May 20, 2007

  • ElectricPoetry Post

    poems35

    "To School"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    1971 (17 years old)


    When a harsh bell rings
    And it churns the air
    Classes quickly begin
    There's a lapse to despair
    Rooms covered with windows
    To let in the sun
    Lectures start to get boring
    Students sit, have no fun
    Summer flows through
    Climbs up sides, comes in heads
    The next class is awesome
    Everyone dreads
    The days are counted
    People wait and they pray
    And school will be ended
    On some glorious day.


    "Summertime Romance"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    1971 (17 years old)


    We will wander carelessly
    Among the rippling waters
    Playing games with the trees.

    We will caress each other
    With the love flowing through us
    Hearing the buzz of the bees.

    Humming so harmoniously
    Above our heads
    As we roll around
    In our affection.
    Birds, too, sing
    And join the tune
    That points expressly
    In our direction.

    We will emulate our warmth
    Into each other's arms
    And couple into one.

    We will radiate our joy
    About having each other
    As along the bank we run.

    And we run with the stream
    Smoothly turning
    Among the rocks
    In the sand.
    And time runs, too,
    Joining the stream.
    Until we soon shall meet
    You touch my hand.


    "Nothing Here But a Slight Desire For the Guy"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    1971 (18 years old)

     

    Little lost soul searching for some love
    Craved it once but couldn't hold the rain
    Making up her world
    In which to live her life
    But brings about just more and more pain

    And she feels sorry for herself
    And she climbs in her corner
    And no one will come in to comfort her
    So she cries some more

    Loving someone nonexistant, Mr. Right is dead
    Tried to take him from his own dark place
    But she doesn't care
    What he feels for someone else
    She can't have him, so a mad adorns her face

    She'd be hurt
    And has been hurt
    And feels depressed
    And angry that she can't
    Get the one she wants

    So she tries someone else


    "Meditations VII: Matthew 7:1-2"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    1971 (18 years old)

    They seem to be saying
    That someone is not all he should be
    "Judge not" and yet
    They judge.
    The brethren are inhumane.


    "On Poetry"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    December 27, 1975


    The words escaping from my lips
    Have seen the light of day before
    The apple of my love's delight
    Has never shown it's core.
    And as I read those words I wrote
    They seem to mean less now-
    For as I have more things to say
    I've just forgotten how.
    I'm all mixed up inside, you see
    Though I've said that too, I know
    And as I sit with turbulent mind
    My words find it hard to flow.
    I cannot say why I want to scream
    Or why I'm crying too.
    Or why I think I'll neve make sense
    To anyone else or you.


    "Paean To Terry"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    December 27, 1975

    You wanted to be my friend
    And a tear comes silently to my eye
    When I think of you.

    All those last love songs were really for you
    And no matter who crosses my path
    The poetry will mean something
    only when I write it for you.

    I proclaimed I didn't love you
    And I found it hard to live -
    Around you.
    I would construct a house about you
    with the bricks of my love
    But the walls would never speak.

    I would toss my love through the air
    But it would scatter with the wind
    Before it reached your ears -

    And as I think back I think
    I was afraid of only one thing

    That you would say "no".


    "Catherine: A Love Song"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri ( a Cathy Poem)
    April 2, 1979

    The tears ceased flowing long ago
    The heartaches all but went away
    But as the year passes I want you to know
    I still love you in a very special way.

    The rivers might have been impossible to cross
    The mountains might have veen too high
    But as the year passes I feel no loss
    And my hopes still soar up to the sky.

    Catherine I love you with a love so strong
    That it can hold you and keep you in the air
    Darling please believe that it can not be false
    And you could never be too much for me to bear

    My heart stopped looking for another dream
    When my eyes first spotted you, my dear
    And though I've never landed you on my love's beam
    I'll keep waiting and keep pushing back the tear

    The days are just as long as always
    And my nights are still spent alone
    I realize I can't be satisfied in all ways
    And my heart hopes that we come into our own.


    "The Creator"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    7/11/79 7:40 p.m.

    Can he etch the lives of thousands?
    Can he hope their minds to pry?
    Does he wish to live forever
    Or does he silent want to die?
    Is there room in life for questions
    Is there life enough for joy
    May he open wide their yearnings
    May he touch each girl and boy?

    What's the matter, when he wishes
    only love and peace to share
    How come so many turn him off
    when he only wants to be so fair

    Can he ease the pain they're feeling?
    He knows he only yearns to try
    Must he want to live forever
    Or must he silent want to die?
    Is there room in life for answers?
    Is there time enough for tears
    Can he know what they are thinking?
    Can he ease their mounting fears?


    "Those Lost Moments of Regret"
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    5/12/07 7:00 a.m. pdt


    Remember the shiny moon face beaming
    from deep within the galaxy of kindness
    Remember the endless questions and the
    innocent search for meaning
    Remember the false sense of something
    which caused the wrong turns and missed opportunity
    Remember the day's snapshot clearly
    because it can never be regained in reality
    And is only a frame of reference
    for memory's soft chortle.

    Time looks askance at regret
    And regret gazes into mirrors too often
    The visage within the mirror reflects
    the shiny moon face of elusive immersion.

    The questions from the past
    hurtle quickly back
    to the present with sudden pinprick pain
    Opening wounds which will never quite heal
    and sidelining the gentle smile of circumstance

    The lost moments of regret can suddenly appear
    Giving pause to cognitive regressions
    and unleashing torrents of soulful sacrifice.

    Remember the paths we have taken
    and remember the byways we missed taking
    Remember the youth which disappeared
    and the wisdom which surfaced instead

    The souls of past conscious mistakes
    and seeming malignant misdeeds
    appear to us in perpetuity
    and they forgive us out trespasses
    and they smile for our memory
    and those lost moments of regret
    don't really seem to fade with time
    as long as
    we
    Remember


    BEHIND THE POETRY: The first four poems are entirely new transcriptions, never before seen on the internet, from my senior year of high school in 1971, written at age 17 and 18. "On Poetry" has been posted on the blog before, and is from 1975, as is "Paean to Terry" which is a new transcription. Terry is a gal I met in college at a party, and whom I dated for about four or five months. The next two poems are from 1979, when I was 25 years old. "Catherine: A Love Story" is one of the later "Cathy Poems", from 1979. and not included in the original batch of 60 some poems from 1978. I was still writing Cathy poems into 1980, two years after she was completely out of my life. "The Creator" is from 1979, is a new transcription, and deals a bit with depression. I don't "announce" my manic depressive states too much, but they have informed a lot of older poetry. The last poem listed here is entirely new, inspired by and written as a comment on Tricia's (pray14me)  Xanga blogpost on 5/12. MFN

Comments (18)

  • I love poetry!!  Beautiful.  Thanks for sharing!!  :love:

  • it's wonderful to read some of your earlier writings. every time i do it, i see a bit more of you in the words!:love:

  • my favorite in this bunch is The CREATOR. a close second is NOTHING HERE BUT A SLIGHT DESIRE FOR THE GUY. The flow is really good in the creator.

  • :love:
    Dearest Mike
    When I started reading your poetry today
    I wanted to choose a favorite and the more
    I read they seemed to all touch me differently
    You posses such a remarkable talent in expressing
    yourself that I am just glad I visited you on this day!!!
    much Luv...Dorothea

  • Mike, it is very revealing to look back so many years and see what we have written. I did not write any poetry but did keep a journal and it still remains a facinating read...sometimes I wonder: "Did I really wrote all that?"  Sometimes we are amazed by what we said and done when we were still young.

  • I can see how your work has progressed over the years. It's all good, but the early stuff reminds me of my earlier work I pay attention to the cadence and the passion. You're good stuff.

  • "memory's soft chortle" would have made a good headline for this. i really can't decide if i like you better now or then... back then, you were singin', otherwise or not, it's all true you. Make a time capsule of your collected works... in some post-apocalyptic future you will become the foundation of a new religion.
    :sunny: :eek: :sunny:

  • "To School" reminds me of sitting in general science class watching the sun/shadow move across my desk... all year, not just as summer came.

    "Meditations VII: Matthew 7:1-2" is as apt as ever.

    I quickly read all the poems, but have been interrupted several times. If I get a chance I'll come back to comment on the others.

  • First time here on your site, and nice to you posting up those poems of yours. I think it is more interesting for you to look back into those older poems of yours, and see how you look at the world then in comparison to the poems you wrote when you were older. Among all, i love 'On Poetry" best. I like the lines "And as i read those words i wrote / They seemed to mean less now - / For as i have more things to say / I've just forgotten how", amazing.

    ::)

  • Always so much here..oh do you write * and write* and it's wonderful..love to see  the past to present..on this one.* Love that last one especically ..it's fantastic.Oh to climb the trees...so sorry about your hip..now you have to 'imagine what the view is like from  up there...yes, growing old had it's drawbacks, does it not* I am so glad you are up so high on webshots!!:fun::fun:  CONGRATS! That is wonderful..you must be thrilled* and so good to see someone who mentioned their entries to Dan's contest* Now I know:) great..I will check them out..* good for you...I would suggest some new topics for the next one..if this is a success..I am sure he will do more..* I see where your BP can effect your mood when you write...the 'race' to get the words down...etc...* It can be hard...love this post..so nice of you to stop in by me...good luck in the video contest* I am going to go over and take a look at yours* take good care of 'you'....hugs, Lee :sunny:

  • Dan/T'sCafe will probably get you some more traffic.  Networking is what it's all about, right?  Thanks for all your great feedback.  I'm really glad you liked my fiction and my serialization of it.  I'll keep that in mind next time an idea strikes me.  Pending a few "feeler" classes, I think I'm going to aim for the writing track of the Master's in English.  All three tracks - literature, teaching, and writing - require four classes in literature and two in research methods as a basis for the other four-ish classes.  (Wow, when I put them in class numbers rather than credit hours, it seems so small!)  I would like to take a technical writing class, a theory class, a rhetorical writing class, and a how-to-teach-rhetoric class.  We'll see how it works.  Peace!

  • Hey Man

    I think I get more annoyed about random comments when the person is like "I like your blog, I subscribed"- fine if they have something to say about what you've written. I don't mind comments like that cause its how you meet new people on here, but that would better suit the random comment thing I set up.

    I don't think the mean girls will "stop their ways" but once I get to University, the groups would have broken down a bit, because of all the new people in their lives, and apparantly once you get there no-one actually cares what you were like in highschool.

    I did write about Tom Cruise, but I don't know where the entry has got to either. I have a habit of deleting all my entries, and I recently put a whole lot I'd removed back up from the trashcan.

    From Steph

  • Nice poetry Mike. When were these written. I think I missed that in the blog. Love your kittens everyday Lucy was never sick until this last illness. I will miss her she is so special to me. King is a consolation he understands better than people how I will miss her. I buried her in the yard she so loved it there. Thank you for your kind words. Judi

  • Your poetry is amazing.

    I came by to thank you for your kind words and your prayers on Nancy's site.  I got caught up in the beauty of your poetry. :goodjob: I'm glad I stopped by.::yes:

    Thanks again.sunny:

    Fran

  • You nut! I will subscribe.

    81 young Asian girls... 1 balding old man, Kudos and props!

  • You do write very well, Mike. Your poetry is excellent! I've never been inclined to write poetry but do very much admire people who do this well. It's a natural gift, I'm sure. :coolman:

  • thank you for the birthday wishes i enjoyed my day a lot

  • What You'll Need Scissors Grommet setter Sewing awl Pins Ripstop repair tape Nylon seam sealer Canvas seam sealer Taffeta repair tape Waxed thread Grommets Need Project Help.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories