June 23, 2010

  • I Kissed a Girl (in my dreams)

    I rarely remember my dreams the next morning. Sometimes I have quite vivid dreams which resonate for a while if I get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. I've had what I call "chapter dreams" where I can go back to bed and I'm in the same dream as before I woke up. Sometimes I revisit "places" I've been in other dreams. I even have a theory about where dreams come from. They are natural breaks in the cosmic consciousness of the Universal Mind, and sometimes the dreams we are having are not our own, but those of other denizens of the UM.

    Last night I had a dream in which I was walking along a roadway beachside right after moonrise. The full moon was brighter and larger than I'd ever seen it before, a harvest moon in the summer. I was accompanied on my walk by Cathy Davidson, the girl for whom I wrote 60 individual poems back in 1978 attempting to gain her love. (to no avail, as it turned out)

    Right before I woke up (and why it's still pretty vivid to me) Cathy turned to me and gave me a hint that she'd enjoy a kiss. We turned to each other and I reached up to her (she was a couple of inches taller than I, which was not a problem, but a turn on, esp. because of her long beautiful legs) We were the ages from when we knew each other in the dream, our late 20s. We began tentatively, but experienced a long, wonderful soul kiss.

    I'm still feeling that kiss this morning, even though I haven't really kissed anyone in about four or five years. (It's been that long since Liz and I were together!)

    You know, I don't really miss being in relationships, since I haven't been in that many long ones over my long life, but I do miss kissing. Not necessarily sex, mind you. I'd need pills in order to have sex. But I do miss kissing, especially what I used to call "the kiss that lasts forever". Back when I was wooing Cathy, we never really dated. She was going out with "boyfriend" at the time, and a lot of our conversations had to do with how he wasn't satisfying her sexually. Cathy and would have long "petting sessions" in the front seat of her car. I was "between cars" at the time, and since we both worked at the same retail establishment, she drove me home from work on those days when we both ended our shifts together.

    Even though the poetry I wrote her didn't pry her from "boyfriend's" influence, we did spend a lot of time kissing (and fondling). In my memory, and stoked by the dream I had last night, those kisses were the height of my life. I really felt good coupled with my Cathy in this way.

    I sometimes wonder if I will ever experience this feeling again. I could tell she was excited to be with me, and if not for the fact that I was a bit of a hedonist (and a big drunk) in those days, perhaps if I'd cleaned up my act a bit ( a lot) then we would have gotten together. I used to have one small photo of Cathy, one of those high school graduation pictures, but it got lost long ago. Now I only have the memory of her.

    Although last night, for a few moments, I saw her again, under the light of an incredibly unreal and dreamlike full moon, smiling at me as I approached her one more time, to feel the love of a grand soulkiss that lasted, if not forever, at least as long as memory and need made it last for me.

    I wonder if perhaps she felt it too, in her dreams, wherever she may be.

    The Story of Cathy is presented in Chapter 8 of My Sexual History: Cathy: The Second Love of My Life (reader discretion advised)

    Selections of (just some of) the Cathy Poems can be found HERE, HERE, HERE, and HERE.

Comments (39)

  • Sometimes I have recurring dreams - I've had this one since I was a little girl:
    There's this book, called Falling Up by Shel Silverstein, a book of poems and his illustrations. (one of the first books I remember reading), and I always have this dream that I would fall from the hallway overlooking the foyer in the old house we used to live in, and I'd fall for eternity...but I was the girl on the cover of the book, who was "falling up." The strangest thing is, I would really feel like I was falling, my stomach would turn, and I could feel the air rushing about me...and that feeling wouldn't leave when I woke up.
    Another recurring dream I have is that of a conductor and his entire symphony chasing after me (the pianist) down to the basement by the furnace in the concert hall. But that's another story all together!
    Great post as usual...I like your theory. :)

  • That was one hell of a good dream...not to mention a good kiss if you still felt it in the morning.

    I say look her up and give her a call.

  • Sounds like a sweet dream to have. :goodjob:

  • Years ago, I took some Dream Psychology courses at Richland Community College in Dallas. T'was very interesting and not necessarily Freudian. Jungian dream theory seemed to be prominent. I learned about "universal symbols" that may appear in dreams of all humans & which have the same meaning when they do appear. I leaned about "Gestalt" technique to interpret a dream. The second course I took was on "Psychic Dreams". However, I would not attempt to interpret your dream. It's been too long. However, it does sound to me as though it might possibly fall into Freud's "wish fulfillment" category since you state that you miss kissing. But as Freud also allegedly said, "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar." :wink:

    My favorite dreams when I took the course were "flying dreams". Also, I loved to dream about John Denver.

    ~~Blessings 'n Cheers :goodjob:

  • Sounds very enjoyable! I recently had a dream about a friend of mine. We were being intimate but it was much more emotional than sexual. Very strange but good.

  • That sounds wonderful. 

    Oh, and you cares if you need pills to have sex, that's what they're made for.  :shysmile:

  • Pills are not that bad of an option

  • Maybe it's just something you need in your life right now. A touch of love.

  • What a wonderful dream, so unlike the few I remember. It sounds regretful in a way. I hope you find the answer to your desires.

  • random comment: I was recently given some dream catcher earrings by a friend and immediately thought of you :)

    As for the post (which is ironically sort of related haha)... I have had a few similar dreams, and they can feel so wonderful and yet puzzling upon waking up... one of those that you really wish you knew why or how exactly you dreamed it--or remember it... Dreams are so mysterious like that--there's just nothing like them.

  • If you would like to improve your know-how only keep visiting this
    website and be updated with the newest news posted here.

  • So I invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy my blog as I will update regularly with all things that are relevant to this awesome industry.

  • You can definitely see your expertise within the work you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren't afraid to say how they believe.
    At all times follow your heart.

  • Right now it appears like Drupal is the top blogging platform out there right now.

    (from what I've read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  • Heya i'm for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It
    truly helpful & it helped me out much. I'm hoping to offer
    one thing back and help others such as you helped
    me.

  • Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was
    just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything
    you can advise? I get so much lately it's driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

  • Hello, all the time i used to check blog posts here early in the break
    of day, for the reason that i enjoy to find out more and more.

  • I really like it when individuals get together
    and share views. Great website, continue the good work!

  • I know this if off topic but I'm looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to
    get set up? I'm assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I'm not very web savvy so I'm not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

  • My relatives all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net,
    but I know I am getting knowledge everyday by reading such
    good articles.

  • Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
    However, how could we communicate?

  • Hi to every , since I am actually keen of reading this web site's post to be updated regularly.
    It contains nice stuff.

  • Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting
    to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  • hi!,I like your writing so a lot! proportion we eep in toch extra about your article on AOL?
    I need an expert on this space to solve my problem. Maybe
    tthat is you! Having a look ahead to peer you.

  • Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. This is an extremely smartly written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your
    useful info. Thank you for the post. I'll definitely comeback.

  • of course like your website but you have to test the
    spelling on several of your posts. A number of them
    are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very bothersome to inform the truth nevertheless I will definitely
    come back again.

  • I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?

    A number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  • Hey I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found
    you by error, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to
    say cheers for a incredible post and a all round
    exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more,
    Please do keep up the superb work.

  • Hi it's me, I am also visiting this website regularly, this website is genuinely good
    and the viewers are really sharing nice thoughts.

  • Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your
    site, how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a
    acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast provided brilliant clear concept

  • Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to protect against hackers? I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worked hard on. Any recommendations?

  • Hurrah, that's what I was looking for, what a stuff! present
    here at this web site, thanks admin of this web
    page.

  • What's up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this article i thought i could also create comment due
    to this brilliant article.

  • Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant thought, paragraph is fastidious, thats why i have read it fully

  • My brother suggested I might like this blog.
    He used to be entirely right.This submit actually made my day.
    You can not consider just how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

  • You really make it seem soo easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something
    which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and eextremely brfoad for me.
    I am loking forward for your next post, I'll try to get the hang
    of it!

  • A motivating discussion iss definitely worth comment.
    I believe that you ought to write more on this issue,
    it may not be a taboo matter but generally folks don't disxuss these issues.
    To the next! Manny thanks!!

  • Hi there! This is myy first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and sgarting a nnew projecct in a community inn the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable infoormation to work on. You have done
    a outstanding job!

  • Good day! Do you usee Twitter? I'd like to follow
    you if thqt would be okay. I'm definitely enjoying your blog and look forwasrd too
    new updates.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories