January 31, 2005

  • PhotoPost: The City of L.A.

    Today I am featuring photos taken in downtown Los Angeles this past Saturday in the late morning. I wanted to get a photo of Mt. Baldy and also some city shots, all squeezed in before 12 noon when I wanted to be back in Torrance for a showing of Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" (review in the review section if the link is working now! Hit the link in the upper left hand corner of the site to read the review.) The shot above is of the Bonaventure Hotel, and I think is the best photographically of the lot. 

    I love the way the light from the sun is reflecting on the windows of the buildings. Our skyline has changed drastically in the past ten or so years. I can still remember when City Hall was the tallest building in L.A.in the 60s. In the 70s, when the twin Arco Towers were built, they took the prize. Now there are so many skyscrapers I don't even know the names of them all.

    This is right after I crossed Pico past the Staples Center, where the Lakers play basketball.  These photos were taken traveling north on Figueroa Street. Other photos in this series and also a couple of new photo folders are on my Webshots Gallery. (I know the link works for that one. It's not on Xanga!)

    I was intrigued by this row of cabs outside one of the hotels. Except for the fact that there is no traffic on the street, this could be a photo of New York City. Actually, the buildings are a tad taller in NYC. I rarely get into downtown L.A. On this trip, I didn't even get out of the car. I double parked to get some of the shots in the Webshots folder, and was halted at traffic signals for some of them.

    Couldn't finish the post without showing Mt. Baldy with the low cloud cover under the snowcap. This was taken with a zoom lens from the Palos Verdes peninsula. It was a magnificently clear day thanks to the rainstorm the day before. I have multiple shots of Mt. Baldy in the Webshots Gallery. There are also some shots of Catalina Island taken from the peninsula. It was very clear as well, and the shots came out rather nicely.

     

Comments (37)


  • The Japanese language does not contain syllables, but modes, (breaths, if you like). The first American haiku translators did not realise this. A 3-5-3 mode is thus better than a 5-7-5 one as our syllables are longer than modes. Not that the modern haiku writer in Japan still uses strict notation. To them (as to Zen), the moment is the thing, words are just clumsy tools we are forced to use. As Basho said "words spoil the haiku-moment"

  • Umm I must check your new photos on webshots. I used to take wonderful photographs but got disillusioned with photography after I "snapped" a dead baby girl in Bosnia, she had a knife through her vagina and the word for "Muslem" on a note tied to the knife. I wanted to capture the moment if you like, I have hardly taken a photograph since. I was a "scribbler" anyway not a "snapper"

  • Great photos!  You have a good eye!

  • These are really nice images.

    Let me know how the rewrite of "HOWL" goes.

    Jim

  • I enjoyed the photo journal.  I tried to check your reviews, but xanga wasn't cooperating today, so I'll check back again.  Thanks for visitin' my site.

  • I love these photos. I really like how the sunlight hits the windows on the skyscrapers myself. I've always wanted to visit L.A. Especially since I visited my brother in Temecula over two years ago. The pictures are drawing me towards going even more. *sigh* I am envious of all the beauty around you when the only good that has come out of this stinky town of mine is Garfield.

  • LA has never looked better!! I love the sun reflecting on the buildings, I'm always captured by reflection.

  • What a great site! Fun. To many serious sites on Xanga!

    If you would be so kind, please join the Crew, I use it as my SIR list!

    Sail on... sail on!!!

  • they certainly did! nice job!!!!!

  • Smithers stole that logo??? LOL... and what will you say next ? Is my being a golf champion because of his cheating too ?

  • I'm always flattered when you take the time to visit me.
    Thank you for your time and thoughtful comments.
    I'd love to visit LA someday. And NYC...
    My travel has been primarily Carribean and European.
    Seeing "Million Dollar Baby" is one of my priorities in the near future.

  • I am from Ohio, but I spent a month out in LA a few years back... right at the bottom of Mt Baldy actually... my computer is being stubborn and wont let me view your pics for some reason, but its nice to know that I would know what I would be looking at lol...

    I thank you kindly for your permission to use your art... I have not gotten to it yet, but when I do, you will be the first to know, and I will certainly give you full credit. I do not create the fractals or the other photos on my site... I get them from image searches... most of them have the copyrights at the bottom of the pictures, and if not I try to find out who the specific artist is and credit them with it... but a lot of the time I can not find them... I am hoping to begin posting my own photography soon... my software is being stubborn.

    Hoping you are well!
    Sita

  • I'd be tempted to edit out the power lines in the Mt. Baldy shot.  Beautiful photos!  You have an excellent eye for creative photography.

  • This is a very good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.

    Simple but very precise information… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  • I don't even know the way I ended up here, however I assumed this post used to be great.
    I don't recognise who you are but certainly you are going to a famous
    blogger in the event you aren't already. Cheers!

  • Just wish to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness on your submit is just great and i can think you're an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission let me to snatch your
    RSS feed to keep up to date with imminent post. Thanks
    a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  • I got this website from my friend who informed me on the topic of this site
    and at the moment this time I am visiting this website and reading very informative posts here.

  • Hi there I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by
    accident, while I was researching on Digg for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a fantastic post and a all round
    thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don't have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also
    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    much more, Please do keep up the great job.

  • I waas curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your blog?

    Its very well written; Ilove what youve
    got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content soo people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or
    two images. Maybe you could sppace it out better?

  • My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, but I know I am getting familiarity every
    day by reading thes fastidious articles.

  • I've been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot
    more useful than ever before.

  • Hi there colleagues, how is everything, and what you want to say concerning this paragraph,
    in my view its actually remarkable in support of me.

  • You're so interesting! I do not think I have read through a single thing like this before.
    So good to discover someone with a few original thoughts
    on this subject matter. Really.. thank you for starting this up.

    This web site is one thing that's needed on the web, someone with a bit
    of originality!

  • Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worked
    hard on. Any tips?

  • Does your site have a contact page? I'm having a tough time locating it but, I'd like to send you an email.
    I've got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  • I'm really impressed along with your writing skills as well
    as with the structure in your weblog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice
    blog like this one today..

  • I think this is one of the most vital information for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things,
    The site style is wonderful, the articles is really great :
    D. Good job, cheers

  • What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience
    on the topic of unexpected feelings.

  • Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I'll just sum it up what I wrote and say,
    I'm thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog
    blogger but I'm still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers?

    I'd definitely appreciate it.

  • Today, I went to the beachfront with my children.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said "You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear." She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants
    to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  • I delight in, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for.

    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day.
    Bye

  • I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and
    reporting! Keep up the terrific works guys I've added
    you guys to my blogroll.

  • Thanks for finslly writing about >PhotoPost: The City of L.A.
    | WhenWordsCollide <Liked it!

  • Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However
    I am having problems with your RSS. I don't understand the reason why I can't join it.
    Is there anyone else having similar RSS problems? Anyone who knows thee answer can youu kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

  • Pretty omponent of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital too
    assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing in youur augment oor even I fulfillment you get admission to persistently quickly.

  • You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be really something tha I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for
    your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  • Touche. Outstanding arguments. Keeep up the good spirit.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories