August 9, 2004


  • The SmallTown America in Lost Angeles Project now encompasses 211 photos. There are 36 for Monrovia, 41 for Bellflower, 59 for Glendora, and 75 for San Pedro, although there are some photos in the San Pedro folder which don’t belong to the series. I changed the title photo (above) somewhat so I am reposting it here as well. (I should have just posted it with the entry below, but I didn’t post anything on Sunday). Because I was working on the Photography section, I didn’t transcribe any poetry, so because of the problems I’m having with Dreamweaver, which isn’t a space allocation problem on the server, but an actual glitch in the program, I didn’t want any frustrations yesterday afternoon. I watched a couple of movies instead, John Sayles’ “Casa de los Babys” (8 of 10 on the Mikometer) and a weird thriller called “Love Object”. I’d be more worried about not transcribing the poetry if my Yahoo poetry group, ElectricPoetry, was active as it was a few weeks ago. I knew the activity couldn’t keep up forever, and now I find I have to wait for someone to post poems (for a day or two, something which I didn’t have to do earlier, there were always posts) or else I’ll have posted too many in a row. I still answer all the posts, but our hits are down to 50 a week, and I was getting used to up to 200 posts a week, so this is pretty anemic.


    Today we hear the closing arguments at Court, so hopefully we’ll go into deliberations today, and be done soon. It’s starting to become a pain to “keep up at work” going in even in the mornings. I’ll be glad to be “off the Jury” for another year. Perhaps my experiences this time will spark me to complete my essay from the last Jury in which I participated. 


Comments (2)

  • Love the pics! I really enjoyed reading your post: “Poem for the Year 1984″ too.

    I understand your position with vulgarity in poetry; but at least you took the time to comment on the poem, and explain your position on the usage of vulgar words. Your response to the usage of vulgarity is one that I get from time-to-time; but you are the only I have encountered thus far that looked beyond that position, far enough to offer up intelligent commentary. Thank you. Open minds are always welcome in my life.

    Your assessment on the vulgarity in my poem is correct. It works in the context of my framing of the subject at hand. True, there are other ways to do it; however, I have always found the road to pure artistic expressionism to be the most satisfying. That is how I felt when I wrote it, so that is how it came out. Actually, the poem wrote itself in about a minute; and I felt exeptionally relieved after the ink dried.

    Peace.

  • :wave:Hey Mike I have missed my own presence here on xanga…hehe..but my pc is down and I shall purchase another one ….well I like …building another one ….before the week is over…this is why i hesitated joining the poetry group as well….I could feel my pc going down hill……but when I am up and running…I would be so happy to join…to read…to experience more words….!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories