May 22, 2005






  •  


     



    STAR WARS ARRIVES: MAKES OVER 100 MILLION


    (Hollywood, MFN)    That wacky Star Wars Movie made over $108 million dollars over the weekend and made over 50 mil just on opening day alone. I think everyone has seen it now so I can go in a week or two, because this one, the "third" in the series, but actually the sixth and "final" film according to George Lucas, the Star Wars mastermind who directed the movie and created the universe of Star Wars long long ago in a galaxy far far away, finally "answers all the questions" ties up all the plot threads, and shows that cute but annoying little kid from The Phantom Menace turn into Darth Vader, who, as you may remember, is the villian of the piece.


    Last week my immediate supervisor at work asked me if I was going this weekend, knowing that I'm a movie buff. "Well, Mike, going to see Star Wars this weekend?"  "Star Wars" is out again, I asked facetiously, "Oh, you mean the "new one" the "final chapter". No, I'm not even interested." I love to be able to say with all honesty that I'm not in ths slightest interested in the most famous cultural franchise of modern times.


    I am interested of course, but I don't want to join the pack. The movie "exists" now and will be on screens for a long long time, raking in oodles of bucks, and I'll get my chance. Besides, I hate crowds. I even understand this "episode" is rather good. I didn't really like the first two, er, I mean the last two, yes, they are the "first two", but compared to the last six, er, I mean the first three. (George, you sure are a confusing mythologist, buddy) they paled considerably.


    I have all three of the first films with Luke, Han and Leia on laserdisc in both versions. I rented the DVD package that was mysteriously released just before this latest movie, and enjoyed visiting the universe of Star Wars again. I have "The Phantom Menace" if only for the documentaries, which are vast and vastly interesting, but I don't really like the movie all that much and didn't even bother "collecting" "Attack of the Clones". (Which I thought should be made into a Broadway musical at some point called "Send in the Clones", with music by Stephen Soundheim, of course.)


    I'm glad it's a hit. I will eventually see it. This isn't a review but an appreciation that Lucas has finally, at age 62, lived to see his dream completed. Of course in that 1977 Rolling Stone issue, he mentioned that he would make nine films, and knowing him and the hype that is the "Force" he might just very well surprise us and finish the saga. I think he's shot footage already, and is waiting for the technology to create real life like digital images of Luke Han etc. for pasting over the actual actors that will play them in the films.


    I wanted to create two "joke posters" for this article, but my computer is going crazy. (See next article) and so I only composed the "Revenge of the Gungan" image, which is composited from eight different images and also uses a drawing program to fill in some of the blanks.


    It seems interesting that the latest "Star Trek" series is being cancelled. I started watching "Star Trek" in 1966 while I was still a kid, and after "Star Wars" became a hit in 1977, they started making "Star Trek" films. Now all of this is "over". As I told my friend Jim at breakfast yesterday, "Maybe Hollywood will begin making original movies now." That was a bad joke, however, because they're in the midst of making "Bewitched" "The A Team" and "Honeymooners", old TV shows are being recycled at an alarming rate. Even Michael Mann is resurrecting his old 80s TV show, "Miami Vice" for the big screen. I'm seeing pastels and open necked shirts all over again.


    MAJOR COMPUTER PROBLEMS


    The computer at home (nicknamed "the head honcho" is slowly dying. I can't figure it out. My supervisor at work (who doubles as IT guy) thinks I have a virus. McAffee tells me I have a clean bill of health. There are no adware or spyware programs on the puter. I just made a "movie" for heaven's sake, last month, and this month it's taking me forever to render simple images in my Picture Publisher. The image of the "Star Wars Poster" above took over two hours to produce, and crashed the computer three times. (Well, making the image crashed the program, and I rebooted three times.)


    I can't afford any other puters at this point. I might look into getting a new processor and increased RAM perhaps, but that costs money too. (Which I don't have.) I don't want to charge any more big ticket items, but I NEED a fast computer. All these composites I make, not to mention the movies, take time as it is, and tonight I was just so dang frustrated you wouldn't believe.


    The problem started with the little flyout windows in the program appearing invisible, or see through, and then the rendering time began to slow. Sometimes it's so slow it crashes the program, and doesn't save what I'm working on, which means I have to start over.


    I haven't even opened up my moviemaking software, and I'm in the middle of my new MikeVideo Internet movie, "Arbitrimage Dreams". It's almost 10 pm and I haven't even finished this Xanga post, which was begun with the image so long ago I 'm ready to just call it a night and go to bed. I don't know what I will do about "the head honcho". Maybe he'll "self analyze" and fix himself.


    I DIDN'T CREATE MY DAY VERY WELL


    Some of you might remember my article about the documentary film "What the Bleep Do We Know" and if you didn't read it that's a link to the article. In the film, Dr. Joe Dispenza talks about how we can "create our day" by thinking about what we intend to accomplish. I fully believe this is possible, but it wasn't possible for me today. I began the day responding to a few posts on my Yahoo Poetry Group, and mentioned that I was getting ready to go to breakfast and then take advantage of the nice hot day and go to the Getty Art Museum in L.A. where they let you take your camera into the museum and photograph the art.


    I love the Getty. There are three paintings I love to linger over. One of them is by Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema, the same artist that created the painting "The Favourite Poet" that I use as my "ElectricPoetry" logo. It is called "Spring" and this image, which was "borrowed " from my new favortie "digital art museum", the Art Renewal Center, doesn't do the actual painting justice. The Getty also has a painting by William Bouguereau entitled "A Young Girl Defending Herself Against Eros" which hangs as well in the Philosophy of Art page on my "Yes, But Is It Art? Gallery" website.


    The Bouguereau Painting can be found on the page listed above. If you click on the painting on my site it takes you to the Virtual Getty website.


    The terrible thing, and why I didn't "create my day" too well was because I remembered to take my camera, but "forgot" to take the little stick of gum sized "memory stick" where I store the photos. I could have shot "video footage" but I wanted to take photos for a webshots gallery folder on the museum. So I pulled off the freeway when I was all the way up to the last offramp before the museum, looked in my camera, and a gaping whole stared at me from where the memory stick should have been inserted. I turned around without going to the museum.  I came all the way home, disappointed but calm. I'll just make the trip next weekend.


    At least today I can upload jpg images to my Xanga. I couldn't do that yesterday.


    One last thing before I close, and this is somewhat tied to the "making one's day" scenario. Recently I took a little "vacation" from my poetry group, because I couldn't take the time to answer a lot of the posts, handle Xanga comments and entries, and work on the movie, so I was mulling over what to do with the ElectricPoetry Group, perhaps even shut it down. Over this past weekend I emailed some of the members and spelled out the complete scenario. Four people volunteered to help me run the group as co-moderators so that I wouldn't have to worry about all the poems having responses. I never thought to "ask" for help. People are always telling me I should ask for help, like at work. I try to "do too much" on my own, and don't want to "bother anybody". I also want people to think I'm "super human" and I never want anybody to "see the gears turn" but this response touched me so deeply. I can now keep the group open, and have even given myself a renewed vigor about returning and answering some of the posts, critiquing a few poems.


    I like to say that I want to "learn something new every day" and yesterday I learned I really have some neat friends who are willing to help me out in a pinch, and that makes me feel like the happiest person on Earth.


    Of course now I need to find out what is happening with my computer. I'll have to go around and "ask for some help" with this little problem, and hopefully it will be able to be solved as well.


    BORROWING A METHOD OF COMMUNICATING (Added 4:58 am pdt 5/23)


    Dear Readers, Just thought I'd mention here that when I wake up and get 7 comments on articles I just posted last night and advice and questions etc are asked, I immediately want to "answer" or respond, so I will be doing exactly this in the body of the Comments section itself. I have seen Brenda Clews  Ed Kaz, and JJ (Zeal for Living)  use this practice to good measure. I tend to go back to entries I've already read on those sites, and click on comments I've already given just to read the "feedback". Instead of "answering questions" on individual RYCs on reader's blogs, starting today I'll be answering and responding in the comments themselves. I have always championed the internet as a method of communication. Here at Xanga, the program which allows "comments" is a fine way of communicating. I call the Xanga Community the world's biggest Yahoo Group. And it can have as many members as we want. I am constantly visiting new sites, and finally getting to know some of the better and more prolific writers, photographers, and artists in this "community." I even get comments from young people, and for an old childless guy like me that is humbling. (I don't get 'flamed' either which is pretty nice.) I don't really ever want to write in a post "I'll get around to all your sites". I visit when I can, and always read back posts of writers I find interesting. (and might leave a comment on some of those back posts, so pay attention.) I think anyone to whom I've left a comment realizes I don't skim anything, and I like to take the time to make all responses "count". The comments I write are sometimes longer than the entries to which I respond, but I enjoy writing, whether poetry, articles, prose, or comments. When the internet "began" or at least my participation on same, I used this medium to become a "man of letters." In on of my favorite movie scenes of all time, Laurence Olivier's new wife  (Joan Fontaine in the Hitchcock movie, "Rebecca") looks over the writing desk of the previous wife. There implements of "writing letters" are lovingly portrayed. In the "old days" when "posting" was done with a stamp and an envelope, time was slower, and "exchanging letters" was how people communicated. You'll never find anyone in a Jane Austen novel answering a ring tone on a cell. "Darcy, I'm putting you on hold, I've got another call coming in...")


    I never wrote too many letters. In my youth, my brother and sister and I exchanged letters when we first separated. (Sadly, we don't even email anymore.) I wrote hundreds of letters to my assorted "girlfriends" throughout the years. So when the internet came along, each "email" was treated, by me, as a letter. I don't usually just "dash off a note". On my group, on my Xanga, in email exchanges, you will always notice I begin with a salutation, and close with a complete signature.  I have finally become the "man of letters" I wished to become, thanks to the "age of information" and the electronic form of communication. I might be typing on a keyboard, but in my mind I'm dipping a quill pen into an inkwell with each couple of sentences. Yours Truly, Michael F.Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

Comments (16)

  • Hi Michael,

    Just stopping by super quick.  I'm so sorry for the computer problems you are having.  Have you tried to just restore your computer to a date in time before your computer started acting funny?  Sometimes it might help.  You just have to judge for yourself though because I'm not a computer expert or anything, but I just thought I'd mention it.  It's kind of like going back in time on your computer to a point in time when your computer was acting right.

    If you wish to try this, you can hit the start button at the lower left hand corner.  Find all your programs and go to the accessories one.  Then, click on the Systems Tools, and then, click on System Restore, and it can tell you what to do from there.  If you remember the specific date before your computer started acting funny, you might want to enter that date and time for your computer to be restored to.

    Like I mentioned though, you have to judge for yourself if you think you might want to do this because I'm not an expert.  It's the only thing that I've used before that helped my computer whenever it was acting weird some in the past.  Plus, I like it cause it's like going back in time on your computer.  

    Whatever you decide to do, I hope it works!!  Good luck!  ((Hugs))

  • Mike,

    I'm still out here enjoying the cool air, was about to head in and saw you had another post up!  You know I'm not big on the movies, but this new installment in the "Star Wars" series really has my attention and I plan on seeing it in a few weeks as well for I do so hate the crowds as well. 

    And, glad to see you took advantage of your day and went off to The Getty.  I've only been there twice and have enjoyed it, the location itself is especially interesting and lets you get a good look at the surroundings.  I LOVE William Bouguereau's paintings - but by far my utmost favorite is Jan Van Eyck's "The Marriage Of Giovanni Arnolflini" ... the way he captured detail amazes me, and all the little hidden messages of what he put out there in plain view are amazing.  If anything good came out of high school it was Mr. Martinez's art class.  We went from the caveman days to the present ... and our final was 100 pieces of art / architechture ranging that whole period.  I still struggle with The Parthenon and The Pantheon ... but that's just because it tends to sound similiar.  And yet, I also have a love for Gothic Cathedrals ... flying butresses and rose windows.

    As for computer problems.  Maybe they are planning a revolt for mine is acting up as well ... but I haven't fixed it yet because it takes up time ... time with which I'd rather be doing other things ... like reading.  But you know once it doesn't let me go online I'll have to do it.  And to think ... computers are supposed to make our lifes easier ... lol.

    Love & Friendship,
    Liz

  • Mike,

    Just in case ... here is a link to the picture.

    Marriage of Arnolfini

  • :sunny::(:yes:Well this must be the day of the "acting up computers".  Mine is a new laptop.I went without a working compter for a long time. My son says I attrack all kinds of junk beacuse I travel all over the place...link link link....he said I link myself right into trouble. But that is me.....I darn not taouch or even look at my son's computer. I will have to take it in and have someone look at it.  It just shuts down ....boom. I wait a few minutes start it up again and its fine.  This scares me because this how my old computer started acting.  Crash Crash Crash. Do you think we are just inputing too many  heavy duty ideas for these silly little machines. Theses machines have minds of their own .........:giggle:

    @-}-}--

  • "These machines have minds of their own......." oh geez knightingale, you read my mind! ..dont they ever!

    Mike, i am thinking all our computers are indeed in revolt! Mine's been nothing but a thorn in the side for the past 3 days. Everything slow, pages not loading, programs crashing, lost data, frozen programs.. eeek! Compmageddon! Revenge of the ISP(th)! ...amazing how you can almost get "Sith" out of that one hehee. :giggle:

    I've had a saying for alot of years now, and im stickin' to it! :p "Machines are perverse, and technology has a sense of humour. Combine the two and you have a perverse sense of humour."

    This paragraph left me in fits of giggles, that by the time i got to the end of the paragraph, had me laying back, helplessly lost in belly laughs.. you read my mind Mike! To the T!

    "I am interested of course, but I don't want to join the pack. The movie "exists" now and will be on screens for a long long time, raking in oodles of bucks, and I'll get my chance. Besides, I hate crowds. I even understand this "episode" is rather good. I didn't really like the first two, er, I mean the last two, yes, they are the "first two", but compared to the last six, er, I mean the first three. (George, you sure are a confusing mythologist, buddy) they paled considerably."

    I have to agree completely. hehehe i have thought every word of that before!

    "It seems interesting that the latest "Star Trek" series is being cancelled. I started watching "Star Trek" in 1966 while I was still a kid, and after "Star Wars" became a hit in 1977, they started making "Star Trek" films. Now all of this is "over". As I told my friend Jim at breakfast yesterday, "Maybe Hollywood will begin making original movies now." That was a bad joke, however, because they're in the midst of making "Bewitched" "The A Team" and "Honeymooners", old TV shows are being recycled at an alarming rate. Even Michael Mann is resurrecting his old 80s TV show, "Miami Vice" for the big screen. I'm seeing pastels and open necked shirts all over again."

    i have but one word for this whole thought...

    .....Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.....!

    oh god... "To the moon!" was funny the first time, but... And i cant see Samantha as anything but the 60's housewife/witch she was! i shudder at the thought of them trying to *uhg* 'update' her to compete with the likes of *double-uhg* Buffy and all those other witch/warlock/vampire/spell-casting-type shows that seem the rage. And there is only one "Mr. T" Sorry. Anyone they try to pull in as his doppleganger isn't going to have the same style or texture. And in one last note... i almost fainted in shock at the notion of 'the vice' swinging back again, eeeek! not again!

    ...just please tell me they aren't planning to remake *shudder* Dukes of Hazard. that's just... scarey.

    But i have to say, i'm delighted to know your friends on the Electric Poetry Group are coming in to help! Wonderful news! Hey, we all need help from time to time, especially these day. It's always a blessing to have good friends there in a moment's need to help

    as for the day you didn't create too well. *hugs* we're all human, it happens to the best of us. and tomorrow's, (blessedly) another day. Cheer Up :sunny: things will get better.

    take good care,
    ~Lynxkatt

    ps..
    Happy 8000 visits to your site! :D *points at the counter down there at the bottom of your page.

  • Hi Mike, Sounds like you (didn't) have a fun day! I hope you get those computer problems sorted out - if it worked fine before & doesn't now, it could be a memory problem... do you keep your video files on a separate hard drive? I don't, but it's highly recommended. Star Wars, now it's so Biblical to me, but I wrote about that... it'll be interesting to hear what you say after you've seen it. The museum, ah, well, that can wait. I have a friend who recites out loud a list of necessities each time he goes out - keys, documents for lawyer, hat, umbrella, camera, whatever. If I could do that too, I'd probably not have to go out, run back in, go out, run back in so many times (& I don't have a car, so it's literally *run* back, healthy, but irritating as all get out). And, yes, it's nice to know that others are willing to help with moderating your Yahoo group - that shows, firstly, that it's a valued group to its members; and, secondly, that the new moderators feel they've learnt enough from you to feel confident in offering feedback to writers that you would approve of, and, thirdly, none of them want it closed down. Way to go! But, then, you are very much a kind, knowledgeable, informed, compassionate, intelligent teacher probably much of the time - but in individual ways, differently to the way it would have been had you gone the actual teacher college route, but it's there majorly in your life, and it's the way you give to others - listening to/closely reading & inspiring them... both with the range of your own work, in all its multi-media splendour, and with your insightful comments...

    *hugs Brenda

  • (I'm "borrowing" the practice of "commenting on comments" in a "comment" from Ed Kaz, Brenda Clews, and JJ (Zeal for Living) so if you see this, know now that I will probably be doing more of this in the future.)

    Dear Shara (Ren.Lady) I know of System Restore, of course, but sadly have never given the computer any "go back times" to which to go back, so cannot use that advice, but thanks anyway.:goodjob:

    Dear Liz, Looks like another hot un today. I modified my text in the article to point out clearer that I turned around and went home, and didn't see the museum after all, and will return another day.:(

    Dear Karolyn and Lynxkatt, I think I may be getting new memory at work, and it is rather strange that "all of a sudden" computers are "going crazy" Perhaps y2K was just postponed for a few years, and it's happening now.:eek:

    Dear Brenda, I know it's memory. My computer and me are losing it at the same rate. Well, perhaps the computer is a tad faster. Thanks for the comments on my group situation, and for making the obvious reference that I exercise my dashed dreams of becoming a teacher on my group and in other places on the internet.:spinning:

    MFN ppf

  • I like the first three Star Wars movies better. I thought the Battle of the Clones {not sure if I got the title right} was terrible.

    Faith

  • Mike! what's up pal! ^_^
    i totally understand why you rather wait to go see this movie .. we usually wait a couple of weeks before we catch a BIG film like Star Wars cus we dont like crowds either, at least not a the movie theatre!..we dont really like being jumbled around. we like going there, being comfortable and enjoy the film :) .... but i cant wait to c it though! :P
    oh and i love the poster u worked up.. genius! .. who said Lucas was the only one with the vision ..lol
    and i cant help but think its funny that in the end Natalie Portman goes into history as the mother of Luke Skywalker and Princess Leia
    -
    my computer's had a lag for the lat couple of days .. like the connection is extreamly slow
    i like your computer's name .. i named mine too! her name is "D'lores" .. hehe .. you know, i strongly believe our puters are, in some way, connected to us, their user. (specially if its not a new machine) and the fact that we hold the mouse with our hands we're linked directly to them .. its like we're plugged in to eachother. afterall, we're made of energy and they run on energy ... so what i'm trying to say is --aside from the reactions its had, crashing and so-- pay attention to the signs "the head honcho" sends out to you, he'll tell you where the root of "his" problem is, sometimes its the tiniest little sign that tells you the most .. at least then you'll know what you need and where to go. have you reformatted lately? .. maybe its time..?..
    .. i had a situation with D'lores a while ago where she would crash for no reason -or so i thought- .. all i would have open is illustrator and my music player, which is always up and having 2 application programs opened isnt much ..but she would freeze .. over and over. well, after asking her a gizzillion times to tell me what to do, at some point while it was starting up, something i noticed told me it was my music player messing things up .. so i went with what my instincts were telling me and trashed the one i had in and re-installed it fresh. ... yeay! my music player is no longer a problem. .. there r others of course, but who doesnt have them, rite? ^_^ we can only take care of them one at a time.
    good luck to you with the head honcho! ... remember to "create your day" .. make the outcome you wish for happen.
    - i too believe we "create our days" .. every morning when i get up from bed, before meditation i give 5 minutes of prayer to the Divine Spirit. I thank our Source for the day lived and for the new day to live, and i create my day.
    sorry u couldn't get to the museum .. but perhaps you werent supposed to be there that day .. hmm

    i like the way you think Mike!

  • Hi Mike.

    I did see and read the group letter on electric poetry. I can certainly see how much fun the forum there is going to be. It's nice to surround ourselves with like minded people. I need to get myself more involved over there but this is going to be a pretty hectic week as it is the last week of school and my son graduates from eighth grade on Thursday plus I'm still working all week. I definitely think I'll take an extended weekend. :) One thing I noticed at the forum. If I were to respond to a particular poem by clicking the reply button once inside the poem box, does the reply go to the most recent posts or does it drop it under the original poem? I'm just curious because I responded to the poem: Out in A Field, yet once I sent it to post I couldn't find my reply. Of course, I didn't look terribly hard for it, but, I had assumed all posts would go to the beginning. From now on I should probably open a new post to reply to any poems I want to reply to.

    Wow, that was a mouthful. :)

    I am going to try to get back over there sometime today, perhaps to write another poem and reply to some of the others as well.

    ~lisa

  • Revenge of the Sith was AWESOME! I loved it... but if you want a REALLY good laugh, check this out...

    I am quite possibly the only american (Yeah right) who is actually viewing them in order... I have never seen the original three... I started with the Phantom Menace and worked my way up... so now I am very excited to see 4,5, and 6... I get a lot of crap from my friends for this lol... but it makes complete sense to me.

    I hope your computer troubles are worked out soon.

    Sita

  • Dear Mike,

    Good idea ,the comment on the comment. Rebecca one of the all time great movies. I remember watching it on the late late movie show way back. I will probably not see SW III until it comes out in DVD. I enjoy reading about  the movie! I'm a good reader not a writer. That's what I enjoy most about the computer world in general and Xanga in particular.  One can read at liesure any type of story fiction or nonfiction. I love it when I can go through the looking glass of my laptop  and enter into another persons world of ideas. What an adventure!.... I applaud all who write and use the correct from and grammer. Don't forget correct spelling too. It is becoming a lost art . Content content ideas form form. I remember my high shool English  teachers saying how important the written word is or was and will be.  Sorry. So I applaud the  writers and the readers of the written  word.    @-}-}--

    Sincerely,

    Karolyn 

  • Michael~

    I love comment on comment as it is helpful to keep up

    DAMN THE BAD LUCK on your computer ~ is this related to the prob you had uploading pics?

    LOL on Y2k (it could happen you know and I know)

    I find it amusing that others give you puter advice while I think you must know everything there is about computers

    I create my day the night before - freaky maybe but it helps me

  • Michael,
    I adore art museums.  One of my favorite classes in college was art history.  There is something about the "story" behind the piece that totally intrigues me whether it be about the period or the development of the method or the "school" or just the artist's life and how it influenced the work.  I know it's the same with all art, but I totally get into it when it comes to visual art, especially paintings. 

    I'm glad things worked out at EP the way they did and it's so nice to see you share about the experience.  There's something quite incredible about being a part of any group or community that goes through a "crisis" of sorts and it all works out.  There are lessons for everyone involved and many of us learn something we didn't even realize we needed to learn.  Sometimes it's something  as seemingly simple as the realization that one doesn't like to ask for help, but the clarity provided by an experience like that is priceless.  It's a very cool thing to watch unfold in people's lives.  Thanks for sharing it with us. 

    ~maureen

  • Mike. Thanks for sharing the Ren Fair Vid. That was one of the breast videos I've seen in quite a while.

    Kaz

  • Electronic Components & Supplies &#8250.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories