May 17, 2013

  • Photopost: Big Bear Lake 05-01-13

     These photos were taken on my birthday, May 1st, in and around Big Bear Lake, in the San Bernadino Mountains of Southern California. The titile card shows Boulder Bay, at the south end of the lake, and superimposed on the right is one of the ubiquitous chainsaw carved bears which one finds in front of almost every shop, dining establishment, bar, and even as sentries in front of the driveways of private homes. 

     I'd been staying in my boss's cabin in Lake Arrowhead for a couple of days on vacation, went exploring, took a couple of hikes, and spent my birthday eve at Papagayo's Mexican Restaurant drinking margaritas. (Only two. I had to drive back to the cabin in the dark on twisting mountain roads.) After a pleasant warm night, I drove down to Rim of the World Highway and began the 28 mile drive, which ascended another 2000 ft up, to Big Bear Lake. This is the view of misty mountain tops from the first turnout.

    On the video I took these grasses are whipping around violently in the wind, and I had to be pretty careful, lest I fall down into the abyss. I even left my cap in the car it was so windy in this area. I didn't want to lose it!

     Sorry for so many shots of this turnout area, but it was quite breathtaking. Wish the photos could give a hint of the experience of actually being there.

    Along Highway 18, I pulled into the parking lot of "Rim of the World High School". I thought it was really interesting to see a high school up so far and with so great a view. Some of the vehicles in the parking lot (It was Wednesday, a school day) were neat, like this antique raised VW bug. 

    Took me a couple of hours to drive the distance to the lake. (Of course I'm stopping and taking photos every 10 minutes or so!)  Here I am 10 miles away. You can barely see Big Bear Lake dead center in the photo, far in the distance. 

     

    I turned right on Highway 38 to make a loop around the lake. Big Bear Lake is pretty big! And it was a stunning blue, with somewhat choppy whitecaps, because of the wind, which was dying down a bit. This is the south end of the lake.

    I got right up next to the water, as close as possible, without falling in. I had a thought of perhaps renting a boat. Perhaps next time I take the trip. 

    At the northwest corner of the lake stands the small (and I do mean small) town of Fawnskin. This shot was taken on the "main intersection" if one could call it that, between North Shore Drive and Rim of the World Highway.The building is a lodge, now shuttered, which thrived in the 20s. The fawns aren't real, just in case you're wondering. 

    Across the street is Fawn Park, fronted by this covered wagon, and filled with statuary and artwork. 

    Excuse me, officer. This is one of the statues in the park, from the back. 

    And from the front, ready to take aim at anyone who forgets to pick up after his dog. It's a neat park, really small, like the town, but quaint and interesting. 

    I shot this lakeside by the Lighthouse Trailer Park. I met a couple walking along the sand who asked me if I knew if there were any trails in the area. "First time here myself" I proclaimed. "This looked like there could be some access." We both had found one of the few areas where you don't have to pay for an Adventure Pass or parking to get lakeside. 

    Here is the bridge across the lake to the City of Big Bear Lake. During the spring and summer tourist seasons (which officially began a week after I visited) this bridge is filled with fishermen. At the end of the bridge is the first stoplight I'd seen since turning off the freeway in San Bernadino a few days earlier. Big Bear Lake is a very popular tourist destination, and is the home of the Snow Summit ski resort. (which looked rather strange without snow on the ground, BTW. I neglected to snap any pics.

    As you know I go out of my way not to show people in my nature shots. The fisherman is back over to the right relaxing. I asked him if anything was biting. No luck yet.

    There were still some snow patches. But the weather, though a bit windy at times, was maginficent for my birthday trip. We're 7000 feet above sea level. 

    An fallen log frames the lake.

    In my next post (hope ya'll aren't getting tired of logs, lakes, and mountain living) I'll present some photos of these chainsaw carved bears which appear all over the place. This is a real estate office. (Lots of those in mountain resort areas.)

    I had my birthday lunch at the Big Bear Sizzler. (One of the establishments at which I wanted to eat didn't take cards, only cash (although they had an ATM machine inside with a hefty service charge) and the other wasn't open except on weekends. After lunch, I drove around the remainder of the lake. This area is called Boulder Bay.

    I don't know if you can actually get out to this "rock island" in the middle of the south end of the lake, but it served as a great backdrop for some photos. (The ducks got out there with no problems.) You can see the complete set of about 1000 photos I took on my "birthdaycation" on my Flickr Photostream HERE. happy

    Posted: May 16, 2013 7:32 AM

Comments (12)

  • My Chinese name sounds like a body of water: Lake means strength in Cantonese Chinese.What can I say about the view? If it is windy, it might be too cold to photograph but the clear view is awesome.There are simple pleasures that are free, but basically they want to charge for every pleasure or side trip.To rent a bike or a sailing boat, if it is too windy or not the right season definitely I would decline.If you had to pay for every picture you took, definitely you would be a pauper.

  • Great set of photo's Mike. I always enjoy looking at your world through your eyes. 

  • When was your birthday? - Happy birthday if I missed it!!

  • It's chilly here today, and these pictures make me want to go there (where it looks warm). I love the 2nd, 3rd & 4th pictures, especially. (counting the title as 1st)

  • Hey, Michael! Such great photos! Glad you had such good birthday vacation fun! I love logs, lakes, cabin, and mountains! That kind of setting is my fav go-to spot in real life, or in my head, to find peace! When my kids were young we went to Big Bear many times to camp, fish, hike, etc. Thanks for sharing your trip with us! HUGS!!!

  • What a gorgeous place! And your pictures are great! And Happy Birthday! I love places in the woods like that, but not the twisty roads you sometimes have to take to get to them! Those bears!!! Is there any tourist desitnation where you DON'T see them? I recently saw a toilet paper holder that was a bear with the paper coming out of his butt!

  • The view of the misty mountains is very nice.  And a belated Happy Birthday to you Michael! 

  • Way cool.  . . .  belated Happy Birthday.

  • My home away from home <3Next time you MUST go to Get the Burger. Its quite amazing.

  • You have some neat shots, Mike -- I particularly love the first couple, with the mist nestled between the mountains!

  • Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been running a blog for?
    you make blogging glance easy. The whole glance of your web site
    is great, let alone the content material!

  • Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but
    I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I'm getting tired of WordPress because I've had issues with
    hackers and I'm looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories