June 13, 2008

  • News and Notes: What is hip?

    newsandnotes

    What is hip?     My hip replacement was installed in my body fifteen years ago. When the operation was performed, my doctors told me that they had no idea how long the prosthesis would last, because it's usually elderly folks who have hip replacements, and they tended to die off before anyone could determine how long their replacements would stay tight and workable.

    After the operation, it took me three months on a walker to "learn to walk" all over again. I had to take six months disability leave from work. When I was "healed" I dreaded the idea that I'd ever have to go through that again, but knew that there might just be that possibility.

    I remember the thrill of being able to dance again, to walk long distances without any hip or leg pain. This euphoria lasted about eight years, and then the pain began to return. At first, it would "flare up" during times of weather change, and my doctors assured me that this was "normal". I would always be able to "predict the weather". As the years passed, I was pain free about 80% of the time, and hurt a little about 20%. At least this was far better than the 100% pain I experienced before the operation.

    I make sure I get a yearly physical examination from my general practitiioner. For the past few years, I've complained that the pain in my left leg and hip seems to be getting worse. Doc prescribes some X-rays, determines that the screws are still tight, and sends me an automated voicemail message telling me the X-rays show no abnormalcy with my leg and hip.

    DSC01881 X-rays don't show the pain.

    I'm a little late having the physical this year. My reason is that I still haven't paid the complete bill for my colonoscopy last year, so I didn't want to go to the doctor's office until I'd paid off my debt. However, last Thursday night, the pain in my hip prohibited me from getting any sleep, and I called in sick to work Friday morning. I've never had to call in sick because of my hip pain, so this was pretty serious. All week long, I couldn't think of anything else except the pain. I had to use my cane when walking. I decided to schedule the yearly exam, and talk to the doctor about my pain.

    I had some bloodwork scheduled, and the doctor did his usual prodding and poking. I like my doctor, even though he's young enough to be my son, and he always seems to "know" me, and my medical history, so I enjoy consulting with him. Since I have to pay a $20.00 copayment each visit, I try to make sure I have my litany of medical questions ready when I visit, so I get my money's worth. Besides the increased pain, which is now occurring about 80% compared to 20% of the time with no pain, I have also had some problems urinating, and get up multiple times during the night to urinate, only to find a trickle instead of a stream.

    Here are the results of my physical examination.

    I have an enlarged prostate, which is located below the bladder. This is causing my bladder to think that it's fuller than it is, and this is causing my incontinece. The doctor prescibed a pill I have to take every night, possibly for the rest of my life. The medicine should help to shrink my prostate, so I don't feel I have to urinate until my bladder is full. Here's something I didn't know. The bladder holds sixteen ounces of liquid.

    There is some tingling in my left foot when the doctor massaged my left calf, and although his prodding didn't cause me any immediate pain in my hip, there might be nerve damage. I had X-rays taken of both my hip replacement and my lower back. Radiology gave me a set of copies of the X-rays, a couple of which accompany this blog entry, so that I can take them with me when I visit the orthopedics department.

    Yes, I'm getting a referral to orthopedics, which of course is the department which ordered the hip replacement in the first place back in the early 90s. Hopefully they can determine the cause of the pain. My doctor told me I will most probably have to have the hip replacement operation again. I didn't smile when I heard this news.

    Great strides have occurred in medical science since my "first" hip replacement. According to one of our Vice Presidents at work, a friend of her husband's just had a hip replacement and was out walking about in two weeks time. That's a pretty quick recovery. Of course my worry is purely financial. I still have $300.00 to pay on the colonoscopy operation. That was last year. This year I have to start my deduction all over again. It was only $500.00 when I had the first hip replacement. However, inflation has driven the price up to $1500.00 now. (Heck, if I would have had a second hip replacement LAST year, along with the colonoscopy, I would only have had to pay the additional $600.00 for both operations since they would have been in the same year.) DSC01886

    I don't know of course if I will need another hip replacement. (Hip replacement replacement surgery?) I'll find that out after I visit the orthopedic surgeon. Wish me good luck. First the referral goes out to the ortho dept. and to Blue Cross, my HMO. Then I get a letter in about a week telling me to contact the department for an appointment. In the meantime, I did ask for painkillers from my GP. (Something I never thought I'd ever do, since I don't like taking pills.) He prescribed Tylenol with Codeine. I've dropped a pill each night for the last two nights, and have similarly used the prostate medicine. I've had two good night's rest, and I didn't have to constantly go to the bathroom. The pain medication isn't eradicating the pain, but is  blunting it somewhat that I can live with it. I've lived with pain all my life, so a little pain doesn''t hurt that much.

    I had stopped my daily power walk in the middle of last week. At least I was able to return to my walking yesterday morning, and I was able to walk the three blocks without any trouble. My hip is hurting a bit as I sit here and type this morning, but it isn't as bad as it was last week.

    I think I may be pinching a nerve in my leg somehow. This would explain why I can be in great pain for 15-20 minutes and then miraculously it will disappear for a while. But I'm  no expert. That's why there are doctors and a medical industry. I will put my trust and my faith in them, and pray for the best. If I have to do this hip replacement thing all over again, I'll just smile and shrug it off as necessary. Heck, maybe I'll even make a video blog about it!


    On a completely different subject, I was quite disappointed in the response given to the essay "History" on  my previous post, even though it was a repost. If you have the time, and haven't read the essay before, I'd really appreciate feedback. I really think it's one of my best pieces, and thought more people would read and comment. It is pretty long, but it was up here for nearly a week so people could read it in installments if they wanted. MFN/ppf
    VIDEO CORNER: RARE EDIT: 5:40p.m. pdt. I have never done this before. (Post somebody else's video on my blog)  I just came upon this video on YouTube and had to share it. One of the more interesting uses of video editing I've yet seen. Some of the YouTube folks think it's viral but it's not. It's a sponsored advert for Samsung's TouchWhiz Iphone like device. But that doesn't stop the video from being a laugh and completely entertaining. If it weren't for the website address that appears at the end of the video, which most people will probably miss, or the fact I'm telling you, you'd probably never know it was really advertising. I must admit. If advertising takes this form, I don't mind watching it. But as I say, it's the editing technique I love. This is something I would have done if I would have thought of it. (Except for the cheerleaders at the end, of course) (Remember to turn off the music player in the left hand column under the "Jukebox this week" image before playing the video. Enjoy. Again, I DID NOT make this, but I really think it's neat.)

    THIS JUST IN: NBC newsman and host of Meet The Press Tim Russert dead of a heart attack at 58.

Comments (62)

  • I am sorry about the hip, but your boss/supervisor?  is right, they have made great strides and if you do need a new one hopefully it will get you through to the end. lol

    My fingers are crossed for yu and yourin my prayers.

    I haven't yet read the history entry I don't think... sorry, real life is cutting into my Xanga time. lol I will get on that later this evening!

    Be safe!

  • Wait a sec... it looks like there's a screw loose in both x-rays. Not that I'm saying you have a screw loose, but x-rays don't lie! lol

    But seriously Mike, you're a cyborg! heh You're no longer biodegradable either.

  • @angi1972 - Dear Angie, You aren't "required" to read the "History" lesson of course but I would appreciate to hear what you think.

    @harmony0stars - Dear Candace, Yes, I and a couple of folks at work noticed that  a screw seems to be loose. We'll see what happens when the doctors see these and get back to me.

  • Hi! You came and made a lovely comment on my post on how Xanga could improve some time ago. I realized today that here I was talking about making good comments and I had not subscribed to perhaps the best commenter on Xanga. Overcome with shame and horror , I rushed to your page to subscribe to you. That's about it!

    As for the recent flood of comments, 'tis but an aberration due to being featured. I'm going to go hide until the newbies go away, ha, and I can return to my more normal comment load of about 15 comments a post.

  • I am sorry to hear about your hip :( I do like the x-rays (sorry this is my interest, medicine) :P

  • I wish you luck! I hope you won't need a replacement replacement surgery.

    I didn't even notice the loose screw until everyone else mentioned it...guess I'm not super observant.

  • My dad also had to have a hip replacement when he was only 50 or so. It seems to be holding up okay, although I know if he twists wrong or is on his feet working all day it bothers him.

    Hope the doctors can straighten it out for you!

  • Yikes! I'm sorry to hear about your hip. Hopefully the doctors are able to figure out what is going on. They've made great strides with replacements. It seems that the recovery rate is way faster these days than in the past luckily.

  • I see many are telling you what little I know. The new surgery is not as invasive as it was 15 years ago. These joints have a life of 10 - 15 years and usually need to be replaced. Off to read your history post. Best to you

  • Well, don't we all have a screw loose somehow or other?  Hope yours is an easy fix, good luck Mike.  May the Force be with you!

  • Gosh, I'm glad you went to the doctor; you were right, there is something going on.  I hope the medicine helps and that you don't have to have a "hip replacement hip replacement" anytime soon.  I've heard what everyone else is saying, though, that great strides have been made, so hopefully you won't have to be laid up that long, if you do need another one.  My elderly mother needs a hip replacement, but because she is Medicare, they want the co-pay money up front, and she doesn't have it, so she takes Vicodin and stays in bed and suffers.   There's got to be a better way to help people with this.

    I know what you mean - X rays don't show pain.  They don't show the knives in my ankles.  At least you've got screws to show for your pain!  ;)   Take care.

  • The financial aspect of medical care is so disheartening - but do know that the technology has changed SO much that if you do have to have the surgery again, your healing time will be only a fraction of what it was 15 years ago.  As much as you hate to spend the money, it IS your health and well being we're talking about here.  Good luck!

  • Yikes!  Just looking at the pics hurts.  I concur with the notion that a lot of surgical advances have been made since your first replacement.  They are less invasive which contributes to quicker healing time and improved materials should make it the last one you'll ever need. Keep us informed.

  • Video blog a day takes the pain away!

  • Hi Mike,

    I'm sorry to hear of your health issues.  My mother had a hip replacement at the age of 63 due to severe arthritis.  She is doing well now, 2 years later, but she still does experience some pain every now and then.  I really hope that you are not in need of another hip replacement.

    Good thing the prostate thing was something that is easily treatable.  Did you get the PSA test?  My husband is having some problems in that "area" and I hope and pray that it is something relatively benign. 

  • Mike,
    My mom said the same thing about her knee replacement, not until she can't walk. but they have come a long way and she was complicated by severe arthritis. It looks like a screw is loose in that xray. (no pun intended) I did however suffer from hip pain a few years ago and had to have an EMG to test for nerve damage. They determined that I did indeed have nerve damage and the doc explained it to me like a crimped cord on a lamp, you can straighten it back out but the damage is always there. They put me on Lyrica for nerve pain and it helped. I then had my hysterectomy because my hip pain was worse once a month and they thought maybe the swelling of my internal female parts was pushing on this nerve. I have been good ever since with hip pain for the most part. The chiropractor helps me immensely. I do sympathize with the hip pain because mine was so bad, I could hardly walk and couldn't walk without pain. I didn't realize you had this done, or didn't remember if I did know. I do know they have come a long way. So don't pre-judge and I know finances are a concern, but you should be able to set up a payment plan with them, shouldn't you? You have to take care of yourself, you can't live in constant pain!

  • I hope the pain goes away. I'm glad you're getting the prostate thing taken care of. I will now go look up and see what causes an enlarged prostate. Not that I should ever have that problem :fun:

  • Damn man. I hope your prostate delarges. If that's a real word... It seems like a lot of people are undergoing intense pains lately. :-

    That video is awesome.

  • Stay on top of it, and listen to the Doc, and stay as healthy as possible!

    I also read your "History" piece. Well written and thought out, it shows.

  • @GreekPhysique - Dear John, Thanks for the compliment. I also like to be known for my blogposts. I can't help but notice you didn't mention my post here at all. :eek: (Just kidding, but my biggest pet peeve on Xanga is people who don't at least give a passing nod to the post at hand.)

    @Botolf - Dear Drew. I did say that X-rays don't show the pain, but those screws do look mighty intimidating. I won't watch those medical shows and I even hide my eyes on parts of Grey's Anatomy.

    @prettynosyarentu - Dear Kellie, I can't remember from the first X-rays I saw 15 years ago where that errant screw was. It might be screwed into bone or some part that is not visible in these quick photos I made of the X-rays. I'll certainly find out when I go back in for the "verdict".

    @BoureeMusique - Dear Emily, Doc told me it was due to a loss of testesterone, which is common in males of my advanced age.

  • I thought the post was good(history) and thought it'd have more of a response than it does now. I think it's cause of the length that you are not getting the response you desire. Though it was long, I didn't find any problem finding time reading and commenting it.

    Good stuff.

  • Hope you find a simple solution for the hip problem, but I suspect that you are thinking correctly, that it will be more complicated than desired.

    The video is interesting, although in some of today's advertising I have a difficult time finding the connection.

    Hugs, Tricia

  • i think that videos kind of cute. i think it's very true how you'll see a very beautiful place and then all of a sudden it's so crowded up with "junk" from man that it's hard to appeciate what god and see what god created.
    sorry you're having so much medical problems. what you describe does sound like nerve problems. it could originate in the leg or back or anyplace from your leg to your brain. nerves are weird that way. at least you were able to get answers on most of your problems. hopefully you won't have to get another hip replacement. my grandma had one a long time ago. she needs another one too. but both her and my grandpa are to that age where they don't want to have any type of surgery anymore. their in their mid 80s. my grandpa needs another bipass i beleive and the last one was so rough on him he decided he'd rather not go threw another one. but a bipass and a leg are two completely different things.

  • I hope you get cancer.

  • @TheCancerWard - 

    How nice and thoughtful of you.  How many sites have you said that one so far?  90?

  • I'm sorry I didn't have time to read the History post. I didn't even turn my computer on yesterday. My new job and an upcoming art show are taking up ALL my time right now. I've allocated about an hour this morning to try to catch up, but I'm having a migraine that makes reading somewhat difficult. I wish I could just schedule those things so I could be half blind at a time of my choosing and not when I really want to read my friends blogs lol
    I will try to catch up with you if I can schedule in some time tomorrow or Monday for xanga.
    I am so sorry to hear the hip is giving you trouble! I'm sure, though, that even if you do have to have a repeat surgery that your healing will be faster than it was before. When my mother had her hip replaced about 5 years ago, she recovered pretty quickly. I seem to remember that she was standing and walking a little bit in the first few days after the surgery. Of course she was limited in various ways for a couple months, but she got back to her life pretty quickly. I hope the pain management continues to work ok for you.

  • So sorry to hear that you're in pain.  I agree with the above comments that it looks like you have a screw loose (literally, of course, not figuratively!), and am glad that you're going to have a complete diagnosis.  Pain has a way of taking so much from life, doesn't it?  Then, of course, so does a long term regiment of pain medications... (but necessary for a good night's sleep)    For your sake, I hope your ortho consult will be soon.    :wave: 

  • Hang in there, I am sure all will work out well...

    34 eprops/27 comments a "disappointing response"? I have never, ever, garnered totals that high in my history. Even in the peak of my popularity (June 2005-May 2006) I averaged about 8-12 eprops per week and peak values around 24. I can only dream of commanding a readership like yours. Maybe my life is too boring to generate that level of interest...

  • You're in prayers, Mike, hope that you do not have to undergo surgery again...

  • Wow, the experience sounds remarkably dreadful, and I might add, very unhip and totally not groovy.

    Nevertheless, it may save some lives:

    You: Uh oh, get to the storm cellar.

    Them: Why? There isn't a cloud in the sky.

    You: My hip just twitched.

    Them: BATTEN DOWN THE HATCHES.

  • With all the pics you added... kind of glad you didn't add a pic of the enlarged prostate. haha :giggle:

  • International Wed, Feb 25, 2015Source: schupepetents.

  • I am actually delighted to glance at this weblog posts which includes plenty of useful facts,
    thanks for providing these kinds of data.

  • Woah! I'm really loving the template/theme of this site.
    It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's challenging to get
    that "perfect balance" between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you have done a awesome job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Firefox.

    Exceptional Blog!

  • Hello there I am so thrilled I found your web site,
    I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Askjeeve for
    something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also
    added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more,
    Please do keep up the great work.

  • Keep on working, great job!

  • May I simply just say what a relief to uncover somebody that truly knows
    what they are discussing over the internet.
    You certainly know how to bring an issue to light and make it
    important. More people have to check this out and understand
    this side of your story. It's surprising you're not more popular because you surely possess the gift.

  • No matter if some one searches for his required thing, so he/she wants to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over here.

  • I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours as of late, but I never discovered any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty price enough for
    me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content material
    as you probably did, the net can be much more useful than ever before.

  • After checking out a number of the articles on your web site, I
    really appreciate your technique of blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark website
    list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my web site too and let me know your opinion.

  • No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, thus he/she desires to be
    available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained
    over here.

  • Hi there! I'm at work surfing around your blog from my new apple
    iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the fantastic work!

  • You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the
    web. I'm going to recommend this web site!

  • Very good blog you have here but I was wonering if you knew of any community forums that cover the
    samee topics talked about inn this article? I'd really love to be a psrt of community where I can get advice from
    other knowledgeable individuals that shar the same
    interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me
    know. Blesss you!

  • This excellent website truly has all the information I needed concerning this subject and didn't know who to ask.

  • I read this article fully regarding the difference of most
    up-to-date and preceding technologies, it's remarkable article.

  • I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this
    website is actually pleasant.

  • Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic,
    let alone the content!

  • Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It's always helpful to read through articles from other writers and use
    a little something from other web sites.

  • That is a very good tip particularly to those new to
    the blogosphere. Short but very precise info…
    Thank you for sharing this one. A must read article!

  • I don't even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was great. I don't know who you are but certainly you're going to a famous blogger if you aren't
    already ;) Cheers!

  • Hi! Quick question that's entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your
    site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when browsing from my
    iphone4. I'm trying to find a theme or plugin that might
    be able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Many thanks!

  • I have read so many posts concerning the blogger lovers but this
    paragraph is genuinely a nice piece of writing, keep
    it up.

  • Can I simply say what a comfort to discover an individual who genuinely knows
    what they're discussing on the web. You certainly understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.

    More people need to look at this and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised you aren't more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  • WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for cialis

  • I think this is one of the most significant info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The website
    style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

  • After I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked
    the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added
    I recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment.

    Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from
    that service? Appreciate it!

  • Generally I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a
    look at and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me.

    Thank you, very nice article.

  • Fastidious answers in return of this issue with real
    arguments and describing the whole thing on the topic oof that.

  • What a information of un-ambiguity and preservesness of precious experience about unprsdicted feelings.

  • If you would like too improve your know-how simply
    keep visiting this site and bee updated with the most recent news posted here.

  • Yes! Finally someone writes about generic ciqlis lowest price.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories