November 27, 2004

  • The Middle of Limbo. I just got back from lunch. $11.97 plus tax and tip. Whitefish with a salad, potato and green beans at the South Bay Grille. It’s overcast, and rain is predicted. I came to the conclusion a couple of weeks ago that I can’t afford to just “charge it” anymore, until I reduce some of this debt. I’m finally at a point where I have to be a lot more frugal. ($11.97 for lunch doesn’t seem like frugal, I know, but it’s the only meal I’ll eat today.)


    Can’t afford to say “to heck with money” anymore, or else I’ll be like a dog eating his own tail, I’m afraid. I’ve been staying home for the holiday, viewing some of my old laserdiscs. (while the player still works, it’s making strange noises every time I put a disc in for almost a year now, so it’s probably going to expire soon). Just looking at the price tags on these discs, which we movieholics purchased in the pre-DVD era, is making me sick to my stomach. I’d think nothing of spending $40.00 to $50.00 on a single movie. Now that kind of money would buy me four or five DVD’s, but laserdiscs were a “collector’s medium” and DVD’s are for the general public.


    While at the restaurant, I couldn’t help but overhear the people in the booth next to me debating the plusses and minuses of the DVD format as if it had just made an appearance in their lives. Since my first trip to the Good Guys as a laserdisc enthusiast who was invited to “preview DVD” many years ago, I knew that eventually even the DVD format would probably be superseded by even smaller discs in my own lifetime. Looking over my vast collections of movies on four different outdated formats now makes me cringe. I wonder if the old folks discussing DVDs now aren’t the model I should have shared all along instead of being an “early adopter” in all these formats. Perhaps technology is just passing too quickly.


    The laserdiscs I watched were Arthur Penn’s “The Chase” with Brando from 64 I think, “Welcome the the Paradise” from Alan Parker with Dennis Quaid, and “2 Days in the Valley” from 97 with Danny Aiello and Charlize Theron. I think that movie was the first time I ever saw Theron. DVD rentals were about 10 episodes of the Seinfeld television series, which I never saw when it was broadcast initially, in the 90s, and the documentary disc from the 2nd Star Trek movie, “The Wrath of Khan”, which served us some useful information. Also Spielberg’s “The Terminal” with Tom Hanks, a pleasurable film which I missed in the theater. I’ll be missing a lot of films in the theater this coming year.


    Seems like I’m grousing about money a lot in the past couple of posts. I’ll have to stop this whining. Usually Christmas time means a bonus, and mine is needed to pay off more credit card debt. I don’t think I’ll make it to Vegas for the CES this year for the second year in a row. Just can’t afford it. I could probably stay in a far cheaper hotel room, but when I go to Vegas, half the fun is staying in the themed hotels. I want to stay in the Aladdin with a view of the Bellagio’s fountains next time I go, whenever that may be.


    Oh well, as I am apt to say. Now I’m going back into the living room (Joel has to WORK both today and tomorrow, and didn’t get Friday off, poor fellow) to watch the rest of “Meet Me in Saint Louis” the Vicente Minelli musical from 1944 with Judy Garland and Margaret O’Brien. I recorded it from TCM on the Tivo. Everytime I see “Meet Me In Saint Louis” I remember going to the theater in college to see it and “The Wizard of Oz” on an actual theater screen as a double feature. It was the first time I had seen either on the “big screen”. At least when I view my movies in either the media room or the living room, it’s on a mammoth 60″ projection television, so I get to fool myself into thinking I’m at the movies, with the size of the screen in the dark helping to fool me. And it’ pretty dark today because of the storm.


    I really should begin assembling my latest video, but not having Joel around the house is nice for movie viewing. (He doesn’t like the dark, and is the chief reason, behind the screaming kids from next door, why I established the media room in the back of the house in the first place.) When he’s not at home, I can view my Tivo in the living room. I’ve got the Renaissance Day tapes right here, and they’re not going away, so I can always get to that in time.


    I’ll try to put up some more photos or poetry for the next post. I just haven’t felt too “creative” lately after a long creative bend so I’m just relaxing and exercising my passion for watching old movies on my bigscreens. (I’ve even found and easy way to make captures from the Tivo/laserdisc setup and could have included a couple from the movies I mentioned above but I’m too lazy today, there’s a storm coming and I don’t feel like making the connections/disconnections I have to on the puter in order to accomplish this right now. Too much like work, and that will be coming up before I care to think about it.


    Signing off now, and back to the movie.

Comments (3)

  • Dear Michael,

    Please don’t think you are even whining whenever you talking about something that’s on your mind.  It’s totally okay to talk about it as much as you want to!  That’s not whining at all.  I don’t blame you for feeling the way you do. 

    I know it does get frustrating nowadays!  Everything is so expensive this day in time.  I worry about you only eating one meal a day!  Please be careful doing that!  There’s nothing wrong with spending money for food you need!  That’s not wasting or throwing away money at all because we need food to survive.  I know there are some discount stores though that can help save a lot of money of your grocery bill, and you can eat more than one meal a day, too!  So, please be careful about that, okay?  I can’t help it that I worry about you only eating one meal a day.

    Speaking of expensive, Christmas is so commerical nowadays that it’s ridiculous!  People go into the most debt during Christmas time solely because society tries to make everyone feel that it’s an obligation to buy gifts, and if you don’t buy gifts, then, you’re mad or something at that person you didn’t get a gift for!  That is unbelievable! It shouldn’t be that way either.  If it were up to me, I could care less if gifts were given during Christmas time or anytime because we can’t take anything with us when we go. 

    Gifts shouldn’t be the main focus for Christmas either.  It’s so sad.  I’ve known people to go into debt for years just making sure that they were able to buy every member in the family a gift for that Christmas because some members would get MAD if they didn’t get a gift!  Gosh, that is so SAD beyond words someone being that way!  Then, that family had to worry the whole year long about trying to pay off the credit card debt aquired during Christmas.

    Okay, I’ll get off my soap box about that for right now. 

    Thanks so much for the kind words you left at my site.  I really appreciate, Michael, and I wish you and yours the best this holiday season & always!

    (((((Hugs))))))

    Shara

  • Hey Mike….I am bouncing around frantically trying to say hi to everybody before my time expires on this computer……..there is a time limit……..anyhow, i am fine and in Kuwait………soon we will ne headed North…….

  • Dear mike…sorry to hear about your hand…I hope it gets better…I really do!!!

    Yeah…there was a big turmoil right behind the street where I live…scary to see Holland changing drastically and trying to follow the american system:cry::cry:if it doesn’t work for all of you…why should we try it ??? But…yeah…karmic cyrcles must finally close…and we can’t do anything about it…just watch in awe…violence everywhere…young people don’t know anymore which direction to go…and we just keep paying for being fooled…that’s all!!!

    About eating once a day…well…here in Holland we all have one meal a day…at 6 pm…the rest of the day sandwiches and coffee or tea…I guess it’s a matter of getting used to it…I didn’t even notice the difference from when I was in Spain…where we have 3 meals a day…I haven’t lose weight either…so I guess the body just gets used to it…

    I’ve watched your video ..the first one…loved the shot with the sunset!!!It’s beautiful!!!

    no time yet to watch the second one…

    Hugs from Holland…Mike.:love:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories