June 27, 2013

  • ElectricPoetry: Two New poems

    poems11

    the death of old age
    poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    06/27/13
    6:07 am pdt

    morning, broken, like an old cat stevens lyric
    verdant, full, yet somehow mocking and satiric
    in past times, hurting, yearned for health and peace
    now, emerging older, wondrin’ when I’ll give up life’s lease

    scaling life’s ladder, acquiring ease with age
    life’s book won’t close yet, not finished with this page
    feeling healthy, and peaceful, and really quite young
    in years gone past, could hardly reach the next rung

    mixing metaphors, remembring lovers, whores
    waxing poetic, although with waning wobbly shores
    tides turn out, the moon goes down, birdies sing in trees
    yet birdsong quickly turns to hitchcockian cacophanies

    gaining younger purpose as I age am I?
    will losing youth arrive, no warning, as I sigh?
    lifting weighty thoughts aloft on gossamer wings
    a brand new marionette with scissors snipping at my strings

    nightfall, in summer, fades so slow with silence
    inside my head bombarding feelings collide with violence
    my breath sucks scintillating clouds of free full air
    and sometimes I just wonder what I’m doing here and there

     

     

    “Or Else”
    poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    06/27/13
    6:35 am pdt

    Ah, listen to the the gentle strains of…
    Mendelssohn? Jon Bon Jovi? Pitbull?
    open air with earbuds only you can hear

    Or,
    bombast your boombox of yore
    frightening the passersby

    Or,
    Stride along the beach,
    ignoring the sand between your toes
    marvel at the crashing waves
    waving goodbye to obstinate
    purposelessness

    Or,
    walk amongst the pillars of
    the massive mansions of malicious intent
    trying not to hear the
    voices behind the walls

    Or,
    fall fast asleep
    dreaming of tomorrows
    which never arrive

    Or,
    boot up the corrupt computers
    which byte at your
    insignificant existence
    and savor your “likes”
    like it means something

    Or,
    Ignore
    this,
    and
    embrace that which matters
    even as matter
    is obliterated with ease

    Or,

    Else one can simply smile
    it gets so easy that it sometimes hurts
    so it’s all good
    if you let it be


    BEHIND THE POETRY: I got to wondering this morning when I’m going to start feeling old. I’m working out now on a regular basis. I’ve been eating “healthy” for almost half a decade now. My weight is pretty much where I want it. I’m building up muscle, I don’t get tired or hurt anymore. Not too many health problems. I once wrote I’d be “30 by the time I’m 60″ and I passed that benchmark this past May 1st. One of my favorite films is The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, where the titular character “ages backwards.” These thoughts that as I age I’m somewhat invincible, and feeling better than in fact I did feel during my youth, when I abused my body with drugs an alcohol and didn’t care what I looked like physically, are what prompted me to pen a couple of poems this morning. Enjoy. happy MFN/ppf

Comments (3)

  • if you let it be, indeed. I most certainly enjoyed. And I am glad you are treating your body good and it is treating you good in return.

  • A thumbs up for being totally awesome!

  • It’s great to read that you are doing so well, health wise. Since I am in my “seniorhood”, I did enjoy the poetry you have shared here. I have some pesky health issues to deal with this year, but generally I feel better now as a senior than I did many years ago when I was young. I don’t become ill as much. Thanks to “Silver Sneakers” exercise class (free with my HMO insurance membership) and chiropractor, my 75 y.o. body is more agile and flexible than it was years ago. “so it’s all goodif you let it be .”   Yes, indeed!~~Blessings ’n Cheers  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories