February 22, 2005

  • News and Notes: ElectricPoetry Updates

    Some Rather Nice News:

    On Sunday afternoon I opened my email program and was delightedly surprised to see an email from Regina, the last woman I met through an online “lovesearch”, back in 2000. Our relationship lasted about half a year, and she actually moved to California from New Mexico, where we attempted to forge our new relationship whilst maintaining separate homes. She found it difficult to obtain the proper employment, however, and this experiment ended when she felt it would be easier for her to go back “home”.  She had pulled her website and Yahoo personality off the web a while back, and the phone number I had for her was disconnected. I tried to get in touch, but it seemed as if I could not for a long while. Now she is “back on her feet” and gave me a new phone number, which I was going to call yesterday, but didn’t get the chance. So hopefully today I’ll talk again to Regina, who is another “old girlfriend.” I keep in touch with most of my “old girlfriends” so not having a connection to Regina has bothered me for some time. Here is the text of the “introduction” page to the “Regina’s Cup” website I created for her prior to our meeting in 2000.

    “Regina is a delightful soul, and though we only sporadically seem to communicate, since she isn’t hooked up to a computer night and day like I am, I am sure that our eventual parting was the best thing that could have happened to our relationship. I looked forward to our meeting, and felt genuinely touched by this extremely artistic soul. Our “relationship” lasted a mere three months, but thinking that I had learned my lesson from the Nantucket Lovesearch, I decided that in order for a real relationship to grow, I needed to bring Regina to California. Moving her 35 foot travel trailer, in which she and her dog and cat lived, seemed to be a simple thing. I didn’t really forsee what emotional trapdoors I was opening by “arranging” to move Regina here. She wasn’t comfortable.(“You can’t see the sky” she proclaimed her first night in “the city”. She wasn’t used to buildings blocking out nature, and this was only the first thing that disturbed her.) She couldn’t get work right away, and when she did, it was for far less than she made in Albequerque. Our resources dwindled, and she wasn’t happy. I honestly tried to keep it all together, continually telling her not to worry. I made a terrible mistake, and only wish we had remained connected somehow. I truly felt a connection with Regina’s soul.

    My poetry for Regina resides on the website I created for her. I used images of paintings she had emailed me or that were in her Yahoo briefcase folder in her profile. The images, tweaked somewhat in the Picture Publisher program, became a background for the poetry. Although the “website” Regina’s Cup, has always been online, it has never been linked to, so only Regina knew it existed.I am presenting the poetry for my readers to peruse for the first time.

    Each loveseach quest has spurred the imagination and the artistic talents of Sir Michael, and he really believed in the lovesearch to the desert, and that love resided there. The poetry website is the farthest one can get from the desert however. It is fashioned as a quest, and Sir Michael is the Minstrel, singing the songs to woo his one true love. As I reread these poems, I am merely saddened by the fact that because we hurled headong into a “relationship” which didn’t have time to work itself out, it had to end. I am not saddened when I think of Regina. She is a great person, and a wonderful friend.

    As part of the story of the LoveSearch Quests, I want to show off the “gift” of artistic expression created with the help of inspiration from the wonderful muse given to me in 2000 in the guise of Regina, one of God’s more intricate and wonderful creations.” MFN 2/3/02

    The image in this post is one of Regina’s paintings, “The Cup” which hangs above my bed. She began painting again when we were together, but she confesses in her email she hasn’t painted a lot lately. It will be nice to speak to Regina again, and to hear what she’s been doing the last four years. She did mention that she has visited AllThingsMike and the Regina’s Cup website, and wishes me well.

    From a Minstrel to a Queen
    poetry for Regina
    1/2/00 8:47am

    As I gaze upon you, in your regal stance
    Thinking about the love’s last embrace.
    The embrace I held with shaking arms,
    Reaching out to hold your essence with my soul.
    I ponder, I cry to the heavens.
    This is truly a dream come true.
    A dream, a happenstance, a clarion call of the universe.
    I woke up and entered your boudoir,
    You accepted this love with no thought of shame, with no ulterior motive, with no menacing afterthought.
    The love is pure, the feelings override the thoughts, and heaven smiles a bit.
    The words which spilled from me in perpetuity, asking the heavens for solace, have been answered a thousandfold with your purity.
    A Queen smiles on her subject,
    A subject for worship, and daily affirmations of beauty.
    You are with me this day, as I breathe.
              You are with me this moment, as I
                        live in your essence.
                        I pray to the godhead, let me rest
                        knowing thy good graces have
                        answered my riddles of love,
                                  And answered with a call
                                  that is heard from on high,
                                  A call which can deafen
                                  those for whom it is not
                                  intended.
                                  But a call which sounds
                                  soothing and elegant
                                  when played upon mine ears.
                                  I awake to meet the Queen.
                                  And I shall meet, and mate
                                  with a passion unfelt since
                                  the stars appeared in the
                                  Heavens.
                                  Oh, Queen, the Minstrel
                                  sings your praises this day,
                                  And forever.
     
    In Other News:
     

    I have begun redesigning the year old “new” ElectricPoetry website. I have to edit a lot of the online poetry, which is filled with typos, and I am standardizing the “look” of a lot of the pages, and have added a 2005 page, but the links to the individual poems aren’t there yet. I have “texturized” the look of the site, and will slowly update all the sections with this “new look”. The new “main logo” is shown above. I didn’t write any poetry over the weekend, however. But there are a few ideas cooking for some new poetry soon. A lot of work was done on some of the other pages in the AllThingsMike Universe, including adding more content to the “Robots” website, specifically on the Sorayama and “Robots on Parade” sections. Inspired by copy/pasting a lot of Sorayama pinup artwork for the “Robots” site, I have made a few new composite artworks for the “Yes, But Is It Art? Gallery” but they are rather risque, and are not for all viewers. I will supply links to the four or five composites here in the blog once I get them online. (The pages have been completed, but not FTPd as yet) However, I will probably not feature them “here” in the blogspace because they feature nude women.

    That’s about it for news right now. I’ll get in touch with Regina, find out how she’s been, and renew our friendship. I’m maintaining my health, although I ‘ve been eating too many sweets lately, and it’s STILL raining in Southern California. This latest storm just doesn’t seem to want to go away, and has included thunder and lightening as well as buckets of water.

Comments (9)

  • This is an absolutely beautiful tribute to a relationship that sounds peaceful, stormy, healthy, fun, unhealthy, and painful.

    I continue to be out of circulation for the most part, as my son is very clingy right now, but I wanted you to know that your words (here and on my site) are much appreciated.

    ~Tammy

  • Mike, thank you so much.
    I am glad to be back too.
    I haven’t posted a comment
    yet because I have been catching up
    on reading several of your posts.
    I fear I will not get through all of
    them that I have missed. However,
    its just nice to be back with all
    of you here. Have a superb week.

    ~Isa

  • Mike…I find your news of a lost friend quite exciting…I hope you do get a chance to talk and catch up on old times…I as well try to never lose touch …but sometimes
    well life happens

  • Wow, Albuquerque to LA. I can see how that was a difficult adjustment. I’m so glad your friendship is being reestablished.

  • :eek: Dadgum spell check putting wine in where no wine should be. Bah. I guess it’s time for me to have some CABERNET as I ruminate!

  • Very beautiful, the world needs more true minstrels!

    M.A.

  • Thanks for an interesting story and a well written poem.  I really like the concept of the queen and her minstrel.  And “a clarion call” is a very nice added subtlety.  You sure know how to put a lady on a pedestal.  If I had to pick something to criticize, it would be that it sounds just a tad obsessive, but then again, what love isn’t?  I think this is one of your more flamboyantly artistic pieces.  Well done!  I wish you the best of luck with your newly reestablished contact with Queen Regina.  She must have made quite an impact to warrant a poem of this caliber!

  • That poem took my breath away and caused tears… It is so beautiful and Regina must be a wonderful person to have been a muse for this masterpiece. Her painting was simply gorgeous… :heartbeat::heartbeat::heartbeat:

  • Hi Michael!:wave:

    That’s great that ya’ll are back in touch again!  Thanks for sharing all the beautiful poems you have!  They’re all excellent and very touching!:goodjob:

    Hope everything gets better there soon with the storms and everything!!  Please take care!

    ((HUGS))

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories