October 11, 2009

  • Creative Much?

    I've often proclaimed that my mother wasn't very talented, but she was pretty damn creative. She instilled this creativity in both of my siblings and myself. We didn't have her around long enough, as she was stricken by a bilateral stroke at age 53, younger than I am now, but I will always cherish the sense of performance and artistic integrity which she fostered in our family. When my siblings and I were children, we didn't spend all our waking hours in front of a television set, like a lot of our peers. We wrote and performed skits, sketches and dance routines and sang songs for our parents, who were a willing and encouraging audience.
     
    When the Beatles hit the shores of America in 1964, my brother and I developed a musical act which we called "The Nyiri Nuts." This was when I was in fifth grade and my brother in third. We performed Beatles and other rock and roll tunes for our classmates, both in class and in special assemblies.
     
    I developed my skill as a writer in junior high, and by the time I was in high school I attended accellerated English Literature classes and joined the staff of the school newspaper. I wrote both an autobiography and a science fiction novel before finishing my sophomore year. My poetry was legendary, and I'd pass my thick volumes around to my friends and "readers". In the middle of my junior year, with a schedule of activities which included editor of the school paper, government, and the scholarship federation,  I began to get the itch to perform, and I tired out for and won a part in the All School Play. I began to hang around the drama club members, and also had many friends in Choir and Mixed Chorus. When I was in high school, the drama club was called the Thespians, and was a small group. They were not very popular among the jocks and cheerleader crowd, but they were talented singers and actors, and the school plays, Lyric Club presentations, and the Spring Sing musical were always well attended by the communitiy. Since I edited the school newspaper, I made sure the performing arts department was always well represented.
     
    Since I had pretty much finished my required class load by the time I reached my senior year, I even took Drama 1, the introductory Drama course. My brother was in the class too, as a freshman, and we performed scenes from plays for our terms and finals together, so we could practice at home.
     
    On this blog, I have always attempted to expose my creative side. Usually that includes writing, photography, and videomaking. Since I am healed now, and can dance again, I thought I'd put together a short performance video for you. I am performing the song "Iko Iko" by the Dixie Cups, an old New Orleans Mardi Gras tune which has been covered by a host of performars including The Grateful Dead, The Neville Brothers, Cyndi Lauper, Dr. John, Zap Mama, and Captain Jack.
     
    I recorded the two tracks which I double tracked for the vocals on Friday evening. (I should have harmonized with myself, but as I've stated here before, I'm not that musically inclined.)  The two dance segments (which are double exposed during the bridge segments) were recorded with my new video camera this morning.
     
    I don't claim to be very talented, but I think, like my mother, I'm damn creative, have no shame, and am always attempting to entertain in one way or another. I love to "perform" and I know at least of two Xangans who perform in community theater, half a dozen singers, and one or two stand up comedians. (I've got a standup comedy routine in the works for a future video.) The arts community does thrive on this service.
     
    I pondered actually choreographing a step by step dance routine for the song, but since the actual making of the video took longer than I'd planned, I ended up doing a freeform routine, including steps I've danced a thousand times in the past. (But not recently, as I was on crutches for the better part of a year.)
     
    Enjoy.
    Originally posted: October 10, 2009 3:16 PM

Comments (48)

  • I really enjoyed that. First time I have attempted to watch one of your video blogs...a rather slow laptop kinda makes those things hard. Still even with the delays it was great!

  • Dear Mike,
    Your mother must have been an amazing person. How wonderful that she instilled this type of creativity in her children. I know how much it must mean to you to think of her and all those time she encouraged.

    This video is certainly proof you are healed! Wonderful. Looks like you are having fun. Hope you enjoy the new camera.
    peace,
    Jane

  • Hah!

    Well, that's damn near priceless, Mike. Bravo.

  • definitely creative

  • Oh, I'm sure your mother was a very creative and a lovely person. That performance is priceless and entertaining! And you can dance too!

  • Mike, it's time to get more creative : go out, woo a nice lady and bring her to a dance party.

  • @reckless_eagle - Dear Victor, I've met a lot of women here in the mobile home park, but so far nobody is interested. Besides, so many smoke cigarettes, which is a total turn off for me. I can't go out much because of my financial situation. Although I will be attending a reunion of old elementary school friends in late October. I'm trying, as usual to be more of a Xanga presence, and perhaps I'll find my other half online. I met my last girlfriend on Xanga in 2004 and we had a two year relationship. I'm forever on a "lovesearch". MFN/ppf

  • Ok, 3 words! I LOVE YOU!
    Had fun watching your video and, yes, you are definitely creative!

  • You're a good dancer, Mike! :coolman: You know I think your mother was a talented lady, because to be creative IS a talent. There are many people in our world that don't have a creative bone in their body, but have talents in other areas of their lives. I think your whole family was and is talented as you are!

  •  I am Martino, fulltime volunteer from Hongkong. May the peace and love of God be always with you. Jesus loves you immensely. Welcome to visit my HK Yahoo blog which is written in English, Italian and Chinese.http://hk.myblog.yahoo.com/cristo-cristo  
    msn:martinodigesu@hotmail.com

  • Well one study proves that the smoke free environment lowers blood pressure....but the dating pool is like shark infested waters. Good luck in catching a nice one.

    I guess a dancing video is appropriate after a long convolescence. At least you looked like you were having fun.

  • Mike, that was so much fun to watch. Brightened my day. I love it because you are never inhibited about doing whatever your creative heart desires. Thanks.

  • Good morning, Michael! I am amazed by how your childhood and school years seem to be like mine. I had an "itch" for entertaining when I was in grade school. There was no TV then. It was during WWII. I got neighborhood kids together to put on shows for the mothers. It was so I could sing for them. I wrote a play in 7th grade and wanted to perform it in English class. It starred me, of course. I wrote poety as a child which continued on into H.S. and at various times in my life so far. I took Journalism in H.S., wrote a "newsy" personal column, "The Periscope"for the school paper and became Feature Editor. I could not get into plays such as the all school one until the Senior Class Play. Then I really got hooked. When I lived in Dallas, I acted in community theater, in several theater movies, TV movies, and a few commercials as an "extra". After getting involved in Southwest Celtic Music Association, I developed my Celtic music repetoire to perform. That's why I'm at CelticFest, Jackson, MS every year. I used to do a lot of entertaining at retirement/assisted living communities - usually for St. Patrick's day, but at other times, too. That's dropped off for a few years. Now I'm "itching" to get back into it by re-contacting these places located in area where I live now, many where I've been in past years. I don't claim to possess the level of talent and creativity that you do, Michael. You definitely are very multi-talented and creative! I just related my story to let you know I understand how your creativity needs to be expressed and shared.

    I think it's fantastic that you can dance now, and well, too after surgery. Good show! :goodjob:

    ~~Blessings, prayers 'n cheers :)

  • Very Good :lol:

    I discovered my life's work in the Army of all places. I was assigned to teach (Navigation and Seamanship - in the Army!) discovered I had a real talent for that form of entertainment and did it for the rest of my productive life - I suppose in a way I still am, as are you.
    My mother managed a flower shop but could never keep an arranger for very long - as she could not help improving all the arrangements.
    My father never saw himself as an artist but at one time or another he was a professional stage manager and set designer, organized yacht decorations for the first Xmas boat parades (Miami Beach in the late '30s and early '40s) and I still have some of his driftwood furniture creations - in use every day.
    I'm a pretty good painter, myself.

  • Dear Mike,

    I really enjoyed your entry. My mother is a very creative person as well, and always encouraged us to be creative as well. I have always been very grateful for that.

    I hope you have a wonderful day!

    Dawn

  • Dear Mike,
    I did enjoy this!
    Now, if you only played golf... would I have a girl for you!!!
    Just for fun I'm going to introduce her to xanga, and to show her there are men like you out there.
    She's a little bit older, but full of more energy than I will ever have. In fact she just returned from a trip to San Francisco.
    Nice dance! Love the song,
    especially the version on the Rain Man soundtrack.
    Regards,
    Lynda

  • you are really doing good. Your mom sounded like she was a talented lady. You are creative and not a bad singer and danger either. lol you go Mike!

  • This is awesome!  :yes: You're a great dancer!  :wave:  Your body moves very gracefully too!

    This video made me laugh out loud several times, no offense, but in a way I hope it was supposed to be kind of funny too?

    My mother, who is visiting for a week (5 days of which has now elapsed) is in the kitchen doing a crossword puzzle and she heard the music and she goes "what is that?" And I go, "It's this guy dancing and singing on a video he made on a blog." And she goes "Is he foreign?" And I go, "No, LOL, he lives in California." And she goes, "Well, it's not on TV then?" and I go "No mom, it's not on TV."

    Anyway, yes!!! it's super creative!!! I have not laughed out loud in about 5 days now so THANKS! :sunny:

  • @FlrtyLdyBug - Dear Hope, Neat that you came over here from Facebook, where you have left me comments in the past. I'm glad you could see the video. I had slow internet service here till just last week. When I click on a video, I immediately hit pause and then go on some other site or something until the seek bar gets to at least halfway.That way when I hit play the video will already have buffered enough so that I can see the whole thing without delays.

    @QweenCat - Dear Maha, I love you too. You're one of my favorite Xangans, and have always been so supportive.

    @PPhilip - Dear Philip, I kinda wish I had videotaped the dance moves I was doing when I was on crutches. I pondered doing a video where I would start out before the operation, then video me in various stages of  convalescence. I never did acutally tape anything though. But the choreography of the dance I did on crutches was interesting.

    @Oz_girl - Dear Marion. I only wish we were close again. Brother is a production designer for films and is always traveling. Sister has written children's stories. Neither of them are on the internet, however, and all my attempts to reconnect with them have failed so far. As for dancing, I used to clear the dance floor, a la John Travolta in Sat. Nite Fever, back in the day. I sometimes think that jumping up and then landing in a "splitz" postion back when I was clubbing was what caused my left hip to break in the first place forcing me to have the first replacement!

    @DonnaLou - Dear Donna, You perform in public. I just dance around in my living room. I'd say you were far more talented.

    @tychecat - Dear Dick, You should post photos of your paintings on your blog. I visit at least three painters on Xanga, although none of them have blogged much lately. My father isn't mentioned in the post, but he was a woodworker, and the sound of the buzz saw is one that permeated my childhood. I still have one piece of furniture he made for my bedroom when I was in high school.

    @bronze_for_gold - Dear Lynda, I have played golf, but found it sort of boring. When a woman partner is involved, doing anything isn't boring to me however! Hope your friend gets a Xanga. I'd like to "meet" her.

    @Jillycarmel - Dear Jill, Thanks. I know I can dance. But I certainly hope I'm not a danger to anyone. LOL.

  • Wonderfully creative! You rocked!

  • woah... I just dropped by the xanga home page and saw YOU on the top blog spot... holy crap!!! :)   all I can say is about damn time. Wonderful to see you getting recognition my friend!

    :heartbeat: Sita

  • @baldmike2004 - I looked at that and I'm sure I meant dancer. So sorry -I'm not perfect yet-might be another week or two.lol

  • @baldmike2004 - I appreciate your visit to my blog and the nice compliment. Although you do not sing for the public as I do, you certainly outshine me in many other areas of creative talent. I do write poetry, but it is nowhere the quality of yours; and I'm certainly not technically knowledgeable enough to do a good website or video. Keep up the good work. :coolman:

  • Mike I read your facebook all the time. I get your updates in my email. I just have and take so little time to make it back here to visit my friends...facebook has made me very lazy!

  • Getting in touch with one's creative side is so freeing, no? That's one of the things that I like best about Xanga. My creative side can run wild. I bet that it feels good for you to be able to dance again!

  • Dear Mike,

    You have proven your creativity many times through your blog. Personally I like your photo blog's the most, followed by your poetry. It is interesting how one can be influenced by one's parents. I am sure your mom would be glad if she read your blog today.

    In terms of your poetry you always make me think about Walt Whitman because your poetry are assessable to the layman like me. Your poetry has the quality of speaking about issues that I can relate with. Often poets makes things almost impossible to understand. You have an ability to sketch pictures with words that can be felt when read.

    I loved the video. Seems that hip replacement is working fine. I can tell you I am a few years younger than you and I don't know if I will be able to keep up with your dance steps. What I liked most was your energy.

    Jurgens

  • Mike...creative and talented.

    Sidenote: I like how your commenters are beginning to emulate your comment style.

  • @baldmike2004 - 

    I don't know if the second hip replacement is usually the same as the first. As we get older it does take longer to repair. For sure a non smoker heals faster than someone who smokes.

    I suppose it is better not to have filmed you with crutches. I had crutches for a year because of the second time I broke my leg. It is best to move on and show the positive, than to dwell on the time we are not fully effective.

  • I always thought you are creative. you wouldnt have taken 'creative juices' back in the 60s?

  • looks like you're having so much fun :]

  • Hmmm...not seeing the video feed for some reason. But I've had connection problems today. So I need to come back and take a look again.

    Hey Mike thanks for stopping by and engaging in my comment section today. I lived in the L.A./O.C area for 15 years and worked in route sales for 13 of that so chances are good I've driven by 'The Grind' a time or two.
    Looking forward to chatting again!
    Have a blessed week. :)

  • oh that's always interesting to read about someone....i actually tell people who read my blog, who suggest "you should be a writer!" i don't like to write, i just have to sometimes. idk. lol. but i am a cartoonist! i am funny! my blog is often deep, sad, and serious. its just an outlet, not a ... thing. i also used to love being in the plays in HS, my college (art institute) didn't offer any form of drama

  • Hey now! That was very creative and very enjoyable!

  • I may sing.....occasionally......play guitar a lot.......but dancing? I won't do it!

  • I can't see the video. Let me try it in (evil) Internet Explorer.

  • Looks great, Mike! I'm glad the surgery has worked out.

  • You are VERY creative! And I'm glad you share it with us! I loved reading this! The Nyiri Nuts...that is so cool! I especially loved seeing you dance! Thanks for adding joy to my day!

    It's sad that your mom died SO young! But I can tell she had a huge impact on you! As kids we did such creative things, too. We had so many less toys and stuff than kids have today, so we danced, sang, wrote and performed plays, played sports, did art work, built with blocks, etc. It was a fun time to grow up!

    HUGS!

  • Dear Mike, I came to your site through some friends' recommendations and I am impressed with your extensive collection of videoblogs, photoblogs, poetries and creative writtings. I'm sure your mother would be very proud of you in heaven.

  • That Jockamo number has made my day.  Great dancin'!

  • @followfreedom - @NightCometh - Dear John and Amy. Xanga uses a flash application, which in turn needs the plug in installed on your browser. You can download the player app at the Adobe site HERE. I will upload the video to my YouTube channel as well sometime today.

  • Fun fun fun!! =)

  • Well, I'm late in getting here. Looks like you had fun. Thanks for sharing - it put a grin on me :)

  • Dear Mike

    I can't believe that you were able to dance this soon after a hip replacement.  I am impressed.  You are a FINE dancer.

    Kat

  • Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it's really informative.
    I'm gonna watch out for brussels. I'll appreciate if you continue this in future.

    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  • Hiya! Quick question that's completely off topic.

    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My website looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4.
    I'm trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. With thanks!

  • nz/ Recent Blog Posts It's been a wild ride so far this summer season.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories