September 15, 2005


  • The following post is part of a Weekend Topic Blogging Challenge by Naomi (Shahrazad1973) on the Featured Grownups blogring, covering the topic of CHANGE. To participate or read other entries, go to Featured Grownups.


    The topic of "change" could apply to a variety of subjects. I could write about "ch-ch-ch-changes" in my life, my health, the world, perceptions of society, perceptions of religion. I could write about "spare change" and the fact that I rarely have any these days. The topic is an "open" one, and is sure to spark much creative abandon among the members of the blogring. However, it is time for a PhotoPost feature here on WhenWordsCollide, so I have chosen some of my Photocomposite Artwork, which is freatured in the "Art" folder on my Webshots Gallery, which always gets lots of "hits", and from around the AllThingsMike WebUniverse. I have always believed that the creation of digital art and photo programs sparks creativity, and allows photographs and images to be "changed" so that they take the viewer to "different" places and evoke "different" emotions than originally imposed by the "original" photo. Anything in the imagination is "possible" thanks to the fact that images can be "changed" in photo and illustration programs on the computer. Here are some examples of "changes" in my photography, enhanced with other images, and composited overlays in the computer. If you click on the images below, you will see the full size images appear in another browser window, always the best way to view the photos and images on this blog.



    This is the first time I have featured this particular photocomposite on the internet. It starts with a photo of a courtyard in San Pedro, and overlaid is one of my "shackled angels" which is an image I photographed in a curio shop in Redondo Beach a couple of years ago, a pigeon, and some highland dancers, shot at the Scottish Festival in O.C. If you look closely, you'll see one of my Betty Boop figurines at the curb, behind the iron gate. So there are five photographic "elements" in this "changed" photo.



    The last major "website addition" I added to the "Cultural Blender" was the "Robots" site, and there is a complete section on that site with "Robot Composite Art". Here a group of Honda Asimo robots, lifted from the Honda Asimo website, are milling about on a nice summer day in Monrovia, CA, from a photo in my Monrovia: Small Town America in Lost Angeles webshots folder.  That's a Sony Aibo robot dog "doing his business" on the bush.



    This is Xanga correspondent Leigh Ann (youhavetosintobesaved) from a photo I got on her site, surrounded by flowers and clouds from some of my composites. This is a recent photocomposite, and is part of s "series" I am constructing called "The Xanga Girls". The background uses a "stucco" effect from the Picture Publisher program.



    Another "Xanga Girl", Sarah (SweetVendetta, I believe, but can't remember her Xanga handle) once told me she would like to see her name on the GoodYear Blimp, so I put her photo and Name on the outside of one of my photos of the blimp. This composite was done last year.



    This is an example of a "stitched" shot which was assembled from a panning video shot of the Sleeping Beauty Castle at Disneyland in Anaheim in 2001 and composited in 2002. The border was "created" in the Picture Publisher program. I like this angle ,taken from the left hand side of the castle, a view which is not widely seen in photographs.



    I had a page featuring my MikeVideo "ElvisMovies" on my site in 2003. This is the main image for that page, and uses a photo of Elvis Presley, lifted from the internet, adn overlaid with graphic effects and the title card. The "sky" in the background is one of my photos that has been "colorized" and then a border was added to the image.



    The original shot of seagulls flying over one of the beaches at San Pedro didn't have enough birds, so I copy/pasted more of them in this composite. I was trying to achieve a somewhat "balanced" look so the birds are almost swirling around in a circle.



    This is one of my favorite recent composites, and was featured on the main page of AllThingsMike last month. It is the main composite to the newly designed "Betty Boop Pages" seciton of my website, and this photocomposite has been shown here on the blog before. Betty is one of my Danbury Mint collectible dolls. The "parlor" through which she walks is actually a room in the Getty Museum in L.A., and the television was lifed from the web. The Betty Boop cartoon showing on the television is a video capture from a VHS tape.



    A while back, on one of my "Photo Expeditions" to the Long Beach Aquarium, I shot a lot of really neat photos of jellyfish, some of which have graced previous PhotoPosts. Here I composited some of the jellyfish above a starfield background, and I call this one "Jelly Fish In Space".



    This rather eerie photocomposite was inspired by Andy (Mr. Toad bcygni) who told me my eyepatch from the cataract surgery looked like one of those bug eye monsters, or words to that effect, from 1950s sci fi movies. So I doubled the patch, and put "eyeballs" in front of the patches, to create "Bug Eye Mike".



    This image of "Elvis Christ" and "Marilyn Angel" was composited in 2001 for the "Icons" seciton of the Cultural Blender. Neither are my own photographs. Elvis as Christ was lifted from the ElvisChrist website and I "added" angel wings to a photo of Marilyn's head pasted on a fantasy art body.



    This image of my "new left eye" a day after cataract surgery when they removed my patch, will show up in the "My Left Eye" article next week here on WhenWordsCollide. The moon image is also from one of my photographs. Nothing on the "eye" itself has been tweaked. All those bloodshot veins really exist. They are disappearing fast however.



    Lastly, in this series of "changed" images is the logo for the "Yes, But Is It Art? Gallery" on AllThingsMike, which has a section devoted to my composite artwork as well.  The images were all either taken from the web or "created" in the drawing program. The amount of imaging one can achieve on the computer using graphics progams is limited only by one's imagination. As the programs get better and better, it becomes increasingly easier to "create" art by photocompositing. Most of my recent work is utilizing my own photos, and I "take pictures" sometimes with the intent of using a photo as "part" of a "changed" composite.

Comments (51)

  • Awesome Mike!  What a talent you have with these photographs!  I really enjoyed your photoblog, and the way you used it for the Change topic!    Have a great weekend!  ~D~

  • Very nice blog - interesting setup.  Thanks for sharing! 

  • Dear Mike,

    I really love the one with the jellyfish, that one is just fantastic. I appreciate you slaving over a hot computer all day to put these up for us all ...

    Love,
    Liz

  • interesting....veeeery interesting as my old friend arte johnson would say!  boop-boop-de-doop!

  • Awesome photos! I especially love your dancing profile pic The jellyfish one is one of my favorites as well.

  • I enjoyed your take on "change".  I've done this on an amature level myself since I installed Paint Shop Pro. . .just trying to learn it you understand!  Thank you for your sweet comment!  And yes, I have visited your site before, in response to the last challange. . .My Home Town. . .you had inquired about my pictures.  It took me a bit of time to get back to you, but I did to let you know that the best places to take pics would be downtown Riverside. . . ringing any bells yet?  I've also listed that particular challange on my "But wait there's more" module!  So, if you've a need to look at the beautiful Mission Inn once again. ..you can always come on over to have another look!  So many sites to visit, so little time!  I love your profile picture as well!  Soo funny!  Have a marvelous day Mike!~K.K.

  • WISH i had your photoshop skills:sunny:

    Those birds remind me of the teachers' strike in '68...we'd have "half days" that consisted of herding the kids who came into the auditorium to watch a movie, and one of those movies was Hitchcock's *The Birds*:eek:

    Scary to a kid, but imagine those kids growing up in the seaside community that the Ramones made famous---Rockaway Beach---and then being released from school with all them sea gulls circling 'round:lol:  THAT tends to change a chile:wave:

  • Excellent photoshop work! :goodjob:

  • too much fun! i know it took a long time to do some of those pics, but they are well worth the effort! wink

  • i like the one with the jellyfish in the nightsky. and the bettyboop one as well it nice. always thought she was kind of sexy.

  • I like the seagulls.

  • lol, those are great photos mike. unfortunately, my realm of talent is limited to the literary.

  • Your photos never fail to impress, Mike, good job.

  • Ah aren't photo-editing tools great? I too love to mess with photos on my photo editing program. As of late, I have been particularly interested in doing Andy Warhol type "pop art" colorizations of celebrity images and artwork (particularly Art Nouveau)...you might have noticed on my site. Unfortunately for me, this is about all I can do since my skill in using these photo editing programs is very minimal. I use GIMP, a free program you can download at http://www.gimp.org PhotoShop is too expensive for me. Sorry I haven't visited in a while, I don't visit other sites much these days, except for the ones of frequent visiters, kind of out of a feeling of obligation to them for continuing to visit my site. Keep it copasetic. Peace.

  • Very interesting artwork.

  • excellent job, Not to sure about Elvis christ though...lol. Sweet pics.

  • I have altered a few pictures myself, but I have not done anything to your level.

    With the recent boom in altered digital photography, it is becoming hard to tell what is real and what is not. Every once in awhile, my parents will get an email chain letter with a picture they swear is real, and we get into a big debate on how authentic it really is. Hurray for dinner table conversation topics, though!

  • You are hilarious! Thanks for sharing!

  • Awesome! I love the creative way you handled the topic!

  • Hey great work with Photoshop !

    I use Photoshop 6 but I want to get Phaotoshop CS

    Very nice essay !

  • Very creative !

    I have a lot of doubts on Photoshop. Do you know of any forum for Photoshop users? Are you on any such Yahoo group or forum?

    Anyway , keep up the great work !:goodjob:

  • :wave:  Hi Mike!  I was busy this week and didn't get any time to be on Xanga!  I suffered a severe case of Xanga withdrawal!!  Anyway ... LOVE the pictures!  Your talent never ceases to amaze me!!  Why do some people have ALL the talent and others have none??  My talent is that I am not talented!!  Have a great weekend!!:goodjob:

  • I like your photo artistry.  Very well done and very creative.  So..... am I a xanga girl somewhere too or just the xanga girls you know fairly well?

  • do you design CAD or design WITH CAD?  I'm not really familiar how CAD's being used these days.  Back in the day, before I got married and had kids, I was a Drafter and worked with CAD.  Just curious...

  • Before I make any other comment - WHERE did you get the sweet ZZ Top profile pic thing? :lol: :goodjob:

    These pics are outstanding. I especially like the swirling seagulls. Just yesterday, I bought s dvd of Betty Boop cartoons. My son got stung by a jellyfish last Friday night.

    You are a new school artist! :sunny:

    BE blessed!
    Steve :spinning:

  • Michael this is a wonderful post on CHANGE... of course my favorite is GUMBY!!!but I also love Bettie and I know you do too

  • ah Michael...these are great.  Some are freakin' hysterical, especially the eyeballs.  Cool profile pic, too.   Oh and RYC:  parachute pants were all the rage in NJ in the early 80s...love your comment on my last post. 

  • I love your new profile pic a lot.
    I havent been visiting around much lately... I have been so busy
    I love all of these pictures
    have a great week-end

  • Great idea for the "change" topic... very creative! I love the jellyfish photo! :heartbeat:

  • :sunny::sunny::sunny:My goodness! Just amazing! I be t you had fun doin all that photoshop stuff. My laptop is not set upp for all that photo stuff. I had photo something on my old coumputer :lol: but it crashed.

  • yea the single sexy butt is mine.... and i didn't mind you posting link or picture of me. i usually don't mind things like that. i would probably mind if it was a picture like my profile but i have rules for anyone i send those type of pictures too. i gotta approve whatever it is they want to post when it's like that.
    but i really like the picture you magically fixed up. and it's more you than me in that photo anyway. matching up flowers and colors has to be hard. and i'm terrible at editing my own photos so i know how hard that must be.

  • if you didn't have so damn much html codes on your site, it'd be a lot faster, my dear.

  • Interesting photowork. The one with both of your eyes 'goggled' is strange. The big, bloodshot eye is scary-looking!

  • Like being at an awesome exhibit at the Vero Beach Arts Center, except I didn't have to waste money on gas.  Thanks, Mike, for the array of truly incredible photos.

  • Great Photos, I really like the last one.  I have never tried to digitally change pictures, but I have cut and pasted by hand.  It's fun and you can definitly tell they're not taken for real, but who cares it was fun.  Great look on the "cahnged" topic, I really enjoyed it.

    Peace Out and Take Care. :goodjob:

    Autumn

  • hi, mike! was so good to hear from you yesterday! thank you for stopping by and commenting. i loved the poem....thank you for sharing that with me....

    i have had relatives and friends in california for years and years, from Santa Rosa, to Alhambra, to Oakdale, Cupertino, San Bernardino, ...just to name a few!  yesh, my gram used to say the earthquakes were gonna shake the place off the map and sink it in the ocean....haven't seen that happen yet tho...

    there are some christians who take events such as the tsunami in thailand, the hurricane in new orleans, and the rumbles in san fran to mean that god is 'cleansing' parts of the world in judgement of thier behavior.....i tend not to take that view, personally.  sure, god can shake up whatever he wants to, but i just don't think he operates that way....there may be pockets of 'ill-repute' in those areas, but there are those pockets everywhere.  i won't pretend to know god's mind in such matters.  certainly, his power and might are great...but i believe that he will reserve judgement on man, giving all possible hope for choices and changes to occur before he lays the cards down and declares the game over....  do those occurances pique my thinking, yes, but i am not swift to jump into the pulpit declaring judgement being poured out.  the way our world is designed, these things happen...  anyway, i remain just a simple girl, with sincere faith, an open mind, and a big heart....and i trust that that's good enough in gods' sight!  boop-boop-de-doop!

  • :goodjob: awesome photoshop work I wish I was as talented at it as you are.

  • Hi Mike--your usual varied and often wild/unexpected views and approach!  Always enjoy you.  Your profile pic scared me again, though.  You appear to be on fire and hopping from one foot to the other.  My speakers don't work so I can't tell if you're screaming.

  • Interesting photo changes! My skills in changing photos goes as far as resizing and removing red eye...but I can recognise and capture photo ops quite well. If anything needs "fixed" ie: a stupid sign that takes away from the required effect I want from the photo...my daughter magically makes them go away! We're a good team.

    God Bless! :goodjob:

  • Man, you are awesome.

  • Wow! Yes, this IS art! How wonderful...and a refreshingly different post. I like the first one the best, actually. You put me in mind of a friend who does some wonderful photography...check him out sometime for fun...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/stephenroy

    Peace...

  • stopping by, saying hi. more later.

  • Wow--I loved your latest photos.  I think my favorite is the one of the jellyfish.  You've got tremendous skills with your camera and computer, I must say.  I've never been able to master Photoshop. . .but I'll admit I haven't put in enough time to really learn it.  As always, thanks for sharing your talents.  I really needed to see something interesting today!

  • that picture of you is the best... i love the flames and the twilight-zone prostethetic eyes

  • I admit, I didn't read everyword, but I did eyeball every eyeball that was weird...and boy!  was it fun, even when we don't see eye to eyeball. 

  • Whoa eyeball??! Did you notice the reflections of at least two different figures within the eyeball??? SPOOKY!!!

  • When you're trying to offer something online at
    Craigslist, you could possibly need to generate changes to
    an original posting that you.

  • Excellent article from expert. Thank you very much for writing this useful info
    for all of us.

  • Thank you for excellent post. Keep us posted.

  • I found your blog on search engines and bookmark it currently.

    keep up the excellent work.

  • Unlike the exorbitant premiums of lenders and also credit cards' fluctuating conditions.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories