January 26, 2005

  • ElectricPoetry Post

    “Poem 55 (Arnold Wants a Friend)”
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    © 1971


    Everybody says they can hear the world cry
    They can reach out to touch but they can’t tell why.
    People are people are sensitive people.
    Touching is touching, yet attracts to false people.
    Everybody says they can see the world’s tears
    Reach out to touch but betray all the years.

    It comes to pass you have a hand to lend.
    Give of it freely, Arnold wants a friend.

    The eyes that are dampened by a thousand wars.
    The cares that are really not even cares.
    People are people, but indifferent people.
    Touching is touching, come touch all the people.
    The eyes and the touching erasing all fears
    But whose to say is there erasing of tears.

    You bide your time, have a life to tend
    Give of it freely, Arnold wants a friend.

    Come to the altar, love that you send
    Give of it freely, Arnold wants a friend.

    Turn up your volume, come to a good end
    Give of yourself freely, Arnold wants a friend.

     

    “Song For A Rose”
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    © 1971


    She gave him a rose.
    She gave him a rose
    She knows
    Why she gave him the rose.
    A symbol of love, of trust
    And yet, in time, the rose must
    Die.
    All flowers die when they are plucked.
    Love dies
    Much like a rose.


    “antichrist.com “
    Poetry by Michael F. Nyiri
    © August 06, 1999 4:45 P.M. pdt

     

    The devil is in the details, folks, that’s what he told me last night, anyway.
    I turned on the tv, settled back to relax, and he just wouldn’t go away.
    He covers my ears with erudition, and he covers my mouth with a stain.
    I learned not to listen to him long ago, yet he’s always there when I feel any pain.
    He stays for a drink, and he chats by the hour, and by midnight you won’t see his hooves.
    He has stories to tell, and he does this real well, he goes automode, easy he grooves.
    He was relating a tale, all hearty and hale, and we ran out of booze dope and food.
    He said never mind this time, the first time you don’t need to pay, and I thought for a minute, that’s good.
    He was there in the chat rooms, on the internet, too, waxing purely poetic , serene
    He was really sorta hip, and could surmise at a clip that I found both alarming and keen.
    The devil is always around boys and girls, and I gave him no cause to depart.
    By the time Jesus arrived, the party had died, but the devil was doing his part
    To rejoice you and me, and almost succeeded you see, but we’re smarter than that don’t ya know.
    Jesus went to the kitchen and got the last beer, but the devil was moving real slow.
    We put on some Charlie Daniels, it was a vinyl lp, because you see
    I never got around to purchasing the devil’s songs on cd.
    Jesus thought it was cool, but he just couldn’t stay, and the devil passed out on the couch.
    My head started to hurt, so I needed to be curt, and I gave the devil his due.
    “Just get out of the house, don’t let the door hit your ass”, I laughed but he paid it no heed.
    He gave me his e-mail address and a wink, said visit my website and bleed.
    The devil is here in the details, you see..
    And we all have a damned good ol’ time.
    But Jesus has too many webisites for the devil to log on to, and he’s far too busy to see the crime.
    The antichrist knocks at the door every hour.
    The tv preaches killings and hate.
    I get locked up in the puter and thank my good graces,
    That the devil, tonight, will be late.


    Jesus has 10,432 hits on his page.
    The devil has 666,666,666.
    I locked the door tonight, though it gave the devil a fright, and let Jesus get in his few licks.
    We are all part of the universal mind,
    The devil and Jesus and me.
    The force, and the farce, and the good, and the bad.
    Till tomorrow, and eternity.

Comments (5)

  • loved your array of poetry this day
    dear Mike
    Thank you for your words and your well
    wishes

  • very very cool site

    I really dig your poetry and the song that’s playin

  • I really like the “Song for a Rose” poem in all its short sweetness.  You haven’t posted it on ElectricPoetry… at least not while I have been around.  Very nice!

  • You never cease to amaze me with your poetry. I enjoy reading your work very much. :)

  • Interesting works tonight, Mike.  A couple of them are intriguing to say the least.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories