May 15, 2007

  • Tuesday at the Movies

    mikeontv50s

    “What’s on TV today?” The MikeVideo Channel is now on Xanga. On the MikeVideoChannel on Xanga, you’ve got two great choices. First, my January 2007 “Arts” video titled “ArtViews” which has now been on YouTube for a while, has been uploaded to Xanga. It’s a 10 minute “tour” through both the Getty Art Museum in Los Angeles, and the Huntington Library and Art Gallery in Pasadena, scored to a classical music mix called “Classical Mash”. This was my most ambitious project prior to “Cultural Blender”.  The YouTube feed was presented here on the blog in January.

    “ArtViews” (January 2007. 9.02) Watch the video here, or click on the video to be sent to the MikeVideo Xanga Page, where you can comment and leave stars. I’m heavily promoting my videos on Xanga right now, and with your help, the last couple I’ve uploaded are being shown on the featured pages on Xanga video. Thanks to everybody who has watched, starred, and commented so far. “ArtViews” is a “reimagining” of one of the very first “internet movies” I constructed back in 2001. 

    “Mike’s Video Blog #6.2: Almost Homeless Part Two.” (May 2007 10 min. ) The second choice is the second ‘webisode’ of the “situation comedy” called “Almost Homeless”. The second part is now online, and already has generated over 100 views, and is currently #9 Discussed and #3 starred for the week. Again, even though the video is represented here on the blog, click the video for the Video Page, on which you can comment and star. This is episode #6.2 of my ongoing Mike’s Video Blog series. Other MikeVideos can be found on the MikeVideo webpage at AllThingsMike and on my YouTube Channel. I’ve had the “MikeVideo” brand for over 20 years now. The very first videos were recorded on VHS and edited to Beta tape in 1986.

    MikeVideo Fan Club and Video Sharing Blogring

    I’ve created a blogring for fans and friends of my MikeVideo “Internet Movies” here on Xanga. We already have eight members. If you like my videos, show your support by joining the blogring. You don’t have to make videos yourself, but I hope to attract serious videomakers to the ring as well. I recently sent the following message to everyone who has written me a comment on one of my Xanga videos. Now I am inviting all my readers and anyone who has stopped by my blog and would like to become part of the “MikeVideo” family.

    Dear Fellow Xangan,
    You are receiving this invitation from Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool, and also MikeVideo, producing hopefully artistic and interesting video projects for over 20 years.

    In 1999, as I’m wont to repeat endlessly and have inscribed on my MikeVideo website, I proclaimed “Someday we’ll all have our own television stations on the web.” Thanks to sites like YouTube, which Xanga seems to have plans of cloning as a ‘media site’ the idea of having a “channel” on the internet is now not just a pipe dream but a reality.

    Lots of internetters, vbloggers, and amateur artistes, budding comedians and future editors are creating some fantastic content and posting it on their channels on the internet. I joined YouTube in December of 2005 and now that Xanga is bucking to become a Video haven, I’m trying to stake out my rightful place at the top (no attempt at modesty here, folks) and I’m asking you to help me out by joining my new blogring, “MikeVideo”.

    I’m inviting you to become members of the “MikeVideo” blogring. I am posting my own videos in the pool, and I’m of course establishing my own first fan site. But I also hope to attract creative videomakers who think in terms of “short movies” like me rather than people who shoot their granddaughter’s first steps. (Unless it has opening credits, is scored and assembled creatively.) And you can join if you don’t have the opening credits, too, of course. I welcome all who are interested in video on the internet.

    I’ve wasted too much time trying to find imaginative videomakers. This blogring will hopefully be the first “Video Ring” of note here on Xanga, since I can’t seem to find any to join myself.

    Until then, would you join me on the “bottom floor” of the coming Xanga video boom. Thanks to most of you, my first “Almost Homeless” video “webisode” shot to the top of most of the featured pages for Xanga videos for most of almost two weeks. The second installment is “online now”.

    Help me out. If you like my little “internet movies”, join my blogring. Watch the videos, and comment as you have. Give me 5 stars if you think the video is worth it. “Cultural Blender” took over a month to “produce”. The “Almost Homeless” series is taking a lot more time than I thought. I just can’t “put up footage”. I really go through these things with a fine tooth comb before I hit the render button.

    Thanks for listening, and thank you for your support of my art.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool


    Join The MikeVideo Blogring

    (Remember to comment on the individual video pages. Comments have been disabled on this post)

Categories