October 29, 2009

  • Blogging Update

    Just in case anyone was wondering.

    On Sunday morning, 10/25 I woke up in terrible pain from the pinched nerve in my back. I'd been too "cocky" thinking that I was "completely healed" because my leg and hip aren't hurting anymore. However I forgot about the pinched nerve. I'd been taking my "power walks" and was up to 25 sit ups during my evening exercises, and feeling quite good.

    Nerves are quite fickle, and the last time (in 2004) I had problems with this particular nerve damage, I was flat on my back for three days, and couldn't even turn my head from side to side or sit up for periods of time longer than about 15 minutes.

    The pain on Sunday wasn't as bad as when the nerve first got "pinched'. BTW, I did see a neurologist back in 2004, and he told me the pain could subside and reapppear at any time. Nerve damage doesn't "go away". For the longest time, I lost the feeling in the two small fingers on my left hand, and I had been gaining that feeling back somewhat.

    Well, Sunday and Monday I spent most of the time in bed. The pain subsided enough on Tuesday that I could drive into work. (It's not advisable to drive a car when you can't turn your head without pain shooting into your shoulders!) It's now Thursday morning, and I realized I haven't checked my blog in almost a week. I did post the PhotoPost on Sunday afternoon, using photos I already had in my database, but I haven't visited any blogs nor left comments since Friday or Saturday. (I did a lot of yard work on Saturday, and probably exacerbated the pinched nerve when twisting my body while weeding.)

    Work has been incredibly busy, so the time I usually take on Xanga in the mornings before people start coming into the office has been spent on design work for panels, and testing. Tuesday morning I tested 9 complete panels from 6am to 10am. The last couple of days at work  have been spent designing a series of panels for some oil tankers, and if I get the order, the panels have to be built and shipped in December while the tankers are docked outside of Long Beach.

    When I get home in the evenings, I haven't had much energy to do anything except sit down in front of my bigscreen and watch a movie or two before retiring. The pain isn't as bad as it was during the early part of the week, but it's still considerable. I don't need to go to a doctor, because I still have pain pills from the operation, in case I need them, (I try to suffer as much without taking drugs if I can.) I did take a couple on Tuessday evening after coming home from work.

    I just don't feel like blogging too much right now, and will "return" when I feel better. I was able to take my walk yesterday (Wednesday) after three days without but it was a more liesurely walk and I didn't walk as fast as usual.

    In any case, that's what's been happening with me. I can't seem to escape pain. If it ain't one thing , it's another. I almost got surprised when I woke up on Sunday morning in so much of it, and then I remembered I'd gone through this before...

    And life goes on.   

Comments (45)

  • What a drag! Feel better soon Mike!

  • sorry about your pinched nerve. those really hurt. i have had one before.

  • That's a shame, but it seems like things are already looking better! Hopefully it's a good thing that you've been busy at work, we could use some busy around here!

  • Oh man! Sounds really painful. I hope you feel better soon!

  • Hope you're feeling better,..Sir Mike!!:goodjob:

    I'm hpping on over to the "electric poetry website" right now,..kiddo,..for a good read!!

  • Try and get some rest

  • Take care of yourself. (As someone who has torped his neck, I know how you feel.)

  • I WAS wondering. :lookaround:
    Sorry to hear your absence is related to pain. :(
    Hoping you feel better soon and looking forward to your 'return'. :sunny:

  • I hope you feel better soon. You're in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs!

  • <TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0 UNSELECTABLE="on">
    <TBODY>
    <TR height="100%" UNSELECTABLE="on" width="100%">
    <TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNSELECTABLE="off">

    Hey, Mike...so sorry you are in pain.  I've had a pinched nerve before.  A couple of times, actually.  It's sooo miserable.  And mine wasn't even so bad that I had to stay in bed, but it hurt like hell.  A heating pad and muscle relaxers are the only thing that helped me. 

    <TR UNSELECTABLE="on" hb_tag="1">
    <TD style="FONT-SIZE: 1pt" height=1 UNSELECTABLE="on">

  • Hope you start feeling better soon.

  • Dear Mike,

    I am really sorry to hear about your painful existence. I can not think of anything worse than a back pain. I am glad however that you blogged and informed us. At least now we know what's up and can at least send you some positive thoughts. I really hope that you will recover soon.

    Jurgens

  • I am so sorry to hear you have been feeling unwell again. So very very sorry to hear that!  I hope that all it requires is just a little more caution and taking it easy for you for a while.  Without lecturing I want to say, hey, friend, be careful, take it easy, heal all the way before you dance TOO much! :nono:  much as we enjoy seeing it. :fun:

    I have spent the better part of the morning trying to follow the instructions to add these emoticons that you and a few others have up. Now I understand why so few people have them up even though they are so totally cool.  To the few of you who have them up, I think you are all brainiacs because I am no slouch and the thing just beat me down today. I just couldn't get it to do :wha: and :jealous: and

    I hope you're back up and :spinning: soon cuz I think you are a :coolman:

    c ya! :littlekiss:

  • Hope youre feeling better soon!

  • I recced this because people should know what's goingn on with ya :wave:

  • Sorry to hear about your problems, sweetheart, hope that things do turn out for the best for you soon. Cool costume, by the way.

  • Hello to all, the contents existing at this web site are truly amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  • Woah! I'm really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's challenging to get that "perfect balance" between usability and appearance.
    I must say you have done a very good job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for
    me on Opera. Exceptional Blog!

  • I used to be able to find good info from your blog articles.

  • Since the admin of this website is working, no hesitation very soon it will
    be famous, due to its feature contents.

  • Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super
    long) so I guess I'll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I'm thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I'm still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog writers?

    I'd genuinely appreciate it.

  • Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious
    if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you reduce it,
    any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it's driving me mad so any support is
    very much appreciated.

  • Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I am waiting for your next post thank you once
    again.

  • Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I'm new to the blog world but I'm trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  • Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  • Hello all, here every person is sharing such familiarity, therefore it's nice to read
    this webpage, and I used to visit this web site all the time.

  • Good response in return of this difficulty with solid
    arguments and describing all about that.

  • Howdy! Do you use Twitter? I'd like to folllow youu if that woluld be okay.
    I'm undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to nnew
    posts.

  • Undeniably consider that which you said. Your favourite reason seemed to be on the web the simplest factor to understand of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked at the same time as people consider worries that they just do
    not understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and also outlined out the entire thing with
    no need side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be
    back to get more. Thanks

  • I could not resist commenting. Perfectly written!

  • Can I simply say what a comfort to discover somebody who truly knows what they're talking about on the
    internet. You certainly understand how to bring a problem to
    light and make it important. More and more people have
    to check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised that you are not more popular given that you surely have
    the gift.

  • Generally I don't read article on blogs, however I wish to
    say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do it!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice article.

  • Why people still use to read news papers when in this technological globe everything is
    available on net?

  • Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your
    web site, how could i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  • Hi! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  • You are so interesting! I don't believe I've truly read anything like that before.
    So great to find someone with original thoughts on this issue.

    Really.. thanks for starting this up. This website is something that is required on the web, someone with some
    originality!

  • Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first
    comment (it was super long) so I guess I'll just sum it up what
    I had written and say, I'm thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I'm still new to everything.
    Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers?
    I'd really appreciate it.

  • Hurrah, that's what I was exploring for, what a stuff!
    present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this website.

  • I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted
    at this site is truly pleasant.

  • Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the
    internet the simplest thing to remember of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while folks consider worries
    that they plainly don't realize about. You controlled to hit
    the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , other folks could take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  • If you desire to take much from this article then yyou have
    tto apply these methods to your won web site.

  • Undeeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be onn the net the simplest thing to be aware
    of. I say to you, I certainly gett annoyed whike people consider wofries that they
    plainly don't know about. You managedd to hit thhe nail upon the top annd defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people could take a signal. Will probablly be
    back to get more. Thanks

  • It's not my first time to pay a quick visit this web site,
    i am brdowsing this web site dailly and obtain pleasant facts from
    here aall the time.

  • I do accept as true wih all the ideas you have presented on your post.
    They are really convincing and will definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for beginners.
    May you please prolong them a little from next time?
    Thank you for the post.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories