June 28, 2011

  • PhotoPost: USS Midway Aircraft Carrier

    titlecard

    Interesting that I spent the month of May on Xanga almost every day, made more new Xanga friendships, reconnected (as usual) with older friends, read and commented, visited and socialized, and then, almost without warning, decided, as I frequently do, to go on (yet another) hiatus. During the hiatus, which is now rounding out about a month, I notice Xangans rarely visit. It seems as if the Xangasphere is much smaller, and the "usernames" which grace my "universal inbox" are for the most part, names I don't even recognize.

    I'm not going to make excuses for not posting. I'm not going to tell you it's summer time, and I'm more social in real life. I'm not going to tell you I'm traveling, or making an attempt to scale down the dozens of recorded entertainment on my many drives and DVRs. I'm living my life, day to day, as usual. Sometimes Xanga is included. Sometimes not. That's the way it is. I wasn't born with a computer in my life, and I'll doubtless leave this life without one either, so sometimes it just gathers dust in the other room.

    But when I have something to share, I'll most likely brush the dust away, and and present it on my blog. Today, I wish to share a trip I made yesterday (6/25) to San Diego harbor, to spend a day touring the USS Midway, an aircraft carrier permanently docked as a Naval museum, and a great day trip. Settle back, and prepare to spend some time here. I decided to post the whole trip on one blog, instead of split it up like I possibly should. But I don't care. I may get only 12 comments. That doesn't matter. Eventually, I'll post the rest of the photos on my Webshots Gallery. It's already past 9am though, and I do hope to get down to the pool today. However, here is a selection of photos I took aboard ship. Cheers.

    DSC07552

    The USS Midway as seen when you get out of your car in the parking lot. I left for San Diego, about a 100 mile drive from home, at about 7:30 in the morning. As usual, I wanted to do a lot and take lots of photos. However, city architecture, Old Town, Mission Bay, and the small towns of Carlsbad and Oceanside will have to wait for another day. I spent all day on the ship, and only stopped when my feet began to hurt, leaving town a few hours after noon and I got home at about 5pm. 

    DSC07557

    The Midway was commissioned in 1945 and didn't see duty in WWII. It was the largest ship in the world at the time. The flight deck covers over 4 acres! The ship served in Vietnam and in the Gulf conflicts. It was decommissioned in 1992 and has been a Naval museum since 2004. It's the most popular shipboard museum in the world. The parking lot was pretty full when I finally left, and there were crowds of people on board. This is the entrance. Admission is $18.00 for an adult. Active servicemen get in for free, and veterans get a discount.

    DSC07561

    The ship's bell as I enter the hanger deck midships. I'm looking toward shore, and the skyline of San Diego's downtown. The ship is docked on North Harbor Street, which runs parallel to Pacific Highway. I looked up directions last weekend, but didn't go. And I didn't refamiliarize myself with the directions before leaving yesterday morning. I almost got lost, but it's a good thing the Midway is a pretty big ship, and you can see it from some ways away.

    DSC07562

    I picked up my audio player and headphones, for the individual guided tour, and asked where I could find the head. It's a long trip on the road, and I was in need of some relief. I snapped this photo on the way out. Thought you'd like to know! You could also while away your time in the head learning about portholes, and why they call the front of the ship the bow and what starboard and portside mean. Neat to be able to learn something new in all areas of this rather large shipboard museum!

    DSC07569

    On the hanger deck, where the planes were stored during active use, a few planes are displayed. All in all, about 30 aircraft are restored and displayed on ship. Some were actually used on the Midway when in service. This is an SNJ Texan, a World War II era pilot training plane.

    DSC07574

    Off the port side of the ship is a park dedicated to WWII vetarans. Although I didn't get to go out to the park after my tour aboard ship, I did take some photos from onboard the ship using my zoom function. This is a statue version of the classic Alfed Eisenstaedt photo VJ day. It's pretty large, as you can see from the size of the tourists in front of it. All the better to see clearly from onboard the USS Midway!

    DSC07576

    Here is another view of the park and statue, (from one of the aircraft elevators being used as a patio) looking toward the bow of the ship. Another aircraft carrier is in the distance. I didn't inquire as to which one it is. However, there is a model inside the hanger deck of the latest Aircraft carrier to be commissioned, the Gerald R. Ford, which is the first of the new Ford Class of carriers. I do have a personal interest in aircraft carriers, by the way. I have control panels I designed and which our company built on board the Ronald Reagan! And we're supposed to be building some panels for the Ford.

    DSC07582

    A Vought F4U Corsair, one of the most recent restorations. I love how the lights illuminate the shiny skin of the plane. On the audio tour, you hear recollections from WWII pilots about what it was like to fly planes off the bow of the aircraft carrier. (and how scary it was to land.) During Vietnam and the Gulf war, they launched some rather large jets off the deck of the Midway. The deck is 968 feet long, and the width of the ship is 113 feet. One of the docents told us that the ship's "gas tank" was never allowed to go below 70 percent, so during the Vietnam war, there was a fueling ship alongside at all times, and the carrier was fueled twice a day!

    DSC07588

    These are the chains to which the rather large anchors are attached. Sailors knew when the ship was being anchored. You could hear the sound and feel the rattle of these chains everywhere on board.

    DSC07594

    Since I'm in the electrical industry, I'm fascinated with the wires and conduits running along the upper parts of the long hallways. You could get lost in this "city at sea' pretty easily if you didn't know where you were going. I'm glad the tour was easily marked. You can see a yellow tour arrow sign in the distance. If someone was framed by one of the cabin doorways, it almost looked as if one was staring into a mirror but not seeing themselves, since the endless hallways resemble the multiple reflections in a mirror. The paint is kept bright and new. Painters were at work on parts of the ship and dock when I visited, and I'm sure they work on some section every day, to keep the ship looking fresh.

    DSC07601

    There are over 60 exhibits, and a lot of the rooms are populated with mannequins. Here I took a shot which includes a suit of armor "smoking" a cigar. One can take hours just looking at all the vintage typewriters, phones, logbooks, furniture, and uniforms on board this massive museum.  There are also WWII era vets alongside some of the planes to offer reminiscences, and the guided tours are given by docents who might not have served on board this particular ship, but are Navy veterans. The city doesn't own this ship, like Long Beach owns the Queen Mary. This is still a U.S. Navy ship, and the Navy runs the museum. I got a thrill out of listening to some Vietnam and Persian Gulf era veterans ahead of me on the tour reminsicing about their time spent as crewmen on board the Midway.

    DSC07607

    One of the communications centers, which dot all areas of the ship.

    DSC07614

    One of the exhibit rooms with mannequins. One of the docents was resting on a couch in one of these rooms (alongside a mannequin) and when he moved, the gal to my left really got spooked, screamed "He moved", and nearly tore the arm off of her boyfriend. He laughed bositerously, to which she remarked, still visibly shaking, "That wasn't funny".

    DSC07621

    This is the control area right alongside the engine compartment. I took lots of video of the ship too, and will present a video tour when I complete the editing. I've wanted to tour the Midway for many years. I once went onboard a destroyer in Canada and it was quite small compared to what I saw yesterday. Still, the average crewman bunked in pretty tight quarters. Only the admiral and the captain had real beds with legs on which to sleep. The officer's "country" was really quite different from the living and working quarters of the crew. In the area shown pictured, I was most interested in all the dials and gauges. Pre digital technology. One docent told us that a teenage girl in another tour said she was most interested in the dial phones, as she had never seen one in her life!

    DSC07647

    As you go onto the main deck, the first plane you see displayed, is the largest jet ever launched from the Midway. It's the A-3 Skywarrior, nicknamed "The Whale." This was an impressive plane, and I shot dozens of photos with the skyline of downtown San Diego in the background.

    DSC07665

    An A-4 Skyhawk and an F9F Panther, the very first Navy jet to see combat, in the Korean war. I like the kid checking out the jet. I wasn't trying to get people in the shots, but as the afternoon wore on, more and more tourists seem to arrive on deck. Funny thing. When driving down to San Diego, the marine layer was really thick. I had the top down, and was wearing cargo shorts, but it was a mite cold in the car, and I had the heat on. As the tripometer clicked over to the 100 mile marker from home, I passed the San Diego City Limits sign and the sun came out. The day was beautiful, and a great time to visit the USS Midway.  

    DSC07670

    I believe this is an A6-Intruder, alongside the "island" (ship's bridge) through which they gave a guided tour (with quite a long line.)  The better shot includes the lady walking along the left, but as usual I tried to get more of a feel for the ship and deck as if it were being used, and didn't want tourists in my shots!

    DSC07680

    The skyline of San Diego framed the tail of a T-2 Buckeye. The planes displayed in (and on top of ) the museum can be found here on the Midway website.

    DSC07683

    I tried to get as many shots of the planes framed imaginatively. After a while, one does get a bit tired. You cover a lot of ground walking. There are places where you can stop and sit down and listen to Naval veterans. Also there are wheelchair accessible parts of the tour, and what handicapped visitors cannot see is presented to them in a theater. All in all a very good tourist destination in San Diego, and since I spent most of the day there and didn't get the time to do anything else, I would call it a day well spent and a bargain at under 20 bucks. (7 bucks for parking added separately.)

    DSC07686

    The "island" with the Intruder in the foreground. The group of people at top right are on one of the guided tours by the docents.

    DSC07694

    I was amazed at the difference in style and presentation of the many "ready rooms" where the pilots of individual squadrons were given their orders. This one is behind glass with mannequins. Others were open and we could sit down and take a break while listening to the audio tour tape. We were admonished not to sit in the XO (commanding officer's) seat however. This ready room was presented in tribute to some fallen and captured comrades.

    DSC07697

    A display in the back of the ready room showcased in the photo above.

    DSC07712

    I shot the VJ Day statue from a porthole on one of the helicpoters on which you can actually board and sit inside. I was wishing I could have gotten rid of the chain link fence or at least lowered it, however.

    DSC07722

    Here I am at the bow of the ship. (where the planes fly back off of if they can't catch one of the three containing lines as they prepare to land.) I'm trying to get the life raft in the photo, and I and another photographer bumped each other as he attempted to take a photo of the deck from the opposite angle. The carrier in the distance is commissioned and in use. The Navy still has a pretty big presence in San Diego, unlike in Long Beach, where they closed the Naval base years ago. It was in San Diego where aircraft carriers were "born" in 1925! So it is fitting that the Midway is docked here as a museum.

    DSC07736

    While on the bridge tour, high up in the "island" on top of the deck, I shot this photo of the rear deck (toward the stern of the ship) with the skyline in the distance. We waited over a half hour through two previous groups, to get to the bridge tour. All the areas which are closed early, or which have long waits, are announced to visitors, so everyone gets a chance to see everything. For a place as large as this museum, I was very impressed by crowd control the docents, and the people on the many information booths. A class act. Lots of "heads" too! And on each deck. There are a lot of stairs to climb, it should be noted.

    DSC07738

    I'm shooting out toward the Coronado Island bridge from the bridge of the USS Midway!

    DSC07748

    A chair on board the bridge area.

    DSC07752

    The ship's wheel on the main bridge.

    DSC07765

    Some of the dials in the electronics or "radio room", which impressed me greatly. Sort of like a really big stereo set!

    DSC07777

    This is the altar in the ship's chapel.

    DSC07793

    Rather grand dining for the officers in the "bowling alley" officer's mess room. I really liked seeing the difference in accommodations between the enlisted crew and the officers areas. Like night and day. By the way, the Japanese fan is part of the Japanese theme in the officer's mess room. This is because the Midway was the first aircraft carrier docked in a foreign country, which was Japan, in 1973. In 1975, the Midway was the main ship carrying refugees (over 3000 of them) from Saigon after the fall.

    DSC07794

    One of the kitchens, populated by mannequin chefs.

    DSC07822

    This is the Chief Petty Officer's mess, and the checkerboard tiles in the floor were really shined to perfection. Other areas I toured were the post office, medical and dental area (the sick bays), and the ship's jailhouse, called (you got it) the "brig". I walked until I physically couldn't bear to walk anymore.

    DSC07836

    I almost felt as if I had made a tour with the Midway and never left the port of San Diego!

    Required Reading: The Official Site of the USS Midway

    Wikipedia Entry: USS Midway CV-41

    US Navy website: Aircraft Carriers Section on the USS Midway

    Posted:  June 26, 2011 10:47 AM

Comments (58)

  • A great post, Mike!  When I was there, we didn't go to the bridge after all that walking below and on the deck!  It was interesting to see, though I'm glad I never had to serve on a ship like this -- it would make me claustrophobic!

  • Wow that is one big ass boat, huh?  For some reason I really like that blue and white checkered floor in one of the kitchens.  It reminds me of something that would be in a retro diner. 

    I've been gone almost the exact same time frame you've been gone.  Yesterday I posted pictures of the house and today I did that xanga history thing, and then I saw your pic over on my blog so I came by. 

    I think it makes sense that people don't come by when someone isn't around for a while, they do the same with me.  I dont read from subs, and probably plenty of other people don't either, so maybe it makes sense if you think of it that way.   I think that's one way people see someone is back around, they see your pic there and then they see "oh he's around' and stop by.  Or see you reccing something maybe, I know when people rec something sometimes I got to them insead of the one they recced.

  • Glad to hear you're back, Mike, I was just thinking the other day that I hadn't "seen" you around. It's funny, because I've been thinking about going to California on vacation this summer. I originally was thinking I would go to San Francisco, but this is the second San Diego centered post I've seen in the last week (the other was about the zoo), so now I'm reconsidering!

    I went once to the Intrepid museum in New York, and while I don't remember much about it, this seems to be very similar. There were lots of planes and electrical equipment around, and it was very interesting. I went once on a submarine, too, and was too claustrophobic for me to spend much time in. Even these big aircraft carriers are kind of small inside, even though they're so big. I don't think I'd be a very good sailor. :D

  • Hey, Mike! thanks for taking us on this great adventure with you! What an interesting fun tour! I lived in San Diego for seven years and never got to go on this tour.

    HUGS and keep enjoying your SUMMER!

  • Excellent trip! I've never toured anything as massive as the Midway, around here we have the USS Albacore, a decommissioned submarine that is available to tour, and also much more cramped from the looks of things. I went once as a child, and once a few years back, just to compare.

    Keep enjoying life! That's what I try and do as well, most of my posts come in the early morning hours when I'm having trouble sleeping, aside from that I'm out and about. Good to hear from you!

  • The photos are awesome Mike. I have been watching the movie "Brothers" about a guy who went to the army and went to Afghanistan. So when I watched these photos it reminded me of that.

    Regarding the comments, I sometimes don't have any at all for my posts and I don't know why? But I just accept it.

  • Hello Mike, there is a great sense of order in these pictures.

  • awesomeness!!

    *envy mode*

  • I get your post in xanga digest its the only way to follow u guy's without logging in all the time (u write long post mike)  :)

  • I was all set to visit the USS Midway on our trip to San Diego this July.  But, I had to change my plans, so will miss this trip. 
    So, I thank you for the tour, this was the next best thing!  Thank you~

  • Dear Michael,

    You have been awhile, but it is summertime and I'm sure alot of other people are out and about too.  I would, but I don't like the outdoors!

    Thanks for posting the pictures.  It was really interesting, but statue of the navy guy and the nurse made me think...."I bet they would never be a source of inspiration when a hormonally charged guy just grabbed a pretty girl to kiss.  It reminded me of the "kissing couple from Vancouver" picture.  http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/kissing-couple-vancouver-riots-photo-viral-canucks-lose/story?id=13866244 

    Hope things go well.....and don't forget the sunscreen!

    Ann

  • Mike, I think you have developed a more heatthy view of blogging and not being "addicted" to technology. I think that's a good thing. Besides, if you posted everyday, I'd probably have a hard time keeping up with you. Anyway, thanks for the many photos and information on the USS Midway, although I don't have time right now to read all in detail. I'll probably have to visit it again.

    Also, I really appreciate your taking the time to visit on two of my most recent blogs and for leaving very thoughtful comments. I wanted to mention my appreciation here, although I also replied to you & others from my site.

    ~~Blessings 'n Cheers

  • Interesting photos. One small correction - the WW2 naval fighter you photographed was as Vought F4U Corsair, not a Wildcat - it had those distinctive inverted gull wings. It was a fairly late entrant in the war but was much desired by Marine pilots.  I'm probably one of your few readers who saw them being flown [As a teenager I lived close to a Marine training base in FL during WW2]

  • @tychecat - Damn it, Dick. I actually "guessed" at that one.  I used to take a notepad to museums with me and now since almost all of them have a website, I use the information on the site for my online articles. That's one plane which wasn't added to the website yet, and I did photo searches to try and find out which one it was. Got it wrong! Thanks for the clarification. I'll correct the caption! MFN/ppf 

  • Marshall supposedly have surgical treatments to correct that injury

  • 509 million regarding business

  • The Mulberry silk duvet is a heavenly new duvet so soft and lightweight that it drapes gently around the body providing an extremely comfortable nights sleep. As a natural breathable fibre, silk helps regulate your body temperature keeping you warm in winter, without overheating, and cool in summer.

  • The Mulberry silk duvet is a heavenly new duvet so soft and lightweight that it drapes gently around the body providing an extremely comfortable nights sleep. As a natural breathable fibre, silk helps regulate your body temperature keeping you warm in winter, without overheating, and cool in summer.

  • My cousin indicated I'd potentially like that web page. Your dog ended up being fully perfect. This text basically created our day time. You can't believe that precisely how a whole lot time I did spent in this facts! Many thanks!

  • Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the
    favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!I
    suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  • affordable price and superb service to our discerning customers in the UK and around the world.

  • This is my first time i visit here. I found so many entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the leisure here! Keep up the good work.

  • Cleaning Company -tel. 6974595633, Athens, Neos Kosmos. General Header Biological Tactical Cleaning Building Services Home Office Glass Marbles Salons Carpets throughout the Attica

  • Thanks for one's marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a
    great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may
    come back sometime soon. I want to encourage one to continue your great
    writing, have a nice afternoon!

  • If you live in the area of Surrey, look no further than Abinger Marquees.

  • A week before we moved to Singapore we said farewell to our friends who still live in the city.

  • As the admin of this website is working, no hesitation very quickly it will be
    famous, due to its feature contents.

  • What a video it is! In fact awesome and fastidious quality, please upload more movies having such nice quality. Thanks.

  • It's hard to find knowledgeable people about this topic, however,
    you seem like you know what you're talking about!
    Thanks

  • Hey this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I'm starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to
    get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  • This is really interesting, You're a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I've shared your site in my social networks!

  • Amazing! Its in fact remarkable article, I have got much clear
    idea on the topic of from this paragraph.

  • Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was
    just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it's driving me insane so any support
    is very much appreciated.

  • Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way,
    how can we communicate?

  • Hello! I could have sworn I've visited this website before but after looking at a few of
    the posts I realized it's new to me. Regardless, I'm
    certainly happy I discovered it and I'll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  • Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around
    on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I've been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Many thanks

  • Wow! In the end I got a webpage from where I can actually obtain helpful data regarding my study and
    knowledge.

  • whoah this blog is wonderful i like reading your posts.
    Stay up the great work! You know, a lot of individuals are hunting around for this information, you could aid them greatly.

  • My spouse and I stumbled over here different web address and thought I might check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

  • If some one wishes expert view concerning blogging after
    that i advise him/her to go to see this web site, Keep up the pleasant
    job.

  • Hi terrific website! Does running a blog similar to this require a lot of work?
    I have virtually no understanding of programming but I was hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyways,
    if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.

    I know this is off topic nevertheless I just had to ask.
    Thanks a lot!

  • Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There's a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Cheers

  • Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to saay that
    I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rrss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  • Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work
    due to no backup. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  • Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you're just extremely excellent. I actually like what you've acquired here,
    certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I can't wait to read far more from you. This is
    really a tremendous website.

  • Woah! I'm really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's challenging to
    get that "perfect balance" between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you have done a fantastic job with this.

    Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Chrome.
    Excellent Blog!

  • I'd like to find out more? I'd care to find out more details.

  • This site really has all the information I wanted about this subject and
    didn't know who to ask.

  • I will immediately seize your rss feed as I can't in finding your e-mail subscription link or
    e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly allow me realize
    in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  • Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I'm trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I'm
    not seeing very good gains. If you know of any please share.
    Kudos!

  • If you would like to get much from this article then you have to apply these techniques to your won weblog.

  • Hello this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I'm starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get advice
    from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  • Wow, incredible weblog format! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The whole glance of your website is fantastic, let alone the content!

  • Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4
    year old daughter and said "You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear." She placed the shell to
    her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  • What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of
    precious know-how concerning unexpected feelings.

  • I always spent my halpf an hour to read this weblog's posts daily along with a cup off coffee.

  • Hi, i think that i saw you visited myy web site thus i came to
    “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things
    to improve my web site!I suppose its ok too use some of your ideas!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories