January 24, 2007

  • Internet Island Entry: Can you find everything on YouTube

    internetisland3Internet Island Entry For Topic 22.04: YouTube: TV on the internet that you program yourself. The Internet Island Topic this time out is "Our Internet World", and asks us to blog about either 1. What our home page is set at and what we see when we "enter" the internet, 2. To tell our "internet history". (I already have one, "A Short History of the World Wide Web" which has been featured on the blog before. 3. What we do on our computers besides blog, and special mention was made about if any of us participate in role playing games and also to predict the future of cyberspace, and lastly, 4. The topic I've chosen. YouTube.


    youtubelogo

    It is said you can find anything on YouTube that you search for. Is this true?????? 

    REMEMBER TO TURN OFF THE MUSIC BEFORE PLAYING ANY OF THE VIDEOS.  (Player is in the sidebar to the left.)

    I know I must repeat this every third entry or so, but I "predicted" YouTube, or something like it, back in 1999, when I put up the MikeVideo© Page on my AllThingsMike website."We will all have our own television stations on the web", I proclaimed, during the time of nascent streaming technology (which sucked, by the way). Six years later, YouTube arrived from out of nowhere, spawned dozens of copycat sites, and surpassed MySpace as the most popular website on the internet. According to  Alexa's top 500 websites, the "Tube" is currently #5. Yahoo is #1, and YouTube is still ahead of MySpace. Pundits have been proclaiming that "you can find anything you seek in the form of filmed or videotaped entertainment on YouTube. I use it to store my videos, but I've never "searched" the site to find something. I know bloggers who spend hours "watching" YouTube. The site navigation is almost nonexistant. They seem to be copying sites like Webshots (and Xanga) by listing "featured content" which is none other than the videos and "channels" which get the most hits. Like everything else on the internet, there is a Search bar, and I set out to prove that you can't find everything you look for.

    I developed a "search list" chock heavy with televised events, cultural milestones, little known or despised films, old TV shows, news, anything I could think of that I didn't think YouTube would even recognize. The list started out with 15 "search terms" but I ended up with more than 25. Can you find anything on YouTube?

    My findings, in a nutshell.Yes. It's an amazing site. I don't know how long it will stay that way. Google gobbled it up a few months ago. Pretty soon it will probably go the way of the "free internet". But for now, it serves as the audio visual equivalent of Wikipedia.  I will list the links for the videos in most cases, but in some I will embed the video here so you can watch it if you want to. I must have spent three hours this morning looking into the hidden corners and seldom travelled byways of the YouTube site. Since it has "related" videos to everything you see, you can keep clicking for nearly forever.

    1. Howard The Duck. There won't be any videos of Howard the Duck, from 1986, a multimillion dollar "bomb" of a movie that was made byWillard Huyck and Gloria Katz, who worked for executive producer George Lucas. Where "Star Wars" introduced computer operated cameras to shoot the spaceships, CGI in those days was just beginning, and instead of a computer generated character, Howard and the other ducks are people wearing duck suits. Believe it or not, Howard has fans on YouTube. There are 27 videos listed in the directory, these among them.

     Howard the Duck: Duck Season and Howard The Duck Best Scene

    2. Nixon's resignation speech. I thought I'd search for a historical television "moment:", when then president Richard Nixon, facing possible impeachment because of the Watergate scandal, announced his resignation from the Presidency. Most people on the internet weren't around back then.

    Here's just a truncated version of the speech. Just one of three vids by three different people.  There are 1107 entries for the search "Nixon." They've even got "Checkers".

    3. Commander McBragg. I love cartoons. Especially old television cartoons that nobody remembers and the Cartoon Network website doesn't recognize. He's on YouTube, however.

    4. Underdog So I started listing favorite cartoon shows from when I was young. I had to refine my search to "Underdog Cartoon" when over 1400 videos showed up, most of them music videos by a band named, oddly enough, "Underdog". But there are 24 instances of Underdog clips, including this Underdog Cartoon: Tricky Trap By Tap-Tap (1967)

    5 Tennessee Tuxedo? Don Adams (Get Smart) voiced the irrepressible Tennesse, who lives in the zoo with his Walrus friend Chumley and my favorite character, Phineas J. Whoopee, "the man with all the answers" who has to continually give Tennessee advice to get him out of various jams. (And actually teaches science and technology to  the kids watching the cartoon.)

    6.Gerald McBoingBoing.  The winner of the Oscar for Best animated short subject in 1950, this cartoon was created by Bill Scott, one of the co-creators and writers of Rocky and Bullwinkle, and written by Dr. Suess. Hooray, it isn't on YouTube. (right now, at least)

    7.Levi's commercials with Ken Nordine Ken Nordine, the creator of what is called "word jazz", narrated a series of surreal Levi's jeans commercials in the 70s. I couldn't find any of these, but Ken, who is 86, has a YouTube Channel and makes videos. I did find a couple of interesting 70s Levis commercials on YouTube, however.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBvQ5Eb9oZ8
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15XXtaQF8S0

    8.Betty White's Frigidaire commercials? Even I'm not old enough to remember these, which were on television in the 50s. Does YouTube remember? No Way! Undoubtedly YouTube is too young as well. I did an internet search and found some episodes of "Life With Elizabeth"  which was the name of Betty White's (The Golden Girls) first TV show, in 1955 available on videotape,

    9. Wally Cox? The comedian who occupied the "center square" on Hollywood squares is only available on 13 clips, and most of them are from one user and are guest appearances on "Here's Lucy", one of Lucille Ball's later series. No clips of "Mr Peepers" on YouTube. Here's a sketch from a Bob Hope special that will bring back memories for anyone past the age of 50 however. EDIT: 1/25/07 7:55 p.m. ERRATA:  I wrote above that Wally Cox occupied the center square on Hollywood Squares and I was all set to report that this was incorrect. I flashed on  Paul Lynde , and checked his wikipedia, and it says he was center square from '68 to '81. I further refined my search on wikipedia to "Wally Cox, Hollywood Squares" which took me to THIS PAGE,  which states that Wally was, indeed, in the center square, but the date is unknown (by whomever submitted the name to wikipedia, anyway.) In any case, Wally was on Hollywood Squares, and, at he's on YouTube.

    10. Oswald getting shot? How about a moment from 1963. The shocking image of Lee Harvey Oswald, the accused gunman who was arrested and charged with shooting President Robert Kennedy, never got his day in court. Two days later, on live TV, Jack Ruby, a nightclub owner with a penchant for packing heat, shot him in cold blood in the first instance of a homicde being carried live on television.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rp3sX3A48g

    11. Georges Melies "First Men in the Moon" from 1907. Would one of the first "special effects"  movies ever invented be on YouTube. YouBet. I couldn't find it at first, however. It was listed under it's French title (natch)  "Eclipse De Soleil En Pleine Lune" See for yourself.

     12. First Men on the Moon Not the movie. But the event, which took place on July 20, 1969, when Neil Armstrong set foot on the lunar surface. One small step for man, one large step for YouTube. Here is a compilation video  assembled by a 20 year old YouTube user who wasn't even a gleam in his father's eye back in 69.  

    13 Hampster Dance? Early "internet historical and cultural landmark. Who can forget them. Those marvelous dancing hampsters and their legion of imitators. Go ahead. Click Play. We know you want to hear that noxious, er, I mean, catchy tune.

     14. Rock em Sock em Robots commercial from the 60s  They're HERE. (By Marx!)

    15. Challenger disaster Another benchmark television event where everyone who saw it remembers exactly what they were doing. Relive it if you must on YouTube.60 videos appear on the search, but not all of them apply.

    16. Mickey Mouse Club credit sequence No dice, but does this mean Mickey and the gang aren't on YouTube? No way. When the search is further refined to just Mickey Mouse Club. YouTube returned this gem.

    17. The Mouskartoon? I can still sing the Mousekartoon theme song. The Mousekartoon theme lives on YouTube (for a while, at least, until Disney finds out.) Here's Darlene, from the original Mouse Club, however, twisting that old Mousekadial.  (from the right to the left with a great big smile.) FYI: A search for "Disney" returns almost 34,000 videos.

     18. The Waitresses singing "No Guilt"? I was never a fan of MTV and didn't collect music much during the 80s because they brought out some newfangled invention called the CD which might have made my record collection obsolete. However, I love the girl group "The Waitresses", and wondered if my favorite Waitresses song is on YouTube. It's not. I don't even know if it was a video. So No luck, but they do have "I know what boys like."

    Speaking of music videos, they also have Duran Duran's "Hungry Like the Wolf", which was the first music video I ever saw on MTV. You want a fix of early MTV? Go to YouTube. "Sledgehammer" by Peter Gabriel. "Leave Me Alone" by Michael Jackson. I believe possibly every video you could think of is on YouTube. Even the very first music video shown on MTV when it debuted , "Video Killed the Radio Star" by The Buggles. If you're into music, just start searching. Here's Little Richard singing "Lucille" in 1957. The Rolling Stones on Ed Sullivan.

     And I love this. Music historian and all around cultural watchdog Ed Kaz, whose popular and humorous Xanga site is one of my favorite reads, showcases rare and hard to find 45s on his YouTube site, capnquirky. The videos show the 45s spinning around on a turntable, one of the more clever uses of YouTube.  I've selected Elvis Presley's "A Mess of Blues" from 1960 for your enjoyment.


    19. Stupid pet tricks Letterman I loved the Letterman show in the 80s. It's difficult now to see him look so young. Here is a stupid pet trick from 1983.

    20. Teri Garr on Letterman Paul Reubens (Pee Wee Herman) was a frequent guest on Letterman, since I was thinking about his show. I always enjoyed the apprearances by comic actress Teri Garr, with whom I was in love for may years. No such luck. There are some early instances of extra work in bad musicals and short independent films, however, and the expected many Young Frankenstein clips.


    21.Baghdad street scene I started to think that I was staying inside the cultural box, picking televison, movie, and musical fare, so I typed "Baghdad street scene" into the search engine. I came up with THIS.

    22. John Cameron Swaze's Timex commercials Like the Betty White commercials, these early Timex watch commercials don't seem to be among the many clips on YouTube. But I did see an interesting Timex ad from 1961.

    23 Alfred Hitchcock My favorite film director of all time is the great Alfred Hitchcock. During the late 50s and early 60s, he became somewhat iconic because of his signature opening and closing remarks for his televison show, Alfred Hitchcock Presents. He's on YouTube as well.
    I found this during the Hitchcock search.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjj32CavzU0

    So now I tried some more movies.

    24. Shane....too broad, lots of guys named Shane. Refined the search to "Shane Alan Ladd"

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvVbXkgVUVw
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHAmChjih68 (longer, but doesn't look too good.)

    25. Jack the Giant Killer Now I figured I'd type in a movie I remember loving as a small boy, but which was never released on video. I saw "Jack the Giant Killer" during the Saturday afternoon children'smatinees at the old El Monte Theater in 1962, when it came out. I thought it had not been released on video, but imdb lists a 2004 DVD release. Was a clip from this favorite film on YouTube?
    YouBetcha.

    And I can't believe this.

    26.Crusader Rabbit The first cartoon series by Jay Ward (Bullwinkle) One of the first cartoon series I remember watching. The series I saw was the 1957 version, which was shot in color, after creators Jay Ward and Alex Anderson sold the rights. The video below is the credit sequence from the 1957 series.

     Crusader Rabbit Episode One This link will show the "original" Crusader Rabbit cartoon, from 1949, by Jay Ward. It's only five minutes long, and was the earliest example of a televised cartoon program. I always thought Hanna/Barbera's Ruff and Ready, from1957, was the first cartoon made especially for television. The YouTuber who posted the first episode has about half a dozen on his channel. In fact, at five minutes, it's the perfect size for YouTube and the internet. Television technology of the past designed for the future.

    27. "Sock It To Me" EDIT: 8:31 p.m pst. I can't help myself. I just woke up from a nap with another idea. Back in the 70s before "Saturday Night Live" came on TV, there were two comedy variety shows that pushed the envelope a bit. "Rowan and Martin's Laugh-In" and "The Smothers Brothers." I just typed in "Sock it to Me", a national catch phrase from "Laugh-In". Lots of band clips again, and dozens of sock puppet videos. ("Sock Puppets" returns 1024 vids.) A refined search to "Sock it to me, Laugh-In" returns THIS gem. In case you're interested, Laugh-In, which is on DVD, has 21 entries, and the Smothers Brothers search returns 58 videos, mostly musical performances from the show, but including a couple of comedy routines.  

    So, to conclude. I had fun today. I took a scheduled vacation day off work, and this morning I wrote my Topic Entry for the Internet Island, and began formulating this post. I won't say this research didn't take time, It's now past noon. But I learned something I didn't know.

    YOU CAN FIND MOST ANYTHING YOU WANT IN THE FORM OF VISUAL ENTERTAINMENT, NEWS, OR CULTURAL HISTORY ON YOUTUBE. And if you're visiting the latest internet craze, please CLICK ON THE MIKEVIDEO CHANNEL, while you're at it.

Comments (58)

  • I haven't searched YouTube that much, but I did do a search on Spike Jones, and had a fun time looking at some of his silly music.  Took me back to my childhood.  Guess I spend too much time here on Xanga so that I don't check out YouTube much.  It is like Xanga in a way, in that you can get sidetracked and on another trail so easily, so much so that you cannot remember where you began!!  What fun!

  • I thought the Hamster one was pretty fun. . .

  • Dear Mike,I had no that Gerald McBoingBoing was so old!?! And probably the reason it isn't on YouTube is because it is a current cartoon which is shown on Nickelodeon (I think ... maybe on Noggin ... not sure). Here I thought it was something new! But, I do love that cartoon for its silliness.And, it is somewhat funny that you posted this, because I've been "watching" YouTube for the last few weeks and was surprised to find some old videos of groups I enjoyed from the 80's ... from Mexico. I already have it ready, just gonna post on Friday.Love,Liz

  • I've just been getting into poking around on YouTube, and you can find some pretty amazing stuff there.  It could be an incredible time-suck, just like Xanga, if I didn't limit my time there.  I'm familiar with most of the things you mentioned here, and you really jogged my memory with some!  Wow--Teri Garr on Letterman. . .my husband still talks about the time he talked her into taking a shower on his show.  Hubby was in love with her for years, too.  When she was cast as Phoebe's mom on Friends, it was a stroke of genius!

  • hampster dance, i had forgotten that one until now!!! great job!!

  • What a great ride you took on this post - thanks for bringing us along!  Lots of memories here, along with some intriguing stuff I don't remember or never saw before.

  • I was absolutely thrilled when I found clips from the movie Xanadu on Youtube!!!! And then in just a click and a wink....it was on my Xanga for all to see.  How brave of me to admit that love of Xanadu to all my Xangan friends...but at least no one unsubscribed.  Great entry!  But then again you are the master of Internet Island.  Have a great day!

  • RYC:  Oh yes...I rarely get spam in my main email..but I get thousands in my junk email.  That is the address I use whenever curious about a site but it requires sign-up of some sort.  It has worked like a charm.  I hate time-wasters...and cleaning out spam is on of em!  And I got a question for you...do you have an html code to log previous posts in your right module, or do you manually add each of them? That is one of my favorite ways you have organized your site here.  Have a great day!

  • A friend of mine recently directed me to an excellent video of this guy who plays the tabla, a crazy Eastern drum-type thing. Ooh, I found it: http://youtube.com/watch?v=6Pt0ZOiQF7s. His name is Aloke Dutta. Forgive the girlish use of "testicles" that one time. My grandmother and I ate some in Spain, and it resonated through the whole thing. Also, other than a slingshot, what else are you going to do with a grapefruit and two rubber bands? Those questionnaires are really childish, as I've known to be your sentiment forever, but I enjoy them for that very reason. They bring out the random stuff you wouldn't normally be able to dig out of a person otherwise. I usually treat them as different writing prompts rather than one-liner fillers (though those are fun sometimes, too). You know, I was wondering this morning who produces all of those things, too. Kinda funny. Thanks for the comment about my girlishness. I've grown to really value and appreciate my personal mix of professionalism, maturity, and pure silliness. Moderation in everything; to everything there is a season; laugh and love whenever appropriate Peace, Mike! I love your take on the Internet, and I'll have my own piece to say soon enough.

  • I don't do Youtube but my kids go there all the time!

  • I have a few things on YouTube and my son does as well, but it's not a site I frequent. Usually I go there only when referred. All your searches, and particularly the LaughIn one, made me go look for an old friend of mine, Dennis Allen. Alas, there is only one video of him, from Sesame Street. I was kind of hoping for the tricycle ride from LaughIn.I also look at a lot of cat videos. :spinning:

  • Hi Mike.  I have been having trouble with my pc.  I got a virus and then lost some of the memory so I couldn't access your site.  Everytime I tried to access the site I got an error and the pc hung up.  Just managed to get it fixed.  What a blog to come back to.  This is just amazing.  I haven't been on YouTube very much until this blog.  I never realized most of this stuff existed.  I am going to have to go out and check it out myself. 
    I hope that things are going well for you.  I am going to go and look at some of the other blogs that I missed now.  I have missed your blogs. 
    I will write on one of the topics this weekend.  I can't wait to see what comes out of the other members.
    Hugs and take care of yourself.
    Kat

  • so far all I have searched for in youtube I have found...

  • Hi Mike, Thank you for all the links. It will take some time to explore.  I am especially interested in the Nixon video. It is always interesteig the political play that happened during the hight of the cold war. Just think how it would have been if you were the founder of "Television on the inernet". I am campaignin these days for a universal remote control in my cell phone....still waiting for it to happen.
    Today I appreciated your long comments. I needed it so a big "Thank you". Maybe I must focus again on the Wizard_Warrior element of my Xanga. The hardliners who come again and again to one's site is of more value than having masses of people who come and dissapear.  Thank you for your continued support.

  • Thank-you for the First Men On the Moon. Always wanted to see that and had forgotten I'd always wanted to see that. Now further avenues of searches are open :goodjob:

  • A while back i found an episode of "Green Acres" that i never saw...well, actually a scene :fun: Never tried for "My Mother the Car" or Guccione's "Caligula"...but YouTube is like a Pandora's box, and now that it's been opened even if they shut it down other YouTube-like sites will emerge :coolman:

  • You certainly *can* find anything you want on YouTube.... and Google Video. RYC ~ Try searching for "Koresh" or "Davidian" if you want to really narrow down the results to the relevant topic (I've been doing this a while...)

  • YouTube will probably run into copyright problems before long, if for no other reason than it is drawing too much attention to itself.

  • ah yes Crusader Rabbit! That used to be the only thing on when I woke up in the morning. Well, except for the Modern Farmer.Guess who else is on YouTube? COLONEL BLEEPRemember him?Of course you do.kaz

  • Very cool. :wave:

  • youtube... my lifeline and connection to my love for asian drama/tv! the world w/o it was a much more boring place! :heartbeat: and it's only like 2.5 years old!

  • I am one of the weird ones who has never really been on youTube. All my contact with it has been things that people have posted on their blogs.

  • Did you know they even have Lamb Chop on YouTube?They took that show off air years ago, I believe.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6QZc6GpU2dU
    Take care,libby

  • It's great that you are getting ideas from this piece of writing as well as from our discussion made at this place.

  • "And does it have a place on a church marquee.

  • My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post's to be precisely what I'm looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn't mind creating a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects
    you write concerning here. Again, awesome weblog!

  • Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new
    initiative in a community in the same niche. Your
    blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  • Howdy! This article couldn't be written much better! Looking at this article reminds me of
    my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this.
    I will forward this information to him. Fairly certain he
    will have a good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  • Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and come with almost all vital infos.

    I would like to look extra posts like this .

  • Very nice article. I definitely love this site. Stick with it!

  • Nice blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What host are you using?
    Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my site loaded up as quickly
    as yours lol

  • Hello to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is
    getting more from this web page, and your views are good in favor of new users.

  • Thankfulness to my father who shared with me regarding this web site, this blog is genuinely awesome.

  • It's remarkable designed for me to have a web page, which
    is useful designed for my experience. thanks admin

  • Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. This is an extremely
    neatly written article. I'll be sure to bookmark
    it and come back to learn more of your useful info. Thanks for the post.
    I will certainly comeback.

  • I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I'm looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    thanks a lot

  • Thanks for another great post. Where else could anyone get that kind of info in such an ideal approach of writing?
    I've a presentation subsequent week, and I'm on the look for such information.

  • Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article. I like to write a little comment to support you.

  • What's up, of course this paragraph is truly fastidious
    and I have learned lot of thinbgs ffrom it about blogging.

    thanks.

  • Hi there, You have done an excellent job. I'll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am confident they'll be benefited from this site.

  • Amazing! Its truly amazing post, I have got much clear idea regarding from
    this paragraph.

  • Superb blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I'm hoping to start my own site soon but I'm a little
    lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I'm completely
    confused .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

  • What's up everyone, it's my first pay a visit at this website,
    and paragraph is actually fruitful for me, keep up posting
    such posts.

  • Asking questions are truly nice thing if you are not understanding something entirely, except this post offers fastidious understanding even.

  • Wow, that's what I was looking for, what a information! present here at this blog,
    thanks admin of this web page.

  • It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it
    is time to be happy. I have learn this submit and if I may I desire to counsel you some fascinating issues or tips.

    Maybe you could write next articles regarding this article.
    I want to read more issues about it!

  • Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets
    I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I've been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some
    time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience
    with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  • Hello, yeah this piece of writing is truly fastidious and I have
    learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

  • Hi there to every single one, it's actually a nice for me to go to see this site, it contains priceless Information.

  • This is really interesting, You're a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of
    your fantastic post. Also, I've shared your web site in my social networks!

  • Somebody necessarily assist to make significantly
    posts I would state. That is the very first time I frequented
    your web page and up to now? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular put up extraordinary.
    Fantastic task!

  • Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization? I'm trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I'm not seeing very good results.

    If you know of any please share. Thank you!

  • It's remarkable iin favor of me to have a website, which is valuable in support
    of my know-how. thanks admin

  • It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it's time to be happy.
    I've read this post andd iff I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things oor advice.Maybe you cann write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read even more things about it!

  • Hi there I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found
    you by error, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I aam here
    now and woupd just like to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don't have time
    to read through iit all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also
    included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will bbe back to read a
    lot more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  • If you wish for to improve your experience simply keep visiting this website and bee updated with the hottest news updafe posted here.

  • I am in fact thankful to the holder of this web page who has shared this enormous
    piece of writing at here.

  • Heya i'm for the first time here. I found this board and I find It reslly useful & it helpeed me out much.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories