September 21, 2012

  • Endeavour!

    ENDEAVOUR IS COMING!

    The Endeavour sits on the back of it's next to last transporter (a modified Boeing 747) backed by a beautiful sky, ready for the last leg of it's journey home.

    THIS JUST IN:

    Space shuttle Endeavour leaves Houston for California
    September 20, 2012
    (Kate Mather and Ann M. Simmons: Los Angeles Times)

    Space shuttle Endeavour left Houston shortly after 5 a.m. PST on Thursday en route for Edwards Air Force Base in California's Mojave Desert, where it is expected to touch down around 12:30 p.m. after a 30-minute flyover around the base.

    Riding atop a modified Boeing 747, the retired orbiter will first dip low over the Texas state Capitol in Austin before stopping to refuel at El Paso's Biggs Army Airfield, NASA officials said. It will then fly  over NASA's White Sands Test Facility in New Mexico before heading to Tucson for another low pass.

    The shuttle will depart the Mojave Desert base about 7:15 a.m. Friday and will fly low over Palmdale, Lancaster, Rosamond and Mojave before heading north to Sacramento and San Francisco, NASA officials said.

    Once the shuttle reaches the Los Angeles area about 10:30 a.m. Friday, the orbiter will be carried over landmarks including the Getty Center, the Griffith Observatory, Malibu and Disneyland before landing at Los Angeles International Airport. It will also fly over the California Science Center in Exposition Park, its new permanent home.

    But Endeavour's journey won't end Friday. The shuttle will be housed at a United Airlines hangar until Oct. 12, when it will begin a two-day celebratory trek through the city's streets to the museum's new Samuel Oschin display pavilion. The exhibit will open to the public Oct. 30.

    Endeavour is banked over the Astrodome in Houston, it's last stop before landing in it's permanent resting place in Los Angeles!


    I'm a child of the space age, and sometimes I think that as I enter the golden years of my life, so too, does the space program with which I grew up. NASA is being supplanted by private corporations such as SpaceX. I've always said I should be able to blog from my condominium on the moon by now, but that didn't happen.

    I entered the first grade in 1960 and still have a lot of my early booklets, school reports and collections of news articles concerning the space program, from the single astronaut Mercury space capsules, through Gemini and Apollo, and culminating with the Shuttle program which helped launch the Hubbell telescope (and countless more satellites) and build the International Space Station.

    The Endeavour, built to replace Shuttle Challenger, is in the air again, and will be here in SoCal today. Tomorrow, as stated in the article above, it will be flying to LAX from Edwards. I'm taking the day off tomorrow, and cameras in hand, will be trying to see if I can capture some amazing shots for y'all. I'm sure the area around LAX is going to be packed with other like minded individuals. I'd just love to get a shot of the transport before landing, going over Sepulveda Boulevard.

    In 3 weeks, on October 12th, the Shuttle will placed on a very large transport carrier. (I'm not checking right now, but believe it has 180 wheels and can "turn on a dime" LOL) It will wind it's way, at 2mph, through Westchester, Inglewood, and South L.A., "landing" at it's ultimate destination, the California Science Center, which is right down the street from USC, where I went to college. It's a very familiar neighborhood to me, and I plan to be there watching this amazing and once in a lifetime event.

    "Shuttling" Endeavour through south L.A. is going to be like moving a five story building across a pretty densely populated city. It's gonna be pretty fun. (I hope to catch Debbie Allen's celebratory concert too!) I was in Bixby Knolls for the "rock party" when LACMA's "big rock" rolled through Long Beach on it's way to the art installation at the museum. It was pretty exciting to see a big rock travel through town. This is similar, but a lot different. The shuttle is a (very large) piece of history, and the big rock, was, well, just a big rock.

    The  (Space) city of Houston, where mission control for the program was located, and where the astronauts trained, is upset that they didn't get one of the five shuttles. Sorry Houston. We don't have a problem. I know you're upset, but you can come to visit anytime. And if you can't get down here, I'll try to supply as many photos as I can. Stay tuned!

    EDIT: 9/21/12 9:00am. Endeavour is now on it's way to Frisco, then will turn around and come back. I'm conflicted about driving up to Griffith Park or just across the bridge to Shoreline Village in Long Beach! Just seeing the shuttle and transport flying overhead at 1500 feet is going to be neat. Knowing exactly where to be to get the best photo is probably going to be more luck than planning.

    (Photos on display in this post were not taken by me, of course. They are courtesy of NASA's official website. More Shuttle news HERE.)

    Posted: September 20, 2012 7:13 AM

Comments (55)

  • Have you seen any sort of time schedule for Friday?  I'd love to see it fly over.

  • I used to live in Ft. Lauderdale, which is almost 200 miles south of Cape Canaveral - the launch site. One clear day, I heard a roar and looked north at a towering cloud - that was a shuttle that had just been launched. Those things were spectacular - hopefully we'll see their like again sometime soon.

  • I thought it was cool that they flew over Tucson for tribute to Gabby Giffords.

  • @tychecat - Dear Dick, From the film footage I've seen, prolly one of the most spectacular things to be able to see would have been a shuttle launch. 

  • Very cool! You know, it looks like a pair of grasshoppers mating with one plane in the air with other on top of it. 

  • Awesome blog, Mike. I just I wish they put men back on the moon.

  • I'm so excited for October! Enjoyed reading this post.

  • Omg thanks for the info. None of my friend even knew about Endeavor nonetheless knew it landed. When I told them they didn't care. I was stoked.

  • craigslist phone verified accounts on sale : $4 per account
    contact to buy -
    Yahoo Messenger - anjudevianju
    skype - anjudevi
    http://www.FreshPVA.com
    Instant Delivery.
    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I'll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. All the best

  • craigslist phone verified accounts on sale : $4 per account
    contact to buy -
    Yahoo Messenger - anjudevianju
    skype - anjudevi
    http://www.FreshPVA.com
    Instant Delivery.
    Keep on writing, great job!

  • Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. However think about if you added some great visuals or video clips to give
    your posts more, "pop"! Your content is excellent but with images and
    video clips, this website could definitely be one of the
    best in its field. Very good blog!

  • The traditional canvas tent exteriors and beautiful details such as wooden poles and finials ensure it is as beautiful outside as within.

  • Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article
    and the rest of the site is also very good.

  • Hi there, I enjoy reading through your article.
    I like to write a little comment to support you.

  • I visited many websites however the audio quality for audio songs existing at this web page is genuinely wonderful.

  • I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you're going to a famous
    blogger if you aren't already ;) Cheers!

  • This is a topic that's close to my heart... Cheers! Where are your contact details though?

  • Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and
    said "You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear." She placed the shell
    to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic
    but I had to tell someone!

  • Great article, exactly what I needed.

  • For latest news you have to pay a quick visit
    internet and on internet I found this web
    site as a finest site for hottest updates.

  • Howdy! This blog post couldn't be written any better! Looking through this post
    reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept
    talking about this. I'll send this article to him. Fairly certain he'll have a good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

  • The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if
    it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now
    broken and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely
    off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  • Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I'm not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I
    thought I'd post to let you know. The layout look great though!
    Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Thanks

  • Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I'm trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I'm not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Thanks!

  • Spot on wikth this write-up, I absolutely
    believe this website needs much more attention. I'll probgably
    be returning to seee more, thanks for the information!

  • I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an shakiness over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case
    you shield this increase.

  • Hello! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I had to ask.

    Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a massive amount work?

    I am brand new to running a blog but I do write
    in my journal on a daily basis. I'd like to
    start a blog so I can easily share my experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring
    bloggers. Thankyou!

  • My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at net, except I know I am getting familiarity everyday by reading such good articles or reviews.

  • Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all people you
    really realize what you're talking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindly additionally discuss with my site =). We can have a hyperlink exchange arrangement between us

  • I have been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It's pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  • Hi to every one, the contents present at this web
    site are truly awesome for people experience, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  • An outstanding share! I have just forwarded
    this onto a coworker who had been conducting a
    little research on this. And he in fact ordered
    me breakfast simply because I discovered it for him... lol.

    So let me reword this.... Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about this
    issue here on your site.

  • It's a shame you don't have a donate button! I'd certainly
    donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i'll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this
    blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  • Incredible story there. What happened after? Good luck!

  • Thank you, I've just been looking for information approximately this topic for a long
    time and yours is the greatest I've found out so far.

    However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are
    you positive about the supply?

  • Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed
    in Yahoo News? I've been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thank you

  • I all the time emailed this web site post page to all
    my contacts, for the reason that if like to read
    it then my contacts will too.

  • I know this site presents quality based articles or reviews and other stuff, is there any other web page which gives these kinds
    of information in quality?

  • I just could not depart your website prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information a person provide to your visitors?

    Is gonna be again regularly to check up on new posts

  • Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my blog so i got
    here to go back the prefer?.I am trying to to find things to enhance my
    site!I guess its good enough to use some of your ideas!!

  • I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.

    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I'm looking to design my own blog and
    would like to know where u got this from. kudos

  • This paragraph is actually a nice one it helps new web people, who are wishing
    for blogging.

  • Thanks designed for sharing such a good opinion, piece of
    writing is fastidious, thats why i have read it fully

  • Nice replies in return of this difficulty with firm arguments and describing everything regarding that.

  • Hurrah, that's what I was exploring for, what a information! existing here at this
    webpage, thanks admin of this web page.

  • Heya i'm for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  • I couldn't resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  • I visited multiple websites but the audio quality for
    audio songs present at this web page is really marvelous.

  • Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up
    losing many months of hard work due to noo backup.
    Do you have any methors to protect against hackers?

  • I've been browsing on-line more than 3 hours these days,
    yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours.

    It's lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content material as you
    did, the web shall be much more useful than ever before.

  • My partner and I stumbled over here by a different website and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i'm following you. Look forward
    to gking over your web pafe again.

  • I am really grateful to the owner of this site who hass
    shared this wonderful piece of writing at here.

  • I reallly likee what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the wojderful works guys I've incorporated
    you guys to my own blogroll.

  • Please let me know if you're looking for a
    author for yor blog. You have some really good posts and
    I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to takme
    some of the lod off, I'd absolutely love to write
    some content for yopur blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Cheers!

  • I think that what you published was actually very reasonable.
    But, think about this, suppose you were to write a awesome headline?
    I ain't saying your information isn't good., but what if you added a headline that makes people desire more?
    I mean Endeavour! | WhenWordsCollide is a little vanilla.
    You should look at Yahoo's front page and see how they
    create article headlines to get viewers interested. You might add a video or a
    related pic or two to grab readers interested about what
    you've written. In my opinion, it would bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories