July 31, 2013

  • VOR: XANGA SURVIVES

    RUMORS OF XANGA'S DEMISE GREATLY EXAGGERATED!

    XANGA SURVIVES, LOWERS FUNDRAISING PRICE TO 50K, ADDS MONTH, ONLY $1408.00 TO GO

    I knew this would happen. Either this or what Xanga claimed would happen on the fundraising site. (A "hard deadline" which if not met, would mean the whole shebang goes bye bye. I just couldn't see the site just "disappear" so close to the "goal". But that's what Xanga "promised". It didn't seem fair, for some reason.) 

    Here are links to both the Crowdhoster site and the Xanga Team blog. Last night I "wandered the halls" of Xanga, saying goodbye. Dropping lots of longish comments, and trading contact information. I couldn't sleep. I'm an old man, I'm glad my emotions didn't cause my heart to stop beating. My bipolarity almost drove me to depression. I tried to focus on "the good times" as we always do in times of grief and stress concerning unknown situations.

    I've tried (as usual) to inject a reasonable attitude during the possible "fall of Xanga". I've neither been a "cheerleader" nor a "naysayer" during this mess. And it has been a mess for the "average Xangan". 

    Bottom line (now that we can all breathe a bit easier.) The $48.00 a year subscription price is fair for what is being offered. During the past month, I've checked out most every blogging/website hosting platform on the web. Cheap is cheap. Free doesn't exist. (Blogger is free, f'rinstance, but you have to link all your images from someplace else.) The "free internet" died long ago. I'm still somewhat upset that as a "lifetime" premium Xangan, I still had (have) to pay a subscription fee, but I can squeeze it in. I've asked the Xanga Gods if there will be a way for me to embed my Xanga on my wix (or other hosting service) site. 

    Free wordpress sucks if you design websites. Can't even add your own header image. But $99.00 a year for their subscription is too pricey for me.

    Face it: $48.00/yr is too pricey for me, but Xanga is offering more than WP for a paid wordpress blog, and the "community aspect" will still be "here". It was so neat (yes, still use that word) to see the "top blogs" for the most part contained heartfelt messages from longtime bloggers like me. 

    I am upset at some things. Frankly, "my" Xanga (2005-2006, when blogrings like Featured Grownups introduced me to most of my "readers" and most of the blogs I read) is long gone. Hopefully, the Xanga of 2011-2013, with lots of trolls and "comment wars" will disappear too, because most of the trolls blogged for free.

    But on the other hand, I hope there will be a "free" blog platform offered in the future. I'm trying to think of Xanga 2.0 as a "start up" instead of a failed MySpace campaign to "update" the service. 

    I'm glad my photo archives will still be available on the Xanga servers. I haven't been able to download the 4GB file. (Thats a LOT of self designed custom images and photos, folks)

    I have been waiting for a more solid "answer" from Xanga prior to pledging. I haven't been happy with their "non responsive" attitude. (Or should I say "lack of any attitude". If not for Joel(@edlives) and his daily fundraising updates, I (and many Xangans) would be completely in the dark.

    When I listen to the voice of reason, it tells me everything will be all right. I don't have to worry for the moment what I'm "going to do with my blog."  I'm most probably gong to make my pledge today. Xanga has the best thing going for me, and I already "live here" and have a pretty big investment in time, archived material, a massive cross indexed tag system, and emotional connections. 

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

Comments (13)

  • I'm very glad you'll still be around here, Michael.   I look forward to reading your posts in Xanga 2.0. :)

  • I  am sticking around to...this is our home...I am going to pay the 48 dollars on the second when I get my check,,,I hope that it works for at least another year...

  • Good to hear your comments on other sites!  And it's super good news that Xanga will once again survive a crisis!

  • I did not know that about blogger. I imagine having to host photos elsewhere would be a pain for a lot of people here who are known for photography. I don't hate WordPress so far, but nor do I love the formats or the lack of free customizable features. While I haven't explored what is possible for 99$, it seems kind of high, especially when compared to what Xanga is going to offer. I hope they can find a way to make uniquely Xangan features like pulses and emoticons and minis work with the new system. I miss those things on wp; their emoticons annoy me. I am glad to see you change your mind from anti-paying to supportive. I think other people have made that change also. I know I did. Not to say there haven't been problems, or there won't be more to come! but I'm looking forward to the relaunch. One plus side has been the way the community has bonded.

  • I just wish it was over. 1.0, 2.0; just move already!  Even though I did open a free WordPress, and yes, it is awful. Apparently it was designed for businesses who have more money than sense. But I opened it just to hedge my bets. Most likely, I'll pay though I think it's too much for  not having tech support or even support to speak of. But being one of those that has been here since the beginning, my friends are important to me. About $48 a year important so it seems. I suppose I will see you and others on the other side...I'm going to. 

  • I'm glad somebody knew what was going to happen! I hope it all works out. Since I was a Premium member and have some "credit" coming, I'll have a chance to use 2.0 and see if I like it. At least, that's what I think I'll have a chance to do. I never did get an exact answer for my question about it. $48 is kind of a lot, but I've gotten a lot of pleasure out of Xanga and it's probably worth that much to me. Also, I just quit Pogo (online gaming site), so I will have the $40 I used to pay them every year.So, see ya around, Mike!

  • Dear Mike,Thanks for being the voice of reason!  I was a bit confused, but very glad that Xanga will continue. Like you, I've archived, re-upped my premium, and was ready to face not having Xanga today.  What a relief!  I've paid $4/mth for premium for most of my time here, so, the new charge is the same and definitely worth the money.  I'd love to see Internet Island or Featured Grownups dusted off and re-started, as both writing groups were fun and a great way to meet some of the wonderful people who contribute to this amazing community!Take care, and so glad I'll be seeing you around...Monica.  

  • Happy to recommend this post.  I'm leaning strongly toward paying the $48 per.  One question I have is:  by what date do we have to make that decision?  ( I know I know.  I should click on Crowdhoster and probably have an answer to that question.)

  • BEING a lifetime member who paid $100 for a "lifetime" membershipp..TESTING

  • TEST complete...Xanga has obviously LOST their way AND their coding...USED TO BE the BEST site on the internet...should i run for the MEologian _______??

  • I'm gone to tell my little brother, that he should also
    pay a quick visit this weblog on regular basis to obtain updated from latest
    reports.

  • Hello there, I found your website by the use
    of Google whilst searching for a similar subject, your site came up, it looks good.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just became alert to your blog via Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I'm going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you happen to continue this in future.
    Many folks shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  • Hi my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, great written and include
    almost all vital infos. I'd like to see extra posts like this .

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories