February 21, 2011

  • Mike's Video Blog #15: San Clemente Pier

    Mike's Video Blog #15: San Clemente Pier



    Mike's Video Blog #15: San Clemente Pier. 11min. 14sec. HD 720p

    DIRECTOR'S COMMENTARY: I didn't make many videos in 2010. My first full video for 2011 is also my first Mike's Video Blog for about half a year. On January 21, during a break in all the rain we've had in SoCal this winter, the sun shone bright and warm, and I took a drive with both still and video camera to San Clemente, to shoot the first of what I hope to be a "bookend" tribute video to the cities on either side of the "17 mile stretch" of undeveloped seacoast fronting Camp Pendleton. I've had this video series planned since summer of 2010. "Mike's Video Blog #15: San Clemente Pier" is now completed. Upcoming will be "Oceanside", and since gasoline is now up to $3.50 a gallon, I'll probably also shoot footage in San Diego aboard the USS Midway aircraft carrier for an even further upcoming photo project, but as usual, I'm getting ahead of myself.

    I shot over an hour and a half of video footage with my Sony videocamera, and about 250 individual high quality photos for my Webshots gallery. I posted some of the photos on this blog already. (In the previous entry.)

    I planned to slap together a quick Video Blog but when I sat down to my Vegas Video Editing Suite on the computer, I passed into a full creative zone, and it's taken me a month to make my new masterpiece.

    First I upgraded the introductory credit sequence. This took the better part of a day. Then I began the task of editing down the footage. As with photographs, from which I select the best for inclusion in my PhotoPosts, I pare down the unnecessary, shaky, redundant, and uninteresting video footage in the editing program. I have an idea of what the video is going to be about, or what footage to show, when I shoot, but I always like to get a lot from which to make my selections, so picking and choosing takes some time.

    After creating the overall video, I go back and edit even more. An "internet movie" is usually about 10 minutes long. If the first "director's cut" comes in at, say, 22 minutes, then I have to remove half of what I have presented. Sometimes I take out whole "scenes" just like a real director on a Hollywood film.

    Since YouTube always seems to find tunes from my soundtracks which are copyright protected (even though I always give music credit on my vids) and then remove the whole soundtrack, even if there are only 8 seconds of background music which is "contested",  I used only original music on this video. I compiled the soundtrack from five electronic pieces by Xanga's own Matt (theacematt2). I promised him I'd use his music over a year ago, but then Alex (Roadlesstaken) used it for his Xanga Secret videos, and I didn't really make any new videos for a while. I tried to find specific selections to add to the "mood" I wanted to convey. (And My apologies, Matt. I list your credit as "MaceMatt" which is what I had on the computer file instead of "theacematt2". I corrected this in an annotation on the video and added URLs to your blog and your Jamendo site.)

    There are two "sections" to the video. First I walk around the San Clemente Pier area and shoot some footage of breaking waves and of the surfers. I take a walk under the San Clemente Pier, and got an interesting shot of a surfer paddling out under the pier. I grabbed the wide angle lens from my still camera instead of the one I usually use for the video camera, and when zooming, there is an interesting fuzziness around the edges of the frame. This shows up in a couple of spots, including the surfer under the pier, and looks like a "special effect" although in fact it's a "mistake". One of the great things about photography and videomaking is that sometimes "mistakes" turn out looking fantastic. The footage I got of surfing in this video is far better than that in Big Wednesday Dreams because I was closer to the action. The second "section" is the drive home, where I just aimed the camera out the window of the car while driving along the coast. Not content with just editing these segments together, I also overlay some "map effects" with a little animation of my car to show where I'm driving on the map.

    I haven't counted all the elements (snippets of film and separate effects shots.) but there are a lot of them. As usual, I use a variety of customized effects available in the Vegas editing software. I have my eye on Version 10 of the product, which has 10 video overlays and a method for removing vocals from music tracks, plus over 400 music soundtracks in the public domain. I'm limited to 4 video overlays on my current version of the software. I can't output to MPEG-4 either in full HD, which is supported by the new version. Although I use the stabilizer in my camera, I don't have a "steadicam" (there are consumer steadicam set ups that can be used with videocams like mine) and I am always attempting steadicam type setups. At least I'm not limping anymore, but there is always too much "shake" in my moving shots. I try to correct some of this in "post production" but sometimes the edits call too much attention to themselves. (I might even just make a steadicam myself.)

    The technical aspects of video shooting and editing always thrill me (what I really want to do is direct), but it's the finished product which will interest people watching it. Most "videoblogs", (or "vlogs" as I'm now seeing used more widely on the web) are simply shaky shots taken with phone cameras and instantly uploaded to a social networking site. I have always attempted to create little "internet movies" which showcase the footage I've shot, but with more artistic flair. Whenever I complete one, like just now, I feel sort of like a mother giving birth (well, without the pain). I can easily go back and re-edit, and sometimes I spend far too much time on a specific 2 or 3 second transition. But in the end, when I'm satisfied, I feel as if I've got another little masterpiece in my collection of MikeVideos.

    An interesting sidenote. Now that I'm outputting HD, the fact that I don't use an HD camera shows up (for me) quite vividly. Yet another upgrade to my moviemaking paraphanalia to make. (You have to go to my YouTube channel and select 720p to see the vid in HD.) Another sidenote: This is the first video where you see me without my beard.

    I'm always looking for one of my creative endeavors to go viral. This one won't. It's just a few shots of pigeons and surfers and the ocean on a nice day in SoCal. It's the 10 second shots of someone falling off a snowmobile or a cat peeing in the toilet that go viral, not a highly edited mini movie with a full credit sequence. Still, seeing five years of my stuff collected on my YouTube channel, and getting compliments from the few people who visit still makes me feel as if my creative urges are being stoked. I may not post a lot of content on the internet these days. But what I do, I hope, is choice material and offers entertainment to my readers.

    Posted: February 20, 2011 9:41 AM

Comments (59)

  • I enjoyed your extensive collections of weblogs, photoblogs and videos. They are worth looking over and over again.

    Keep up the good work.

  • You're looking good, man.

  • You've got some nice footage here, Mike.  And what a beautiful day it was!

  • Ah you made some good song choices sir. 

    Geez, you CA and your non-winters haha.  Now you know why I travel to CA so often.

  • Nice to see you again sir!

  • Nice virtual beach and ocean drive vacation Mike, thx!

  • Michael, that's an absolutely sensational video. I really liked the graphics of you and the car flying over the maps. Very creative presentation. I think it's good that you're using original music. Think it works well & also public exposure for a talented musician. I didn't have time due to supper calling to read your commentary. I hope to get back to it later, but . . .  can't make promises. Also, I am pleased that I could get your photos back on my webshots page as a friend. I lost them when I got another 'puter in 2010.

    ~~Blessings 'n Cheers

  • You will one day direct an epic story .

  • Mike,
    Excellent! Thanks for sharing the day with us.  Enjoyed the beach ride and the map overlay was great, very nice touch.  The San Clemente Pier was beautiful, and not as crowded as I would have expected.  I was watching and wondering if the train tracks along the shore were actually still in use when along comes an Amtrak train!  Nice timing.. The work you put into this video blog was well worth it!  Btw, you look good without a beard, nice smile. 
    Monica

  • I enjoyed watching.  Thanks for posting.

  • Thank you Mike for sharing! It was a very nice trip!
    Isabel 

  • A fun post!  I liked the shot of the rr tracks against the beach. It was very rustic looking. I also think it was cool that you did this on Jan 21. That was my grandfather's birthday. (1-21-1907)

  • Hi there! This blog post couldn't be written any better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post
    to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read.

    Thank you for sharing!

  • Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content seem to be running off
    the screen in Opera. I'm not sure if this is a formatting issue
    or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I'd post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Cheers

  • I do not know whether it's just me or if everybody else experiencing issues with your
    blog. It seems like some of the text on your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is
    happening to them as well? This could be a problem with my web browser because I've had this happen before.
    Many thanks

  • Howdy! This blog post could not be written any better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this.

    I'll send this post to him. Fairly certain he's going to have a
    good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  • That is very interesting, You're an overly professional
    blogger. I've joined your feed and look ahead to in the hunt for more of your fantastic post.

    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  • This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  • I seriously love your website.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back as I'm trying to
    create my own personal blog and would like to know where you got
    this from or just what the theme is named. Many thanks!

  • It's amazing for me to have a website, which is
    beneficial in favor of my knowledge. thanks admin

  • whoah this weblog is fantastic i really like reading your articles.
    Keep up the good work! You already know, a lot of persons are searching
    round for this information, you could aid them greatly.

  • The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and
    tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple
    ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it
    with someone!

  • I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog audience have complained about my site not
    operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.
    Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  • It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and
    it's time to be happy. I've read this post and if I may I wish to counsel you
    some fascinating things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles relating to this article.
    I want to read more issues about it!

  • This is a great tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.

    Simple but very precise info… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  • Greetings I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like
    to say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but
    I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do
    keep up the awesome work.

  • Hi there to every body, it's my first go to see of this blog; this
    website carries awesome and actually good information in support of visitors.

  • Hi there colleagues, how is the whole thing,
    and what you wish for to say regarding this article, in my view its
    actually remarkable designed for me.

  • I think everything posted made a lot of sense.

    But, think about this, what if you wrote a catchier title?
    I mean, I don't want to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you added a post title that makes people desire more?

    I mean Mike's Video Blog #15: San Clemente Pier | WhenWordsCollide is a little vanilla.
    You could peek at Yahoo's front page and see
    how they create article headlines to get viewers to click.
    You might add a related video or a picture or two
    to get readers excited about what you've got to say. In my opinion, it
    could bring your blog a little livelier.

  • Superb blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew
    of any message boards that cover the same topics talked
    about in this article? I'd really like to be a part of group where I can get responses from other knowledgeable individuals that
    share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Kudos!

  • I every time used to read post in news papers but now as I am a user of internet therefore from now I am
    using net for content, thanks to web.

  • Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to take a look.
    I'm definitely loving the information. I'm book-marking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and brilliant design.

  • I am not sure where you're getting youhr information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking forr this information for my mission.

  • I've been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality
    articles or weblog posts on this sort of area .
    Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this information So i'm happy to express that I have a very good
    uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most for sure will make certain to don?t fail to remember this website and give it
    a glance regularly.

  • Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites
    I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be helpful to read through content from other writers and use something from their sites.

  • It is perfect time to make some plans for the
    future and it's time to be happy. I've read this
    post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.

    I want to read more things about it!

  • Thanks for one's marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you
    are a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your
    blog and will eventually come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  • Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was curious
    about your situation; we have created some nice methods and we are looking to trade
    solutions with others, please shoot me an email if interested.

  • Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I'm hoping to start my own site soon but I'm a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I'm totally confused ..
    Any recommendations? Many thanks!

  • Good info. Lucky me I came across your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

  • Its not my first time to visit this website, i am visiting this
    website dailly and get nice information from here everyday.

  • Excellent post. I absolutely love this website.
    Keep writing!

  • What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge concerning unpredicted feelings.

  • Why viewers still make use of to read news papers when in this technological globe
    everything is existing on web?

  • Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I've been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!

    Thank you

  • I was suggested this blog by means of my cousin. I am not certain whether or not
    this publish is written through him as nobody else understand such targeted approximately my problem.
    You are wonderful! Thanks!

  • It's nearly impossible to find well-informed people for this topic, however, you sound like
    you know what you're talking about! Thanks

  • I feel this is one of the such a lot significant info for me.
    And i am happy studying your article. However
    wanna remark on some common issues, The website style is perfect, the articles
    is in point of fact excellent : D. Good task, cheers

  • Hi friends, its great article regarding cultureand fully
    defined, keep it up all the time.

  • We're a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our
    community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have
    done a formidable job and our entire community will
    be grateful to you.

  • Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it out.

  • I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your site?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  • I always spent my half an hour to rsad this website's posts all thhe tme along with a cup of coffee.

  • We stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I
    shhould check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page again.

  • Hello, Neat post. There's a problem with your site in interne explorer, could test this?
    IE nonetheless is the mzrket chief and a big section of other people will omit your wonderful writing because of this problem.

  • Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We
    are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiarive in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  • Hi every one, here every person is sharing these know-how,
    therefore it's fastidious to read this blog, aand I used to pay a quick visit this weblog all the time.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories