)

    A Spring Floral background when I announced my latest (at the time MikeVideo ) "Floral Dreams". in 2007.

    Another yellow floral background.

    One of many Christmas themed headers.

    Another Christmas header.

    Jacaranda blooms, in honor of the Photo series presented in 2005.

    Alpine background.

    Dreamcatchers. I used to always have a dreamcatcher hanging in my profile pic somewhere too.

    Still more dreamcatchers.

    The background is a speaker grill. This header announced my new series of "Mike's Video Blogs" of which I completed the sixteenth (over 20 if you count the three part series videoblogs!) Mike's Video Blog "A Dance to 2013" last month. 

    A rock wall. 

    Wood paneling. 

    Different grain wood background.

    Drapes. I'm sure this one and the red theater curtains header actually contain photos of real drapes or curtains I photographed in my house rather than do an image search on the internet. Since 2007 I've always made an attempt to make sure most of the elements and layers in my "photoshopped" composite art images use photos I've taken my self, and art I've created myself.

    A green fabric background.

     

    The "AllThingsMike" logo itself, (which, in the header, when clicked, takes you to the main page of the website, of which this blog is a part.) has pretty much stayed the same since 1999, when I created it. I did get the sunrise over the clouds from an image search in the long ago. The font for the logo is Enview. (This also used to be printed on business cards which I'd hand out to promote my website.) Then I "spraypainted" clouds over the print to make it look like it's floating off in the clouds somewhere in the Universal.

    The header logo currently at the top of the blog is "Windows 3.1" and notice the "arrow" is hovering over the AllThingsMike logo. If I'd known better back in 2004, I would have "titled" my username/blog "WhenwordsCollide" instead of "baldmike2004" to avoid confusion. Since I rarely if ever call myself "baldmike." But my username on Yahoo was "baldmike2000". I've used "baldmike" pretty much as a "username" but the title of my website is AllThingsMike, and the title of this blog is WhenWordsCollide.

    I, personally, remain, as always, Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

     

    Posted: February 06, 2013 8:00 AM

Comments (72)

  • that's a pretty amazing history mr. mike...  i think the first 'dreamcatcher' is my favorite - i liked the image (before i knew what it was) it reminded me of old skool bicycle rims - with icicles dangling off them - feels very european - which makes no sense except maybe it's the black and white and almost holographic quality...  for some reason...  second - the 'borg' - because i know that's what you 'do' - and lastly the nuts, bolts and washers - maybe because it's what i 'do'...  i'm envious of your track record - and wish you many more banners - poet, philosopher - and (fff) far from fool... 

  • Mike,...,..I've been blogging now on Xanga for ten years,...you are an Eternity

  • I guess I am really old in Xanga years because I remember 90% of these Regardless of what you call your blog, it will always be you behind it. my oldest Xangan Michael F. Nyiri. <3 you!

  • It is good to know some people are here it gives a sort of comfort

  • I always like your Header, the one thing which caught my eyes were that moving pictures of yours! I really love it.
    Not all people are creative but when I find out that interest me, I find it to be trully fascinating - like yours.
    And most of all, your blog site is the best! hehe ...

  • Hmmm, I didn't know about a "Google Doodle" or that term. I've always thought your headers were/are unique artistically. Your history also is unique. I wish I had more time to explore your website further. ~~Blessings 'n Cheers

  • Hello there, stranger. Glad to see that at least one of the ones I followed is still here on Xanga. I always liked the dream-catcher headers myself. At any rate, have a good day.

    Keeta

  • Hey, Mike, your article here is very good.  The background visuals are good, and I especially like the one with Groucho Marx.  I'm on WordPress, if you wish to follow me.  The link is in my identification (yes, it really is JandJinJapan [Jason]) and I would personally like to invite you and anyone else associated with your Xanga site to come and visit.

    Prayers for you and yours, my good friend!  My apologies on my abrupt departure form Xanga.  I'll let you in on why I left if you will send me an e-mail address (blcfrenzy[at]gmail.com) or message me on Facebook.  P'raps I'll PM yu there tomorr'er or the next day.
    Hope you are well.  I'm following your site here on Xanga.  Blessings to you!
    Jason (JandJinJapan)

  • this is amazing, these beautiful headers. I love the blue drapes and dark cloudy ones.. and this one here, is so gloomily beautiful - my favorite kind of themes.

  • What an amazing collection of history.  It's interesting the changes (and consistencies) over the years.

  • I'm really enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It's a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  • I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.

    I'll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I'm quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

  • When some one searches for his essential thing, so he/she needs to be available that in detail,
    thus that thing is maintained over here.

  • Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful article.
    Many thanks for supplying this info.

  • As the admin of this site is working, no hesitation very shortly it will be famous,
    due to its quality contents.

  • Hey there! I'm at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the fantastic work!

  • Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. However just imagine if you
    added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, "pop"!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog
    could undeniably be one of the greatest in its field. Great blog!

  • I every time used to study article in news papers
    but now as I am a user of web so from now I am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  • Nice response in return of this query with genuine arguments and
    explaining everything on the topic of that.

  • Hello! I've been following your web site for
    a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas!
    Just wanted to tell you keep up the good job!

  • Ƭhis site was... hoѡ do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've
    found sߋmething which hedlped mе. Αppreciate it!

  • For newest information you have to go to see world wide web and
    on the web I found this site as a finest web page for hottest updates.

  • Hmm is anyone else having problems with the
    images on this blog loading? I'm trying to determine if its
    a problem on my end or if it's the blog. Any feed-back would
    be greatly appreciated.

  • This paragraph provides clear idea in support of the new users of blogging,
    that genuinely how to do blogging.

  • Pingback: URL
  • I think that is among the most important information for me.
    And i'm satisfied studying your article. But should remark on some basic things, The web site style is
    great, the articles is truly nice : D. Excellent activity, cheers

  • Hello there, I found your website by means of Google at
    the same time as looking for a comparable matter, your web site came up, it
    seems to be good. I've bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply became aware of your blog via Google, and found that it is really informative.

    I am going to be careful for brussels. I'll be grateful in case you continue this in future.
    Many folks shall be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  • Eat a nutritious diet full of contemporary vegatables and fruits, high in fiber and lean protein.

  • hello there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked
    up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get it to load
    properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?

    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times
    will often affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with
    Adwords. Well I'm adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective interesting
    content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  • I'm curious to find out what blog platform you have been working with?
    I'm experiencing some minor security issues with my latest
    website and I would like to find something more risk-free.
    Do you have any recommendations?

  • This program offers the borrower a price cut on the lender's
    variable rate. The red wire connects to the constructive (+)
    aspect of the battery and need to have a fuse (of an proper dimensions for your amp) within 45 centimetres,
    or eighteen inches, of the battery. Because earthquakes
    can strike anywhere at any time, earthquake safety fasteners are your best bet for protecting your electronics.

  • Terrific post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I'd be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Kudos!

  • Tap into people's lives have been, all the time to use the tap, tap of the quality related to people's health, the tap selection is essential, how
    to select the tap it. After expressing it all, burn or tear up the paper and say goodbye.
    Trauma is stored in the body and nervous system, which you feel strongly at certain times.

  • Thiis site was... hoow do I say it? Relevant!!
    Finall Ihave found something which helped me. Thank
    you!

  • The unique cabin is something that differentiates it from the
    rest of the world, as it delivers a memorable experience for visitors and
    locals alike. As an example, you might have a single odd
    A� pair of earrings that can now be incorporated and made into a slide.
    So now you will need to think about is where you should
    be trying to purchase this product from.

  • Packaging:5This is about as standard as it gets - a 5 hour energy shaped bottle with a wrap.

    Ensure that the panels are installed based on the
    circuit diagram provided. To break into such a safe, if
    a thief knows where the bolts are located on the
    door, he just has to drill through and hammer on the bolts to
    make them recede.

  • If the business refuses to work along on a overdue, you would
    possibly be competent to borrow the funds
    from friends, relatives or remove it a bank card cash withdrawal.
    How to Get Cross Collateral Home Loans; How to Use a Vehicle as.

  • For those who have been scratching their heads thinking of how
    and where to celebrate your special occasions like weddings, birthdays, anniversaries and special events,
    Sky Dining with your loved ones on the new Jewel Cable Car Ride will certainly give you and
    your partners an extraordinary experience amidst the picturesque and luxurious settings.
    The chocks should be placed firmly against both tires in the direction of the grade, and sometimes on both
    sides if heavy items are being loaded or unloaded. Fiber optic cable is not just used for computer
    networking, but also to connect audio devices, as it transmits high quality audio signal.

  • Ferret diets should list meat, poultry or fishmeal, or animal
    by-products as the first ingredient. Take the guesswork out
    of picture adjustments with this simple-to-use feature. This really is potentially because of the
    adrenaline issue; the shock towards the animal is much more significant by using a superior
    powered rifle than that of a crossbow or compound bow.

  • Years ago when so many anglers used milk protein baits these were mostly used in small amounts because they normally worked very
    fast and effectively compared to other baits of the time and it was just not necessary to pile in loads and loads of bait to catch loads of big fish.
    There was a little pomegranate flavor in here
    too, just enough to give it a little something special - not much, but
    a little. To combat the increasing diesel fuel prices, you
    can consider using a diesel fuel additive and experience the change in your
    expenses as well as the drivability of your vehicle.

  • I was suggested this blog via my cousin. I am no longer certain whether or not this submit is written by way of him as nobody
    else recognize such distinctive about my problem.
    You are amazing! Thanks!

  • Tap into people's lives have been, all the time to use the
    tap, tap of the quality related to people's health, the tap selection is essential, how to select the tap it.
    Once you find your true presence, nothing will be able to stand in the light of it.
    Don't try to do more than you are physically able
    to do.

  • It also comes with Feedburner email subscription form and public media buttons.

  • This is a topic that's near to my heart... Thank you! Exactly where
    are your contact details though?

  • My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find
    most of your post's to be just what I'm looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn't mind composing a post or elaborating on many
    of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome weblog!

  • Adding a person in your bank account is not hard
    with the appropriate identification.

  • Asking questions are in fact good thing if you are
    not understanding something completely, however this article offers pleasant understanding even.

  • Charging a 200+ mile range electric car will be tedious, because
    the car must have at least 60 kilo - Watt-hours of energy storage.
    The moment I stepped off the aeroplane in Iquitos it felt as if I had been hit
    by bolt of energy. Former Olympic decathlete Bruce Jenner says Jamaican sprint sensation Usain Bolt
    is delusional if he thinks he's the greatest athlete of all time because he's just not well-rounded
    enough.

  • Hi! Quick question that's totally off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My website looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4.
    I'm trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. With thanks!

  • Tap into people's lives have been, all the time
    to use the tap, tap of the quality related to people's health, the tap selection is essential, how to select the tap it.
    Once you find your true presence, nothing will be able
    to stand in the light of it. Attach the alligator clips to the ends of the wires coming out
    of the solar panel.

  • Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to grasp so much approximately this, such as you wrote the book
    in it or something. I think that you just could do with some p.c.

    to power the message home a bit, but other than that, that is fantastic blog.
    A fantastic read. I'll definitely be back.

  • I love what you guys are usually up too. This type
    of clever work and exposure! Keep up the fantastic works guys I've included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  • Hi there! I'm at work browsing your blog from my new iphone
    4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all
    your posts! Keep up the great work!

  • Keep on working, great job!

  • Just want to say your article is as astounding. The
    clarity in your publish is simply cool and i
    could think you are knowledgeable in this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS feed to stay updated with approaching post.
    Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the rewarding work.

  • I've been browsing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot
    more useful than ever before.

  • However, there are certain procedures to be followed to ensure your house is in a viable windy location, without high obstructions
    nearby. After expressing it all, burn or tear up the paper and
    say goodbye. To break into such a safe, if a thief
    knows where the bolts are located on the door, he just has to drill
    through and hammer on the bolts to make them recede.

  • With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any
    issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of unique content
    I've either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all
    over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any methods
    to help prevent content from being ripped off?
    I'd definitely appreciate it.

  • Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn't show up. Grrrr... well I'm not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  • Disabling the Smart Card Plug and Play service removes the choice to insert a smart
    card when signing in.

  • Good way of telling, and fastidious paragraph to obtain information concerning
    my presentation topic, which i am going to convey in college.

  • Wow, incredible weblog structure! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The entire look of your site is great, as neatly as the content
    material!

  • Generally I don't read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced
    me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised
    me. Thanks, quite great article.

  • Remarkable issues here. I'm very happy to look your article.
    Thank you a lot and I'm having a look ahead to touch you. Will you
    please drop me a mail?

  • Most banks participate in Chex - Systems service, by running consumer reports to qualify applicants,
    as well as reported delinquent accounts.
    If you happen to be applying personally,
    the financial institution representative needs to see your
    driver's licence, passport or another valid way of ID.

  • According on the Microsoft website, Outlook 2000 does not support the retrieval of Hotmail email the same way as Outlook Express does.
    The service grew in popularity quickly, and had
    an incredible number of customers in the end of 1997.

  • Getting an automobile repaired can be one of the worst experiences an individual
    can have.

  • excellent points altogether, you just gained a brand new reader.

    What might you recommend about yokur put uup that you made a few days in the past?
    Any positive?

  • Link between synthetical androgen fluoxymesterone on triglyceride secretion lists involved in the Soc EP
    Biol Med.

  • Just wish to say your article is as astonishing.

    The clearness in your post is simply nice and i could assume you're an expert on this subject.
    Welll with your permission leet me to grab your RSS feed to keep
    updatewd with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjioyable work.

  • Excellent blog you have got here.. It's difficult to find high quality wrting like yours these days.
    I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories