January 26, 2006

  • Featured Grownups: Biggest Impact

    This is a Topic Entry for the Featured Grownups blogring.

     

    TOPIC: What PERSON or CAUSE has made the biggest impact on your life? Tell us about that impact...Educate us on the Person OR Cause...Share your experience so that we can better know you and learn from you! More entries here.


    I can never wirte about just "one" of anything. If I post one poem, I post ten. If I post a photo, I post a dozen.  If there's one person who has made an impact on my life, there are five more.

    Here are a few of the people/causes who/that have made big impacts on my life.

    1.The Impetus to Write. I write because of Mr. Gardner, my 7th grade teacher, the man who introduced me to Roget's College Thesaurus, of which I still have my dogeared copy from the 7th grade. Up until 7th grade, which was "junior high school" and in a different school than I had attended with elementary school, I exercised my creativity by drawing and sculpting with clay and papier mache. I've written about my siblings and our playtime, and how my mother especially helped to foster imagination and the search for intelligence. But it was my 7th grade English teacher, Mr. Gardner, who actually sparked my desire to write.
    We were given assignments to write "essays" each week. The "essay" could be a short story, a reminiscence, or an actual essay. To this day, I call all my prose works 'essays' in remembrance of my 7th grade English class. I don't have in my possession any of the essays I wrote, but a lot of them were in the form of short stories. By using the Thesaurus, the class was goaded to improve our vocabulary. For those who might not know, even though on the internet sites like dictionary.com and encarta have an online thesaurus, it is a list of antonyms and synonyms for words. By using a thesaurus, a writer finds ways not to repeat himself. For instance, there are many ways of saying the word "said" in a story, to inflict slivers of meaning in each word we write. I learned about this in 7th grade, and it has never left me. I thank Mr. Gardner for his attention to detail in spurring his classroom to think and write. I still have my report card. He always gave me an A+ in  class, and this further enhanced my desire to write more as the years advanced on the calendar.
    2. The Concept of "Realizations". My "Godfather", Jimmy Giordano, introduced me to the concept of "realization", a term I use frequently. Jimmy was the store manager for FedMart Furniture to Go in 1978, my place of employment as a truck driver and warehouse manager. Jimmy later championed me to become the division truck driver and was instrumental in my rising in the retail ranks, eventually becoming one of the merchandise managers of the Culver City FedMart right before the company went out of business. Jimmy taught me about "realizations". In my Universal Mind Theory, I use this term to describe the signposts that life gives us, in order to help our enlightenment. We "realize" things and events are causes of our current living conditions, and ways for us to better our situation. Jimmy didn't think in such a spiritual way, however. He knew from experience that life teaches us lessons, and that if we don't learn from these lessons, we fail in our lives. He was in the process of failing a few of life's lessons when I met him. He was about 15 years older than I was at the time and told me that at some point I would reach a stage in life where I would "realize" that this was what life had to offer, and pipe dreams and fantasies of what might happen were only pipe dreams and fantasies. I was in my mid 20s and took his words to heart. I did learn from him that in our 40s and 50s we look around us and "realize" that our life is what we have made it, and we cannot "blame" anyone for our position or our accomplishments.
    3. The Peace Movement of the late 60s.
    Since I graduated from high school in 1971, I was on the "back end" of the Peace Movement, which galvanized the nation in the late 60s. In my Senior Year of High School, we attempted to "break the dress  code". Back when I was in school, there were strict "codes" which dictated that, for instance, a girl's skirt could not be a certain number of inches above her knee, and guys could not wear beards or moustaches. Up until my Senior Year, I was a perfect model citizen, but I started to grow my hair long and sprout a moutstache, and got together with some fellow students to " break the dress code" which we did, eventually, although we graduated, so we didn't get to reap the benefits of our efforts. I clearly remember getting up and speaking in front of the whole school assembly in my position as "Student Faculty Relations" Committee Chairman and talking about freedoms and the possibility of an open  campus.
    In retrospect, there were some drawbacks associated with the Peace Movement of the late 60s, but the activities of the stalwarts of the movement helped to forge my young awareness of the ideas of peace and love, and what we can all do to better ourselves and our situation in life.
    4. USC and Bureaucratic Bullshit. After being one of  the top 25 students in high school, and "writing my own ticket" for most of my young life, learning that I was just one of a bunch of fish in a rather large pond in college taught me a lot about "real life" as it does for most people who thought they were popular and smart in high school. Even besides learning that I was small potoatoes in school, I also learned about what I have always termed "bureaucratic bullshit", the grease that makes the wheels or reality turn round. We all had to take a class in school in which the main text was written by the department head, and of course his book was available in the student bookstore on campus. The class was mandatory, which meant that every student at USC had to own a copy of the text book. Above all events that had come before it, this taught me about real life and how everyone has to conform to certain models in society, no matter what the time or place.
    5. My Misanthrope. Living with my ex girlfriend Pat for three years had possibly the greatest negative influence on my life for all time. I fell in love with Pat without paying heed to the kind of person she was. (Manipulative, surly, and confused) I moved in with her  blindly, and learned from this experience that there are people who are not at all like me, and they make their own rules in life. I write about her often, and still keep in touch with her, although she lives 3000 miles from me now. (Which is a good thing.) I'm glad the relationship didn't last,  because it might have eventually killed me, but while it was happening, I was immersed in a life that was dictated by a kind of unknowable agony that seemed to get worse each year.

    I could go on and on, so I won't. Each "chapter' of my own life has been filled with causes and people who impact it. Each day is it's own novel of opportunity and possible failure. Each minute is a world of learning and enlightenment. Each moment is an epiphany.
    It's great to be alive.
     

Comments (69)

  • i grew up in LA and had a mr gardner as an english teacher.  he was a cartoonist early in his life and on the side i think.  i loved his class.

  • :wink: :wink::heartbeat:

    I have a passion for writing too

    I feel bad, Ive stopped by to say hey and you are an inspiration

    Ive always had a passion for writing

    and I hope I can take it far

    i am writing a novel for my love now :lol: :):sunny::goodjob:

    I love teachers like that, my whole fam is part of a teacher fam

    so i get it all of the time, but it has shaped me well

    heheheh

    AWESOME POST

    I know what ya mean when youve had teachers who have changed your life

    i even emailed one of them and told her how i was doing- she believed in me

    and gave me the role (leading) for a 7th grader in the middle school

    and made me a star for that week

    she will always have a place in my heart and has made me who i am today

    :) :):sunny:

    my dave is also one of those life changing people......i love him so much

    and just wanna be the best for him

    AWESOME POST MY FRIEND

    YOU ARE AWESOME, WISE AND SUCH A GOOD LEADER OF THE ISLAND

    I AM BLESSED AND HONORED TO KNOW YOU

    *hugs*

    Island love :goodjob:

  • we are on the same wavelength today... think it was your comment on my site that put us there? not sure! :heartbeat: but it's fun when that happens! :laugh:

  • This is my third comment.  :)  

    You are added...but I fear you are entering at a time of drama.  My apologies ahead of time.

    No, they are not the same...but I liked his class!

  • I like writing, but you really have a passion for it and I admire that.

    thanks

  • It is hard to narrow it down to one person or cause. So many things that we do and go through in life shape us into who we are. To pick them apart and give credit to just one that made the most impact is something few of us can do. This is a great post! So glad you were able to do one!

  • Your opening comment made me smile the most! I've been reading your blog ever since I started on xanga almost 6 months ago and that's something I've noticed ~ you never do just "one" of anything! But that's one of the reasons why I enjoy your entries so much. :heartbeat:

    ~Suzanne

  • Sometimes, like with potato chips, one is just not enough. Thanks!

  • Dear Mike
    I always love reading what has influenced
    your world, what has molded your emotions
    and what still drives you.
    I would suggest that you always use your
    freedom of self expression
    It is what makes you so Special to us.
    ((((HUGS))))
    :love:

  • Mike, do you realise how interesting you are making your life sound. It is high time you begin writing a book...it is bound to be a best seller!

  • Mike, this was lovely. You are a wonderful writer and you are so filled with gratitude for these experiences and people in you life.
    Frequently a topic at our dinner table... what if I had done this instead of that, what if some thing never happened, would I still be or doing what I am today.
    You have taken a good path for the most part.
    You have a lot to be proud of.

    I really enjoyed reading this. I am not a good writer, and my knowledge of vocabulary is horrid, but I enjoy reading good writing and I learn from it. :)

  • Michael this is such a nice post -- I love hearing about things that have impacted our lives it is inspiring and I think it's nice that a reader had that same teacher!

  • What a great reminiscence. You make me think of the people in my life that were similar, which makes me wonder if we all live parallel lives? Just w/ different names and faces? I love that last line... "each moment is an epiphany". I'm not sure I've ever thought about it that way, but it is so true. :)

  • :wave:

    Hello Michael,

    I enjoy all your blogs, latley I have been only comenting to  the comments as I have to be up earler and have less time.. This morning I am trying to comment to all my subs.
    I agree with everyone, it is a pleasure reading your blogs and comments too..  I love your last line.. This was nice to read early in the morn.

    Happy Weekend.

    Peace and Love:)

  • I'm glad it's great to be alive again. And I love reliving these times with you.

  • awesome post!!!! IT IS GREAT to be alive. amen to that.!!!

  • :goodjob: Passion is a good thing!     We all should have a passion for something! anything it makes it a good thing!

    take care

    Karolyn

  • Mike I apologize for not reading and commenting on your current entry. But, I see your responses on other blogs. I can tell you and I vary vastly on our world view. If we ever got in a spirited debate it would be a collision of worlds. I suspect you'd have a pitch fork, horns and tail for me wear .  That's why I was hesitant to join Internet Island when I got your response on my blog sometime ago. I won't get into that now. I just wanted to mention that I notice you finish comments with "the fool".  You're saying in a nutshell the more we know the less we know blah blah blah and how can one be wise in all the constructs and distructs etc ..yada yada yada. Capeesh? 

    I have this to say about "the fool" signature. You want people to think your humble. But I think, one is never so prideful as when striking a pose of humility by proclaiming in EVERY comment what a fool you supposidly are. Your pride winks on the side Mike. You are not a fool but think it humble to project that image.

    *Jettisons a thousands more thoughts and ducks from things being thrown*

    I, the Foolisher than Mike. :wink:

  • Thank you, Mike!!  I just realized (just this very second) that I am on your island!:fun: Not sure how long your ring has been sitting there in my left module, but I just realized now!   Wheee!  I'm excited, and am going to look around!:sunny:

  • Mike it does seem like a good teacher can change a life and I hazard a guess that more then one person will remeber a teacher:) I too remeber the peace movement and it did color the way see conflict and conflict resolution. This is an excellent topic and post.

  • I go way back to a grade school teacher I had who wore a pinc nez. His name ws Mr. Gaskin. I have no idea what his first name was for you didn't even think of calling him by that. He saved his praise for when you really did something outstanding so his classes would always excel in almost any subject. I love him still.

  • Hi Mike.  Was just out  be bopping around the Island.  Boy am I glad you started this thing.  LOL  How are you doing?  Looks like you have been creative as usual.  Thanks for sharing with us yet again.  Sound like you have had lots of good influences in your life.

    Hugs
    Kat

  • I was a guest of a man in England who took me to the airfield where they were renovating a Lancaster that was used in the dambusters. He knew that I was extremely interested in them and that my intended had flown one. It was wood framed and was almost put in the "graveyard" until they realized the potential of its manueverabilty. Do you know about the dambusters? It is a really wonderful story.

  • wonderful post!!!!!!

  • Found you from the above assignment, I must say you paint vivid pictures with the words you use my friend.  I shall be back...marilyn

  • enjoyed your reply to the Featured Grownups question.

    Speaking of exes I got in touch with one awhile ago to find she had just lost her job for breaking a liquor bottle over a customer's head. Sometimes 1300 miles seems too close.

    elliott

  • Roget's thesaurus is one of my best friends. 

  • This website certainly has all the information and
    facts I needed about this subject and didn't know who to ask.

  • Hey I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found
    you by accident, while I was searching on Google for something else, Anyhow
    I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a
    all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don't have time to read it all at the
    minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do
    keep up the excellent work.

  • Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it ;) I am going to return once again since I book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide
    others.

  • Link exchange is nothing else but it is simply placing the
    other person's blog link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do similar for you.

  • I'm excited to uncover this web site. I want to to thank you for ones time
    due to this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every part of it and
    I have you book-marked to see new information in your site.

  • Please let me know if you're looking for a author for your weblog.
    You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I'd absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Thank you!

  • Superb blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I'm hoping to start my own website soon but I'm a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out
    there that I'm totally overwhelmed .. Any suggestions?
    Bless you!

  • I truly love your site.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you make this web site yourself? Please reply back as I'm trying to create my own site and would like to know
    where you got this from or what the theme is
    called. Cheers!

  • I was suggested this website by means of my cousin. I'm no longer positive whether this publish is written via him
    as nobody else recognise such specified about my trouble.
    You are amazing! Thank you!

  • Touche. Solid arguments. Keep up the amazing effort.

  • I'm truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It's a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Excellent work!

  • Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, very good blog!

  • I’m not that much of a online reader to
    be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I'll go ahead and bookmark your site to
    come back later on. Cheers

  • Wow, that's what I was looking for, what a stuff! present here
    at this web site, thanks admin of this website.

  • Hey there I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was browsing on Google for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the
    minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great work.

  • Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website
    so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find thngs to
    enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few oof your ideas!!

  • Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that
    I've really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I'll be subscribing to your rss feed and
    I hope you write again soon!

  • Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn't show up. Grrrr... well I'm not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  • It's remarkable for me to have a web page, which is good in favor of
    my know-how. thanks admin

  • hey there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up anything
    new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, as I
    experienced to reload the site many times previous to
    I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your
    web host is OK? Not that I'm complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    often affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if
    ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I'm adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content.
    Make sure you update this again very soon.

  • Great work! That is the kind of information that are meant to be shared around the net.
    Shame on Google for not positioning this publish upper! Come on over and
    discuss with my website . Thank you =)

  • I'm more than happy to uncover this site. I wanted to thank you for
    your time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely liked every little bit
    of it and I have you saved to fav to check out new stuff in your site.

  • Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to understand a lot about this,
    such as you wrote the e-book in it or something. I believe that
    you could do with some p.c. to force the message home a little bit, but instead of that,
    that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I'll certainly
    be back.

  • For hottest information you have to visit world wide web and on web I
    found this web page as a best site for newest updates.

  • Post writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with afterward you can write otherwise it
    is complex to write.

  • Awesome! Its in fact amazing article, I have got much clear idea
    about from this piece of writing.

  • Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the
    issues. It was really informative. Your site is very
    helpful. Thanks for sharing!

  • If you wish for to obtain a good deal from this article then you have to apply these strategies to your won blog.

  • Good post. I will be going through a few of these issues as well..

  • Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts
    and I will be waiting for your next post thank
    you once again.

  • Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering
    your situation; many of us have developed some nice methods and we are looking to trade strategies with
    others, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  • Superb, what a webpage it is! This weblog provides valuable
    data to us, keep it up.

  • Hi there to every single one, it's in fact a nice for me to go to see this site,
    it consists of important Information.

  • Hello, Neat post. There is an issue along with your web site in web explorer, could test this?
    IE still is the marketplace chief and a large element of folks will pass over your magnificent writing due
    to this problem.

  • I just couldn't go away your website prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual
    provide to your guests? Is going to be back frequently in order to check out new posts

  • Good way of explaining, and nice piece of writing to
    obtain facts about my presentation subject,
    which i am going to convey in academy.

  • Undeniably believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be awae of.

    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people
    think about worries thst they plainly don't know about. You managed
    to hit the nail upon the top ass well ass defined out the whole thing
    wthout having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get
    more. Thanks

  • Can you tell us more about this? I'd like to find out more details.

  • I was curious if you eer considered changing the page layout
    of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe yyou could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect wwith it better. Youve got an awful lot off text for only
    having one or two pictures. Maybe you could spwce it
    out better?

  • Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform arre you using for this website?
    I'm getting fed up of WordPress because I've had isues with hackers and I'm looking at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you ould point me in the direction off a good platform.

  • Appreciate the recommendation. Lett me try it out.

  • Hi! I understand this is somwhat off-topic however I needed
    to ask. Does operating a well-established wbsite such as yours take a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to running a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis.
    I'd like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and views online.

    Please leet me know if you have any ideas or
    tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories