January 1, 2012

  • My HITZ 2011: My Year In Music

    My HITZ 2011

    I enjoyed reading an article about "Top Ten Music Tracks for 2011" in the L.A. Times (can't find it now or else I'd link) in which the critic admitted that the list is just his favorite songs of the last year. Music sometimes seems more varied than ever, but the "cream of the pop" seems to surface quicker than ever thanks to social media sites and the internet.

    Below is a YouTube playlist with some of the current music I've been listening to recently. Below the video screen is the description of the playlist on my YouTube channel. You can select the next video in the sequence by clicking the little "next" button (after play on the taskbar). The list of songs is below the video. The link above takes you to the playlist on YouTube.

    I'm an aging boomer who has been collecting pop music since high school. Many people my age refuse to leave the 60s-80s when it comes to music appreciation. I don't blame them. A lot of good music came out of "my era". Sometimes I miss good ol' rock and roll, but I get pumped up by a lot of "new music" too, and I listen to L.A. stations Power 106 and Amp music in my car. Nothing like Mr. Saxobeat to get me ready for work at 5am. I have over 1000 vinyl records dating back to the 60s. "Back in the day", I collected rock and roll, country, as well as big band "pop hitz" from my parents' generation. I still listen to all kinds of music. and I still love to dance. These are just some of the songs I liked this past year. Many are the "Official videos" and may have ads, I've also added a couple of selections of music from my past and will admit that a couple of songs were released earlier than this year.. I'm still adding to this... In no particular order here this my first music mix on YouTube. (Some videos may be prohibited from embedding but will feature a link to the clip on YouTube.)


    The Songs:

    "Party Rock Anthem"
    LMFAO (featuring Laura Bennet, GoonRock)

    Party rockers in the house TO-NITE. Hip Hop comin at ya direct from the Pacific Palisades. LMFAO's group history is pretty interesting. DJ's RedFoo and SkyBlu are the son and grandson of Motown founder Berry Gordy. I always laugh my effin arse off  when I hear this. And I always turn it up. Pure Pop for the Here and Now.

    "Mr. Saxobeat"
    Alexandra Stan

    If I were to pick my absolute favorite song of 2011, I think it would be this one. Eurodance music with a "saxo" beat.  Alexandra Stan is a name I didn't know before this past year, but if future efforts are as catchy, I'll be listening.

    "Pumped Up Kicks"
    Foster The People

    The song is from 2010 but the album was released this year. A great hook. Laid back yet keeps ya movin. Now listen to the words. Quite subversive and chilling.

    "Grenade"
    Bruno Mars


    I've got the newer "It Will Rain" on the list later on. "Grenade" has been a favorite for most of the year. Bruno has been one of my favorite singers since I first heard "Just the Way You Are" long ago in 2010.

    "Someone Like You"
    Adele

    Didn't even know Adele till recently. Powerful unmistakable voice. All the pundits agree that her breakthrough album "21" (titled after her age when it was produced) is the story of the year. I love her voice, and it's refreshing to hear some bluesy soul music in any music mix.

    "In the Dark"
    Dev

    One of those songs I just can't get out of my head. It's pretty fly.....like a G6. I love to admit that, like a lot of pop current pop artists, I didn't know who Dev was at all when I first heard The Far East Movement's "Like a G6". I happened to see her video for Booty Bounce, made the connection, and subscribed to her YouTube channel. The rest, as they say, is history. Well, recent history. In The Dark is the keeper. With a "sex drive...push...to...start."
     
    "Super Bass"
    Nicki Minaj


    This is for the boys with the boomin system. I think I have a shameless crush on Nicki. I'm 58, but I know who the eff she is, and she got that boom boom boom super bass (my heartbeat's runnin away).

    "Set Fire to the Rain"
    Adele

    Adele conjures up the feelings I got when I first heard Aretha Franklin "back in the day." And her music is just the right antidote to all the dance pop I seem to listen to.

    "I'm On One"
    DJ Khaled (featuring Drake, Lil Wayne, Rick Ross)

    I used to proclaim I didn't like "rap music" because of the lack of "singing". However, a good rap record is poetry in motion. Drake can sing too.

    "California Gurls"
    Katy Perry (featuring Snoop Dogg)

    Couldn't find the official video, which knocked me out earlier in the year, so added the official version of the single from her Vevo/YouTube site. "Teenage Dream" doesn't have a bad song on it. Katy is "my lady" (Sorry Snoop.) The Beach Boys even liked this song. After Gaga, Katy is my fav modern "chick singer". Teenage Dream is the first "digital" album I downloaded from iTunes without buying a physical CD.

    "You and I"
    Lady Gaga


    You'd have to know there'd be some Gaga on the list. I'm the world's oldest Little Monster, and I wish there were more songs like this, which showcase Gaga's voice, on her "Born This Way" album. I've written about the Lady before. My prediction is that she is going to last a long time, and her best days are before her. She's only 23, and she's one of the richest and most famous people on earth. Not bad. Hope she gets rid of Jo Calderone, however.

    "Booty Bounce"
    Dev

    This is the video which introduced Dev to me.

    "Fly"
    Nicki Minaj (featuring Rihanna)

    Fly is, well, pretty fly for this guy. A taste of both Nicki and Rihanna!

    "Moves Like Jagger"
    Maroon 5 (featuring Christina Aquilera) 

    This one makes me want to....well, move like Jagger. Pretty tiring for a guy my age, but then Jagger has a decade on me. The video for the song is great. One characteristic of modern pop is that the most talented artists are always quick to point out their influences.Maroon 5 makes some really good music, and Misery is also on this list.

    "Work Out"
    J. Cole

    A catchy hip pop song.

    "We Found Love"
    Rihanna (featuring Calvin Harris)

    I think I must have a thing for Rihanna, since she shows up a lot on my playlist.

    "Born to Be With You"
    Dave Edmunds

    An oldie by my favorite singer/guitarists from the 70s-80s.

    "Misery"
    Maroon 5

    I hear songs on Pandora, the radio, the internet, and in TV shows and adverts. You can't escape music, but a lot of the time an old fogie like me doesn't catch the artist till after he's heard the song a few times. Catchy music is catchy music, no matter what day and age it's recorded in. Maroon 5 is a band I seem to be listening to a lot.

    "You Da One"
    Rihanna

    Rihanna seems to make one catchy single after another. She da one.

    "DJ Got Us Fallin In Love Again"
    Usher

    Usher. Usher. Usher. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah.

    "Video Games"
    Lana Del Rey

    Wonderful, evocative voice. I didn't even know this gal until a few months ago, and, again, didn't know her name. But I do now.

    "Keep Yourself Alive"
    From 1974
    Queen

    I was quite saddened when Freddy Mercury died. Queen was and will always be my favorite band. This is the song that hooked me in 1974.

    "Fat Bottomed Girls"
    From 1978
    Queen


    Another Queen favorite, from 1978.

    REQUIRED READING: The Soundtrack of My Life

    This morning I had plans to create a few entries to post to the blog (by timestamping them). I forgot how long it used to take to create entries. Now I've spent three hours just concocting this trifle, and I didn't even copy the "notes" on each song in the list above. (The ones I've written can be found on the playlist on YouTube.) Since I don't want to begin the year being frustrated, I'm going to get off the computer now. Planned entries (in my head anyway) are the sequel to "My Media Crushes" entry, another chapter in "My Sexual History", the long planned dance video set to Lady Gaga songs (although what's holding it up now is the fact I don't have an HD videocamera and I really want to shoot all my future vids in Hi Def.), and essay titled "Still BiPolar After All These Years" and a discourse titled "Social Distortion: Why I think I'd Rather Be Alone" detailing my attempts to develop a social life this past year by "partying down" with "kids" in their 20s-40s. Happy New Year. EDIT: 7:00 pm. I finally finished the "commentary" and have added some "notes" to the list of songs below the video playlist. MFN/ppf  

    Posted:  January 01, 2012 12:03 PM

Comments (49)

  • Glad to see you posting. I like most of your music choices, especially Adele. I hope you post more soon.

  • glad to see you posting!!!  been a long time (from a 60's/70's rock'n'roll band)!  hope all's well - you're willing to venture further into the proverbial 'pop' arena than i am - good for you - i hope you have a wonderful year and look forward to seeing some more posts!

  • Mike... you're back!

  • I like your playlist.. especially Party Rock Anthem and Grenade!!

  • cool song list.  Happy New Year!

  • I thought you had died.

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - Dan, when that finally happens, my memorial blog entry will automatically post, and I believe I've programmed a "mass message" to all my subscribers announcing the party where you're all invited to listen to loud dance pop as you're dancing on my grave! MFN/ppf

  • @baldmike2004 - We would not dance on your grave.  We would be sad at your departing.  

  • I saw you adorning my screan just now. .  Happy New Year.....

  • Sorry i meant "screen".....

  • Good to see a post from you, Mike! While I admit I'm not so much into dance-type music as you seem to be, there are some good songs on your list. "Moves Like Jagger" is a really catchy tune (I love the whistling opening) and the video is hilarious...all those people mimicking Jagger.

    And I definitely agree with you on Adele. I plan to purchase her album in the very near future with the iTunes gift card I got for Christmas. When I finally watched her videos, she was not at all what I expected her to look like, but she has an amazing voice. I'm glad she's getting the recognition and airplay she deserves.

    Happy New Year! :)

  • Happy New Year I agree with most of your song choices especially Adele, love her music.

  • Good taste in music, Mike! I love Adele!
    HUGS and Happy New Year!

  • Hello Mike

    Wonderful list of songs.  Have missed you.  Hope that the end of 2011 was fabulous and that 2012 will be even more so.  I know that things were beginning to look up for you.  I hope that has continued.  Would love to catch up with you sometime.  Give me a shout on email at dreamseeker1959 on yahoo if you have some time.

    Hugs

    Kat

  • It's good to see that you posted again. I am one who believes the best music came in  60's - 80's years , although the trend toward better songs may have begun in 50's. Of course,  I liked songs and singers that were popular in 40's, too. However, I got hooked on "folk music" during 60 - 80's. 

    Happy New Year to you. I'm hoping 2012 will be a better year for all. ~~Blessings 'n Cheers

  • Hi Mike. Happy new year. Seems like you are missed by many people here on Xanga. I definitely also missed your entries. Hope this is an indication of more blogging in the time to come.

  • Welcome to 2012! Great music selection I must say. Adele is just AWESOME! Katy Perry is fun to listen to. It took me quite a while to warm up to Lady Gaga, but I'm a fan of her work now too

  • Happy New Year to you, my friend!  Good songs you have listed here.  I hope that you have a blessed and prosperous 2013!

  • No one can touch the bottom…they've tried.

  • The purpose of this article is to identify the key players inside securities industry markets as well as define the roles that they play to
    create the modern business possible.

  • t monitor the past historical past, no matter if they have
    a low FICO score.

  • I truly treasure your piece of work, Good post.

  • My HITZ 2011: My Year In Music | WhenWordsCollide

  • The enhancement neighborhood contributes continuously in direction of improvement of meaningful applications.
    Moreover, there are well equipped offshore development centers in India wherein the user may be from any industry and get the best
    kind of Android apps. The mere sight of your vision board should make you happy and fuel your passion to achieve it every time you look at it.

  • I am definitely bookmarking this website as well as sharing
    it with my friends. You'll be getting lots
    of visitors to your website from me!

  • Hi there great website! Does running a blog similar to this require a lot of work?
    I have absolutely no understanding of coding however I had
    been hoping to start my own blog in the
    near future. Anyways, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply
    wanted to ask. Thanks a lot!

  • Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look
    of your site is fantastic, as well as the content!

  • Po 34% wskazań posiadają z kolei pożyczki i kredyty, a także opłaty
    jak np. za telefon, internet, telewizję kablową, satelitarną.

  • Keep on working, great job!

  • Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is
    wonderful, as well as the content!

  • I pay a quick visit everyday a feew web sites and werbsites to read content,
    except this website presents feature based articles.

  • Hi everyone, it's my first go to see at this web
    page, and article is actually fruitful in support of me, keep up
    posting these articles or reviews.

  • Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren't loading correctly.
    I'm not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I've tried it in two different browsers
    and both show the same outcome.

  • Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site,
    how can i subscribe for a weblog web site? The account aided me a applicable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vibrant clear idea

  • I'd like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this
    blog. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has
    motivated me to get my own, personal website now ;)
    %url

  • It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it's time to be happy.
    I've read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or
    tips. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this
    article. I want to read even more things about it!

    %url

  • Hi there, the whole thing is ggoing nicely here and ofcourse
    every one is sharing facts, that's really fine,
    keep up writing.

  • It's hard to come by well-informed people in this particular topic, however, you seem like you
    know what you're talking about! Thanks
    %url

  • What's up colleagues, its enormous paragraph regarding tutoringand entirely explained,
    keep it up all the time.

  • 5) Killing a mosquito, fly, wasp, roach, ant, rat, or another living organism, if you do not do it in the cruel way to intentionally make it suffer.
    If you happen to be confused as to which type of technique can suit your purpose,
    try and learn about all forms of termite control measures that could suit your
    purpose in the intended manner. One with the origins
    of the ants are already traced to hay bales which are hauled in because of the draught in Texas this year.

  • Oh mmy goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However
    I am encountering troubles with your RSS. I don't know
    why I can't subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having the
    same RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond?

    Thanks!!

  • Investors were very fearful that organizations would get sued, and so needed a higher rate via normal providers
    than out of firms that seemed to have very little chance of writing a new chapter (your eleventh) into their
    corporate histories Travelling fuel consumption rate and
    the valuation on the libido treatment are usually the key things that effect
    a couples' determination when choosing your fertility
    hospital Wall Avenue reform is about protecting persons

  • Greetings! I've been following your weblog
    for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout
    out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic work!

  • Guíate por estos juguetes eróticos más populares y elije el que cumpla con tus gustos, necesidades y deseos.

  • Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity on your post is just
    nice and that i can suppose you are an expert on this subject.

    Well along with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with coming near near
    post. Thank you a million and please continue the rewarding
    work.

  • Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how could
    we communicate?

  • Thanks for a marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading
    it, you could be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog
    and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

  • Telefon Sex der Extraklasse mit scharfen Privatamateuren, die selbst
    Lust auf Sex haben.

  • Greetings! Very useful advice within this post!

    It is the little changes that produce the biggest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories