September 20, 2005


  • The Los Angeles County Fair is the largest County Fair in North America, and is located on 543 acres at Fairplex in Pomona, about 30 miles east of downtown L.A. The Fairplex facility has a Horse racing park with a 5/8 mile racetrack and full grandstand, and 325,000 square feet of indoor exhibit space. There is almost too much to see and do in a day. The Fair began in 1922 and it's always fun, crowded, and exciting. I usually go every year. The Fair is open during three weeks in Sept. (four this year, but it is closed Mondays and Tuesdays.)



    This year I attended the Fair with Elizabeth (TheQueenofSwords), who has already blogged about the experience. I took my camera for the first time this year, and took about 200 photos which will soon be featured in a Webshots Gallery. As usual, click on the photos in this post to see the full size pictures. Here is the Merry Go Round and the 15 story tall Ferris Wheel, which can be seen from all vantage points inside the FairGrounds.



    Lots of food can be found here. So it is advisable to bring an appetite. Here a pig is resting, er, I mean, "roasting" on a spit in one of the barbecue booths. You can get any type of meat, or a bucket of spaghetti, Mexican food, Indian fry bread, and any thing you can think of is sold deep fried, including the usual french fries and onion blossoms, plus corn of the cob, snickers bars, oreos and twinkies, "battered Australian potatoes" (which didn't set too well with my stomach, but I shouldn't be eating fried foods anyway) and fried fruit and veggies, for those who want to trick themselves into thinking they are eating "healthy."



    There is a dragstrip located at the Fairplex park, and in the 80s and early 90s I attended the NHRA "Winternationals" and "World Finals" at the park. There is also a standing exhibit near the back of the facility with about 8-10 full size restored steam locomotives, including some the biggest ever manufactured. Liz had been to the Fair before, but had never seen the trains. (I love trains) Here she is posing in front of some locomotive wheels that are taller than she is.



    I am taking a self portrait at arm's length inside a pullman sleeper car from 1923, which has always been closed in years past. The door was open because it was being cleaned, and Liz and I sneaked in to take some pictures. (And spend some quality time alone). A park employee was in the midst of cleaning the car and came back while we were inside, but instead of kicking us out, he proceeded to show us around.



    Another park employee, who isn't even a teenager yet, was sitting in the cab of one of the giant steam locomotives. Here he is demonstrating the auger system which brought the coal from the tender into the boiler.



    After spending time with the locomotives, we moved on to the Garden Pavilion, which was themed with Polynesian plants this year. There were lots of decorated sections like this, which were perfect for photography.



    These parrots are real, and they were perfect subjects, and hardly moved while amateur photographers and fairgoers snapped their pictures in the centerpiece of the Garden Pavilion display.



    The fairgrounds are filled with entertainment as well as exhibits, pavilions, a very large carnival, and of course the food. Among the many entertainers appearing around the grounds is Marston Smith, who plays the electric cello, and his sounds are eerily soothing and perfectly wonderful. Liz and I didn't see a lot of the entertainers, as there was just too much to do.



    The Fair also has an art gallery, the Millard Sheets Gallery, and the showcase this year was on "Latino Art". I kind of like this shot of a sculpure of a woman with the light shining above her head like a halo.



    The art gallery always showcases the artists as well as the art and here an artist is shown working on a painting. I am ashamed I did not get his name. A lot of local artists were presented, and Liz recognized the art of one or two artists who had attended East L.A. Community college.



    My visit to the County Fair is never complete until I see the farm animals. People rarely think of farms in L.A. but there are still areas in the southland where dairys and horse farms are somewhat abundant. The Central Valley in California is still one of the largest farmland areas in the country. In the shot above a little piggy looks out at me from a "pile of piggies' who have just had their dinner suckling their mother.



    This goat was really photogenic, and seemed to "pose" for me. Here he smiles at my camera, definitely ready for his "close-up". More photos will be posted in my Webshots Gallery within the week.



    I'll close this Photopost with another shot of the big ferris wheel. I usually check out the view from the top but we were dog tired after about 7 hours of walking around that we didn't get a ride in the wheel this year. (But there is always next year) I am always fascinated with this ferris wheel, which is the largest portable wheel in the country. It actually takes five large big rig trucks to carry it around, and I always hope that the carnys have tightened all the bolts. More photos will be forthcoming next week, and I already mentioned Liz's blog, and she also has some more photos online in her Photobucket 

Comments (21)

  • Oh that looks like alot of fun..I love seeing the piglets at fairs..they are the cutest! Oh ok..I just love fairs in general we have our own here which you may have been to, The EX  or CNE! ..and then of course there's the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair in November which is always fun!

    Great post Mike!

  • The fair! Do they have the fried twinkies? Does someone really eat them? :lol:

    Thank you for stopping by my site. Thank you for letting me know that you use a dfferent program. I've shopped around for something different, It figures they don't make it anymore.

    I have no problem with reading about someone's journey. They may take us in different directions, but I think the fact that you're taking it is what's most important.

    I am on a message board where the topic of banned books was met with people who thought it was okay. If a book is inappropriate for children it should be banned. I was shocked. We're not talking playboy here. I enjoyed reading "Of Mice and Men" in HS, I would be very disappointed to find my children not having it available for study at school.

    I usually don't leave such a short comment as I did before, but I was rushed trying to get to everyone's site. I do appreciate the work you do, as I dabble in it. But nothing ends up looking like your work. That's why I picked that to comment on.

    Now I've written a xanga entry! LOL Have a great day!

  • Dear Mike,

    The pictures look great, and there was indeed too much to do in one day at the Fair, and even though we were tired after it all I had a great time!

    Love:littlekiss:,
    Liz

  • Good photos!  Love the guy in the dress playing the banjo and the statue of the woman trying to figure out how to put her blouse on.  Seriously--the pics bring back memories.

  • loved traveling w/you on your trip to the fair. it brought back a ton of memories and maybe i'll blog about them today. nice to see you had such good company too! that had to make it even more fun!

  • P.S. Where's the picture of our house !!! :giggle:

  • Pretty garden, cute pigs, and a fun Kremlin-like merry-go-round thingie.  It's fun to see into your life.  Nothing deep to say today, except that I need sleep.    It's always a pleasure to see what you're up to, though.

  • I haven't been to a fair in ages. There are several neighboring county fairs in my area, but I stopped going because the prices skyrocketed and the attractions became wimpier. Most are just food and rides now.

    Love the garden pics. I really enjoy those sorts of things.

    Faith

  • That looks so fun!!!!  Thanks for sharing the adventure.

  • We missed the Michigan State Fair this year... it's always fun.  And WE have the World's Largest Potbellied Stove...

  • I never knew about this fair... the one I went to as a kid was the Del Mar Fair, which is fairly large itself.

    Here in San Francisco, we don't have a fair... just a trip through the Castro!!!

    BTW - I all about that sculpture. Boobies!

  • Great photos! I used to go every year but the last year have not made it. When I was young my Dad helped with the Nurseryman's Assc and Cal Poly exhits in the garden area they always had a BBQ before the fair opened it was alway so special! Long time ago!   Glad you had fun there yes too much to see in one day!:)

  • Thanks for the photo journal. Enjoyed it! The goat makes me giggle. . .

  • Mike, you are the man.

  • I love the colors in the parrot photo, but I have to say my favorite pic is your self-portrait! You look SO happy and content! Love definitely agrees with you! :love:
    ~Suzanne

  • I wish I didn't like the taste of bacon so much.

  • :littlekiss: I guess you can click on my Xanga name ... :giggle::love:

  • Big question.....

    Was watching Law & Order last night...the execution episode...and at the end Lenny Brisco gets drunk and Angie Harmon gives him a ride home...the episode ends with them getting hit by an SUV and SHE is all busted up.  Was there a follow-up episode to this...and did she die as a result and that's how they got rid of her on the show

  • great photos!! that one of the statue in the gallery is my fave, how the light peeks down seems heavenly...wow, i really need to go to Cali!!  take care!

  • wonderful pictures, especially the macaws, piglets, & the goat :)

  • Where do you get this stuff.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories