January 20, 2010

  • This Just In: SoCal Storms

    Third Storm Batters Southland

    (January 20, 2010 |  6:27 pm L.A. Times website) As the third storm of the week passed through Southern California, it left damage and traffic nightmares.

    Street flooding was reported across the region, including in Burbank, the Bixby Knolls section of Long Beach, areas south of Long Beach Airport, as well as Sunland and San Pedro.

    The storm ripped part of the roof off an industrial building in Paramount and flooded the southbound 710 Freeway around Alondra Boulevard. Flooding was also reported on the 710 near Willow Street in Long Beach.The California Highway Patrol said the 405 Freeway south is flooded in Long Beach at Spring Street and that traffic was being diverted.

    Other freeways reported less serious flooding, producing a grim evening commute.


    I took my camera into work today, and fired 'er up when I drove home at 3pm, right into the heart of the third of four rainstorms to buffet the southland. I got home at 4, downloaded the video into my computer, and completed the "mini movie" by 5:15. I'm writing this after 5:30 while the 5 minute and 45 second movie is rendering.

    Here is the latest Los Angeles Times article about the storms. You might have heard that we had a tornado yesterday. It was all over the news. Someone even posted a video on YouTube (which is from Northern California in 2008)! There was lots of wind, and there were tornado advisories, but only a few waterspouts. An SUV was pushed over in the windstorm. Someone SAID it was a tornado.

    Well, MikeVideo will show you what the storm looked like as I drove home. I turned the camera off during the worst of it, cause I was driving after all. It's coming in waves, and each one is succeedingly worse. I'm now sitting in my computer room, with the heat on, and a warm cup of tea by my side. I think it's neat that I can bring you "breaking news' right on my blog.

    Here you go.

    I got this online before 6pm (3 hours from shooting to showcasing) The file is a superior 129MB 3mbps file. The video lasts 5 minutes and 44 seconds and is just as "professional" as any MikeVideo I have online, completely edited with credit sequences.

Comments (45)

  • Sounds lilke you guys are seeing a bit more action than normal.  That's just how we roll here in Oklahoma.  lol  Stay safe!!

  • California is getting some interesting weather with these storms.  Stay safe. We got a double rainbow after lightening, hail and pouring rain.  All in 5 mins time.

  • slightly damp in sunny california.  don't be slidin' into the ocean now

  • Hope your car didn't leak too badly with that hole in the roof -- and I hope your home stayed dry too!  It really was pretty bad -- glad you got home safely!  It's been pretty wild!

  • I have a friend in Simi Valley whose yard was flooded :(

  • That one part of the drive was pretty scary. Glad you made it home safely!

  • Glad that you are making it through these storms and even finding ways to enjoy them. Thanks for sharing.

  • I'm glad everything is ok at your home. Stay dry!

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - Dear Tamy, I'll never forget a trip I took across country. It was in the summer, but when I crossed the great plains, the storms were rather frightening. And you could see their progress as they moved in the distance because of all the "space". That was in the days of analog cameras and I wasted a couple of rolls of film trying to get shots of lightning in the distance.

    @Jaynebug - Dear Lyne, I have some photos of a double rainbow I shot in Palos Verdes. I was right at the edge of a cloud. If I turned in one direction, I saw the storm, and the other, a bright sunny sky with a double rainbow.

    @slmret - Dear Janet, Since I'm parking the car indoors or under the carport, the trip home isn't causing too many leaks. I could have waited an hour for the storm to pass before driving home, but I wanted to get some "footage".

    @saintvi - Dear Melinda, I put the camera down as soon as it seemed like a few millions of gallons of water were being dropped on my car, so the video doesn't show the worst of it. I made a left turn onto the freeway because the road ahead was flooded, and couldn't even see out the window for the next mile or so! I would have pulled to the side of the road, but it's a trucking lane and I didn't want my small sports car to be in danger of being hit by an out of control big rig!

  • I am glad that you are safe.  Take care.

  • Hi Mike,
    Living most of my life in Florida, that kind of squall line is pretty familiar. It looks like your major problem (besides the hillsides turning to soap) is drainage - another problem flat, just a few feet above sea-water, Florida also shares.
    Even though we now live on one of the highest points in our area, we still have flood insurance. Nowadays in FL windstorm/HO insurance is hard to get and there is a big deductible if the windstorm is a hurricane.

  • I've heard about all the crazy weather out there. The weather is a bit unseasonal here, too! It has been in the high 40's low 50's for much of this week...Glad to hear you are safe and keeping dry! Best of luck with what's to come!

  • Were there strange cloud formations after the downpour?

  • i kind of have to laugh at the hysteria of this...i mean, c'mon...we get suv's blown over all the time, don't even make the news...and flooded streets? hahahahahaah...sorry, can't get too worked up...we have those every rain storm...

  • The "worst" of it looked pretty bad but most of it looked like a normal "rain" for mississippi. But we've been known to get some crappy stuff lol. I'm sure that cop was happy to see you filming while driving. I'd have been pulled over (i just have that type of luck).

  • Didn't have time to view the entire video right now. Will come back L8R.

    I'm just glad you're OK. I'm doing well. Put some of my "story" on FB today. Hope to do update on blog more fully Friday - also day for Flatpick Friday & Friday Funnies. :p 

    ~~Blessings 'n cheers :)

  • Day 4 -- just like days 1, 2, and 3 -- except now we've hit critical mass and the hills are sliding.  Funny -- we can usually say that about the dry days, without the hills sliding!  Hope the new prediction that it will all even out soon is right!

  • I am glad you battled the battering storms. The weather these days are frightening (around the globe). Keep safe and stay dry, Mike.

  • I do accept as true with all the concepts you've presented in your post.
    They are very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for newbies.
    May you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent
    time? Thank you for the post.

  • Thanks for the good writeup. It in truth was once a amusement account it.
    Look complicated to more delivered agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we be in contact?

  • Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest
    twitter updates. I've been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time
    and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  • Your method of explaining the whole thing in this piece of writing is
    genuinely fastidious, all be able to easily understand it, Thanks a lot.

  • We absolutely love your blog and find many of your post's to be precisely what I'm looking
    for. Do you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn't mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write about here.
    Again, awesome website!

  • Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it
    out.

  • Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article. I wanted to
    write a little comment to support you.

  • Hello, the whole thinng is going nicely here and ofcourse
    every one is sharing information, that's in fact fine, keep up writing.

  • Great delivery. Solid arguments. Keep up the great spirit.

  • I for all time emailed this web site post page to all my associates, because if like to read
    it next my friends will too.

  • Link exchange is nothing else but it is only placing the other person's weblog link
    on your page at proper place and other person will also do same for you.

  • Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your article post. I like
    to write a little comment to support you.

  • Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting
    anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also make comment due to this
    good article.

  • Its such as you read my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you just could
    do with a few percent to pressure the message house a little
    bit, however other than that, that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read.
    I will definitely be back.

  • Hi there! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I had to
    ask. Does building a well-established website like yours take
    a large amount of work? I am completely new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal
    every day. I'd like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  • Good article! We are linking to this great article on our
    site. Keep up the great writing.

  • What's up friends, good post and good arguments
    commented at this place, I am actually enjoying by these.

  • Excellent, what a blog it is! This webpage gives valuable data to us, keep it up.

  • Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to understand so much about this, such as you
    wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you simply
    can do with some p.c. to drive the message home a little bit,
    but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A great read.

    I will certainly be back.

  • What's up every one, here every person is sharing these kinds of experience, so
    it's nice to read this blog, and I used to go to see this webpage
    everyday.

  • I've been browsing on-line more than 3 hours these days, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It's lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as
    you probably did, the internet will likely be a lot more
    helpful than ever before.

  • What's Going down i'm new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely helpful and
    it has aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & assist other customers like its aided me.
    Great job.

  • Fantastic site. A lot of useful informatioon here.I'm sending it
    to several buddsies ans also sharing in delicious.
    And naturally,thanks to your effort!

  • What's up to every single one, it's genuinely a pleasant for
    me to visit this site, it consists of importawnt Information.

  • It's awesome to paay a visit thiis site aand reading the views
    of all colleagues concerning this paragraph, while I am allso keen of getting familiarity.

  • I love reading a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for permitting me too comment!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories