June 22, 2009

  • A Leg To Stand On

    HOME FOR A WEEK & A HALF

    DSC03710

    It's been a week and a half since I got out of the hospital. I don't really feel like "doing" much these days. Although the healing of the hip revision is going great, and I'm able to walk down to the clubhouse and back to my own home on the walker without any problems, I'm somewhat bothered by some congestion which showed up during my hospital stay and which doesn't seem to be going away. I'm tired pretty much most of the time.

    A typical day: Awake at around 8am, fix some hot tea and breakfast. My 'bath' is a washdown of my upper body and legs. I haven't been able to locate the clear bandages which were ordered for my wound. (They can be special ordered for 6 bucks apiece through a medical supply house but I haven't ordered any yet) I saw my orthopaedist last Tuesday (the first time I drove since the operation) and he took out my staples, but there is only a series of small bandages over the actual wound, over which I place a pad, which is secured by my "hip wrap", a velcro aided large flexible wrap which I fasten over my left hip, thigh and buttock. I know I'm not supposed to get the wound wet, and won't see the doctor for another three weeks. So far since I'm not spending my days doing much, it doesn't really matter if I shower completely. After tea and breakfast, I take my first "walk" around the mobile home park. I'm probably walking four-five miles a day. At around 10am I watch a movie or TV show on my bigscreen, and then I'm usually taking a nap in the early afternoon. Then a sandwich for lunch, more TV or another movie, another nap, dinner, and at 5pm my antibiotic treatment which I'll be taking for another three weeks. It takes about a half hour to inject the antibiotics, and I'm doing this myself. A nurse comes by on Mondays to change the dressing on my arm where the Picc line is inserted. After my antibiotics, I take my evening walk around the park. At 9 or 10 I go to bed.

    I've ventured outside the confines of the mobile home park three times. First an appointment with the orthopaedist last Tuesday, then a visit to my own doctor, plus a visit to my workplace to say hi to everyone on Wednesday. On Friday, I drove around to two separate medical supply houses and found out I had to have the clear plastic bandages special ordered. Since I don't really think I need them, I didn't order any. I did get "skis" for my walker, which take the place of the rubber tips on the back legs (the front legs have wheels). I wore out the rubber tips pretty quickly. (The technician at the medical supply house told me it was "good" that I wore out the rubber tips so quickly cause this meant I was using the walker a lot.)

    I want to go back to work this week if possible. On Wednesday, my "three week vacation" from work will be over. Depending upon how I feel, I might go back to work mid week, or wait till next Monday. It's not busy at work at all, and by the looks of it during my visit, my presence is not missed all that much. The folks I trained to do some of my tasks while I was gone are doing pretty well. One of the two things that bother me right now is that I'm tired most of the time, and the few times I've attempted driving and going places, I got tired really quickly. While at home, preparing meals and watching TV, I haven't felt all that tired. I am taking lots of naps however.

    I'm still not ready to blog on a regular basis. There's really not much to report. Life is pretty "boring" right now. I wish I could take some of this time and actually "do something" but even the thought of sitting in a theater seat to see a movie at a theater might be too daunting. At home, I sit on a pillow, and move to the bed pretty frequently to alleviate any pain. I'm not taking too many pain pills however, which is a good thing.

    The worst thing right now, and what is bothering me the most is the cough. As I mentioned, I seem to have gotten some congestion in my chest during my hospital stay, and while I'm not "sick" like with a cold, and am not running a fever, the cough is terrible, and I don't seem to be clearing the congestion. (Which seems really weird since I'm pumping antibiotics into my body on a daily basis.) When I saw my regular doctor last week, and complained of this he prescribed proventil, (a 40 dollar inhaler!!) Mucinex, and a cough syrup. Finally, today, for the first time, I don't seem to be coughing as much, although I can still feel the conjestion when I breathe.

    I don't need any additional "help" around the house, but I have the phone numbers of four different friends/neighbors by my side in case of emergency. So far, with the help of the "hip kit", which includes a grabber and long handle scrub brush and shoe horns, and with the walker, I'm "getting around" pretty well.

    I just seem to be too tired to do anything except lounge around and watch movies on my bigscreen and take lots of naps. (If memory serves I spent about three weeks after the first operation 16 years ago doing exactly the same thing.)

    Excuse me that I'm not blogging much, and that this "update" isn't very well written or presented. I'm sure there are at least a dozen folks who will be happy to find out that I'm doing as well as can be expected. Thanks to all who left comments/messages after my last entry. If this damn cough will go away, then I would pretty much say I'm almost fully healed.

    Well, it's time to take a nap.

Comments (51)

  • Don't feel too bad. I'm on Proventil too.

    It sounds like you're making a fine recovery though. This is a good thing. As are those South Park Plushies!

  • *hugs him tight*
    You'll be up and about (for longer periods) soon, just relax for now. Get a good book or something and fill your day with that. You could watch some movies and plan reviews like you used to

  • Wishing you swift healing.

  • You're a bad ass. Hang in there.

  • Hang in there!!!! :sunny:

  • Would the doctor give you nebulizer treatments to cut through the gunk? I know it helps my husband when he comes home from the hospital. One doctor told him that it's the remaining crud that comes from when you were in surgery, but it goes away after awhile. At least that's true in certain cases. Hope you're up and on the mend real soon.

  • It's good to hear you're able to move around some, even with a walker. Keep it up!

  • Good to hear from you, Mike! It's a slow road back, but you'll make it. Good fr you for walking, even if it wears you out a bit. How much longer on the antibiotics? When the congestion goes away, your energy level should come back. It takes time to get over such a major operation. Don't push it and think about waiting until Monday to go back, if you can. :wave:

  • Hey Mornin Glorie...... I think if your doing as well as you did fifteen years ago your already ahead of the game...fifteen years is a long time (or not :wink: )!  I love your office - no kitty you can not have my pie - oh my god - take care of Kenny!  I think you'll be back to normal in no time at all....hugs and prayers !:spinning:

  • :wave: Hey, it is good to hear from you, so that we know how you're coming along.

    Except for that "crud" it sounds as though your healing is coming along well. Probably the reason that you are tired is that coughing has that effect -- it tires a person out. Also, it takes a while to build up ones energy again it seems.

    It's ok that you aren't posting often, take your time and do it on whatever schedule best for you -- we won't forget you.

    Anyway, hang in there & I'll pray that you get rid of the cough soon.

    ~~Blessings, prayers 'n cheers

  • Hang in there Mike! It's good to know your healing well. I hope the cough goes away. My fingers are crossed for you!

  • hope you feel better soon! and try to come by from time to time

  • Hi my dear BM,
    Being on the way to becoming fully bald myself--only a Kalahari not a Sahara yet!!--I join you in a good round of laughter!Good morning! i pray that your recovery will be smooth.
    Give my love to your family too and tell them my bouqueet is coming all the way from 10000 miles away in India!
    Love, Sadaboy :)

  • With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of
    plagorism or copyright infringement? My blog has a lot of completely unique content I've either
    written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all
    over the internet without my authorization. Do you know
    any ways to help prevent content from being stolen? I'd certainly appreciate it.

  • whoah this weblog is wonderful i like studying your posts.

    Stay up the good work! You recognize, a lot of individuals are searching round for this info, you could
    aid them greatly.

  • I'd like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this
    website. I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by
    you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has
    inspired me to get my very own website now ;)

  • Good info. Lucky me I found your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I've bookmarked it for later!

  • This blog was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've
    found something that helped me. Cheers!

  • Thank you, I've just been searching for info about
    this topic for a while and yours is the best I have came upon till now.

    But, what about the bottom line? Are you positive concerning
    the source?

  • Spot on with this write-up, I actually feel this web site needs
    much more attention. I'll probably be back again to read more,
    thanks for the information!

  • Hi there! I could have sworn I've visited this site before but after
    browsing through many of the posts I realized it's new to me.

    Regardless, I'm certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I'll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  • Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some pics to drive
    the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is great blog.
    A great read. I'll definitely be back.

  • First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in which I'd
    like to ask if you don't mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your thoughts prior to writing. I've had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?
    Thanks!

  • Excellent site. Plenty of useful info here. I'm sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thank you in your sweat!

  • Hi to every single one, it's really a good for me to go
    to see this web site, it includes helpful Information.

  • This piece of writing gives clear idea for the new users of blogging,
    that truly how to do blogging and site-building.

  • It's really a great and useful piece of information. I'm happy that you simply
    shareed this useful information with us. Please stay us informed
    like this. Thank you for sharing.

  • Hey! I'm at work browsing your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Keep up the outstanding work!

  • Hello, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed this
    article. It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  • An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto
    a friend who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually bought me breakfast because I found it for him...
    lol. So let me reword this.... Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this issue
    here on your web page.

  • You made some decent points there. I checked on the internet to find out more about the issue
    and found most individuals will go along with your views
    on this website.

  • Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and exposure!

    Keep up the very good works guys I've included you guys to my blogroll.

  • Thanks for sharing such a fastidious thought, paragraph is nice, thats why i have read it completely

  • Appreciate this post. Will try it out.

  • Terrific work! That is the kind of information that are supposed to be shared across the
    internet. Disgrace on the search engines for not positioning this submit
    upper! Come on over and discuss with my website
    . Thanks =)

  • Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog.
    A fantastic read. I'll certainly be back.

  • Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I'm trying to
    get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I'm not seeing
    very good success. If you know of any please share.
    Kudos!

  • This excellent website really has all of the information I wanted concerning this subject and didn't know who to ask.

  • Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i got
    here to go back the want?.I am attempting to in finding issues to enhance my website!I
    guess its ok to make use of some of your concepts!!

  • Hey there, You've done an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend
    to my friends. I'm sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  • Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital
    to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I'll be subscribing to your augment and even I
    achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  • Actually no matter if someone doesn't know after that
    its up to other people that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  • You are so cool! I don't think I've read anything like
    that before. So nice to find someone with a few unique thoughts on this subject.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web
    site is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

  • Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting
    a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work
    on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  • I will right away snatch your rss as I can't in finding your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you've any? Kindly allow me realize in order that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

  • Paragraph writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with then you
    can write or else it is difficult to write.

  • Remarkable things here. I am very satisfied to look your post.
    Thanks so much and I'm looking ahead to contact you.
    Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  • Very descriptive article, I enjjoyed that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  • Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to
    no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  • Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to
    say that I have really loved surfiing around your weblog posts.
    After all I'll be subscribing for your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  • My partner and I stumbled over here different web address and thought I
    should check hings out. I like what I see so now i'm following you.
    Look forward to cchecking out your web page for a second time.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories