September 22, 2005


  • HEALTH AND WELFARE


    It has now been a week since my cataract surgery, and besides the fact that I will need new progressives (my appointment is on Oct. 19, as I had to schedule the eye exam for at least a month after the surgery.) I can see clearer than I have in at least two years, when I began noticing the “milky” sheen covering my vision in the left eye. I still have to create a blog article, and planned on doing so this week, but have not had any time to spend blogging, for reasons which I will go into in the “No Time For Comments” post below. As I write, I am still taking eyedrops four times a day, and sleeping with an “eyeshield”. My opthamologist’s “rules for cataract surgery” dictate that I don’t lift anything over 10 pounds for at least three months. Up until the past two days, I have had some occasional throbbing pains in the eye area, but now I “feel normal” as if I didn’t even have the surgery, and because of this I might take unneccessary “chances” like lifting panels to test that weigh more like 30 pounds apiece. I knew I was overexerting today when the throbbing started to come back.


    The eye is one of the many wonders inherent in our makeup, and the fact that we can now replace failing vision with such speed and precision, which while not seeming all that “astounding” is just simply amazing, and I have such dreams that more medical advances in the future will bring us into a new form of biological life in the 21st century which was not even remotely guessed in all the future fiction ever written. It’s quite a wonderful time to be alive, in fact.


    NO TIME FOR COMMENTS


    Continuing the “It’s a wonderful time to be alive” train of thought,  I find myself increasingly active in the real world for a couple of reasons (one of which is truly “wonderful” and is outlined in the “Best News Saved For Last” entry below) and so I have been somewhat lax in “keeping up” with the many blogs I have been frequently reading. Unlike those who find themselves “overwhelmed” at the “comment procedure” and who might even shut down their blogs, or stop posting altogether, I will keep posting, and attempt when time allows to read other blogs and comment.  My blog has always been a portal for AllThingsMike, so the entries, which basically “comment” on articles in the main site, will appear regularly. So even if you don’t find me commenting on your blogs, that doesn’t mean I’ve “disappeared.” I am simply not computing as much as I have been recently. I will still post new entries to WhenWordsCollide about every other day as usual. I seem to have gained about a dozen new readers since I joined the Featured Grownups blogring and I still haven’t “thanked” a lot of the folks who have left “first comments” on my posts, some dating back a week. So, if you have posted a comment on this blog and I haven’t “noticed” you by paying you the compliment of visiting, reading a few entries and making a comment or two, that doesn’t mean I am not grateful that you visited, and enjoyed what I offer here enough to leave a comment. I will “get to you” in time, and hope you remember visiting when I finally get around to you. I noticed the other day while perusing some of my earlier entries that I have retained the same basic 15-20 “readers” for almost a year now, and some of you have been reading and commenting since the beginning. A big “bucket of eprops” for those longtime “subscribers” who get my words in your email and who sometimes “instantly” comment when I put up a post. That I have not been able to comment on your blogs does sadden me, but there have just been too many other priorities.


    Work has been incredibly busy, so much so that we are actually discussing adding another technician to build panels. One of my customers, the Aldi Foods chain (which do not have stores in California) told me in 2002 when I quoted their distribution panel which feeds the checklane registers that they would be ordering at least 700 panels by the end of 2005. They didn’t really start ordering till about last March, and we have back orders for 350 panels, all of which were “expected” before the end of the year. There will be 100 panels a year thereafter, and I am designing a larger panel for their larger stores. Each panel costs them about 600 bucks each, so if you “do the math” you will find that this is a pretty sizable order. On top of this one customer, I quote all the “jobs” and average about 35-40 individual quotes a month. I also test all the product electrically and “torque” all the screws to make sure they are tight. I’ve been employed by our company for 16 years, and have panels all over the world. None of them have ever been the cause of a fire, and my shop does pretty good work. (If you would like me to quote “you” anything in the line of electrical motor control or transfer and bypass applications up to 600V and 1000A then send me an email at michaelnyiri@sbcglobal.net. (I might as well try to network even more business while I’m blogging.) We also build voltage selector switches for the generator industry, which always gets busiest in times of national disaster. Our greatest year ever was 1999 because everybody thought Y2K would take the lights off all over the world, and we got some sizable orders that year for generator switches. I have about six or eight of these jobs going (which cost my customers about 3-6 grand depending upon the size of the generator.) I have to “design” the wire list and panel construction specially for each one, as there are rarely “reapeats” which then takes me out of the production loop. Our other “niche market” is the maintenance bypass switch for UPS (uninterruptible power systems) These come in all “colors and sizes” and we built them for two UPS manufacturers in “the old days” before those companies either 1. went out of business or 2. sent all their production needs to Mexico. This week we had a “problem” panel (costing our customer 7 grand) that needed to be in Florida by next Tuesday for the install. This was a new customer and I specified a new enclosure manufacturer whose rep I met with right before I quoted the job. Major problems were that our switch became too large to put in the box I ordered, and the inner panels to which we attach the components are not available in the States and have a two month lead. We received the “walls” to the panel the day before we shipped, and we did get the project shipped in time. This one order took up most of my day on Tuesday.


    I have also recently rented the TV series “Lost” (the subject of yet another unwritten blog entry.) I have two more episodes to go from the first season, and then I begin watching the second season on the Tivo, the first episode of which was recorded last night. I haven’t been this caught up in a TV show since “Ed” was cancelled.


    THE BEST NEWS SAVED FOR LAST


    I have only dropped hints, and the Sept. 10th  ElectricPoetry Post was filled with current love poetry, after all, so you might have already guessed that I have finally fallen in love. My “Lovesearch” which has lasted most of my life, is over at last, and I have never been happier. My friends and colleagues have noticed a change in my nature. I owe it all to Elizabeth, my Queen_of_Swords, Either tomorrow or Saturday, if I find the time, I will post an “announcement” for a new blog which will chart the course of our relationship, which “began” after our first “date” on Sept. 3rd, after knowing this fine beautiful senorita for a little over half a year. I have always thought I found “love” before friendship, and in this case I found friendship before I realized my love. Our “Tandem Blog” which I created for Liz last night as a “3 Weekiversary” present, is called InternetSerendipity. We already have a couple of Tandem posts, and I invite all my subscribers and readers of WhenWordsCollide to check it out and drop some comments. I have always believed in “true romance” and “serendipity” which would find me my “true mate”, the “other half to my whole.” For a while there, I thought the Gods were laughing at me, but instead they were waiting for the right moment in time, and let me tell you, nothing I have ever felt compares to “this” feeling, and this feeling is mutually shared. I am truly blessed, and I really wasn’t keeping anything a secret, but haven’t really “announced” who the love of my life is until this moment online. Liz will be “announcing” our relationship in an entry she is polishing up on her blog too.


    I “met” her on Xanga, and soon thereafter met her in person. She is the first (and so far) only Xangan I have met “in person” so I find this utterly fitting. I always wanted a “relationship” blog but never had the “relationship.” Liz is smart, beautiful, sexy as heck, and she’s a good writer, too, so if you have never read The_Queen_of_Swords than I strongly advise you to start now.


    Until next time, I remain,


    Your Correspondent,


    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool (in love)      



    SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: I have taken the music off the “Jukebox This Week” feature until next month due to exceeding my bandwidth allocation. So “there is nothing wrong with your computer” and “we are still controlling transmission.” Just without music till the first of the month. One of the disadvantages of gaining more readers and hosting a music file is that it can easily go over my “plan” and the dollars multiply exponentially after that. (Check out the “twilight zone” profile pic over there to your left when leaving me a comment. This was going to be my “post eye surgery” profile, but it freaked Liz out when she saw the eye on my forehead, so I will not be using it.)

Comments (31)

  • Your profile picture does make me laugh.

    And good on you. Good news is always good.

  • WOOOOO— HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO:goodjob:

  • The strongest love relationships begin as friendships. I’m so happy for the two of you! :love:
    ~Suzanne

  • First: Lost is well worth watching — I LOVE it

    Most importantly:  Awe Michael, I am so very very happy for you!  :love:

  • we have aldi here.. its owned by trader joes..

    i listened to lost ep 1 on my car radio.. the first show seemed to be a recap of season one.. explaining everything.
    not having watched season one at all i wasnt sure.

  • I’m so very, very happy for you and your lithely lady… how incredibly wonderful, it’s so heartwarming. And glad your cataract operation went so well too – being able to see again has its benefits! Don’t worry about not commenting as much, when you do, you’re totally present and practically leave essays, which is so appreciated. Just spend your time loving and enjoying! *hugs xo

  • It’s good to see you are doing well and keeping busy…and in LOVE?!?!  Woo hoo…I don’t “know Liz that wellyet, but she seems very nice.  I’m glad for you that you have found happiness in a relationship!    Take care Mr. Mike!  ~D~

  • im glad the surgery went well

  • your entries are alway so full with wonderful information, and pictures. im a big fan of your photos! i have some photos of belgium and cruise down on my xanga, also write a short story put up today. and i must say i found an amazing woman on xanga too, and we’re both in love and incredible writers! we should make a blog ring for that.

    John

  • I KNEW IT!!!!!!! :heartbeat: I’M SOOOOO HAPPY FOR YOU TWO. for some reason my thinking this past week was “they” would be a great couple. i dunno why. but i’m glad you have found the loves you’ve been seeking. this makes me extremely happy. :sunny:
    sorry about having to have the eye surgery. i dont’ know specifics on that type of surgery but any’s gotta be painful. do what your doctor says they know the rights of it. don’t do like me and work yourself too hard before time. my foot still bothers me (which i injured earlier in the year) so i know what i’m talking about.
    i have the same problem at hte moments not being able to keep up with my subscribers and my favorite xangas. i am barely keeping up in regular life as well at the moment.

  • I guess I should have done bettre by keeping quiet when I got wind until you made an announcement. I want to again say im happy for you and wish you guys lots of fun in your journey

  • Well doggone it; Love found you…well it swirled all around you but you reached in and grabbed hold good for you two!

  • Yay for love! :love: Congrats! I’ll head over to her site after this. The “real” world of course takes precedence over xanga. We’ll be here when you get around to reading us. :)

  • Dearest Mike,

    It brings a smile to my face to read all these comments about how happy everyone is for us.  And, thank you for your help with my post – one thing though … I did make it protected … like I do my personal posts since I don’t want random strangers reading what is going on in my personal life … it just freaks me out (as open as I am … lol).  90% of the people who sub to me are on my protected list anyways since I know who they are, but if anybody wants to read that post I would be more then happy to add them to my protected list.

    I kept reading our new site all day today … I couldn’t help myself.  I feel so spoiled … I really do!

    Love,
    Liz

  • :heartbeat: Congrats on the love thing! Good for you! :heartbeat:

  • :heartbeat: Life is wonderful!!!!!!:heartbeat:

  • Update appreciated.  Been missing you everywhere.  In a mad rush to get to work today.  Twoberry knows overbusy.

  • congratulations to you both, mike, lots and lots.  it looks like i’ve hit something pretty wonderful myself and so understand perhaps more than many what a long long wait you’ve waded through to get to this side.  yummy isn’t it.

  • So happy for the two of you! I had an inkling! :sunny:

  • I’m glad to hear that all is well and that you are in love!!!!! :love: I’m so very happy for you and Elizabeth!! It couldn’t have happened to more deserving people! :sunny:

  • :love::love::love::love:

    I am loving reading all the comments, so I keep coming back here … :p

  • WHAT!!!!!?? My Bald Mike has finally found another??

    There are NO words for how happy I am to read this post. I will definately check out her page. Ooohh… there she is… (reading a comment of hers)… and she is lovely… I am SO FUGGIN HAPPY FOR YOU!

    Alright now… I am glad your surgery was a success, and I hope that all continues to get better for you. Thank you for checking out my column, your feedback always means a great deal to me.

    I just feel like yelling “HOOOORAY” or something… so YAY for you, Mike!

    Sita

  • Good healing after surgery and good wishes for a great new relationship!

    Faiht

  • Belated congratulations.  You know me well enough to know that I was in a B-I-G hurry this morning.  I actually caught the gist, immediately upon posting my comment, of the Best and Last part of your post — as a result of seeing some of the other comments.  So now I’d better go over and meet the lady, huh?  I am, of course, delighted to hear the news.

  • Ah, Fall is a wonderful season for love in my opinion. Especially if you live in New England. I mean I don’t live in New England, never even been there, but…I don’t know why, but for some reason that seems particularly picturesque in my mind…strolling down a tree-lined road covered in a blanket of brightly covered leaves early in the evening with your lover, bundled up and warm, arms hooked…a kind of Robert Frost poem feeling about the air. I feel all squishy inside now. Keep it copasetic. Peace.

  • Mitsubishi is a great car! I have driven them and one very recently. Loved it. I am so happy for you Mike – all I can think of right now is “love is in the air.”

  • :heartbeat:You Go, Mike!!  Liz is a beautiful (and lucky) lady!!  I wish you both much happiness.  Love is great, isn’t it??  It was great hearing from you again … I wondered where you were.  I thought you were mad at me (ha ha).  I’m so glad your surgery is over and it was successful.  Wow, your embarrassing moment was VERY embarrassing!!  You are so lucky you didn’t get arrested!!  You were such a rebel!!  I’m so happy for you, Mike!!  It is so great that you found the love of your life through Xanga!!  Xanga is the most awesome thing known to man!!  I met so many great people through Xanga!!  Enjoy your new LOVE!!  :love:

  • ryc: i have no pictures of my childhood. one of my sisters (who no longer talks to me or my father) claimed them a few years ago and doles them out for christmas gifts, etc so they are gone forever. why my dad let her do that is beyond me, but he does things like that. i have a long distance shot, but i wanted to show the run down look of it!

  • Happy times………  congratulations

  • Oh Mike I am so so happy for you!!! She seems so wonderful (I know she reads these comments, having browsed above, so for her: You be good to him… he is an amazing fellow, is he not??? LOL)…

    I love to see people falling in love… having had so many problems with my own relationship lately (I am not sure if you are on my protected list, which is where I’ve written about recent relationship events… you were but I may have removed you for a bit to add my sister so she could read my protected posts. If I had xanga premium my list would be so long. LOL Perhaps I will ask Brad for it for Christmas.. or my next birthday) it is nice to see two people just starting out in love.

    I also have been very lax on my commenting, although I still read daily (I get your site in a digest form in email)… little Kaiden takes up so much of my time and energy! It should be better now that he is sleeping longer stretches! I hope to have new pictures to post soon. he is getting so big from when he was born, even at just one month old (tomorrow is his one month birthday LOL)… I think perhaps we both make up for our lack of daily commenting with our very long comments when we do manage. :O) Excuse all my typos as well please, a I am trying to feed munchkin-man a bottle while typing. Quite the task indeed!!

    Anyway, I must be off. I’m going to try to download this AIM that everyone on here seems to have. No one has MSN Messenger like me. I must be behind in the times??

    Best wishes with Liz!

    Sincerely,

    Dezz

  • Wow, incredible blog structure! How long have you ever been running a blog for?
    you made blogging look easy. The entire glance of your website
    is excellent, let alone the content material!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories