August 20, 2010

  • Uncle Mike Story 6: 20th Anniversary Edition

    From the MikeVideo Archives:

    "The Uncle Mike Story (Part 6)" from 1989

    The video is 12 minutes and 03 seconds long and was remastered in Hi Def, but was created from the original VHS elements. (A lot of the VHS footage is muddy, but this can't be helped.)

    Longtime readers know I post lots of "serial" blogposts. One of them is this autobiographical series, made in 1989. This is Part Six of the series. We begin in late1986, continuing footage from Part Five while I and my roommate Jim moved from Hermosa Beach to Lomita. There is a rendition of the song "Back to Lomita", which we made up on the spot. The second segment includes footage from the 1987 MikeVideo "Sacked" which details my termination from Target stores for "security violations". I'm "interviewed" by Kris Mutt, Target's stuffed Christmas mascot that year. Finally, I move into "The Frat House" with Bob, and you will see footage of my friend, who passed away in 1994. A weird serendipitous side note. While I was watching the video of Bob, I got a phone call. My telephone number is the same one Joel and I had for 14 years in our rented house. Before that, it was Bob's number, from when we all lived in the frat house. Bob was in the service in the late 60s. The guy calling was Matt, calling for Bob. Matt served with Bob in Texas in the Air Force. I and Matt, whom I don't know, had a long conversation about our old friend, who passed away more than 15 years ago. I just sent him the link to my reminisence "The Frat House" and this video! DIRECTOR's COMMENTARY PART 1 IS HERE! Part 2 will be in the next installment.

    I created the full 90 minute vid 20 years ago as an "introduction" to my niece Cinnamon, my sister's daughter, to her "Uncle Mike", hence the title of the video. It is essentially a complete video autobiography of my life up to that point. I've broken the video up into seven 10-12 minute segments or "websisodes" which I have been presenting on my blog.

    It seems every time I post one of these, I'm asked in comments what Cinnamon thought of the video. She loved it, of course, and still has the original copy I made for her. When I visited my sister and her family back in 1990, we all watched the video together, and both Cinnamon and her brother Jaysen asked me why I wasn't on TV making "America's Funniest Home Videos" which was pretty popular back then. Well, I never made it to "TV" but I do have a YouTube Channel!

    Previous Episodes on WhenWordsCollide (Xanga):

    PART ONE (1953-1964 Baby pictures, childhood, elementary school)

    PART TWO (1965-1969 Junior High, First 3 years High School, The story of "Arnold") Entry also includes "Director's Commentary Part One"

    PART THREE (1971-1977 Senior Year of High School, the family move to Glendora, Creative pursuits, College, My parents' death, My sister's marriage, My Friend Evan's bachelor party, move to the South Bay, 1977 Vacation across country, Unemployment, and birth of niece Cinnamon, for whom the video was made.)

    PART FOUR (1977-1986 employment with FedMart, and it's dissolution, a move from Torrance to Lomita, my niece's correspondence, a trip to Lubbock Texas with my friend Tom, my move to Hermosa Beach, and my purchase of my first videocamera.)

    PART FIVE (1986 early video footage taken during that year in the Hermosa Beach apartment. Some of the later scenes were to be included in an unfinished video called "Back to Lomita" filmed during another move, from Hermosa Beach to Lomita.)

    Other Episodes available on YouTube:

    If you would like to see the complete series on YouTube, here are links to the episodes PART 1 (birth-1964)  PART 2 (1965-1969)  PART 3 (1970-1976) (This one),  PART 4 (1977-1986)  PART 5 (1986)  PART 6 (1987-1988) PART 7 (1989) MFN/ppf  

Comments (10)

  • Interesting. I will watch each one............You are so funny.

  • I am seriously looking forward to having time to view these.  You're one of the most fascinating people I "know," and it will be interesting to see how you got to be you.  And it's fascinating how your take on "Inception" is virtually identical to mine.  Thank you for that comment.

  • Where did all your commentors go?  They can't _all_ be on Saturdays outings, can they?  It was nice to see you topple Dan a couple of times, now back to normal for a while.  It will be hard to top your playgirl magazine pose.

     I still think these vids are great, and your neice must have been blown away back in the day.  Luv your sense of humour.

    Thx for your visits and recs

  • That was a grand thing to do for your niece.

    I guess I should have known that you'd have produced YouTubes, but I didn't realize it until now.

    I'm short of time today (and that happens on many days, it seems), but at least I know where I can find more info. on you, including the YouTubes.

    I did check out the "Top Blogs" page. Of course, Dan's was on top when I checked. I guess it's based on the number recommends?

    ~~Blessings 'n Cheers

  • @llibra - Dear Linda,

    I deliberately placed a 12 minute video after a top blog. I'm not surprised to come home to find only 4 comments, and from longtime readers. (Oh, scratch that. One new reader as well) I posted a pulse after the last time I got featured mentioning that I posted a new chapter of one of my serial blognovels, and it had no comments for 15 hours! Xangans are fickle, for the most part. They love short entries about Xanga, and the posts which have been getting me featured are all humorous. I used to write magazine parodies, etc. in the Mad mold back in HS and college. I've written a broadway musical parody "Oh Atreus!" based on a particularly disgusting Greek myth, and I've got three or four "parody websites" which are still online from the early aughts. I'm going to feature more humor on my blog. The "Xanga Hottie" entry was pure parody, and my pose is based I'm sure you know on Burt Reynolds' famous Cosmo centerfold in the 70s. I like to mix it up. I'm really excited right now, cause I just got back from my first "photo expedition" in six months! It's the first one I've gone on since my hip healed, and I walked about four-six miles today getting photos. I won't spoil it, but look for a new Photopost in the next few days. I did "topple Dan" and with his help, I might add. He's been visiting, commenting, and recommending my posts. It's always nice to have a little lift from a "Xangalebrity." I'm satisfied, as I've said before, with being a "Xangalegend." MFN/ppf

  • Wow, I'm watching the start of these videos and I'm amazed that you did these videos..it will make it easier to write a biography about you lol All the information is there..have you ever thought about writing a Memoir or Autobiography(book form..you know ) about yourself? Or have you done that?  I'm sure you had a very interesting kind of life(seems like you do.)..and it would make for a good read. Now, back to your videos..and you were cute as a baby =) Just saying of course! 

  • I need popcorn-you are so young looking

  • Excellent collection of videos, Mike. We could all benefit from you.

  • 1st of all, extremely tasteful pic you had on this page It was a treat seeing you, and I mean most of you. Hahahahaha! Damn, had to close the page earlier or else I would have been scolded badly, lol!

    And great videos. Missing you loads. Was gonna call you up today but I just checked my balance and I have nil :(

  • comments powered by Disqus Get DIY Tips by Email Signup Email address Newsletter Subscription Confirmation Subscribing.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories