October 19, 2009

  • Anatomy of a Profile Pic 2

    anatomy

    This is a different kind of PhotoPost. One of my more intriguing entries was the first Anatomy of a Profile Pic, from July of 2007, where I diagrammed how I created Mike as Groucho, one of my most popular profiles. Since  Hallowe'en is coming up, I wanted to at least put a new profile up with me in "costume" as it were. I'm spending Hallowe'en here at my blog as "Mikula", poet, philosopher, fool of the vampires. Of course this being the internet, I really only have to do a few tweaks in the ol' Picture Publisher program, my handy photo editing software, and voila' I'm Dracula, er, Mikula. It's now past 11am and I began this latest project at 6:30am when I got up, so this did take a little time.

    mikewbeard

    Here is a self portrait from last week. My beard was getting a bit scruffy, and of course it's a full beard now, so since Dracula is clean shaven, something that will never happen to the ol' Mikester, I at least wanted to begin by trimming the beard. The first idea was to completely "edit out the beard" in the photo editing software, but this proved to be more trouble than I wanted to go through.

    mikeulabg

    So first thing I did this morning, was to trim my beard, and cut my hair. I do this myself, with professional trimmers and a mirror. Then after my shower, I put my camera on a tripod and took a few shots attempting to look like a vampire. I knew I was going to place my head and neck into an online photo of Dracula's suit, since I don't have the costume, so I didn't wear a shirt. In the title image above, I've added a few of the dozen or so shots I attempted. Even though the above shot, which is what I ended up using, was the first one taken, and I hadn't even shaved, I thought it was the best "pose" .

    cloudy

    For the background, I found the image below on the internet, but I didn't like the cloudscape. So I overlaid this cloudscape I took right before the rainstrorm hit SoCal last week. This is a typical cloudscape taken in the sky above my house.

    Dark_and_Stormy_Night_-_WP-238850

    I searched for three images, "Dark and Stormy Night", "Dracula color", and "Dracula's Castle." This is the Dark and Stormy night photo. Even though the profile pic is only 250 x 350 megapixels in size, I captured all the images "full size" then sized them to an 800 pixel wide master in the editing program. After I finished, I resized the profile pic to 250 x 350.

    castle

    This is what came up for the search for Dracula's Castle. I captured this image before the Dark and Stormy night image. I didn't realize there really IS a Dracula's castle and this is it. However, people who shoot photos of buildings usually don't have stormy skies behind them, so I has to improvise uisng the images above.

    dracula1

     I spent a lot of time finding the right Dracula costume. I didn't want a generic vampire, and of course the Dracula movie was made in black and white in 1931, so I couldnt use any image captures from the film, or else I'd be spending a lot of time with the colorizer. I used to have a model kit of Dracula when I was a kid, but the pose wasn't as neat as I remembered. I ended up using this costume photo from a Hallowe'en Costume shop online. Off with his head, and I'm ready to start compositing.

    Mikula

    I decided not to bore you with the several "steps" it took. Here is the final composite image, from which I created the profile picture I will use through the end of the month. Besides masking and layering the several images, I also had to darken lots of areas so it looks like night time. I overlaid an image of the moonscape on top of the moon from the web image. On the actual profile pic, of course, there needs to be a dreamcatcher, and I used a 50% transparency and "projected" the dreamcatcher on the moon.

    Well, it's the weekend, so I have time on my hands to be "creative". This is actually the first real composite image I've done in a long while, since before the operation in June.

    Posted October 18, 2009 11:22 AM

Comments (64)

  • I love everything but the castle. It's looks very sunny and cheerful. Not the gloomy abode of the Prince of Darkness.

  • I've always been impressed with your knack for entertaining avatars.

  • Very interesting steps. Love the way it turned out.

  • You are so cute!  Seriously, I love the new pic. 

  • haha, look at you, perfect profile pic for october

  • I like to see the anatomy of your brain next time, my friend. That was brilliant!

  • Wow. Great job!

  • it's cool to see what all photos you put involved in your newest profile creation. i really liked the picture of the moon threw the trees. (although i know you said you did't take that one i just like moon shots)

  • nice photo construction. thanks for walking us through it . i may try something like that

  • Wonderful! But, you don't look scary hahaha.

  • I like it. Thanks for taking all that time to get us feeling spooky.

  • Time to seek new blood, Count!

  • Nice... material and style.  You look uberly well-dressed and ghouly.

  • Well, Mikula, I must say, that proved you to be quite the veteran photo shopper.  I likely will always remember your profile pic though of the one where you showed the top of your head with the Xanga badges "tatooed" onto there.  I always appreciated the way in which the simple picture had a way of making a strong satirical statement.  And I do love my satire.

  • :wave: Brilliant, Mikula!

    See, this is a grand example of why I said you are so very talented and creative in many ways. Even if I wanted to, I couldn't come up with doing anything like this. Of course, it would take a lot of time, too; and my time is spent doing other things that please me.  So you do what pleases you & it's wonderful that you share all this creativity. It's a gift to be shared, so thank you.

    ~~Blessings 'n cheers :coolman:

  • It's amazing what can be done with photo editing now!! :goodjob: You've done a very clever and entertaining job of this, Mike. :spinning::fun:

  • I suppose you are aware of Vlad the Impaler - the historic Dracula. There is no way any costume you come up with could be as scary as this real guy.
    One well documented occurrence in his life was the time he invited a group of visiting dignitaries to lunch. The feast was outdoors in a forest of impaled victims - some of whom were still alive. Such spectacles probably did keep his grocery bill for the feeding of those he was trying to impress at a minimum.

  • If I knew how to do that....I could have some fun!  (like you!)

  • Ha! I love this! Brilliant! I, also, like seeing your teeth. I've been told I'm a vampire. I guess it's 'cause I like to bite and be bitten and the night is my best time...I like to stay up all night, etc.

    Hey, Mike,  I've been very ill the past few days and am taking some heavy duty sinus med's so I'm a bit loopy and tired tonight....so I'm not going to leave my usual long, drively comments.

    But, HUGS, as I'm not contagious

  • this was a fun post to read :sunny:

  • Yesterday, my friend bought a cheap designer handbags which is so beautiful, i am surprised by the design and style. Do you have a pair of cheap coach handbags now? if not, go to online store and have one, it is so amazing!!!  There are many online stores having cheap designer shoes , i believe you gonna like it!I like cheap designer shoes as well and someone is looking for cheap designer handbags? People usually prefer handbags outlet, especially when they visit some cheap designer handbags.

  • Fascinating information I haven’t been experienced such information in quite a long time. bubblegum casting

  • Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to
    be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I
    certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly don't know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side
    effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to
    get more. Thanks

  • I do accept as true with all the ideas you've introduced on your post.
    They are really convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for newbies.
    May you please prolong them a little from next time? Thanks for the
    post.

  • Hello to all, it's truly a fastidious for me to pay a visit this website,
    it consists of helpful Information.

  • Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; we have developed some nice practices and we are looking to swap methods with other folks,
    be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  • Use ߋf slang woгds ɑгe not thе rhetoric of thhe professionals.
    Ƴоu aгe facilitated tо trace οnly thе las ϲаll uѕing thіs method, as eveгу lateѕt саll replaces thе infοrmation оf ρrevious
    саll. I knoա, Ӏ think shе'ѕ dߋing ɡreat." Sara: "Goߋd Lord tɦіs hurts." Resident:"Reazdy
    - push օn threе... This is beϲause Һе/ѕhe will feel abandoned աhen ʏߋu Ԁo ignore him/her.
    What wіll happеn the, іs tҺɑt yߋur exx will ƅecome
    jealous. I was calling to confirm thе pickup tіmе. Dߋ yyou wɑnt the studebt tо stay ɑfter-school fօr tutoring
    support? Kathie, ɑ corporate communication executive іn а reputed firm, wɑs thе applle ߋf tɦe eye оf many
    ߋf ɦeг colleagues and friends otҺеr than ɦer office.

    An person օf the ցreatest mеɑns tօ preserve quіtе personal records іѕ ѡith
    tҺе helр օf cellphone recording. Dοn't fall for tɦe "hi"
    аnd tҺеn sɑу itt Ьack in the time allotted ԝith tҺe pause.
    Locating a phone company tҺаt pгovides cheap phon calls
    іѕ not easy.Liive monitoring availability ϲаn Ƅe tiered based ߋn successive layers օf administrative гights, sο that օnly certain officials аre privy to
    the mߋst senbsitive ߋr confidential conversations.
    І ѕtill have my dea оf а public service announcement сall whіch is "Is your refrigerator running? Have a list of questions made out in advance. Pay Close Attention Here- Now let me show you a mind blowing tool which professional investigators use to track down phone numbers and get anyone's information within a few seconds. How quickly are you prepared to move?

    Other Mediums for Follow-up You can also send a thank you note or letter to all the interviewers. The message need not be in a groveling, pleading tone, burdening the words with your desperation. I wanted to let you know how much I appreciate what you did for me. We need to straighten this out, Mr. With today's economic situation this is a simple task everyone should do to help recover from the present crisis. A call center can offer a number of positive aspects to companies who are obtaining their services. Typically, a homeowner will call the company after seeing an ad in the Yellow Pages or in the newspaper.

    But not your typical type of jealous, this jealousy will literally tear through him/her like a raging fire, because you are dating someone they know, and not only will he/she not be able to stand the thought of you with someone else, but your ex will really despise the fact that it's someone they know! Thus users can easily get themselves registered simply by providing some personal details. But this will have to be someone that your ex doesn't particularly fancy. After the company has obtained this information, we can then call back the prospective seller and see if a deal is possible. You can call the carrier and opt for their unwanted call blocking service. Telephone answering services offer many advantages. It can get very boring.

    Software of this type is rapidly being adopted by many industries and there are several different types on the market. The users feel great to dial international numbers. The details include phone number and email address. This is necessary in-order to receive the customer services offered by the service provider. If you call India regularly powerVoip is very good news mainly because it costs just one.5 cents to phone call both landline as well as cellphone in india that's the cheapest rate these days via any kind of service provider. Are you also sailing in the same boat? Talk about the current sports events like soccer. Not his wife's ear - the baby's.

    If you have been calling your ex on a continuous basis, then stop calling for a week or so. Hello and thanks for calling Yang Chow restaurant. Not all interviewees understand the importance of sending a thank you letter after giving the interview, however, it is actually a good way of making a positive impression. They are all under seven years old...we want to wait until they are teenagers! Maybe the time would have better been spent making pre-recorded phone calls to ask for help for the people who are clinging to their life in Haiti? Are you ready to do a real search? Sometimes you'll have to wait until they call again, if you don't know the number -- or look through your call log to find the number.

    These tactics included staging meetings and locking their paychecks in the assembly hall to threatening mass layoffs. But if it works, then nothing like it! There is a set of easy to follow psychological tricks which will make your ex crawl back to you within a few days guaranteed. If you notice that in your psychic reading, you are feeling like this call should not be happening, then simply tell your client that you do not feel a psychic connection with them. In most countries, making prank calls to emergency services and wasting their time is not just considered as a telephone harassment, but is also a criminal offense. My name's not Ryan. At this point, you will either have a client, an appointment or a 'No' in which case you move on. Calling cards are very easy to use for making international calls.

    Do you have a field trip at the end of the week? A digital telephone recording suite can provide supervisors and planners with 1st responding agencies the means for training dispatchers and citizen service agents, monitoring ongoing response efforts, and capturing and keeping detailed logs and files for each and every conversation had. At the end of recording a phone call, not only the audio file is saved, but the details of the call are also stored. If you are really lucky, you may get a call screener which will flag the last call, even when the phone number is not saved. Virtual in this case means they are not in your location, not that they are machines themselves. Waiting for you. You must make an effort to locate zones which could be appropriate for the level and go to that zone. What and where?

    Jonathan hasn't been seen since, and Houston Police have issued an Amber Alert due to the suspicious nature of his disappearance. Scott Walker of Wisconsin put his foot into his mouth this time. However, follow-up is really important, and if you are not getting a call from your interviewer even after a week, pick up your receiver and make a call yourself. I got down to his level and he hugged me so tight and told me he was proud of me! Did the caller just get a new job, forcing him or her to move? The answering service will receive all your telephone calls, screen them and will forward all important calls, messages and information to you. The mode of medium is surely as well as completely of Mbuzzz.

    Your ex might start wondering on why you are not calling them. Why are you calling? Once the person identified themselves, I was stunned. I did say hi back, not realizing it was a recording at first.

  • It's wonderful that you are getting thoughts from this
    article as well as from our argument made at this place.

  • I know this if off topic but I'm looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is
    required to get setup? I'm assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I'm not very internet savvy so I'm not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  • Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article post. I like to write a little comment to support you.

  • Thanks for sharing your thoughts about dyson. Regards

  • Highly energetic post, I liked that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  • Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is
    a really well written article. I'll make sure to bookmark
    it and come back to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  • My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might
    as well check things out. I like what I see so now i'm following you.

    Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

  • Simply desire to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your post
    is simply excellent and i can assume you are an expert on this
    subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with
    forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  • I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this
    website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz respond as I'm looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this
    from. kudos

  • I think this is one of the most significant information for me.
    And i'm glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things,
    The site style is wonderful, the articles is really excellent :
    D. Good job, cheers

  • Great post. I was checkinng constantly this blog and I'm impressed!

    Extremely helpful info specifically the last psrt :) I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this particulqr info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  • Hello Dear, are you in fact visiting this web site daily,
    if so afterward you will absolutely take pleasant knowledge.

  • Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the rest of the
    website is very good.

  • This is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Short but very precise information… Thank you
    for sharing this one. A must read article!

  • Hi there, this weekend is pleasant designed for me, because this point in time i am reading this fantastic
    educational piece of writing here at my house.

  • Wonderful, what a blog it is! This webpage gives useful information to us, keep it up.

  • I have been browsing on-line greater than three hours nowadays, yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing
    article like yours. It's beautiful price enough for me.

    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you probably
    did, the net will probably be much more helpful than ever before.

  • I just couldn't go away your website prior to suggesting that I
    extremely enjoyed the usual information a person supply on your guests?
    Is gonna be again incessantly in order to check up on new posts

  • Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to return the desire?.I'm attempting to
    find things to enhance my web site!I assume its adequate to
    use a few of your concepts!!

  • Inspiring story there. What happened after? Take
    care!

  • Because the admin of this website is working, no question very soon it will be renowned,
    due to its quality contents.

  • Hi to every body, it's my first pay a quick visit of this
    website; this weblog contains remarkable and really excellent
    data in support of readers.

  • Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!

    It is the little changes which will make the largest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  • I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers however this paragraph is in fact a pleasant post, keep it up.

  • This is my first time go to see at here and
    i am genuinely pleassant to read all at single place.

  • It's a shame you don't have a donate button! I'd certainly donate to
    this outstanding blog! I guess for now i'll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this site
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  • I really like it when individuals get together and share views.

    Great blog, keep it up!

  • Hey would you mind letting me know which webhost you're using?
    I've loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog
    loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend
    a good internet hosting provder at a reasonable price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  • Right here is the right blog for anyone who wishes to find out about this topic.

    You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I
    actually will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a new sspin on a topic which has been written about foor ages.
    Great stuff, just great!

  • I every time spent my half an hour to read this web site's articles everyday along with a cup of coffee.

  • Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. This is an extremely neatly written article.

    I willl make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful info.
    Thank you for the post. I'll definitely comeback.

  • It's an remarkable post designed for all the web people; they
    will get advantage from iit I aam sure.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories