February 21, 2005

  • Tribute to Hunter S. Thompson

    hunter

    Author Hunter S. Thompson Kills Himself

    41 minutes ago   U.S. National - AP
     

    By CATHERINE TSAI, Associated Press Writer

    DENVER - Hunter S. Thompson, the acerbic counterculture writer who popularized a new form of fictional journalism in books like "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas," fatally shot himself Sunday night at his Aspen-area home, his son said. He was 67. "Hunter prized his privacy and we ask that his friends and admirers respect that privacy as well as that of his family," Juan Thompson said in a statement released to the Aspen Daily News. Pitkin County Sheriff officials confirmed to The Associated Press that Thompson had died of an apparent self-inflicted gunshot wound. Thompson's wife, Anita, was not home at the time. Besides the 1972 drug-hazed classic about Thompson's visit to Las Vegas, he also wrote "Fear and Loathing: On the Campaign Trail '72." The central character in those wild, sprawling satires was "Dr. Thompson," a snarling, drug- and alcohol-crazed observer and participant. Thompson is credited with pioneering New Journalism ā€” or, as he dubbed it, "gonzo journalism" ā€” in which the writer made himself an essential component of the story. Much of his earliest work appeared in Rolling Stone magazine. "Fiction is based on reality unless you're a fairy-tale artist," Thompson told the AP in 2003. "You have to get your knowledge of life from somewhere. You have to know the material you're writing about before you alter it." An acute observer of the decadence and depravity in American life, Thompson also wrote such collections "Generation of Swine" and "Songs of the Doomed." His first ever novel, "The Rum Diary," written in 1959, was first published in 1998. Thompson was a counterculture icon at the height of the Watergate era, and once said Richard Nixon represented "that dark, venal, and incurably violent side of the American character." Thompson also was the model for Garry Trudeau's balding "Uncle Duke" in the comic strip "Doonesbury" and was portrayed on screen by Johnny Depp in a film adaptation of "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas." Other books include "The Great Shark Hunt," "Hell's Angels" and "The Proud Highway." His most recent effort was "Hey Rube: Blood Sport, the Bush Doctrine, and the Downward Spiral of Dumbness." 
    "He may have died relatively young but he made up for it in quality if not quantity of years," Paul Krassner, the veteran radical journalist and one of Thompson's former editors, told The Associated Press by phone from his Southern California home. "It was hard to say sometimes whether he was being provocative for its own sake or if he was just being drunk and stoned and irresponsible," quipped Krassner, founder of the leftist publication The Realist and co-founder of the Youth International (YIPPIE) party. "But every editor that I know, myself included, was willing to accept a certain prima donna journalism in the demands he would make to cover a particular story," he said. "They were willing to risk all of his irresponsible behavior in order to share his talent with their readers."
    The writer's compound in Woody Creek, not far from Aspen, was almost as legendary as Thompson. He prized peacocks and weapons; in 2000, he accidentally shot and slightly wounded his assistant, Deborah Fuller, trying to chase a bear off his property. Born July 18, 1937, in Kentucky, Hunter Stocton Thompson served two years in the Air Force, where he was a newspaper sports editor. He later became a proud member of the National Rifle Association and almost was elected sheriff in Aspen in 1970 under the Freak Power Party banner. Thompson's heyday came in the 1970s, when his larger-than-life persona was gobbled up by magazines. His pieces were of legendary length and so was his appetite for adventure and trouble; his purported fights with Rolling Stone editor Jann Wenner were rumored in many cases to hinge on expense accounts for stories that didn't materialize. It was the content that raised eyebrows and tempers. His book on the 1972 presidential campaign involving, among
    others, Edmund Muskie, Hubert Humphrey and Nixon was famous for its scathing opinion.


    A Savage Journey Into the Heart of the American Dream.

    Hunter, I once featured one of your quotes on my bulletin board back when you meant something. You talked about how the greatest feeling was right before you were about to spin out on your motorcycle going around a bend at a ridiculously unsafe speed, and your point was that what made the experience special was the fact that you got the bike upright and lived . What happened? I feel somewhat betrayed by your ultimate "gonzo" act, old man. You should have uprighted the bike. The bats weren't real. I thought you knew that.


    Edit: 6:09 a.m. Hunter Thompson's  book, "Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas" along with Tom Wolfe's "The Electric Kool-aid Acid Test" were some of my "bibles" during the  70s. I have alluded to my respect for Hunter before in blog entries and on my website. I am upset at him for ending it this way, however. I always get upset when writers and artists throw their lives away. 

Comments (44)

  • Did you know him? He was my attitude-hero. I knew he wouldn't just die.

  • I have much respect for Mr. Thompson. It is very tragic to me that he is gone. I keep thinking to myself though... that he couldn't have done this for any of your run-of-the-mill reasons... he was not content to let anything in his life be average... why an average suicide? I wonder if perhaps, instead of doing this for the more obvious reasons (drugs, fed up with life, had too much)... that maybe he did this because of his compulsive curiousity, his need to know everything about everything that holds his interest... including death. Maybe he just couldn't stave off the compelling need to know what it's all about...

    But those are just my thoughts on tonights events.

    Sita

  • Just stopping by super quick.  That is so tragic.:(

    ((Hugs))

  • I wish he could have rowed away from the rocks.

  • This is everywhere today. So upsetting. Writer's don't realize how much their words are like ripples, they affect people for ages. This is a sad loss.

    RYC: thanks for being the bard and injecting a dylan quote into my post. That was one of the sweetest things ever!

    lisa

  • This is everywhere today. So upsetting. Writer's don't realize how much their words are like ripples, they affect people for ages. This is a sad loss.

    RYC: thanks for being the bard and injecting a dylan quote into my post. That was one of the sweetest things ever!

    lisa

  • Yes, it is a sad day...:(

  • that is really sad!

  • :( I am most sad of this news Mike...

  • Second tribute to him,  he will be missed.

  • I have a sad place in my heart for him. But I am not surprised by this; it is how I would have imagined he would go out. Too soon for me, probably right on time for him. Have you heard about the cannon? I loved Hunter and always will.
    S2

  • This article will assist the internet viewers for building up new weblog or even a blog
    from start to end.

  • Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us have created some nice practices and we are looking to trade techniques with other folks, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  • Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you actually understand what you're
    talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my site =).

    We could have a hyperlink trade arrangement between us

  • It's actually very difficult in this active life to listen news
    on TV, thus I only use world wide web for that reason, and obtain the newest information.

  • It is actually a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  • Every weekend i used to go to see this website, for
    the reason that i want enjoyment, as this this web page conations
    truly pleasant funny data too.

  • Iā€™m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice,
    keep it up! I'll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Many thanks

  • Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also
    am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice methods and we
    are looking to swap methods with other folks, be sure to shoot me an email
    if interested.

  • Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks

  • Everyone loves it when folks get together and share views.

    Great website, stick with it!

  • I am curious to find out what blog platform you
    have been working with? I'm having some minor security issues with my latest site
    and I'd like to find something more safe. Do you have any recommendations?

  • Hi there everyone, it's my first pay a quick visit att this web page,
    and paragraplh is truy fruitful in favor of me,
    keep up posting these posts.

  • This piece of writing will assist the internet viewers for building up
    new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

  • Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

  • Post writing is also a excitement, if you know after that you
    can write if not it is difficult to write.

  • Hello i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this brilliant paragraph.

  • Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worked
    hard on. Any tips?

  • Why users still make use of to read news papers when in this technological globe the
    whole thing is existing on net?

  • Hi there, all is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that's in fact good, keep up writing.

  • What's up, I log on to your new stuff regularly. Your writing style is awesome, keep doing what
    you're doing!

  • Hello to every one, the contents existing at this site are
    in fact awesome for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  • Its like you read my mind! You appear to understand
    a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I think that you just can do with some percent to drive the message house a bit, but
    other than that, that is fantastic blog. An excellent read.
    I will certainly be back.

  • Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to
    be on the internet the easiest thing to be
    aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people
    consider worries that they just don't know about. You managed
    to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole
    thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  • Hello there, I found your web site via Google whilst searching for a similar matter, your
    site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just changed into alert to your weblog
    thru Google, and found that it's really informative.
    I am gonna be careful for brussels. I'll be grateful when you proceed
    this in future. A lot of other people might be benefited out of
    your writing. Cheers!

  • Fantastic goods frtom you, man. I have keep in mind your stuuff prior to and you're simply too fantastic.
    I actually like what you have received right here, certainly lkke
    what you are stating and the way in which wherein you are saying it.

    You make it enjoyable and you continue to care for to stay it smart.
    I can't wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful web site.

  • Hello! I'm at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted too sayy I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!

    Carry on the great work!

  • It's wonderful that you are getting deas from this post
    as well as from our dialogue made at this place.

  • Howdy, There's no doubt thazt your web site could possibpy be having internet
    browser compatibility issues. When I look at your
    site iin Safari, it looks fine however, wen opening
    in I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted
    to gve you a quick heads up! Apart from that, wonderful blog!

  • I know this web page provides quality depending articles and other material, is
    there any other website which gives these stuff in quality?

  • Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that
    it's really informative. I'm going to watcdh out for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be
    benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories