November 24, 2004

  • NEWS & NOTES: The day before Thanksgiving: 2004


    Well, I haven’t posted a lot lately on this Xanga, and I have noticed since I’m not actively posting comments on my readers’ blogs, I haven’t received that many on my last few posts, but what I have received has been especially nice, so I’m happy. I updated and changed some of the graphics on the main page to AllThingsMike last weekend, and the weekend before of course I completely redesigned the MikeVideo section and added another MikeVideo internet movie with footage from one of the older works, Moviola Dance. I’ve begun the video captures for the new version of the Renaissance Day video, and last weekend I actually went to the movies, although with my financial situation right now (which is horrendous, but it’s all my fault) EIGHT BUCKS for a matinee is especially steep. I watched “Ray”, finally, the biopic about Ray Charles, by Taylor Hackford, which was a “must see” and is now the second film, after “The Passion of Christ” by Mel Gibson, on my “Best Picture” list for the 2004 Oscars. “Ray” is absolutely fantastic, and Jaime Fox deserves Best Actor for his portrayal of Ray. He completely disappears into the role, and the only time he even looks like Jaime Fox is in a fantasy sequence when Ray can “see” his mother and his little brother near the end of the film. I want to write a full blown review for the Reviews section here on the blog, but since I haven’t done it yet, probably won’t get around to it.


    Since the films are $8.00 in the theater, and there are 20 of them at the multiplex, I caught a “second feature” called “After the Sunset” with Pierce Brosnan, Woody Harrelson, and Salma Hayek. Directed by Brett Ratner, who did “Red Dragon” and the “Rush Hour” films, it is a VERY enjoyable caper flick about heisting a rare diamond from one of those magnificent new hotel-like cruise ships. The photography by Dante Spinotti is beautiful beyond compare. It was nice going to the flickers again. “Ray” gets a 10 of 10 on the Mikometer and “After the Sunset” gets a 7 of 10.


    My DVD player in the media room crapped out on me. It’s giving a “moire” pattern on the HDTV when playing DVDs (through the ridiculously expensive component video connectors at that) so I’m taking it into Circuit City for repairs this afternoon. We’re having a “Thanksgiving Breakfast” at work today. The gal who arranged it hopes we can go home early for the holiday, but I doubt this will happen. Usually, our CEO lets everyone go at 2 or 3 pm, which is “early” for most folks, but since I’m in at 6am, and usually go home at 3 anyway, it’s a normal day for me. Well, at least there’s four days off. I haven’t any plans this Thanksgiving. Last year I spent the holiday with my ex-girlfriend, Pat, at her mother’s, but this year will probably be another holiday meal at Mimi’s restaurant. All they serve on holidays is turkey dinner, and it’s a good one.


    Cancerboy keeps getting his last chemotherapy session postponed. He’s spitting mad at this, as he should have been done with the treatments in October. It looks like his last is scheduled right before Christmas, and of course, then we wait to see if he has to go through this again, or if the cancer has finally been tamed. My prayers are with the poor guy, and I haven’t even had to be too much of a “caregiver” while my roommate has been going through this, because he hasn’t gotten too sick at all, and still has all his hair. It’s remarkable to think he’s been going through this most of 2004.


    What happened to 2004? I’m glad the “Election Show” is finally over, even though the results were not what I (nor half the country) wanted. The latest “Show” on the news concerns fan violence in professional sports after last Friday’s melee on the court of the Pistons-Pacers game where Ron Artest and some of his teammates have been suspended for violence against the fans. There’s a lot of talk on the news shows about this unfortunate incident lately, but I can’t help but think that again, this is a case where the USA seems to now be in lock step with the rest of the world. There have been soccer riots in other countries for many years.


    I shudder for humanity, but give thanks this holiday that these things do not affect me personally.


    Well, the clock at the right of the screen is telling me it’s time to go to work. I can almost smell the “Thanksgiving Breakfast” I’m about to devour.


Comments (5)

  • Dear Michael,

    Sorry I haven’t been able to stop by again and post sooner, but I’ve still been having extreme dry eyes again, so I have to limit how long I’m even on the computer nowadays.  Some days because of this, I don’t always get the chance to stop by at Xanga, but I had the chance to now, so I wanted to stop by and say that I hope you & yours have a great Thanksgiving.

    (((Hugs))))

    Shara

  • :sunny::sunny:

    You can get anything you want, at Alice’s Restaurant
    Excepting Alice
    You can get anything you want, at Alice’s Restaurant
    Walk right in it’s around the back
    Just a half a mile from the railroad track
    You can get anything you want, at Alice’s Restaurant

    Da da da da da da da dum
    At Alice’s Restaurant

    Happy thanks giving

    Doug

  • Hey Mike…Sorri for the mis-direction
    I am guessing if things had of went badly with my
    kid…I would not be writing…and I have actually slowed down
    here…
    I hope your Holiday Season is an exciting one…
    and your Weekend Is Most Pleasant

  • Hi Mike!
    “Nice Bukowski poem?” Do you mean Bukowski-ish? I only ask for clarification because I did write that poem I posted. I wrote it right on the spot after she sat down my high-ball. Bukowski is one of my favorite American writers, any similarity in any of my writings is purely the result of his influence. I don’t attempt to be like him, and I don’t even want to try. He had his life and I have mine. The only thing Bukowski and I have in common is drinking, and I’m certain our reason’s for doing it are different.

    As you can tell by the infrequency of my posts, I am not on xanga as often as I have been in the past. My dad’s health is extremely bad now, so I’ve been extra busy with many family matters. So as a result of that I don’t get around to others sites as often as I used to.

    Anyway, I enjoyed reading your Thanksgiving poems, especially the last one.

    Take care, and as always… peace.

    PS: I really dig your big band music.

  • I have so many visiting my three blogs that it takes me the whole of the time just answering the replies let alone visiting elsewhere!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories