November 20, 2006

  • Thanksgiving Prayer 2006

    Thanksgiving Prayer 2006

    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    11/20/06 5:15 am pst

    DSC00928

    The facade of personal existence can be ripped from my place of residence
    Yet at least I can be thankful that I am maintaining living quarters
    No matter how many outside forces cause unwanted changes
    Because some living in this world cannot be said to be so lucky
    There are many in strife without even a home in which to live

    DSC00927

    The winds of scattered circumstance whip away resiliency
    Yet I remain resilient, attuned to wanton weather’s whiles
    No matter how violent the weather or dry the well
    Giving thanks for this resiliency and staunch resolve
    I am grateful that no rain has fallen into my immediacy

    DSC00926

    I might be alone after all these years
    Yet I will sup my feast with friends and neighbors
    No matter how many times I might spend Thanksgiving alone
    I have never starved for sustenance
    Whilst many in this world will suffer and go without this Thursday

    DSC00925

    My eyes may direct my sight to views of seeming disregard
    And diligent doomsaying, torn open to those circumstantial winds
    No matter how many blighted or blistered vistas in my periphery
    Still these eyes remain sighted, and sense has never been slighted
    So many have lost limbs and senses, throughout the evermore

    DSC00924

     Another year turns, another milestone passed, another day of thanks
    Another chance to listen, to rejoice, to lift mine eyes heavenward
    Another chance to reach out, to touch humankind in
    his vast and virulent disregard.
    To soothe him as much as I dare, to lift his spirits, to show him I care

    DSC00931

     I give thanks, again, for the joie de vivre, for exhilaration, for wisdom
    For the knowledge of what is right, and proper,
    Even though sometimes I have erred, and  badly decisions made
    Which stifle my thanks as I prepare the fruits of those decisions
    But revel in the graciousness that I have learned to live with
    My mistakes, and to learn from them.

    DSC00929

    The above photos illustrate the renovation and construction surrounding our rented property. The next to last photo clearly shows that there is not much left between the outside world and my living room. The last photo shows the front house, which has already had it’s bathroom added to the corner, and it’s front door moved to the center of the living room wall. 


    This entry is a good example of how to present timeworn material in a somewhat fresh way. After someone has blogged for three or more years, he/she might find that every holiday, as they peruse the myriad “Easter” posts, or “Hallowe’en” posts, or “Christmas” posts, that they, too, have to “decorate” their site, and in effect turn their blog into a Hallmark card on the internet. I don’t do this, but i do try to fashion entries that pay lip service to the holiday, yet remain “new” in some way. This is a Photopost, with some snapshots of my home, which is having a new bathroom added, as I blogged about on Nov. 9 This is an ElectricPoetry Post, contianing my latest poem.  I’ve written about half a dozen “Thanksgiving Prayers” since 1972, when I penned my first one. I was in the midst of depression then, at only age 19, right after my mother’s first stroke. I wrote the latest ”installment” of the Thanksgiving Prayer series this morning, while feeling a bit of trepidation in my existence, as I am positively aware that the renovation going on with my rented home, will cause our rent to raise even higher, and I’m at the end of my financial rope as it is. But this is not the time of year to reflect on past disappointments, but to concentrate on what I am truly thankful for. (At least with two bathrooms Joel and I won’t ever “clash” again concerning shower times in the mornings.) This entry also serves as my Internet Island blogring topic entry for Topic #20.05: Thanksgiving. MFN (ppf) 

Comments (14)

  • awww.  what a great thanksgiving prayer:goodjob:

  • Happy Thanksgiving. You make it a more reverent time for me than usual. With my sheltered family, I look at it as a time for joy. It is that to me, but you make it more. Peace, Mike!

  • Happy Thanksgiving Mike! :sunny: I’m trying to get around to all my xangans.  :wave:Enjoy :fun:

  • You, my friend, are a word artist

  • What a wonderful prayer.  I wish I could write like that.  Great!

  • Dear Mike,

    Well hopefully things will turn out with this whole renovation business.

    Love,
    Liz

  • Hiya Michael! :wave:

    Wonderful Thanksgiving prayer… even though renovation, and definately higher rent, are not such wonderful things…

    I count finding you & your amazing blog among those things for which I am very thankful. :sunny:

    BE blessed!
    Steve :spinning:

  • Beautiful writing, Mike! I wish you and yours a very happy Thanksgiving. I really love the American tradition of Thanksgiving. Even the name of it sounds wonderful. :heartbeat:

    RYC: Yes I was very pleasantly surprised when I found the great quality of photos my new mobile phone takes! :goodjob:

  • Dear Mike,
    I like this poem very much, and the photos bring it into “real-time” as opposed to just nice sentiments. I’ve tried this last week to find the positive in every aspect of my life that I generally consider negative. It’s amazing how much better I feel when I am grateful, rather than sinking into my usual holiday mire of bitterness and despair.
    Thanks for your inspiration! I wish you a happy Thanksgiving, and I will be with you in spirit. Take care!
    ~Angie

  • Happy Thanksgiving Mike

    Hope you have a wonderful day just filled with love and good friends.

    Love

    Kat

  • Happy thanksgiving to you , my dear friend Mike…I hope you are doing well and that you enjoy your holidays

  • Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving prayer. I’m thinking of making my own effort at being thankful but am planning to do a 100-entry list. A local alternative magazine editor has set a great example of thankfulness, which included items such as memories and places, something I hadn’t really thought of doing in the past. Either way, it’s supposed to be incredibly healthy to do

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  • this is the perfect thanksgiving blog. creative, fresh, and a joy to read! :heartbeat:

  • I liked your poem very much   Good job :goodjob:

    Take care and I hope you had a happy Christmas,
    libby

    ps.  what does “trepidation” mean?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories