June 12, 2013

  • The End of Blogging (as we know it)

    It's the end of the world as we know it.
    It's the end of the world as we know it.
    It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine... fine...

    (It's time I had some time alone,
    It's time I had some time alone,
    It's time I had some time alone
    I feel fine...)

    by R.E.M. 1987 © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc. Image of me as Samson toppling my personal website first appeared in a Xanga blog entry in 2004.

     

    It depresses me to go to the Xanga front page and see posts like: 

    I no longer see the point of blogging...

    Over the past couple of years, "top blogs" contained a lot of "comment wars" about some "issue du jour." Now that Xanga may join the ranks of the "dead websites", the contents are divided between "let's all get together and save the site" posts and "have we been wasting our time here over the past 14 years?" posts.

    The writer isn't one of my long time correspondents. I don't think they subscribe to my sporadic postings, but I recognized the writer's username from dozens of "top blog entries" during the last couple of times I've emerged from my many hiatuses. That a "popular blogger" is writing "is it really going to matter what you post on the internet..." , "what's the point", and "does anybody give a shit" (quoted from the entry) bothers me a lot. My heart goes out to this blogger, and the hundreds, perhaps thousands more, who, over the years, have gained a sort of "instant noteriety" or "fame" because of their connections and social networking acumen. One of the bloggers here on Xanga who does subscribe to my own blog wrote an entry decrying that they had no friends. Sort of like they were musing that if Xanga were to suddenly disappear, they would be totally alone.

    Let me tell ya. I'm 60 years old. I'm totally alone. Parents died when I was in college. Estranged siblings. Three whole groups of friends dead, gone, or otherwise missing from my personal life. I'm sort of tired of "making new friends" only to see them disappear eventually, but hey, WE ALL DISAPPEAR eventually, and then we open the door to the Great Universal Consciousness, as I've written so many many times. At least I'm satisfied, even in lonliness, and with the prospect of yet ANOTHER social networking service disappearing (the internet didn't even EXIST for most of the life I've led!) that at one time or another, be it in a blog entry, one of my patented novel sized comments, or even in a thought or inspiration I got from any one of the thousands of blog entries I've read on Xanga (Or on the Yahoo groups, or message boards, Or on Facebook, or in a book or poem, or the Bible or whathaveyou) that my meager life has not been wasted, and even though I, the blogger in question, and EACH AND EVERY ONE OF US who takes breath into our bodies during our short lives on this planet, may feel depressed and sad at times during these lives, these "downer" times can only help to make the "good times" even better.

    I'm writing as a bipolar individual. I can experience higher highs and lower lows than most of the populace, so I know whereof I speak. Recently somebody else in my life passed away. I blogged about it. I wrote a poem expressing my thoughts, and emailed it to the family. (I won't supply a link. It's still on the front page of my Xanga blog.) When I attended the memorial service, I was overwhelmed with emotion when I was complimented on my poem. Even though I drove home alone, and felt a bit out of sorts at the time, the positivity I received from the experience gave me good tidings and even in grief, I felt that perhaps someone was consoled by something I wrote.

    Last year I condensed the entire 10 year blogging experience of one blogger I didn't know who died into a blog entry. titled "What is Xanga about."  I actually read this woman's complete blog. It took a long time, and it amazed me that I was given a peek into an existence I wouldn't otherwise have happened upon. It could have been a blogger or wordpress blog. It doesn't matter. Even when the pages we post on the internet disappear, sites like the Internet Archive let us look into the past, over all the words and all the old sites which have been screen captured for posterity. 

    PLEASE don't shut down your internet activity. PLEASE don't delete your Xanga blog because you've heard the site will disappear. I believe that the internet serves as a memorial for all of us. I may not be living in a decade. Heck, I could die tomorrow. Nothing is certain. That's the trauma and the beauty of this life we share for the moment we are able to connect. It's easy to archive all your posts. Takes me a couple of minutes and I've been doing it for nearly 10 years here. I've written millions of words on the internet, and perhaps some are overblown, and useless, and repetitive. It takes too long to read my blog entries. Yadda Yadda Yadda. But SOMETHING I've written matters to someone, and something you've written matters to someone. Perhaps it is only yourself, when you go over the comments you've received (which are archived along with your posts.) and see something somebody else you may NOT EVEN KNOW wrote in consolation, acceptance, or praise of YOU. 

    I just posted something else on the internet. I'm sure I'll get five comments as usual. (What, only five comments?) But I don't care. The experience of expressing myself is what matters to me. We are all family, as Sister Sledge once sang. Everything matters. And nothing matters. It's all the same thing, if you really think about it!

    Is this the real life?
    Is this just fantasy?
    Caught in a landslide
    No escape from reality

    ...Nothing really matters
    Anyone can see
    Nothing really matters - nothing really matters to me

    from Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen, written by Freddie Mercury 1975

    happy

    Posted: June 12, 2013 6:44 AM

Comments (31)

  • transitions... as you say, you have more experience at it. If what is remains, somebody will look at it. Even if we can't find it, it is. Thus, I agree, blogging is real. What use is real? Well, that varies from one person to another; still, whatever is the reason, even though Xanga didn't stay with that, there is a reason that bloggers blog that attracts multitudes into blogging. Here we are with an opportunity to discuss the end of blogging -- but really, it can't end, so its safe to sit on the fence and take no action... the Xanga we love with its tools and settings and such will be gone. The history on the other hand is in our hands to do with as we please and since there are many of us, that history will be in pat recorded -- where is unclear.

  • I have already made plans and now I can concentrate on the final days for fighting to keep xanga alive.

    1. I promised to pay up premium and also put in the pledge amount, whether or not I make a difference or not doesn't matter, because usually I will fight to the end is my motto.
    2. Let the naysayers have their word and let the optimistic have their say because there is freedom of speech.
    3. If Xanga 2.0 comes into being I will try to volunteer like I did previously in xanga 1.0
    4.Nothing is permanent and nothing remains the same. Variety is the spice of life.

  • The point of blogging, that's kind of something you have to find for yourself. I kind of think if someone is asking that question, maybe they shouldn't be blogging anyway. If you're trying to earn eternal fame and accolades, Xanga is certainly not the way to achieve that. Even Xanga fame is fleeting.

    I can't tell you why I blog, just that I have to. I don't know if my words have inspired anyone or done anything more than provided a few moments of amusement. I know other people's words here have. That enough means the last, for me, six years, were worth it. I wrote tons of entries that got no comments, but I kept writing. It was for myself.

    Anyway. Nicely said, Mike.

  • Very well-said. :)

  • PS: I tried to rec this three times on my phone and apparently it didn't go through. Now, it appears it has. :)

  • I can't help but notice how many times you incorrectly used the pronoun "they". In my opinion it was bad grammar, more than anything else, that killed Xanga.

  • Hello and goodbye.

  • @Hunt4Truth - Hunt, "...where is unclear" I'd surmise that "where" is nonexistent. Everything is "here" and "now". Excellent response. Nice to "see" you again in my pages. 
    @PPhilip - Philip, As long as it says "Life" behind my username, I won't pay anything else to Xanga. 
    @leaflesstree - Leafless, Thanks so much. Hope you weren't driving while trying to recommend the post.
    @Iobot - Lobot, I just reread an interesting entry you posted some time back distilling your complete decade long Xanga blogging experience. 

    @SKANLYN - SKANKLYN, The Oxford English Dictionary might just disagree with you. 

    @shunammite - Shunammite, And thanks for all the fish. No, seriously, thank you for visiting. Your friend and his daughter are in my prayers.

  • @baldmike2004 - "They" refers to two or more people. Dictionaries can expand it all they want to accommodate the illiteracy of Gen-Y but it's still incorrect. "He", "she", and "he or she" are the correct  words to use when referring to a single person. Please revise your post accordingly.

  • Your the voice of reason amongst the storm of uncertainty.  Thanks for posting this Mike.

  • Xanga will survive.  Never Give Up Never Surrender!  Save Xanga

  • Hi mike,

    I've had a sort of mirror site on both wordpress and livejournal for some time now - but no one ever visits them, so they are not very active. I've recently started a socrates_cafe site on each - if xanga really does fold I'll move over to one or the other or both.Hopefully, xanga will stumble along - I've gotten used to its ildeocycrancies 

  • @SKANLYN - "I don't think they subscribe to my sporadic postings.." This particular they is gender neutral mr. grammar nazi. I often cringe at your comments maybe because you are sometimes putting someone down and rarely praising. Like squeezing the happy face?...that is logical for your type of comments.

  • @PPhilip - I often cringe at your comments because they rarely make sense.

  • So many people have quit Xanga based off of commenters making remarks on grammer. 

  • Mike, you are a good bloggist and I really don't think it's the end - if you'll take my hand and come with me, if even just for just a short visit - I'll be more than happy to show you a wonderful world where blogging is alive, well, and completely free.

  • Totally alone, parents died, estranged siblings -- gee whiz that's my story too.  Now a little remark about our beloved skanklyn:  his rule was perfectly correct in 1970.  But language evolves.

  • @we_deny_everything - LOL. Re: grammar. I attended accelerated English classes all through high school. I majored in English Literature at USC from 1971-1974. (Had to drop out when the peeps died, sigh.) Best grammar class I ever attended (for which I still have the textbook) taught me that the English language evolves, and the "rules" should reflect how people speak, instead of imposing arbitrary guidelines. We listened to tapes of regional dialects. I stopped diagramming sentences after that class. (But I still obsess over reminding myself never to end a sentence with a preposition.) I still have some of my blue books, emblazoned with A+. If I had finished the 16 units I needed for graduation, written a thesis, and taken a year of education classes, I'd be teaching English Lit today. However, I was making more money in retail management than a lot of my fellow classmates eventually made as teachers. (And retail management was only my first career. I've been in electrical engineering for 25 years!) USC in the early 70s was a trip. One of my profs was Paul Vangelisti, a contemporary L.A. poet who hung around with Charles Bukowski. B.X. (before Xanga) I ran a couple of poetry groups on Yahoo. It took me years to finally stop "correcting" people. Frankly, I'm amazed more blog readers never called me out for my incessant use of hash marks and endless parentheticals (which sometimes I forget to complete). Thanks for the visit.

  •          

    i dont see the death of xanga as the end.

    to me xanga is a beloved family pet and i am the youngest member of the xangan-pet-owning family.

    sure, its a sad thing that old fido is dying.

    lets hurry up and get rid of the body so we can find a new pet.

    a nice poodle maybe.

    perhaps something of the rodent persuasion, a guinea pig maybe.

    i view this as a new beginning, a chance to start over with an extravagant vision of life, death and MADNESS!

    even if xanga comes back, i cant afford a pay site. i cant even afford a dollar store tooth brush!

    and how much is a dollar store toothbrush? a freaking dollar (plus tax depending on where you live).

    so sure, im gonna miss all of those jerk-offs who have called me a heartless bitch. im going to wish i still had somebody to call me a raving psychopath.

    but, i have my fresh new designer doggy and all of her little clothes and accessories to play dress up with.

    im not lonely.

    im not giving up blogging.

    im just moving on. to better and brighter horizons.

    goodbye drab grainy black and white and hello technicolor!

  • @PPhilip - you sound like my mother.

  • @LauraDeLuna - I miss some of the things my mother did and not miss some other stuff. Sometimes packages has both the good and the bad. Good luck on your blogging and sorry about the "politics" that happened here.

  • @baldmike2004 - Yes a new generation of folks is writing at xanga. There was no previous internet generation and in some ways here at the old xanga we generally don't have to put up with slights and other comments (the old use the delete button trick says maxwell smart)

    Typing and multitasking can make you forget closing parenthesis at times but to heck with the rules, this is your blog after all. Behind the banter there will always be other layers, something that xanga has formed for a lot of bloggers and not just some particular issue. 

  • @PPhilip - i am not very certain as to what you are trying to say...

  • I will miss your enthusiasm and creativity, but will still have good memories. Fare well Mike.

  • The way I feel about Xanga is that it is a neighborhood of friends and acquaintances. Even if I never get to read another blog, for the rest of my life, I will call to mind the people I met here.

  • @an_OM_aly - Linda, I seem to have supplanted Xanga already. (But I may "come back" if it survives, and they recognize my "lifetime" badge, that is. ) I promised my "Facebook Friends" I'd post more regularly this year. If you have an account,send me a friend request, my dear. I can be found HERE ON FACEBOOK. I may even resurrect http://www.allthingsmike.com sometime in the future, but I'm two platforms behind when it comes to computer programs and operating systems, so I'll need more onhand cash before I can do that. 

    @suzyQ_darnit - Suzy, I'm really missing Featured Grownups these days. If it weren't for my involvement in that group, I'd possibly still be a faceless blogger here. (Well, not faceless, but not as well known as I became when actively blogging.)

  • you are such a thorough writer....

  • I have to admit I really like Xanga for the neighborhood quality that suzyQ_darnit speaks of, but in all honesty, I don't get to this neighborhood often. I hope Xanga doesn't have to close, but all I blog here any more is cross posts from my website blog. Many of my Xanga friends are on Facebook, now, but I would miss the others (even though they probably think I've already forgotten them because I rarely ever comment any more... it's hard to do on my tablet.) I'm with you on not shutting down/deleting my site here. And a simple search of my name or screen names (tongfengdemao or airycat) will show that my web presence isn't going away.

  • My reasons for blogging:

    1.  I love to write.
    2.  It's fun.
    3.  It's free therapy.
    4.  I just want to, ok?  Do I really need a reason?
    A note about grammar:  People, lighten up.  I'm an aspiring editor, but I don't believe in perfect grammar all the time.  I only edit and proofread when someone ASKS me to.  Or offers me money.  And as you can see, I don't bow down to the grammar gods every single second I'm writing.  (I can't.  I have this bad twitch in my back that gets worse when I bend over.  Anywho....)
    Bottom line, there may be some things we do online that are indeed pointless, and sure, lots of folks out there really don't give a shit.  But is that a reason to give up blogging?  Not in my book.  Because I don't care whether they give a shit or not.  I'm writing anyway.

  • PapaKåta Nationwide We've been sharing the love of outdoor events for nine seasons, and are the UK's most experienced teepee provider and exclusive supplier of Sperry sailcloth tents.

  • The first leg hosted at Old Trafford by Manchester United was won 3-2 by the hosts.
    act with due skill and diligence, reasonable promptness and courtesy.
    First there was the game at Ewood Park against relegation-threatened Blackburn Rovers.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories