June 17, 2012

  • What is Xanga about?

    Xanga is about us. Ultimately. Xanga is our legacy if we wish it to be. Xanga becomes us. Our thoughts. Our deeds. Our hopes. Our stories. Our quarrels. Our fears. And our joy when we overcome them. Xanga is our friends and sometimes our frenemies. Xanga is our family. Our progeny. Our pets. Our lowest points and our highest. Xanga is our life. Our sense of humor. Our trials, tribulations, friendship, foibles, and faith.

    Xanga is a "place" for most of us. Sometimes we feel at home and we return fondly. Sometimes we feel safe, or empowered, or nurtured. Sometimes we turn away. Sometimes we don't understand something and we stay away for a while. A lot of us are "lifetime members". A great many of us were "around" when Xanga was "THE" website that came to mind when social networking and blogging were mentioned. For some of us, the "internet" and "Xanga" are synonyms. For some, Xanga is a joke and a hasbeen. There are a lot of blogs nobody knows about however. And sometimes those blogs are the "real" backbone of "the blogging community." Xanga is you. Xanga is me.

    Xanga is Stacey Knapp.

    Name: Stacey Knapp
    Location: Palm Beach, Florida, United States
    Birthday: 11/9/1974
    Gender: Female
    Member Since: 3/16/2001
    True/Lifetime

    Friday, 16 March 2001 Stacey Starts a Xanga Blog.  Sigh, I guess this is as good a time as any to begin a new weblog. Today at my job of six and a half years, my boss brought me outside and told me that Wednesday will be my last day.

    Saturday, 17 March 2001 Stacey Wins the Lottery. Thank God. I sat home all day (this Dreary Saturday) watching movies.... and at 8:00, I turned on the lottery drawing.... I WON!! $259!

    Monday, 28 May 2001 Stacey Gets a Job. So, since May 3rd, I've been working in medical records for a home health care agency. I LOVE the people I am working with...the "perks" that the job offers. Air Conditioning, when you have asthma as bad as I do, you dread the extreme seasons. All the over time I want, (not forced) at time and a half! Days off!...Parties, birthday and baby shower for co-workers. THANK YOU CARDS! I got a card thanking me for my efforless energy!
    Wow, that knocked my socks off!

    Saturday, 15 September 2001 Stacey Gets Philosophical After 9/11. It is so true that we as americans have lost our sense of community. With the internet, we now have a global community, and may be closer to someone living on the other side of the world then we are to someone living on the other side of the street.

    Wednesday, 30 January 2002  Stacey Blogs About her Health Problems. At 6:00 am Tuesday, I decided I needed to go to the hospital. I went to the ER, and they immediately gave me an IV, and then a breathing treatment.

    Sunday, 12 May 2002 Stacey and Her Friends Hang Out. I had a lot of fun yesterday. I took Kristin, (My best friend in the world) Nelson, Jill, and Elizabeth on a tour of Monmouth County.

    Saturday, 22 June 2002 Stacey's Father Retires on His Birthday! Last night my father retired after 38 years with the same company. Today is his 60th Birthday. Happy B-day dad.

    Saturday, 14 September 2002 Stacey Discusses Her Asthma and Surmises She'll Never Bear Children.  I have VERY bad asthma, I've had it since I was 18 months old, and I've been in the hospital 5 times in the past 10 years, (3 of those in intensive care) because of my asthma. If I were to get pregnant, some of the medications I take have warnings about taking them because they can cause all kinds of problems in unborn children.

    Thursday, 05 December 2002 The Computer Eats Stacey's Blog. Damn! I just wrote anice long blog, and it's gone. Did the computer eat it or Xanga? Damn!

    Monday, 24 March 2003 Stacey Blogs About Her Weight. Alright, folks. Confession time here. Not really a confession, just a fact. I've been blogging for two years and there is something most of you don't know about me. I'm a fat girl.Not, "ooh, I need to lose 10 lbs." fat. I'm fat, fat.

    Saturday, 13 September 2003  The Guys in Stacey's Life. So, on the Sam front. I heard the phone ringing, and I picked it up...I saw who was calling and I started shaking. I hit ignore and threw the phone back into my purse. I Gave Sam more than he'll ever know, I gave him my heart, and my soul. And he calls me out of the blue like that?...For Months, I prayed hoped, wished, that he would call me, But to call like that? No way. I mean, now I've been with Fred since July 7th, and even in the beginning I hoped Sam would Call. Fred may be far from perfect, but at least he's there. I see him 2-3 times a week, and we talk on the phone every day.

    Tuesday, 07 October 2003 Stacey and Fred. 3 months ago today, I met Freddie in the flesh. Our relationship is definitely a study in contrasts. It is awesome (I think) how we started off on shaky ground, and it has grown into something solid and real. I really love this man.

    Saturday, 04 September 2004  Stacey Expresses Her Faith. You may have noticed a change in me.  I haven't touched a drop of alcohol in 11 months and 1 week, I don't spend my time idly anymore.  I spend a lot of time in Church and fellowshipping with the Saints.  Publick ministry is a high priority. I know the end is near, and someone cared enough to share with me what I am about to share with you.  I care because I have the Lord Jesus Christ living inside me.

    Saturday, 18 June 2005 Stacey gets married.

    Sunday, 21 August 2005 Stacey shares photos After the Wedding. On the 4 train after our wedding on our way back to the Ferry Terminal.  My Parents FIRST TIME on the subway.

    Wednesday, 28 September 2005 Stacey's 2nd Born Again birthday. Happy Birthday to ME! 2 years ago today I was saved.  Born Again.

    Saturday, 17 September 2005  A Quiet Evening at Home. Dinner is done.. I didn't burn it so that was a blessing. Fred is laying on the floor reading and giving me sweet compliments. How'd I land him? 

    Thursday, 15 September 2005 Stacey Deals With an Antagonistic Blogger. Mona, If you are so seemingly upset by what I have to say, if you are so against what I believe you don't have to visit my blog.

    Friday, 07 October 2005 Stacey Might be Pregnant! Fred was just in the bathroom checking my pregnancy test. Results in about 2 minutes

    Saturday, 08 October 2005 False alarm. Psalm 127:3 Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward. Thank you Lord for your will.  No baby

    Monday, 17 October 2005 Stacey Posts Photos of Her Parents. Mommy Me and Daddy.. All the wonderful photos from my wedding day and there is not a one of me and Daddy. He was the one behind the camera in the majority of them.

    Saturday, 25 March 2006 A Coworker Passes Away. I had a coworker die last week, 36 years old 3 kids, she was the "picture of health" dropped dead of a massive heart attack. You never know when your time is up.

    Sunday, 09 April 2006 Photo Challenge From @Ladyblue1 This weeks photo challenge is hosted by @ladyblue1. Her subject is Candid Camera. Definition: 1.Free from prejudice; impartial.  2.Characterized by openness and sincerity of expression; unreservedly straightforward.

    Saturday, 17 June 2006  SOLDIER IN THE LORD'S ARMY Last night we went to Times Square.  We had 300 Da Vinci code tracts to hand out outside a theater on 42nd Street.  After we went into the train station and handed out about 300 more tracts, and 20 CD Tracts. Fred is starting a job on Monday, Wednesday was our one year wedding anniversary. 

    Sunday, 18 June 2006  Today is My Parents 40th Wedding Anniversary!  It is also my Dad's 38th Fathers day!  Two of my older sisters are flying to FL to visit, one day I'll make it.  I miss my Mommy and Daddy

    Monday, 31 July 2006 Stacey's Announcement. Fred said to me the other day, "Tests have been done, and studies have shown that if a woman cries throughout her pregnancy, the baby will come out naked." P.S. We're pregnant.

    Tuesday, 15 August 2006 Stacey's Pregnant. As of right now, I am seven weeks pregnant.  So said the ultrasound on Thursday.  But based on my last cycle, I am further along.  Which is why I have to go to a Radiologist today to have another ultrasound done to determine dates.  I also have a pulmonologist appointment.  Pray for us.

    Monday, 21 August 2006  Stacey's Miscarriage. We've begun to lose the Baby.  However, I have complete peace about it.  the LORD knows best.

    Wednesday, 01 November 2006 Christianity and Accountibility. I find it scary when a Christian gets, "caught" that he always blames the Devil.  Never willing to take responsibility for his own actions.  It is much easier to say, "See how the Devil works?"  Isn't that what Eve did?
    Don't you think it truly grieves the LORD when we not only "do what we get caught doing" but then we lie about it?...It makes us hypocrites.  It is a whole lot easier to blame the devil, but be a man!  Admit it.
    Just something that has been on my mind as of late.

    Friday, 15 December 2006  Stacey's Sinus Thing. JOY,  So I've found out why for the past month I have not been able to beat this sinus thing, why I can barely swallow or talk. I have (shudder) polyps in my sinuses and nose.  Doc doesn't know what causes them says usually recurring infections.  SO I've been on a stereroid since Wednesday, and I already feel a ton better

    Thursday, 01 March 2007  Stacey Gets Anxious. I am having such severe anxiety right now...I have this tightness in my chest, and throat.  My surgery is scheduled for April 25th, and someone at church last night said, "Oh, that kind of surgery could kill  you"  That isn't what is even causing my anxiety that is just the topper.  Worst case scenario, death.... To be with Jesus is far better.

    Friday, 27 April 2007 NOT FOR THE SQUEAMISH I had my surgery on Wednesday. I have not sneezed yet since my surgery I am afraid to sneeze.

    Monday, 17 September 2007 Stacey Answers a Featured Question. How do You Define Yourself? How does your opinion compare to what others think of you? I am a Christian.  (literally Christ One)  I follow Christ and his word.  I tell others about him, and his saving grace. I know people think I'm odd, diferent, but the bible says Jesus' disciples counted themselves worthy to suffer shame for his name.  He died on a cross for me, and for all.  I know he is worthy of being served, even if people think I'm a fool. I'm a fool for Jesus.  Who's fool are you?

    Friday, 11 January 2008  SHORT TIMER 3 weeks left at my job of nearly 7 years.
    Bittersweet. I'm excited about the move TO GEORGIA!

    Thursday, 07 February 2008 Stacey Moves to Georgia. Home They say home is where you hang your hat.  My one hat is packed and the movers have it so home is in a storage place in Stamford CT? They also say, "Home is where your Heart is"  Well, my heart is beating in my chest right here in Albany, GA.

    Sunday, 11 May 2008  A Very Happy Mothers Day We had a child go home to be with the LORD in August 2006, well, we found out yesterday that we are expecting again.

    Wednesday, 04 June 2008 Recap: Georgia to Maine and a Trip Back Home ◦Thursday May 15th: Go day.  Ready to hit the road.  I thought we'd leave by 10AM at the latest, we left after 2. ◦Pregnancy = many potty stops along the way.◦Made it to our Destination in Maine after midnight. Went to bed immediately slept until 4:30 PM on Friday May 23 ◦Went to Denny's (I think)

    Saturday, 14 June 2008 Woo-Hoo Today is Our 3 Year Wedding Anniversary. The turns we're taken, the things we've been through. I've been having some discomfort in my belly since this evening.  I don't know what is 'normal' since I didn't carry the last baby this far before the LORD took it home.

    Sunday, 29 June 2008 Stacey's Morning Sickness. I threw up during Sunday School. I threw up during Morning Preaching. We went to lunch Came home, took a nap.  Threw up after nap.

    Monday, 07 July 2008 Five Years Ago
    Five years ago today I met my husband.
    What a whirlwind it has been.
    We've had our share of ups
    and more than our share of downs.
    We have a child in heaven.
    And one on the way.
    We go to the Dr tomorrow for our first "official" ultrasound.
    I love you baby.

    Sunday, 14 September 2008 My Husband Is a very intelligent, God Fearing Man, but sometimes he is a little boy trapped in an adult's body.  I do not mean this disrespectfully. We have a plethora (okay maybe not a plethora - 7) of stuffed Elmos. (yes the furry red monster from Sesame Street) Fred you see, likes to wrestle with them...WELL, HIS DAUGHTER (See, she's already in trouble so she's HIS) - is mimicking that feeling.  I told him it felt like he was inside me wrestling with the Elmos.

    Thursday, 18 September 2008 Fred Got a New Laptop Yesterday.  This is the innagural shot with the new webcam. Fred just said I look like I'm 6'8". For the record... I am 4'11" he is 5'9"  He is sitting, I am not.

    Thursday, 18 September 2008 Pregnancy Questions.
    •Why do my feet look like large baked potatoes?  I'm drinking a generous amount of water but I am SO swollen. My sneakers even hurt.
    •Is it normal (this is a weird one) that the skin on my lower abdomen feels "thicker" and almost "rubbery"?
    •Why am I hormonal and weepy again?  I thought I was done with that.
    •Will I ever be comfortable at night again?

    Wednesday, 01 October 2008  Prayer Request. My Mom and Dad are still in NJ (They moved to FL 3 years ago, and are up there for a visit) I got a phone call tonight on the way to Church.  My Dad is in the hospital he had a stroke Friday, a "deep brain bleed" they called it.  They waited until he could speak to call me. He told me. They say he is really doing much better.

    Monday, 20 October 2008 Stacey Blogs About Depression.
    i've never been clinically diagnosed
    i know i suffer
    i have had "black hole" days where i don't get out of bed
    i have had days where I don't eat
    i am scared
    i am 7 months pregnant, and I am going through it
    i don't want my daughter to have to suffer
    i don't know if it is hereditary
    i don't want to talk to anyone
    (yet I'm blogging about it)
    i have all the lights off
    i have a bad headache
    i cry too much
    i am a Christian.  i am supposed to have joy
    but saying a Christian shouldn't be depressed, is like saying a Christian shouldn't have cancer.
    it happens.
    please pray for us

    Monday, 01 December 2008 Stacey In Hiding. I'm still technically "hiding" but I have 35 days left until my due date, and since I don't know where my journal is, I need to document here.....

    Thursday, 04 December 2008 Stacey Shows Off Her Baby Bump. I'm 35 weeks 3 days pregnant and have not posted a single "belly" photo.  I gained 90 lbs after my miscarriage in 2006, (which I was planning on losing before I got pregnant but didn't happen) I've only gained 11lbs this pregnancy, but look much bigger...

    Saturday, 03 January 2009 Stacey's Expecting in Four Days.
    ◦Today I was super "crampy" feeling
    ◦My back started to ache like you wouldn't believe while I was standing at the sink doing dishes
    ◦Lydia has been moving like crazy
    ◦I was CONVINCED I was going to go to the hospital.
    ◦I put my bag and pillows in the car when we went out at 6:30 this evening
    ◦Nada.
    ◦I got sick after we came home. 
    ◦I brought my pillows and meds in
    ◦Left the bag in the car.
    ◦4 days until my due date.

    Wednesday, 07 January 2009 Regardless of What My Ticker Says Lydia is Not Here Yet. I was having contractions every 5 minutes for about an hour yesterday, and then they just stopped.  Like they forgot there's a baby in there. I'm so anxious to hold her. And as mean as it sounds, anxious to get the physical pain out of the way.I've heard, "The thought of the pain is worse than the actual pain."  Maybe so, but I want to get it done with and hold our little girl.

    Tuesday, 13 January 2009  Lydia Enters The World. It's Aunt Jody here.  Lydia Hope has arrived!  She arrived at 12:46 and weighed in at 7lbs 14oz.  Mommy and baby are healthy and pictures will be posted as soon as I get one.

    Wednesday, 18 March 2009 Stacey's One Huge Fear. One huge fear I have is that Lydia will have asthma.  I have severe asthma.  I was diagnosed at 15 months of age, and hospitalized 3 times by the time I started school.  I was on medication regularly and had many trips to the emergency room.  When I got to high School (I had to be cool) I started smoking.  At the age of 18 I was hospitalized my senior year in H.S. The day after Thanksgiving.  I was hospitalized again in the spring.  This pattern followed for 10 years.  At 20, 22, 24, 26, 28 I was hospitalized twice a year, and I had frequent ER visits in between at the very least 3 times a year.

    Saturday, 09 May 2009 One Year Ago Tonight I went to bed knowing that I would wake up and take a pregnancy test. I had no idea how much different my life wouild be today.We had a miscarriage in August 2006.  Last year May 10th was a Saturday.  I went to a Mother/Daughter Breakfast with our church ladies.  By the time I got there EVERYONE knew I was pregnant.

    Thursday, 17 September 2009 Stacey Moves to Florida. I'm alive! We moved 15 days ago. We JUST got our internet hooked up!  I have nearly 2,000 emails to sort through, as well as still trying to unpack with a crawling 8 month old.  I will do my best to catch up on everyones blogs.

    Monday, 26 July 2010  Sister Jody Begins Chemotherapy. My sister started her chemo today.  She is on the two strongest chemo medications available.  They told her she will lose her hair within 3 weeks, hair will grow back. 

    Wednesday, 27 October 2010 Fred Needs Gallbladder Surgery. so.... we ended up at the ER on Monday night, and Fred is now recovering from gallbladder surgery.  Any thing else for us?

    Wednesday, 29 December 2010 Lydia Turns Two. I can not believe That in 2 weeks and one day, I will have a 2 year old!  Where did the time go?  She is so adventurous.  No less than 5 times in the past 3 weeks did I anticipate having to take her to the ER for either running full speed off the bed, standing on a chair and falling over, hugging the TV (don't ask).  She is such a spitfire!

    Wednesday, 16 March 2011 Stacey's 10th Xangaversary Post. 10 years ago.  I had just left my dead end job at the deli - I had no idea what my future had in store for me.   3 states later, 1 miscarriage, 2 relationships 1 beautiful toddler, 7 years in health care, 2 cars, 100 lbs lost and gained, switched from diet pepsi to diet coke (haha), stopped dying my hair after 14 years, lost friends, reunited with old ones, made many lifetime ones. Thanks for the trip Xanga.  I'm still along for the ride!

    Thursday, 14 April 2011 Urgent Prayer Request We will be leaving FL and headed to NYC in a few hours.  We got a call that my MIL is in a coma.

    Tuesday, 26 April 2011  Stacey's MIL today Fred's mom will be removed from life support.

    Monday, 01 August 2011 This Was Lydia Last Week while we were waiting for friends at Starbucks

    Monday, 08 August 2011  Sad News About A Xanga Friend Just found out that one of my Xanga friends that I met while I was expecting Lydia passed away last month.  :(   http://dulcilee.xanga.com/ She had transplant Surgery in May 2009.

    Wednesday, 16 November 2011 Stacey Prepares to Relocate. We're moving.  On Saturday.  That is right.  3 days from now I will be cleaning like crazy and hopefully everything will be in the cars/truck.  We will drive 375 miles or so to Ocala and spend the night at my parent's house.  We have secured our new apartment and I hope it is as nice as it looks.  HUGE NEWS!  I will have a Washer and Dryer! 

    Wednesday, 30 November 2011 "Lydisms" When she can't find her bepper (the cloth diaper she used as a security blanket) "Where's the Bepper?" When she finds it "OH!, I found Bepper!"

    Sunday, 25 December 2011 Fred Breaks His Arm. Fred broke his arm on December 4th, so the past 3 weeks have been a lot of sleeping, and pain and struggle and MD appointments. December 20th he had surgery to repair the break, he stayed 2 nights in the hospital and came home on Thursday the 22nd. God has provided that we've been fed and everything.  SO Thankful for that! Fred goes back to the MD on Thursday, hopefully we'll have some good news.  His boss has been INCREDIBLE in this whole situation!

    Thursday, 19 January 2012  How Has Xanga Changed or Impacted Your Life? I have forged lifelong friendships with people I have met on Xanga.  I am so blessed because of it!  In March, I will have been here for 11 years.  I think back to 20 years ago and what we now take for granted as the internet was something so furturistic sounding.  I am so glad that Xanga has brought me and some close friends together

    Saturday, 18 February 2012  Stacey Goes For a Ride. I'm not feeling that well but was glad to get out of the house.  We drove a couple of towns up to Juno Beach, FL.  We drove through Palm Beach and just looked at all the extravagance.  We stopped in Juno Beach at a playground and let Lydia run around for a while.  They had five different slides that she took advantage of. 

    Thursday, 23 February 2012  Nightmares! I had terrible, horrible, awful nightmares last night.  needless to say I didn't sleep well. Last night when I was cooking dinner, Lydia came into my teeny kitchen and out of nowhere just reached up, held my hand and said, "Don't worry Mama."  Then went back to her Sesame Street DVD. She's my everything on this earth.

    Saturday, 17 March 2012 Xangaversary Yesterday was my 11 year Xangaversary!  I've changed quite a bit since I started blogging!

    Tuesday, 08 May 2012  Stacey Enters Heaven. This is Jody, Stacey's sister. As many of you know, we lost Stacey on Saturday.  We know that many of you would  not be able to make it to any services, but I just want to let everyone know that services are being held on Friday May 11th.


    This blog entry is dedicated to the memory of Stacey Knapp, typical Xanga blogger, and to her daughter Lydia, her husband Fred, and her entire family and group of friends. Tired of the brouhahas du jour I always seem to find on Xanga's "Front Page" and among the"featured" and "recommended" content, last week I found myself traveling the less well known virtual streets and boulevards of Xanga. I've met so many in eight years "here" and still am amazed at all those I have never encountered. I came across Stacey's blog, directed perhaps by the Hand of God. I don't believe I ever visited her when she was alive. There was the news that she had died. Many times when confronted with a "new blog to me", I will make that blog my "project" and I will read it like one would a novel, from beginning to end. Stacey was one of those bloggers who has a long Xanga history, and has pretty much lived the last third of her life in her "pages", I began to read those pages, and immerse myself in that life.

    As I read Stacey's blog, I wanted to distill her essence, and share her story. I copy/pasted the links to "benchmark entries" as well as "typical" blog entries. This has been an amazing process. Stacey has reached down from heaven and touched my soul deeply, through her blog. The "Chapter headings" are in some instances mine, and in some instances the titles of the entries from the blog. Sometimes I might have joined passages from either end of an entry, or chosen words from the middle of an entry. Each date is a link to the actual blog entry. Stacey began blogging at the age of 26. A lot of time in Stacey's short life was spent giving her testimonial and bearing witness to her love of Jesus. She has shared her life, her hopes, her legacy. It's all on her blog. Xanga is Stacey. Xanga is you. Xanga is me.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

Comments (61)

  • How touching and tragic. You are right, this is a place for real people and all the colors that come with us.

  • Mike,
    Thanks. Kinda puts my whiny post of today in perspective.

  • I am so sad to hear she died.  She was always such a wonderful person.

  • You can't possibly be serious.

    The proper way to do xanga?- "Xangan shows off her baby bump, Xangan has morning sickness, Xanga  has baby, gets married, gets divorced, gets remarried, gets sick,dies. YAWN!!!  Even your religious bias is present in your instructions about what Xanga should really be about "Stacy enters heaven." hurl. I say that because you're telling people how to blog and I'm saying that's a boring way to blog but one option.  The recommended option? no, there isn't one.

    Xanga is a place for fiction writers and poets who wish to give ZERO personal information about themselves.  Xanga is a place for people to display their art and creativity, giving few, no, or intentionally disleading facts about themselves, under the xanga policy terms they are wise to tell nothing. Xanga is a place for many troubled people including troubled teens and twenties to rant and rave and yell at their parents and rebel and yell and whine and moan about how much their life sucks, and they are not required to do that under their real name, because if they were, they would not have that outlet, do not tell them they're doing it wrong.

    Xanga is a place for thinspos to post nothing but pictures and say almost nothing about anything else let alone themselves. Don't you try to make them feel like they are "doing xanga wrong." Don't try to mold everybody into a mike nyurini type of blogger, Good Lord spare Xanga that.

    Narrow minded much?

    But the choice to tell everything is yours, just don't imply everybody should do that.  Xanga is a place for brilliant colorful story tellers who entertain people. They are not required to tell anybody exactly who they are, or show their baby bump. the terms of services says watch out what you share on Xanga. I would emphasize that "WATCH OUT" a thousand times over right now because there is no one at the wheel.

    This is what Xanga is about for you, is what you mean to say, but you neglected to say that this is no kind of  'guideline for how to do xanga' since you are not in charge of this place, right now, nobody is. what if your way was the only way? Facebook timeline boring us and bringing us to our knees only on steroids. Who goes around reading other people's facebook timelines, nobody except their bio. family, IF THAT.  Anyone could duplicate their their Facebook timeline and then fatten it up with poetry and self revealing autobiographical detalis if they wanted to as their xanga, but why bother -

     And, actually, not just anyone could make one good, entertaining, content filled blog after another, not just anyone could get hundreds of views on blogs that are way too long, - have not seen it happening for you, why? Because what xanga is for you is impossible for some other people to read, and/or to muster up the motivation to read all that stuff, because most of it doesn't grab a public audience,because it's only about you, and it's way too long. Way too long will get read by some it it's creative and about others, or other topics. But way too long about me me me - no it won't. It's fine to blog mind numbing droning on and on and on about you you you, you you you you you, that is your choice. Don't tell people that's the only thing xanga is supposed to be about! Good Lord that would  kill it off today if people listened to that wrong headed advice. 

    Xanga is a place for philosophical and political debate for many many people, or religious debate, if your only offering to such debates is "come read where I said what God is" that's fine for you but don't say you know how to do xanga, you've decided to opt out of political discussions in the moment happening, your choice, but that does not mean people ought to be posting stories about their first orgasm or their acne problem or how poor they are or what they're up to in their job. they want to talk about politics, that's what xanga is for THEM.

    To each their own, Mr. "All things Mike". I've observed as you dig for that first name you are hell bent to get your hands on even if people don't like it you insist on beginning every comment with "Dear [real name here].  Very old school, not really your right, you don't ask people, you just try to get a name and do it. You do that because of how you want all of xanga to be like how you want it to be, it's irritating to some people but they don't want to be rude and tell you, so I'll tell you on their behalf. It's personally intrusive unless you have express permission.

    No one likes trolls, no one likes stalkers, no one likes illegal activity, most of you LOVE xanga drama and you're in it right here. And you've gone and gotten yourself involved in it.

    Your style of blogging is actually  boring to some readers and no one will tell you that out right, because they're just being nice, but they just won't read it much, Painstaking recounting of your personal details. How baldmike does it. No template for how it should be done. I think if everybody blogged like that very few people would enjoy it here. Your title is misleading, presented as if it's the only right way to do it, not clear that this is only your opinion, so I'm saying it, that's just your opinion. 

    Many have no desire or intention to tell their personal story here so that you can do a nice obituary blog for them when they die as long as you outlive them, and then someone can do that for you when you die, that's fine for you, don't tell others how to do it. Many don't want their life details, birth, death, babies, breakups, divorces, troubles, trials and tribulations, etc. to be part of their blogging experience on xanga.

    Xanga is about creativity and individuality. This xangan you've given a summation of, (and sorry I'm not going to get involved in this dead strangers story just because you reproducted it as a way to tell people how they should blog), opted to use Xanga in a way that looks like Facebook timeline. That's OK. That's one way to do it, maybe the best way in some views, I say it's just one way to show creative intelligence.

    Reproducing countless pictures of yourself, facebook timeline montage, your choice, giving real names, real dates, a personal autobigraphical 'adventures in mike" or whatever using your real name, your choice, don't recommend it, it's not safe right now. look at xanga terms of privacy tell you you should be careful about, telling true stories about your real life, don't try to shame people into being unsafe onn xanga right now. If you had any idea what's going on with legal violations, and you wouldn't, because it's not posted, you wouldn't be advising this (or maybe you would, I don't know what socialists do). And you avoid Xanga drama like the plague, so you say, I've observed you saying that a few times. Telling people how to do their xanga is not avoiding xanga drama like the plague. I've been witnessing the witch hunt and all the talk about how much people like you STATE you hate xanga drama, and I've been keeping notes, because they're all hypocrites.

    This blog right here inspires me to post all of my documentation of hypocracy of all the people who hate and engage in xanga drama and even many who love it, that's allowed too, xanga drama isn't cyberstalking, it's childish but not illegal. It will take about 20 blogs to get all the information out there.

    Don't try to push your way on everybody else, shaming others for not being like you is bullyish. Not illegal, just pushy.  because people will used their intelligence to blog for example, fiction, telling none of their own story personal story at all, keeping to themselves every personal detail, because they are private people. The are cautious people. They don't post pictures or data on Xanga that revels things they don't want revealed and they're not required to.

    Where cyberstalking and  illegal harassment are being engaged in, telling people "posts more of the real you" is not the way to go, but there you go. cyberstalking will ruin the Xanga experience for many, and it may ruin more for them then just their Xanga experience, that is called legal damage in some ases, their personal lives have been violated and hate blogged, that is cyberstalking, and while that may be fine with you it's illegal in the state they live in and luckily the laws are processed under the state and not under the law of xanga according to baldmike,

     there is a difference between hurt feelings and legal damages, there's a difference between anger and criminal activity, your decision to ignore it and pretend that your not involved in 'power and control' right now by trying to shame people because they don't blog like you do? not illegal, just highly obnoxious and irresponsible. Now you're all up in xanga drama - preachy thing that you've written in which you have USED A DEAD XANGAN, not illegal I suppose, but TACKY, stooping opportunistic and usurous.

    Doesn't seem to have occurred to you that some people have been cyberstalked and harassed to the point where they wouldn't dare utter a word to anyone on xanga abuot who they are, not a word. WISE people. Don't tell them to reveal more right now. You endanger them.

    What xanga is about first and formost is SAFETY, being a safe place, and enforcing the xanga terms of service when safety has been breached and true illegal threats are ongoing. Threats not aimed at you and you don't care, I'm not surprised, self centered people don't care when other people are being endangered at the most rudimentary important levels, which have to do with legal violations, xanga terms violations that endanger and threaten safety and illegal cyberstalking.

    You are just one more on the long list of folks who do not know the difference between a little xanga drama and serious xanga cyberstalking punishable by 5 years in prison.  Your timing is truly unfortunate.

  • Very nice of you to post all her blogs.

  • @Big_Bang_Theory - Dear Bang, This isn't an "instructional" blog. So most of your argument is pretty moot. It's a tribute blog edited from the blog itself, with links to the actual entries. I'm one of a bazillion bloggers, and this is the internet. I don't make any attempt to "instruct" or make anyone "do Xanga" in any specific way. The internet has never had a rulebook, and it's certainly not my specific intent to create one. Stacey is an "everyblogger" with whom I connected. This is an entry about her. I don't believe I've ever read your blog. It's just as important as any other blog. Thank you for the long comment. I especially love reading your criticism of my "blogging style" etc. "Your style of blogging is actually boring to some readers and no one will tell you that out right," I've been "told" I write very long blogs. By everyone. I type really fast, too. My blogs are as long as they are. And most of them are all about me. I don't remember inviting you to the party, but your as important as anyone else in the room, so welcome! The great thing about the internet is that if you find something boring, instant entertainment is only a click away. "Old School" You betcha. But this isn't a classroom and I'm not teaching anything. Go and blog as you were.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • @baldmike2004 - Xanga Drama and Cyber stalking are two entirely different matters, you have no idea (and you could not care less) about the extent of the violation and personal threats  which is ongoing.

    This blog comes across as an attempt to shame people who don't blog 'facebook timeline' style and post their personal details.

    It is HIGHLY UNSAFE to post personal details at this time, the owner John of the Xanga team is not controlling this place under his own terms, you shoud pull this down or post HEAVY DISCLAIMERS all over it right now, because there is an ILLEGAL ONSLAUGHT in the interim of the papers getting served to all involved, it's ongoing.

    Now if they want to continue to cyberstalk, that is wonderful for the cases of the parties with the charges, but it is a highly unsafe environment for posting personal details right now and I call upon you to state that in your blog or pull it down and post it later.

  • Though our paths never crossed, Stacey must have formed some long term friends here. Thank you for taking the time to share a bit of her xanga story.

  • All I can say re: this reproduction of a life on Xanga is "Wow"! As to friends, I have made some through Xanga, although most of my subs no longer post here, there are a few. I have met two bloggers in person who still post. I make it a point to keep up with them even if I am busy. I must admit I have been dismayed that I get so few visits and coments. I don't post often myself anymore, but I will not leave Xanga because I appreciate the few contacts I have made and the fact that I have been able to meet two of them in person. On the other hand, I am aware that "drama" & verbal harrassment exists among bloggers. I am aware that a site I have read has been closed down because of it. I found out about it after I returned from my trip out of town, but by then the site had been shut down & I could not contact the site to find out what the circumstances were or to offer a regretful "goodbye". My sense is that Xanga is what we choose it to be for ourselves; and realistically, that can be good, bad, or somewhere in between. In that sense, Xanga is us.  ~~Blessings 'n Cheers

  • Hey, Mike, lomng time no talk.  Hope that you are well.  It is good that you have included Stacey's blog in this your own.  Very sad that she passed.  We hope that you are well.  Prayers for you, Uncle Mike!

    --Jason

  • I've never read her blog. But it was nice of you to write a post about her.

  • many people also have touched me in my lesser times here- but that's wonderful to rember a ful or fuller measure of who we are :D

  • A very touching tribute, Mike.  Thank you for sharing.  Sad to hear of her passing.

  • Great read Mike. Indeed touching. Glad you shared the life of a Xangan. Make me wonder how many more Xangans I will miss and never read. The mundane of our lives carries the essence of the story whom we aret

  • Wow, who writes long, windy, insulting comments on someone's blog? I won't answer that, I might get sued. He's riding a pretty high horse. Calling someone's blog boring by writing a boring comment is ironic. Oh well, it's only human to see drama where there isn't any.

  • I'm glad she was able to have the child she wanted before her passing.

  • Wow, this was a wonderful post. I think i will read her blog now. Great job putting this together. 

  • That's a nice tribute to a former Xangan, Mike. Good to see you post again.

    @Big_Bang_Theory - Diarrhea of the mouth much? 

  • @whyzat - It's to be expected when you consider the source.

  • Wonderful tribute blog.

  • This is a very nice tribute :)  

  • In all seriousness: This is a touching post, Mike.

  • Beautiful tribute. What a tragedy.

  • thank you for this very touching read. I just returned to Xanga under a new username after being on a 2 year hiatus, I understand what you were talking about.

  • I've never read Stacey's blog until now. I thank you because she seemed like a lovely person. This was a beautiful tribute. Well done, pal Joey.

  • That is very sad to hear.  Nice tribute. 

  • @Big_Bang_Theory - Time has turned you into a real bitch. Just three years ago, you left this on Mike's site:

    "I have not read your newest post today, so I'll hold back on my comment until I do. I will say that I have thought about you a few times since you were last on, and wondering how you were doing with your surgery and stuff. So glad you have gotten as far as you have. OK on to your newest post. Oh yea, if you want, I'd like if you add me to your facebook. I am under my legal name, which is Alison Spalding. There are several of us, but I have my xanga card as my photo "

    http://baldmike2004.xanga.com/706531938/news-and-notes/?page=1&jump=1493422767#1493422767

    You were a swan. Now you're an ogre.

  • Did you notice the comment by bloggicus maximus calling big bang theory's bluff. It is a sample of people who bully and hide their identity. They are cowards.

    I loved the way you wove this life story. I imagine someone will save this for Lydia. I hope so. You spent a lot of time on this. I would be honored if I died and you did this for me!! I have instructed those close to me to celebrate my passing and do the Irish wake.

  • @Sojourner_here - Dear Beth,  We've both been touched by the passing of some favorite Xangans. Terry would sometimes have two (or three, in the case of the three headed sarahs) "personas" argue back and forth on a blog comment string. He created his personas with wit and grace, and all of Xanga was in on the joke. I've had to delete a couple of comments, language etc. As usual, I don't like Xanga drama, and I certainly don't like it appearing in my comments. I'll keep Big Bangs comment up. But it certainly doesn't belong here on this particular tribute blog, that's for sure.

    I didn't "write" this story BTW. All the words are Stacey's, from her own blog. I just "edited" her blog, or the last third of her life, to distill her essence. I did post a comment linking to this entry on Stacey's obit notice on her blog. My condensation of her life is dedicated to Lydia, and I do hope her family sees my tribute.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • This is a beautiful tribute to a special woman.

  • Thanks for sharing her story.  Sad though it is.

  • Wonderful and beautiful tribute :D

  • I enjoyed the tribute, though I never read her blog. A lot of my own blog is personal ramblings as well. How nice that she was able to have Lydia before she died. 

  • It was very sweet of you to write a tribute blog. I didn't know her, but every person gone is a person missed. ♥

    ♥L

  • This is why i blog, though i was very distracted from my initial thoughts because of the wonderfully long rant that was left by Big Bang Theory. Thanks for directing me to this entry Mike. It was a beautiful tribute!

  • @xXrEMmUsXx - The "rant" to which you refer bothered me so much I wrote a whole blog entry about it HERE.

  • Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There's a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

  • I don't even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was
    great. I don't know who you are but definitely you're going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  • This paragraph will help the internet visitors for creating new
    blog or even a weblog from start to end.

  • Excellent article. I will be facing a few of these issues as well..

  • Hi! Quick question that's completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4.
    I'm trying to find a template or plugin that might
    be able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Thank you!

  • Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other
    then that, excellent blog!

  • Your method of explaining the whole thing in this piece of writing is truly
    pleasant, every one can easily understand it, Thanks a lot.

  • Everything posted was very logical. However, what
    about this? what if you typed a catchier post title?

    I ain't suggesting your information isn't solid., however suppose you added
    something to possibly get a person's attention? I mean What is
    Xanga about? | WhenWordsCollide is kinda plain. You ought to glance at Yahoo's front
    page and note how they create post headlines to grab viewers to click.
    You might try adding a video or a picture or
    two to grab people excited about what you've got to say.
    In my opinion, it might bring your blog a little livelier.

  • Greetings! I've been following your weglog for a lkng tjme now and
    finally ggot the bravery tto go ahead and give you a shout out from
    Kingwood Texas! Juust wanted to tell yoou keep upp thee great work!

  • I like what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the great works guys I've added you guys
    to blogroll.

  • Somebody essentially lend a hand to make seriously
    posts I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and so far?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular post incredible.

    Great process!

  • Someone essentially help to make severely articles I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and
    thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular post
    extraordinary. Great activity!

  • Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I'd figured I'd ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog
    article or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested
    feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to
    hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

  • Hi! Do you use Twitter? I'd like to follow you if that would be ok.

    I'm absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  • Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn.
    This is a really neatly written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful
    information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  • It's very straightforward to find out any matter on net as compared to books, as I found this post at this site.

  • Since the admin of this web page is working, no uncertainty
    very rapidly it will be famous, due to its quality contents.

  • I visited several websites however the audio feature for audio songs current at this website
    is genuinely wonderful.

  • Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would
    really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

  • I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
    I'll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future.

    Cheers

  • Great information. Lucky me I ran across your website by accidenbt (stumbleupon).
    Ihae saved as a favoirite for later!

  • Very descriptive post, I liked that bit. Wiill there be a part 2?

  • Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amrnd your
    site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account
    aided me a acceptable deal. I were tiny bit acquainted
    of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  • I don't know iff it's just mme oor if perhaps everyone elose experiencing problems with your blog.
    It appears as if ome of the written text in your pists are
    running off the screen. Can someone else plesse provide feedback and let me know if this is happlening tto them too?

    This might be a problem with my web browser because I've had thos
    happen previously. Thank you

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories