June 28, 2010

  • Featured Grownups: July Topics

    featuredgrownups2

    I like to say I don’t blog like most people, and even while I’m in the process of “fading away” here on the Xanga service, I’ve been posting at least something once a week, and hopefully these sporadic pieces have been interesting for whatever readers I have left. Thought I’d do a piece for the old Featured Grownups group this week, but since I don’t blog like most people, and they’re only just voting on topics for the month of July, I’ll post the topic list like it’s a blogthing, and give short answers to each prompt. Here we go. Oh, the topic post to which I’m responding can be found HERE.

    1.What major world issues affect you and/or your country and community?
    After over two months, the BP offshore oil rig disaster and subsequent gush of crude oil into the Gulf of Mexico seems to be in danger of being pushed farther and farther to the back of the top news stories as other things happen in the world. This will prove to be one of, if not the most devastating man made disasters in history. Forget the finger pointing. In the case of an earthquake or hurricane, the disaster ends, and the healing begins. This disaster just keeps happening, and there is no end in sight. And this year’s hurricane season in that area is about to begin as well, which is sure to hamper any long term plans at plugging the leak. When crude oil first began to pour into the gulf, I started worrying about this, even before it became “news.” Mankind has gone too far (literally) in his quest for mining the planet of it’s resources.
    2.My first…new music in long while.
    I will shamelessly admit that for the past couple of months or so I’ve been becoming a fan of Stephanie Gemanotta, the notorious Lady Gaga. I even subscribe to her YouTube channel! At first she just sort of came off to an old music fan like me as a post technopop material girl, but I think her skewered fashion sense and dance pop rhythms are kind of infectious. Her videos are like little movies. It’s refreshing that she comes from the New York art scene, and not from the Disney Channel or American Idol. My favorite song is “Paparazzi”
    3.Write a letter to your younger self.
    Dear Mike. Don’t drink any more beer. Instead of spending 3/4 of your paycheck at a bar on Friday night with your friends, put the money in the bank. You’ll need it later. Trust me. And you don’t really need to drink as much as you do. Heck, you don’t even remember half of what happened the next day anyway.
    4.What do you worship, follow, or believe in?
    The Universal Mind which connects us all, past, present, and future. Then, now, and forever.
    5.What do you wish you had the courage, motivation, or drive to do?
    I don’t seem to be motivated to create anything this year, either with photography, or writing, or anything else that usually provides fodder for my blog or “online existence.”  And what’s strange is that as much as this might seem to be bothering me, I’m completely satsified with my day to day existence.
    6.What are your favorite summer memories and/or activities?
    I still remember the exact time during one summer long ago when I realized that these meandering timeless days would sometime end for good. I was 12 at the time, and I don’t think I’ve wasted one moment of my life in the subsequent years. (Well, maybe a few moments on Friday nights back in the late 70s and early 80s.)
    7.Write about a paradox.
    I’ve been waiting for so long to find the right partner and soulmate to complete me that I’m afraid I’m going to die alone without ever having found her. This is the paradox of my romantic intent.
    8.What are you reading this summer?
    I actually started a book, “A History of God” by Karen Armstrong.
    9.Tell us about a special skill you have or achievement you have accomplished.
    I was going to write that sometimes it seems to be an accomplishment just to be around. But since I’m on Xanga right now, I’ll admit that it’s an achievement that I’m writing another blog entry. (Even though I’m doing it the lazy way using prompts from Featured Grownups.) It isn’t even the blog entry I was going to write, but that one has been rolling around in my head for years, and still hasn’t worked it’s way to the word processor yet. And by the rate I’m going, I’ll finally post it at a time when it’ll only get 10 comments, and yet the “Top Blogs” will contain nothing but rants about how there’s no quality content on the service. Just sayin.
    10.How does your nation fit into the global community?
    My nation, the U.S., has always wanted to be the world’s police force, but most of the world doesn’t like this attitude one bit. And now after over 200 years of inviting the tired and poor huddled masses yearning to breathe free to our shores we seem to want to barricade all our borders and begin asking everyone for their “papers”. However I’d really like to think that I belong to the “nation of man” instead of to any one ideology or government. I pledge allegiance to the United States, but I also pledge allegiance to the diversity of humankind, and forever hope that someday humankind will will be able to at least agree to disagree in a more pleasant manner.

      

Comments (20)

  • books sounds like the easiest one. I’m into Michael Connelly this summer but our book group has picked 2 books this summer

    first is Same Kind of different as me by RonHall and DenverMoore with Lynn Vincent for July

    for Aug. it’s Hotel on the Corner of Better and Sweet by Jamie Ford

    saturday I got a bestseller paperback by Larrsson called the girl with the dragon tatoo-I believe -the lady said it’s interesting and there is on now on the top ten by this author that is called The Girl who kicked over the Hornet’s nest and she said,”it’s edgy” I invited her to our Library Group on the 3rd thursday of the month

  • The BP oil spill continues to be a very big deal. It is a perfect example and lesson of how we go to greater lengths to rape the world of not-fast-enough-renewable resources to sustain our lifestyle. I know I don’t need to preach to you on this, but boy is it on my mind of late.
    In lighter news, I too <3 Lady Gaga.
    As ever, when you write about the Universal Mind, I get Jim Morrison in my head. For that reason, it’ll be a good day

  • @BoureeMusique - Dear Emily, The entry about which I say I didn’t write is about concerts, and when I was still thinking of writing it, I was hoping you’d drop by because my first concert experience was Jethro Tull. (However I didn’t write the entry anyway!) Speaking of Morrison, I’ve had When You’re Strange on my DirecTV queue for a while now and still haven’t made the time to watch it. Maybe tonight when I get home.

  • Love to see you taking the bull by the horns and doing them all…Yeehaaa! Go Mike Go!!

  • I cannot stand Gaga. I’ve tried to listen to her music, and it just ends up with me frothing at the mouth and blood oozing from every orifice. It might just be my 80s elitism kicking in, though.

  • yeah, i didn’t want to have to write myself a “don’t drink so much beer” letter, so i toned it down a while ago.

  • :wave: Hi, Michael!

    Just wanted to tell you I’m glad you posted this. It is very interesting. I really like the letter you’d write to your younger self. Of course, we can’t get in the “way back” machine and have a “do over”, but it’s healthy that you can confront yourself re: those areas. Also, I appreciate you concept of allegiance in #10.

    A couple of thoughts via quotes: 1)”If we were to wake up some morning and find that everyone was the same race, creed, and color, we would find some other cause for prejudice by noon.”  ~~George Aiken  2) Illegal aliens have always been a problem in the United States. Ask any Indian.” ~~Robert Orben 

    ~~Blessings ‘n Cheers

  • I saw the entries, but I would have voted for only two of them.  (3 & 6)  Yet you gave very interesting mini-posts about each of them!  Good job!

    I find Lady Gaga pretty scandalous, and I want to dislike her, but the tunes are certainly infectious. I do admire the way her videos are like little movies, even if I can’t approve the content.  (I remember when seeing new videos on MTV was exciting!)  Sometimes I think she is talented, and sometimes I honestly feel sorry for her – such an exhibitionist! 

    I find that I am losing motivation lately myself.

  • The oil spill breaks my heart, on so many levels. And you’re correct, it keeps slipping further and further from the headlines as the days go by. The toll on the environment, the resources, nature, people, local economies just keeps rising. Now, with a hurricane in the Gulf, the oil will be pushed ashore faster and further. So far, in the Tampa Bay area, we’re in the clear, but I know that it’s only a matter of time. Florida voters have fought for years to keep offshore drilling away from our coast, obviously to no avail. You know how I feel about my beaches…

  • I thought this was a breath of fresh air, after all the topics I have skimming through. Its so great to hear from you Mike. :wink:

  • Life is a paradox. We aren’t happy when we have it and we are not happy when we don’t have it.

    We are trapped in this existence and really we can’t stop drinking or using oil sometimes.

    I was watching the chaos at the G-8, and sometimes I feel the forces of chaos is wining.

    I get a few things off my chest and I am pretty sure we will see more things that Bald Mike wants to get off his chest.

  • This is great!  #3 for me.

  • Nice post as always. Please don’t fade away! I love your blog.
    Anyway, I wish I had the courage to break free and do what I love no matter how little money it brings in. I wish I could make a living off of my music and writing….but for now I will pursue law. It’s comforting to think that I’ll always have my music and writing, though.

  • 1. bp has pissed off a lot of people with their stupidity so has our government for not fixing their stupidity sooner. someone please plug the leak!

    2. i haven’t bought any new music in forever. i am though putting all my music on my computer and will be buying an ipod soon afterwards. i do like lady gaga’s paparazzi.

    3. dear leigh ann quit worrying so much life is to be enjoyed it’d be nice if you did that sometime

    4. jesus, god and holy spirit… put it all together and it equals love. sometimes i just dont feel it though and feel lost.

    5. everything… i have no motivation or drive. courage is when you are faced with fear and are able to overcome. i don’t think it fits with the other two.

    6. badmitton and swimming girl scout camp… etc. childhood memories.

    7. i have your same paradox. but i beleive we make that paradox by actually beleiving there’s a someone for everyone… which their might not be. least for me.

    8. i’m reading oprah’s biography right now… beginning was interesting but i’m pretty bored with it right now.

    9. i have no skills

    10. i think everyone hates us.

  • :wave: Just came by to thank you for your visit and comments. I appreciate it a lot. I am glad you appreciated Innes’s poetry. I believe from my experience and from what others have told me that “Unsung Songs” proclaims reality.  

  • So I did #3 and it was pretty fun!  Thanks for the inspiration.

  • It’s sad when you just get comfortable with online friends, only to find ‘em slowly fading away from the scene. I do hope you don’t fade out altogether, Mike – yours is one of the few sites that not only have something worth saying, but also manage to find a bit of silver lining in even the worst of storm clouds. I’m not as eloquent in writing as you, but I kind of put together my take on the Featured Grownups topics over here, too…if you have the chance, come by for a visit?Thanks.

  • @the_kcar - 

    Yeah…you done inspired me to write…and I wrote a tad too much. Take it as a compliment? Cheers.

  • Hi Mike. Didn’t realize you had a FG entry until you mentioned it on Tychecat’s blog.

    You musta been hitting the caffeine to take on all the topics. LOL My favorite is #3. “Dear Mike. Don’t drink any more beer. Instead of spending 3/4 of your paycheck at a bar on Friday night with your friends, put the money in the bank. You’ll need it later. Trust me. And you don’t really need to drink as much as you do. Heck, you don’t even remember half of what happened the next day anyway.”

    Wow. I could’ve written this to my younger self (middle-aged self, too.)

    Sully

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories