May 5, 2010

  • Mike’s Video Blog 13: Channeling Elvis

    Mike’s Video Blog #13: Channeling Elvis: A “performance video”

    Mike’s Video Blog #13: Channeling Elvis. 9min. 52 sec. HD 720p

    On Sunday I created a new video blog. Well, nor really “new”. The footage was recorded on January 8th at around 9 or 10 at night and I only assembled it into a video  beginning on April 28th and finishing up yesterday. This is one of my performance video blogs, like Mike’s Video Blog #2, where I sang old TV theme songs from the 60s, or Mike’s Video Blog #11, in which I gave a poetry reading. (I also sing and dance “Iko Iko” in a video from Nov. 2009)

    It’s called “Channeling Elvis” and is basically just a simple video of my singing along and dancing a few steps to some of my Elvis Presley records. There are a few snippets from a dozen or so songs, and hopefully at just under ten minutes it will be found to be creative and interesting, and not boring and useless. It was recorded on the spur of the moment back during Elvis’ 75th birthday, while I was having my online “brithday party celebration” for the King on my blog.

    I don’t claim to be a singer, and this was just done in fun, and is not professional by any standard anyone would want to apply. Some of my readers seem to enjoy my little song and dance routines, so this is the latest. Since I haven’t been really creating any internet movies, it’s a bit late, but better late than never. I hope to making a few more videos in the upcoming weeks.

    Posted:  May 03, 2010 7:11 AM

Comments (20)

  • That was SO FUN to watch. It made me giggle over and over! :D I do the same, haha, except not to Elvis! My fave song by him is Devil in Disguise!

    You really seem like so much fun, hahaha, this was awesome! You certainly have the moves, Mike!

    ahhhh. Wonderful. :) Who filmed it? I envy them! xD

  • lol I do that myself but usually when I’m cleaning house! I like the song,”Wise men say only fools rush in…..”  most of the ones I like of Elvis are slow ones.

  • You’re a brave man, Mike!  Looks like you could could market your own workout video!  : )

    I sing along in car or at home to my old records, but I would never be able to post it on the internet.  I might break it!  : D

  • Haha. Old men should do like you do. So cheery and upbeat :] I admire that you don’t care much about what people think of your “talents.” That’s a talent in itself, I think.

  • BA HA HAHAHAHA snort  :giggle:

    watched the whole thing to the end, it was Stun-ning he he he.

    haw haw haw he he he

    Now I need to dance some! :spinning:

  • Now THAT’S entertainment, you naughty hound dog!

  • I wont comment on Elvis….but would like to say that I like your place…looks comfortable and relaxing. Glad to see you active again on Xanga.

  • I loved this!  I thought it was the best one I’ve watched yet!  Now maybe it’s all the pain meds I took tonight (having a horrible day with pain as my enemy), but I really enjoyed this.

  • Gave me a grin tonight, Mike. Glad to see you having fun – and glad you shared it with us in your vid. I got a kick out of seeing you in your world, almost like an invitation to hang at your place and watch you at your antics. Thanks for the smiles :)

  • Mike, this was indeed fun. You have some moves there for someone who’s had hip problems. My arthritis won’t allow me to move that way. :)

    Thank you for your comforting words on my post regarding my mother. I hope I was able to convey that in the 22 years I was married that I was very happy and that he was a wonderful husband and father. I also hope she can find peace in knowing that I am a strong person who can pass on those traits to my daughter.

    Again, thank you for sharing your tribute to Elvis. On my wedding day, instead of singing “The bride feeds the groom” the band played “Hawaiian Wedding Song”, an Elvis favorite of mine.

  • Loved it!! You’re pretty good on your feet there, Mike. :coolman::spinning:

  • I am sorry I am late in wishing you a Happy Birthday. I hope you had a great day.

  • @And_I_love - 

    I demand a response video from you madame!

  • I absolutely love this!

  • Oh fun! Thanks for sharing, I enjoyed your enthusiasm, hehe :)

  • =)

    you are better than most of those auditioning for american idols

  • I absolutely love your blog anԁ fiոd nearlƴ
    aall οf your post’s to be just what I’m lookіng
    fߋr. Does one offer guest writers to wrtite content for you personally?
    Ι wouldn’t mid producing ɑ polst oor elaborafing ߋn a lot of the subjects үou write cߋncerning hеre.
    Agaiո, awesome web log!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories