December 14, 2004

  • Dear Diary,


    I find it amazing what some people see fit to leave in my guestbooks. I’ve had my “online personality” or “webpresence” as I call it since 1999. The following was found in the guestbook on my main site’s page “AllThingsMike” this morning. I’m still upset that someone was bothered by the music I played on my Xanga, and then didn’t accecpt my apology, which I posted at their site and at the site where they criticized my blog rather abruptly. I don’t let petty things like this bother me, but I’ve been attempting to gain a readership for over five years now. I am always writing about how webfriendships are fleeting at best. I have made friends all over the world, engage in heated email exchanges, have wonderful conversations, and then, even more fleeting than in “real life” they just “disappear” one day, their email addresses bounce, and their websites vanish as quickly as the planet Alderon when Grand Moff Tonkin aimed the Death Ray at it. I’ve got pretty thick skin, and I’m the kind of person apt to “reply” to something like this. I won’t send “Justin” an email. I don’t know him, and I probably don’t care to know him. He’s probably an a**hole, and this is his way of spreading Christmas cheer. MFN





    Please leave your comments in my Guestbook.



























    Posted on Sun, Dec 12, 2004, 02:25:28 AM
    What is you name?: justin
    E-mail Address?: (removed by webmaster)
    Your Website?: www.notreally.com
    Your age or generation?: 30
    Will you please come back?: probably not
    Comments: Did I see a gumby collection? You’re 50 years old, with a gumby collection??? No wonder you can’t find a woman. It’s hard enough finding one looking like you do, but when you add the gumby and bety boop factor in there, it’s make for a real big zer0!  

    Posted on Mon, Nov 15, 2004, 09:22:45 AM




    Actually, it’s not “hard at all” “looking like I do”. I sort of look like my father now, actually, and since he passed away a long while back, that is a positive way to look. As for my Gumby “collection” the photos, which were featured on this blog a while back, were from the 80s. I like my Boops, and have made a lot of connections with people because of my interest in Betty Boop. Besides, they are Danbury Mint collectibles, and only become more valuable with time. A lot of people like Betty Boop. I don’t know that I “can’t find a woman” either, as I have had quite a few interesting relationships in my short life on this planet. Oh well, just thought I’d “rant” a bit after reading this, and what better place than on WhenWordsCollide.


    Here’s my advice for Justin. Get a life, and leave me alone. Thanks for signing the Guestbook, and at least you didn’t leave a virus like someone did two years ago in one of my guestbooks, but if you can’t say anything nice, why bother? There’s enough trouble in the world, don’t you think?  As for the person who didn’t like my music, I’m going to take Sita’s (razorwords)  advice and put the music back up very soon. I miss hearing it start when I click on my own site links, and perhaps that person should have had her speakers turned down when surfing the internet (especially Xanga blogs) when someone was asleep in the room. I notice I keep my speakers turned low in the early mornings when my roommate Joel is alseep, and he’s on the other side of the house! That’s called common courtesy.


    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool


    EDIT: 5:02 p.m. Just wanted to make it clear that I am in fact writing about two different people in this post, but when upset, sometimes even a writer can confuse his readers. “Justin” left the comment on my guestbook. Someone else who is in the Xanga community didn’t like the music “suddenly starting” when she viewed the blog. I will soon be adding the music again as background. BTW: Thanks for the support, guys and gals. It makes me feel incredibly special.

Comments (6)

  • I miss hearing the music start, too. Obviously that kid was just that. Tack on immature, bored, and insecure on the end of that and voila! You have your culprit. :rolleyes:

  • Hi Mike. I’ve always enjoyed your music on your site. I’ve even left you comments expressing my joy about some of your selections. As far as that butt-munch goes you’re absolutely correct. I’ve had my share of abuse from some of these children that blog-to-dog too. It’s just a shame that they’re letting down society.

    I really enjoyed reading you ‘Cathy’ poems. I’ve never tried doing deliberate writing sessions like you do. Maybe I’ll give it a try sometime and see what I get.

    Peace.

  • oh my goodness!!! I just have a trial sub right now cause I dont leave comments very often at all and sometimes that makes people mad when someone subs and never comments but anyway… dont let that jerk get you down. I like reading your site, I have browsed your other sites and you are a very interesting, intelligent, thoughtful and creative person. That makes me so mad that there are people that hateful so I wanted to give some support. I think youre stuff is great. Keep on doing what you do and, not that I think you would, but dont let people like that stop ya from being you!

  • People like that just annoy the awoe;8irghd out of me. He really does need a life…

    :heartbeat: Sarah

  • Mike, you have a very cool site.  Maybe if all this person has to do in his life is to go around leaving nasty comments, then it’s him that needs a life.  It’s like the fake pregnancy teen diaries.  Why make a fake one?  But more weirdly, why devote precious online time to working out if someone is a fake or not?

    But I digress.  I think you are a wonderful twinkly star. :sunny: (except all I could find was a sunshine – which technically is a star so.  Anyway.  I’m going now.) :giggle:

  • This will not really have effect, I consider like this.
    bake pops | genie bra reviews | rip 60 reviews

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories