February 4, 2007

  • "More Tempest"; A MikeVideo Internet Movie: 02/07

    logo
     
     
    My latest MikeVideo is called "More Tempest", and is a music performance video, containing  a full song, "Captain Morgan the Pyrate" and snippets from two instrumentals. 
    A companion Video to "Tempest". , which I featured here on the blog in 2005 when I first put it on my server for video streaming. Both videos feature a performance by the Celtic Rock Band "Tempest" ©, which began recording in 1988. Their official WEBSITE with online ordering of their CDs, can be found HERE 
     

     

    YOUTUBE
     
     
    GOOGLE
     
     
     This MikeVideo is 10 minutes long, There are two ways to watch this. First is the YouTube presentation, followed by an imbedded Google Video version. I experimented with trying to get the logo I wanted to present on YouTube exactly 1/2 of the way into the video. I suceeded this time. I missed the mark by a few seconds on the ArtViews video. I uploaded the 91MB .wmv version to YouTube, and the full 500MB mpeg file to Google using their uploader to see which one has the best clarity. (It took nearly all day to upload the Google) Since both sites use the same Flash player, it looks as if both the smaller and the larger file have been further compressed, and the quality is compromised on the larger mpeg file. (Info for any techies who didn't already know this, it saves me from uploading the larger files now. I was hoping the mpeg would show up better online.) One thing you can do with the google file is download it, so I will do so to see if I get the full 500MB mpeg file. Nope, you have to download a "Google Player" and the format is in .gvp. 
     
     As usual, if you wish to view this on the YouTube site, click on the video anywhere. If you wish to view it or the Google video here on WhenWordsCollide, then please disable the Buddy Holly tune playing in the background by hitting the stop button on the audio player in the sidebar to the left. I was quite impressed with Tempest when I saw them in 2004, and I intend on making a visit to their "KarflukiFest 2007" in May, which is a Celtic music festival sponsored by the band in northern California.

Comments (16)

  • Had visited your site sometime back, and then lost it.  Thx for keepin' on keepin' on.

  • I was just thinking how some of Buddy Holly's stuff seems like this music .except perhaps with the addition of some serious coffee.... It is cool to get a chance to hear different kinds of music.

  • The google player works for you? I tried uploading it but it wouldn't log me in!

    :heartbeat:m/

  • RYC:  I am indeed a Boop fan..LOL  "I'm just a celluloid creation." *said in best Boop imitation*  I have her singing on my answering machine.  This article is number four of the fishie articles that are part of a six article series so far.  If you wish to read the others that led up to this one you can find them in the tags box under "fishie."  It's a humorous look at the world of dating and personal ads.

    Being dial-up, I generally avoid videos.  They never stream nicely for me.  A 2 minute one usually runs for 11 to 20 minutes depending on how finicky my computer is being.  :cry:

  • This was interesting.

    I'm curious how you add images to your video. I know absolutely nothing about editing video and haven't even figured out how to use what came with my DVD burner.

  • RYC: The browser is Opera. I like it much better than Firefox. I just make the html page and store it on the computer. The address is "file://localhost/C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/FaithJ/My%20Documents/browserhomepage/homepage.html" and then I set it the same way I would any homepage. No special program needed. I've thought about having it on my website, but since the links are aren't of interest to everyone and some of them won't work for others (like my Xanga post page), and the number of photos in the javascript would eat away at bandwidth, it's better to keep it on my computer.

    Thanks for the link to your explanation of how you do the fx. I have Pinnacle Hollywood FX and Studio 8 so once I finally get to working with it (no time right now), seeing what you did should be a help.

  • My sony cybershot downloads the video straight to xanga. Of coarse it is the simpliest method but if I were to edit and put better sound on the video that would bust my poorman's method of video making.

    I tried to get movies to my palm Tungsten e2 but all the codex and mp3 rights prevent any free methods to get both good sounds and movie onto that device for free...I just have to settle for my Windows 2000 to work that magic.

    My cousin is a retired geek engineer, maybe I should get him to help me with some of the engineering projects I want to get going? Will there ever be a Li-Ion battery for electric scooters? Looks like fuel cell technology is still ten years away. What good is energy? There is no way to store electricity to power vehicles, looks like fueled vehicles will still be good for the next five years (though licencing an electric vehicle is cheap and easy for trips less than five miles)

    I wonder how many clips refreshed per second is your video? Most folks are happy with 12 refreshed clips per second...

    Oh your comment at Momof Jen and matt peaked my curiousity to visit, not that I remember any particular quip...

  • Waiting with anticipation for your writing on "Dead bodies"

  • I just had to come visit you after the thought provoking comment you made on momofjenmatt--i think that was the one.  Are you the bald guy in the skirt??  Im new so I was not sure.  Marlo

  • I like the music.  Thanks for the comments!! I really don't care so much about getting featured any more. I just wonder how the Theologians Cafe gets such a following???  I don't visit there any more, I commented numerous times and he never stopped by so pooey on him! :)
    Have a great night.

  • the perfect music to accompany my writing today! :)

  • Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to
    assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I'll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  • Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the great works guys I've included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  • Hey! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established website such as yours require
    a massive amount work? I am completely new to blogging but I
    do write in my diary every day. I'd like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience
    and views online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring
    bloggers. Thankyou!

  • There is an online shopping cart for loading desired merchandise.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories