October 24, 2009

  • ElectricPoetry: A Selection from the Aughts

    pianokeys2

    "IFONLY Is Not A Word"
    Poetry for Regina by Michael F. Nyiri
    Written this first day of Spring, March 20, 2000 at 9:15a.m. mst


    If only we had met in the flesh those many years ago,
    But we did not.
    And spilt milk spoils if not wiped away.
    If only the world had stopped in it's orbit and let us connect earlier
    But it did not.
    And if worlds cannot spin, then the gravity of the situation fails,
    And everything flies off into the Universe,
    There is nothing left to stay.

    If only perfection could have been reached earlier
    Then perhaps past regrets would be forgotten.
    But IFONLY is just not a word.
    And thinking this way is absurd.
    I count the blessings on the one hand, and forget the past apace,
    There is no fault in wondring', but the present shows your face.
    And your face is wondrous in it's beauty, and the careworn tide of time,
    IFONLY is certainly not in my vocabulary,
    And brittle memory can be forever erased.

    I sit in your tower, awaiting your return,
    And then I am off to what in an earlier time I might have called "home"
    Knowing full well, that "home" is not a place that exists yet,
    As sure as IFONLY is not a word.
    "Home" is a future destination.
    I would want that future to reside in the present.
    And "home" will be a present for us presently.
    Thinking about what might have been in the past is useless,
    As useless as writing those words which do not exist.
    When those words are spoken, then nothing makes sense.
    I will forget those useless words and think only of you.
    I am grateful that we meet now in eternity,
    And home is where our hearts will play forever.

     

    "Full Moon On Hallowe'en Night"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    Wednesday, October 31st, 2001 5:25 p.m. pst
    (poetry on Hallowe'en night)


    Amidst the horrorific feelings that the world is feeling now
    On a Hallowe'en night, where the full moon shines bright
    I am locked in a struggle between the heart and mind
    For comprehension of the meaning
    What is right?
    What can I find?

    I am rational, and ready for the answers that I seek
    Who answers clearly now, and who can wonder how
    This feeling that I'm feeling is wrong, and so unclear
    I'm helpless, hurt, and angry
    Have we dealt the final blow?
    Is humanity doomed to despair?

    It will all come out in the wash, I will proclaim
    It has to be all right, we will prevail into the night
    But something tells me friends it is the beginning of the end
    I've read it since inception
    Proclamations bourne of second sight
    And disparate messages to send

    But as the neighbor's kids are screaming as they always do
    On a Hallowe'en night, whern the full moon shines bright
    Under a haze of suspicion and deep regret
    It doesn't really matter
    Who knows if anything's all right
    And someday hasn't happened yet.

    (short, sweet, sad, solid, another poor excuse for poetry from a conflicted soul.)

     

    "poetryblog1"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    may 5th, 2002 7:45 a.m. pst


    changing
    changing
    changing cars changing computers changing living space
    changing everything these days
    thjought even about changing jobs
    change comes with the season, the daybreak, the passing of time
    and time's joke gets less funny as the years pass by
    time's joke?
    i just turned forty nine.
    FORTY NINE
    one year shy of one half of a century
    as one who embraces a universal pantheistic mindset
    i can
    understand the concept of geologic time
    living one half of one hundred years tends
    to give a person a very interesting concept of time
    the joke is that we die
    we CEASE
    to
    exist
    and it can happen quicker than a person can hit send on a

     

    "Dancing Through The Night"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri 
    October 22, 2004 : 6:33 a.m. pdt


    I can scarcely surmise that when I glimpsed deep in your eyes,
    Gave my heart a stirring hiccup, as I pick up lost regrets.
    In the glory of the morning, as the sun awakes a-dawning
    I remember autumn flurries, no feigned worries, whiles, or frets.

    It is highly circumstantial, but your presence was substantial
    As I rarely countered mem'ry, gath'ring every thought in mind
    You were sighing surely simple, as the sun glanced off your dimple
    And my love bespoke pure passion, 'twas the fashion, curtly, kind.

    We danced for golden hours upon the mellow moonlight bowers,
    Twirling tight terpsichories, bright billowing ecstasies across the floor
    Even though it was a dream for sure, elation draped your form so pure
    It couldn't end, no, right away, to feel you sway through Heaven's door

    If pleasant purloined thoughts gave forth a feeling can't be caught
    And your presence, efferevescence, a Golden slyph sifts through the night
    I can say I half remember you, as memory's tricks shine through the dew
    And surrender to this mem'ry, the tide to stem we make it right.

    I can scarcely recall that when I answered your call
    My tender heart a beating, thus repeating of my love
    In the glory of your beauty, wine and words and wanton duty,
    Beckoning the call from Adam's fall, a steadfast warning from above

     


    "It's Elemental"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    November 25th, 2005 10:45 a.m. pst


    Air
    The air surrounds us, filling the atmosphere around the globe on which we live.
    We breathe the air.
    It lifts our lungs, and permeates us with the sacred breath of life
    The air is filled with life
    Bacteria which helps to combat other
    more insidious forms
    Sometimes these more harmful forms overrule
    and scatter death through the air
    Life, death, the cycle neverending
    The air brings us weather patterns
    Patterns which speak to us with their
    regularity and permanence
    Until the next sudden storm
    teaches us that our very existence
    can be extinguished
    by the
    very
    air
    that
    we
    breathe

    Earth
    The earth expands before us, giving us a place to live
    and imbuing us with sustenance and nourishment
    We till the earth
    We plant our food, the very provender of our lifestyle
    We feast, and grow, and multiply
    The spirit of the earth grows and moves,
    Changing ever so slowly as to be imperceptable
    And we scatter to the ends of the earth
    Sometimes the earth is more suddenly active
    and cracks and crevices appear and
    swallow the very life
    that
    exists
    by it's
    canyons
    and
    on it's
    fields

    Water
    Water flows around the earth,
    Slaking our thirst and pouring
    into our bodies, extending our survival
    interacting with our very molecules
    a substance of which we are made
    and which makes us drink heartily
    We base our transportation
    and our economy on water
    the waterwheels of society
    turn faster and faster
    Rain falls from the sky
    and fills us
    Yet these rains can
    flood our earth and drown
    our progeny and possibility
    The very water
    which sustains us
    can
    serve
    to quench our
    life as well
    as thirst

    Fire
    Fire warms and comforts us
    And energy is consumed and exhumed
    by it's fickle embers
    Fire, captured and kindled
    unleashes great burning desires
    and causes our cold winters
    to become more bearable
    Fire tamed and tortured
    helps mold our very cities and
    give us unparalleled growth
    as people
    Sometimes fire burns out of control
    and no amount of water can
    end it's marching fury
    Carried on the wind and
    settling on the land
    it burns everything in it's path
    The very warmth
    that comforts
    causes burning
    calamity
    and
    death

    Although man may sometimes seem judgemental
    Air, earth, fire, and water stay wildly elemental


    BEHIND THE POETRY: This is a selection of poems from the Aughts. Sorry, no new poetry this time. "IFONLY is Not A Word" is the only poem I've written "timestamped" in another time zone, the Mountain zone, and was written for Regina on the first day of Spring 2000 while I was visiting her in Albuquerque. This is a love poem written in a bit of a different way. There is rhyme in the poem, but it's not immediately apparent. "Full Moon On Halowe'en Night" was written a month after 9/11, in 2001, and a lot of the frightening feelings of that day are mirrored in the poem. "poetryblog1" is another in a long line of "computer dreams" poems I began in the mid 80s. The "joke" in the poem is that it isn't finished. As I joke about death being so quick, the last line "hit send on a" (computer key) is unfinished, as if death took the writer before he could "finish" the "poetryblog" by submitting the post. The next poem, from 2004, one of over 60 poems I wrote that glorious year, is an attempt to mimic the rhythms of songwriter Cole Porter. The poem is written in ABCB rhyme, but  includes AA internal rhyme as well, in each line, giving the poem a lyrical feel. The last selection, "It's Elemental" emphasizes my ongoing comparisons between geology and humankind, and in it I describe how the elements can both help and hinder mankind.  MFN/ppf

    Posted: October 22, 2009 7:14 AM

Comments (50)

  • Mike,

    I am glad to see that you are back with so much blogging energy. I like your dancing through the night...and I can not even dance. I enjoyed the way in which you stretched the English language. Off course the wizard also will enjoy the elementals. It is a poem I would like to copy for I think it is a great summary to ponder if one wants to contemplate the elements.

    Best regards,

    Jurgens

  • wow amazing work mike!   you are like the king of poems!

  • :wave: Holy Dooley! (An Aussie expression I just learned), the depth of your poetry is awesome! I do not like to use that word much as it tends to be overdone, but for you -- I make exception. Your talent with words, rhythm and rhyme is AWE-some!

    Although man may sometimes seem judgemental
    Air, earth, fire, and water stay wildly elemental

    I really liked those lines -- s'truth!

    ~~Peace, Joy, Prayers 'n Cheers :goodjob:

  •    Dear Mikula,

       I always find it odd how when you post your electric poetry that you feel the need to write explanations at the end.  Often the contrary of the way most poets display their work.  In fact, aside from telling us who they were written for, most of the info can be determined by the discerning reader.

       Such as, the 9/11 refrences I picked up on immediately after noticing the date on the halloween poem.

       Also, I loved the ending on "poetryblog1".  I practically chuckled when I read it.

      

        -Eadie

  • Love your poetry! You inspire me to keep trying to write! Thank you! 'poetryblog1' made me grin! And I really like reading 'Dancing Through the Night'! I feel honored to read your writing!

    HUGS!
    PS...your pic makes me giggle! maybe I need a good bite!

  • Oh My Gosh! I forgot to say...I LOVE your "Behind the Poetry"!!! I've never seen any poet do this before. I always have questions about when they wrote, why, what were they feeling, going through, thinking, why that title, and so much more! You have shared some great, interesting, fun insights and have answered some of my Q's!! Thank you!

  • These are amazing.  Have you ever thought of getting published? 

    I like the explanations because it helps me better understand where you were coming from when you wrote the poems.

  • yur prolific, i'll give yu that...(can yu tell i'm not a poetry nut...hahaha)

  • I have to run off to work again *sigh* so I don't have time to read right now. I did want to stop in and say I love your halloween costume! lol

  • Dancing all through the night hey?

  • Ӊi, of course this post is tгuly fastidious and I hve learned
    lot оf things from it concerning Ьloɡging.
    thanks.

  • Hello, i think that i saw yօu visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.I
    am trying to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideаs!!

  • Thhis is very fascinating, You're a very professional blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and sit uup for in quest of more
    of your great post. Also, I've shared your site
    inn my social networks

  • Thanks for finally writing about >ElectricPoetry: A Selection from the Aughts | WhenWordsCollide <Loved it!

  • Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested
    to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now
    broken and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but
    I had to share it with someone!

  • I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I'm not sure whether this
    post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about
    my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thanks!

  • My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.

    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using WordPress on a variety of
    websites for about a year and am nervous about
    switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  • It's really a great and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you simply shared
    this useful information with us. Please keep us informed
    like this. Thanks for sharing.

  • I got this site from my friend who told me concerning this website and now this time I am browsing this web site and reading very informative articles or reviews at
    this place.

  • Helpful info. Lucky me I found your website by chance, and I am shocked why
    this coincidence did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  • Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I have
    read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have
    the opportunity, Guess I'll just bookmark this web site.

  • Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you're working with?
    I'm looking to start my own blog soon but I'm having a
    tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I'm looking for
    something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  • I want to to thank you for this excellent read!! I absolutely loved every bit of it.
    I have got you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff you post…

  • I think the admin of this site is truly working hard for his website, since here every
    information is quality based material.

  • Greetings I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a
    incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don't have time to read it all
    at the moment but I have book-marked it and
    also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  • This piece of writing is actually a fastidious one it helps
    new internet viewers, who are wishing in favor of
    blogging.

  • In fact no matter if someone doesn't understand afterward its up to other
    users that they will assist, so here it occurs.

  • I am truly grateful to the holder of this web
    page who has shared this enormous paragraph at at this time.

  • This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to
    start my own blog (well, almost...HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you
    had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  • Woah! I'm really loving the template/theme of this site. It's simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it's very hard to get that "perfect balance" between user friendliness and visual
    appeal. I must say you have done a awesome job with this. Additionally,
    the blog loads very fast for me on Opera.

    Exceptional Blog!

  • Hey there! I'm at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone!

    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!

    Carry on the outstanding work!

  • I was more than happy to discover this website.
    I need to to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!!
    I definitely loved every bit of it and i also have you bookmarked to see new stuff in your site.

  • Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone
    and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube
    sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share
    it with someone!

  • I do not even know how I ended up here, however I thought this submit was once good.
    I don't know who you are but definitely you are going to a
    well-known blogger should you aren't already.
    Cheers!

  • Hey there! I've been reading your web site for a while now and finally got the
    bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx!
    Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic work!

  • Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however I'd figured I'd ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and
    I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  • Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and I in finding It really helpful & it helped me out much.

    I hope to present one thing back and help others such as you aided me.

  • You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something
    which I think I would never understand. It seems too
    complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward
    for your next post, I'll try to get the hang of it!

  • Hello, always i used to check website posts here early in the break of
    day, for the reason that i love to gain knowledge of more and more.

  • Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you're a great
    author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely
    will come back sometime soon. I want to encourage you continue your great job, have a nice day!

  • Hey there! I'm at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to
    all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

  • Hi, I read your blogs on a regular basis. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep it up!

  • I'm gone to tell my little brother, that he should also visit this web site on regular basis to get updated from hottest information.

  • Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I'd like to follow you if that
    would be ok. I'm absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new updates.

  • Hurrah, that's what I was exploring for, what a data!
    existing here att this web site, thanks admin of this web page.

  • Greetings fom Los angeles! I'm bored to death at work so I decided
    to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can't wait too take a
    look when I get home. I'm amazed at how quick your blog
    loaded on my phone .. I'm not even using WIFI, just 3G ..

    Anyhow, great blog!

  • It's truly very difficult in tis full of activity life to listen news on TV, therefore I only use the web for that purpose,
    andd take the hottest news.

  • I enjoy, result in I discovered exactly what I used to be having
    a look for. You've ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a great day. Bye

  • Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization? I'm trying to get myy blog to rank for some
    targeted keywords but I'm not seeing very good success.
    If you knokw of any please share. Kudos!

  • There is definately a lot to find out agout this topic.
    I really like all the points you have made.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories