February 26, 2011

  • PhotoPost: Cloudscapes by the Sea

     title

    My apologies. I always made an attempt to vary the types of blog entries I post. I’ve been so on again off again, however, that it’s the end of the month again, and I have another photopost. Let me tell you what’s happening right now with me, so you don’t wonder about why I say “I’m back” and then seem to disappear from Xanga for long periods. I don’t visit at all anymore. Well, I worked on quoting a really big project at work late last year. We built two prototypes, and are now building a third, plus the first full system for the customer. We were awarded the work, and I’ve been putting in 12 hour days for a couple of weeks. I’m pretty tired when I get home. Last weekend, I spent all my free time working on my latest Mike’s Video Blog (in the entry below.) I’ve also been doing yard work when it’s not raining.

    DSC06509

    Last weekend it rained, and it rained last night, so I won’t be doing much yardwork. (The areas are all muddy right now where I want to weed, turn the soil, and remove old rocks and put new ones in the rockbeds.) Since the morning was bright, and there were clouds in the sky, I decided to take a Photo Expedition. This is my second this year. I vow to take at least one Photo Expedition a month since I didn’t take hardly any at all in 2010. My first stop, to catch some cloudscapes before the wind blew them all away. Sur La Brea Park, about three blocks from my house.

    DSC06519

    These first few photos were taken at the park. Can you tell it’s still the middle of winter?

    DSC06525

    A magnificent group of clouds was to the east when I took my walk around the mobile home park at around 9:30 this morning, but it had dissipated somewhat when I finally got out on the road. Here are some of the stragglers, framed by a tree branch. I didn’t take too long a trip today, since gasoline is $3.75 a gallon, but I took about a 20 mile round trip, and got some good photos. The Webshots Gallery is called “Cloudscapes By the Sea” with 138 photos.

    DSC06548

    This is a tree covered street near where I live. I thought I’d get some shots of clouds through the branches, but the leaf cover was too thick, and the clouds were all on the horizon by the time I got here. Still, this is one of my favorite streets, so I shot some pics.

    DSC06560

    I’ve been wanting to get some photos of this bridge over the train tracks and Torrance Blvd. north  of Old Torrance for many years. It used to be covered with ivy, then a lot of the ivy died off. Here’s the “cowcatcher’s” view of the bridge from the tracks.

    DSC06554

    No clouds directly overhead, but the sky is blue, and the air is crisp. A great time for taking photos.

    DSC06577

    Here you can see the clouds rimming the horizon. It’s close to noon, and I’m driving down Crenshaw Blvd, eventually to go up into the peninusula and get some photos of the ocean. The 60s style Bowling sign is pretty neat.

     DSC06589

    At the end of Crenshaw, there is no beach access, and the road ends at a private housing development, but I got out of the car and took some shots out toward Santa Catalina island, which looked clearer than I’ve seen in years. Almost like you could reach right out and touch it.

    DSC06600

    The water looked like glass. I don’t know if any of these photos approximate the real look of the water. Some of them below perhaps. This shot was taken on the property of the Rancho Palos Verdes City Hall, which overlooks the ocean, natch.

    edit3

    This is a cropped version of the view at the end of Crenshaw Blvd.

    DSC06604

    Clouds. Santa Catalina Island, looking like a mountain range out in the ocean, and the glassy waters of the Pacific in February. I feel the touch of the Godhead when confronted with such beauty as this.

    DSC06607

    Here is a telephoto shot of the large flag at the entrance to the Donald Trump Golf Course, backed by the Pacific Ocean.

    DSC06618

    Walking along the beach access trail at the golf course. I was thinking about how even though I’d love to visit the state of Hawaii sometime before I pass on, I’m really not missing anything. Some of our landscape right here in Southern California is as wondrous as some of the seacoast in Hawaii. We don’t have lush jungles, that’s true, but we have the same Pacific Ocean!

    DSC06639

    I’m almost at the water’s edge. Just about a quarter mile left. I took two walks today. My regular walk around the park before I left for the Photoshoot, and a hike down the hill to the ocean from the Trump Golf Course.

    DSC06643

    A flock of pelicans over the seacoast. These guys circled around three or four times. They were quite grand, and the seagulls looked a little measly after the pelicans passed by.

    DSC06652

    Look at the varying textures in this photo. You can almost feel them all as you gaze past the crystal clear water to the mountains of Santa Catalina Island in the distance, 26 miles away, topped by fluffy clouds.

    edit1

    There was a fresh sea otter carcass near this area, but I didn’t snap any photos out of respect. The coast is quite rocky, as you can see. That’s a dog walker in the center of the photo, sitting on the rocks.

    DSC06647

    The water color is brown next to the rocks, and deep blue the deeper you go out to sea. Lots of wind and rain last night, and usually when I take a beach trip the next day after a storm, my shoes get really muddy. Not too much today, which was a good thing.

    edit2

    Here come my friends the pelicans taking another round around the peninsula.

    edit4

    Although this shot is somewhat out of focus, we see a couple along the trail looking up at the birds as they pass. I did crop this photo from the original, which I didn’t even know I’d taken till I got home and looked through the files. In the sun, one cannot see the little LCD sceen at the back of the camera with all the glare, so getting a shot like this is surprisingly delightful for me.

    Until next time. Hope you aren’t tired of so many photos of the beauty of SoCal in February after a rainstorm passes. Another is overhead right now as I type this entry. Who knows what tomorrow will look like??

Comments (13)

  • These are wonderful, Mike.  It was amazingly clean air today, and the clouds were spectacular.  I did a similar photoshoot this morning, and will post in the next day or two!

  • Very nice.  Two of my favorite things sky and ocean.  I liked 16 the best.  Do you have stars/moon over the ocean? 

  • Very nice pictures, Mike. I really liked the shots of the pictures in your neighborhood; seems like you have a nice place. And bravo for the pelican shots! When I was in Hilton Head, South Carolina last year we saw a lot of them fly by over the ocean (at least I’m pretty sure that’s what they were) but they were too far off and fast for me to get any clear pictures of them. This seems like a very nice beach. Once more I have a hankering to hang out by the ocean, but I think I’ll wait until it’s warmer ’round here. :)

  • Well, it appears you are experiencing “life’s interruptions”.  I’m happy you are back with these photos. As I’ve commented before, you have a very good eye for a good photo shot. I am fascinated by clouds, so I do enjoy those a lot, but all of these are excellent.. I think water often resembles glass; eg., the sea in a song has been described as “the glassy sea”.  ~~Blessings ‘n Cheers

  • Thanx for the cloud photos. They remind me of those I have in my reference file for use when I’m painting.

    Your “tree-covered street” photo reminds me that here in FL, we live just off a “canopy Road” – a two-lane road where the live oaks meet over the road. These roads are protected by law – can’t be any wider nor can the trees be cut. Our City-owned power company is so tired of fried squirrels causing blackouts, that they are going to underground main transmission lines. 

     I’ve visited beaches around the world, and you are “almost” correct. CA’s beaches are pretty nice; as are Hawaii’s, but they have to go some to equal those of FL in every respect except surf (The Gulf stream prevents the large rollers they have there)

  • This is some breathtaking photography!  You like clouds, huh? (I see them on your theme too).  My favorites, wow, I have a lot. Love the tree lined street, love the choppy ocean, love the rip rap, love the pelicans,  *** these all want to make me spend a lot more time exploring the general region that I live in.  I’m still pretty bogged down with working on the new house (it’s so rural and amazing with such a big lot and so much to do) but still, I need to get out and about more soon!

    This was an inspirational blog, thanks!

  • Really wonderful pictures. The sky looks beautiful in them. Here it’s been a bit cloudy and gloomy lately.

  • The only time I ever pay attention to clouds is when you do a cloudscape! Thanks for doing them. I do enjoy it!

  • Mike,
    Those are some long hours you are putting in. I understand the tiredness. I love clouds and the sea so I had to comment this. Lovely. I’m always watching clouds… Take care and don’t work too hard.
    peace,
    Jane

  • Absolutely beautiful pictures!

  • Hi Mike, I hear you about working lots of hours these days.  How nice that you took the time to share these wonderful photos!  Walking along a beach is one of my favorite things in the world, maybe because I’ve only been able to do it a couple of times in my life.  Those are definitely my favorite photos!

  • excellent photos :) i bet you as a  kid probably used to look at clouds and see if ay of them made shapes or whatnot :p

  • Hi Mike, I somehow had missed this post. The photos are awesome. I felt like running over there, because I am so sick of the snow piled up here! And after Monday’s storm, we have an additonal pie up.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories