July 9, 2006

  • Internet Island Topic Entry #14.01





     books


    A Topic Entry for The Internet Island Blogring. Topic: #14.01. 'First Books'  More topic entries can be found HERE.


    Books, an essay by Michael F. Nyiri


    Opening the door to the El Monte Public Library in the spring of 1961 and being issued my first library card at the age of seven years old gave me permanent access to the many doors of the clustered books within it's walls. Doors which I knew even prior to being issued the card, during a second grade field trip, would grant me the immersion into the many exciting and faraway worlds of literature.


    The first library book I checked out that afternoon was a picture book about Igor Sikorsky, and had lots of photos and diagrams of helicopters. A true "first book" for a little boy. I read about the life of the inventor, which was sparsely written, and enjoyed the full color pictures. Pictures have always been important, but it was the words which really excited me.


    A couple of years earlier, even before stepping foot in the first grade class of Mrs. Malin, who would shepherd my instatiable thirst for words, I would sit on my mother's knee as she read from the Humpty Dumpty Children's magazines. Slowly but surely, I learned to read, and in the first grade, those "Dick and Jane" books grew tiring very quickly.books1


    Looking over some of the earlier books that I still own, one, a "Children's Treasury" by the publishers of Reader's Digest, shows it is "the property of Gertrude Christman", my second grade teacher, who gave me this and other books as gifts, when I quickly finished the classroom assignments.


    I still own some of the first books I remember reading. Others are probably still in the stacks of the El Monte Public Library. My parents weren't stingy about buying their children encyclopedias, book series, and almost complete sets of Little Golden Books and Best In Childrens' Books for Young Readers.


    Some books stand out as early favorites. I still have "The Bible Story", of which a copy of the first volume was in almost every dentist and doctor's office I saw as a child. There was a mix of illustration and text. The pictures got smaller quickly however. I loved to peruse the Golden Book Encyclopedia, in multiple volumes. We also had the World Scope Encyclopedia, a less popular competitor to the World Book Encyclopedia, also peddled door to door in the early sixties.


    Dick, Jane, the illustrated Bible stories, and colorful reference books took a back seat to the library, where the Sikorsky book was returned and traded in for more fictional fare with less illustration. My mother and father took me to the library every two weeks, usually on a Friday night, so I could immerse myself in the books during the weekend away from school. I seem to think the first long "adult" novel my mother picked out for me to read was James T Farrell's 1935 masterpiece "Studs Lonigan". I clearly remember feeling freed of my own life when travelling to the world inside this sometimes steamy look at the life of an Irish American in the 20s. I was a great fan of the Jules Verne section of the library, and can still envision within my mind's eye the look of the various Verne books as they sat on the shelf. Soon all the cards inside their spines had my name embellished upon them. My favorite Jules Verne novel is "Around the World in Eighty Days". It was a rather thick book, but I sped through this wonderful tale which takes the reader to so many places, each described fully and fantastically.


    "Gone With the Wind", by Margaret Mitchell, written in 1936, was a favorite book from my early childhood. I read it in the fifth grade, and saw the movie for the first time the following year. Both the novel and the movie are priceless to me now. I've read lots of books that became favorite movies, but this was the first instance where I read the novel and then saw the movie relatively soon. This was in the days before video, so the movie was shown in a theater during a revival in 1967.


    books3 In junior high, I spent a lot of lazy weekends lying on my parent's bed reading some of the novels in my mother's "Reader's Digest Condensed Book" series. Being condensed, these did not have the complete text of an original edition, but I first read "Youngblood Hawke", by Herman Wouk, as a condensed book, and this spurred me to search out the larger edition in a library a few years later. Wouk became a favorite author, and his "Winds of War" and "War and Remembrance" occupy a special place in my library.


    Also in junior high was where I discovered "Roget's Thesaurus", which is a reference work, and not a novel, but it still is a favored book of mine, which I discovered relatively early in life. The teacher who introduced me to the thesaurus was Mr. Gardner in seventh grade, and he is also responsible for my immersing my own self into the art of writing. I began my first novel, "The Sands of Time", a time travel novel in the science fiction genre, during the summer before I attended high school. By the end of high school, I had finished that novel and had begun writing two others. Two of my short stories were featured in the literary magazine when I was both a junior and a senior.


    Books opened the door. There are countless unnamed science fictions, westerns, romances, and thrillers, of which their words passed quickly but surely under my eyes as I sped through each action and character thought. Memory gives me good feeling for so many books. My mother loved thrillers and crime stories. My father loved technical manuals. That first book I checked out from the library could very well have satisfied my father, with it's science and mechanics about helicopter flight, but I took more after my mother. She even introduced me to "Peyton Place", written by Grace Metalious in 1956, and still considered a "racy" book. I read that book three times before I got out of high school.


    The high school library unfolded new bookcovers and opened even more doors. My favorite book series when I was in high school was by Henry Gregor Felson. This was a series about hot rodding and kids trying not to become juvenile delinquents. Two of the titles are "Hot Rod" and "Street Rod". As I remember, the main character in one of these novels dies quite irresponsively and this bore a great deal of weight with me.


    Another book I cherished from the high school library was about the subject of photojournalism, with examples since the civil war of news photography. This book stirred my interest in photography, and I was enrolled in journalism class as well as a freshman. Newspapers also contain words, and I've been a news junkie and a bookworm for all of my life. Now my hunger for both are being fed by the internet, since actual newspapers are disappearing, and those remaining are losing words for more illustration. I picked up a book yesterday, and have only skimmed the surface, but Dan Brown's "The Da Vinci Code" is finally in paperback, and a friend loaned me his copy. I haven't finished a book in three years, and the last four or five books I read were non fiction books about film history, a subject I also love to read about, but which I didn't mention in this article about favorite early books. Daniel Blum's "Screen World" and "The Movies", of which I couldn't find any information, and "Truffaut's Hitchcock", which I "permanently borrowed"  from one neighborhood library were favorite early film books. My library of film related literature probably now surpasses my library of novels.


    Here's to libraries, teachers, and books. As I turned back the spine of the Dan Brown book, and as my eyes readjusted themselves to the words on an actual page, I became immersed again, and began another journey, into another book, and off on another adventure.  







    Pages_turn


    The image of the Little Golden Book and the Reader's Digest Condensed books were taken from a Google search on the web. In the Photo at top, the following books are arranged on my bed. "Gone With the Wind" paperback, not original, purchased in a second hand bookstore in the 70s. "Roget's College Thesaurus" is the original, from when I was in junior high. The book open to the image of the spacecraft is the "Reader's Digest Treasury" and to it's left, also open, it the only copy of the multi volume Children's Book series I own. In the foreground is a "faked" book jacket for my own novel, "The Sands of Time", which I created in high school.

Comments (34)

  • I have pretty much shut down my jeffskills site, but I wanted to comment on this post, as it reminded my of my first library card, my first public library, wandering the shelves at the Alden Terrace Library, reading Dr. Suess and other wonders waiting to be discovered.  I am especially pleased that my new book is coming out in a library edition hardcover.  Thanks for reminding me.

  • Great blog! I remember those little Golden Books, Dick and Jane, and those good old Readers Digest Condensed books.  We have a great library here in Arlington only a couple of blocks from where I live.  Lucky me.

  • This is an awesome post Michael -- same subject I am going to post on... but I dont' remember the first five or even the last ... I'm using my fav five and yes, one is my favorite children's book which I read and re-read and then made my kids read LOL

  • This blog gives me food for thought. How I used to reillustrate books that I thought were poorly done...Like Madeline. :littlekiss:

    I thought I was young reading Gone With The Wind in the seventh grade. I was an avid reader but would have to (and still do) read slowly and repeat phrases to comprehend. So it took me three months to read it. Then I passed it on to friends. My own child was never into reading books so he would pass his assignments off on "I saw the movie." The movie never measures up to books and my own imagination. :spinning:

  • Mike. i haven't forgotten the writing topic.....just not enough time lately.
    My sister is a librarian and I will have something to say on this topic!! (Tomorrow evening)

  • Hey Mike

    Great blog.  I almost posted on this one myself.  Books have been such a huge part of my life.  I just couldn't remember the first ones I read.  They were always my release from life.  I remember when I was in middle school some saleman sold my mom a set of encyclopedias and about 25 classic books.  They were Heidi, Black Beauty, The Arabian Nights etc.   I don't think that there was one of those books that I didn't read at least 10 times.   There wasn't a library in my town so those books became my own personal library for a number of years.  Thanks for reminding us how important they are in our lives.

    Thanks also for the letter.  It was very nice of you.  I know how time consuming that must have been.  Thanks for the thought.

    Kat

  • Great story. I think it's so amazing how you remember such detail...I have no idea how old I was when I first went to the library! You're selection of favorites as a child is quite impressive! Thanks for sharing your memories...

    RYC: Yes, I am leaning towards not even bothering with MySpace. Xanga's hard enough to keep up with...

  • How do you have room in your brain for all those memories? Somehow I picture a slot in the side of your head, right behind your right ear (why the right?), where you pop in the memory disks as needed.

    You did trigger one memory, however. I remember being into biographies at about the age of ten, and checking one of an actor, named Alan Dale I think. I'm sure the librarian had no idea how 'adult' this autobiography was or she would never have let me take it out, lol. He left no details out, at least not to my ten year old mind. A real eye opener, lolol.

  • :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: the library

    I AM ALWAYS THERE

    I also love GWTW

    It is sucha great story

    i wanted to mention it but thenstuck with anne
    AWESOME IDEA FOR A POST
    I LOVE THE ISLAND
    u all rock

  • dang, you're pretty good at remembering things from way back when. I mean I do remember reading all of the Dr. Seuss books, there was this Caterpillar book where the Caterpillar just ate and ate and ate and then slept for awhile and then was a beautiful butterfly. There was also a book called Where the Wild Things Are, that I ended up sharing with my brother.

    However, I couldn't tell you what the first book I read or what my favorite one was, it was probably all of them .

    Hope all is well. Peace out and take care.

    Autumn

  • Due to some unfortunate health issues, and money problems resulting from them, I haven't been online often. In fact, I am so seldome on these days that many of my regular readers have left due to my seldome posting and my inability to visit thier sites.

    Unfortunately, I am not able to devote time to any groups right now either, and I feel so neglectful to everyone. I unsubscribed from the group, so as not to be useless baggage on your list, but I have learned a great deal from the site, and you have my heartfelt thanks for allowing me to be a part of the experience. I still have it bookmarked, so I'll stop in occasionally and read up on posts if you don't mind. There is a lot of talent and heart in the posts I have seen, and I would be very sad to miss it all.

    To yourself and all others...Peace and joy be yours.

  • This is a particularly interesting topic to me...One of the reasons that I decided to study Library Science was my love for books and  for libraries.  It's early in the morning as I write this.  I'll come back and write on this topic since it deserves more from me than just a quick , off the top of my head response.  The Cleveland Public Library is one of the greatest in the world and that's where I got my introduction to the wonderful world of libraries.  It was my mom who instilled in me the love for books and for reading.

    Fran

  • Michael,
    Great stuff! I've always been an avid reader, starting at a young age... but I have no idea what the first books I rad or checkout of the library were. I do recall that I used to stay up late at night, when i was supposed to be sleeping, and read about Daniel Boone, Davey Crocket, Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull, and so many other great stories. :coolman:

    BE blessed!
    Steve :spinning:

  • I'm so sorry there wasn't as much acceptable and interesting "children's literature" back in the day.  Who would want to learn to read if it meant Dick and Jane?  Luckily for many of us, our parents started reading to us much earlier and by the time we hit kindergarten or first grade, we were ready for the big stuff.  Ooh, there are two books I want to add to my list of first books, or ones with strong memories.  Maybe I'll go and do that now, if I can find sufficient pictures.  Again, this is a lovely topic for a blog.  I'm biased, of course, but I send my kudos anyway

  • Thanks for the post.  Made me reflect on my introduction to books and reading.

  • Hi Mike! I had tons of those Little Golden Books when I was a kid. My fave from when I was very small was The Pokey Puppy. That book actually fell apart, lol.

    I'm so sorry I had to leave your Internet Isle blog ring, sweetie. I'm so swamped with work that I barely have time to keep up with the posts I've done of late on my Xanga let a lone come up with ones from prompts. I really felt GUILTY when I unsubscribed.

    Anyway, I'll still be visiting here whenever I can!

    Faith

  • Mike, Loved the post, what an awsome adventure you must have had as a child.:) That's what I loved about books as a child and an adult - you can go anywhere, do anything, all within the space of your home, @ virtually no cost!!:) 

    I'm rather new to this whole 'blogging' thing and I'm not sure if I posted my entries correctly.  I don't see my name listed at the top of your web page with the ''new entries'', & I haven't had any comments lately on my posts which leads to to believe I HAVE done something wrong.:(  I really enjoy seeing the topics to write on and then reading others posts, it really gets the ole brain cells working, looking @ things in different ways. 

    I would appreciate ANYONE helping me out here, I'm trying to stretch myself and get into the 21st century with this 'internet on-line journaling'.  Hope to hear from you Mike, or anyone.  I'll keep reading and trying to make entries, and enjoyings others viewpoints.

  • :yes: great post! Funny, reading this reminded me of how I tried to read my set of Encyclopedia Britannica, which my mom bought for me before my birth. I was only  4 or 5 at the time. Fortunately they had some nice photos.

  • I started out with Dick & Jane, too.  I just remember being so frustrated  because of all the kids that didn't "get it" so we would have to over and over it, soooo slowly.

  • Oh dear...When you ask a "retired" children's librarian about books, you are really asking for trouble!:sunny:  I couldn't keep it brief, but no apologies.  A subject after my own heart:goodjob::yes:

    http://www.xanga.com/josaju/506745367/item.html

  • Mike, thanks for the form letter. I need to tell you if the subjects are not of interest to me I am not going to write on them.  I do visit people who have written and I visit you. But I will not be able to write each time you put up some subjects. Sometimes I write on all of them. It is Summer people are away you should consider that. I appreciate you and the blog ring. I will write when I can. Judi

  • I love books, but I can't remember my first one. Great post though, I may not be able to participate in this one, don't want to drop out though. And don't kick me out either lol. RYC: If you checked on your stats and it said nothing, it means that you did not nominate anyone, it does not mean no one nominated you. Also, the thing is say I nominated you, which I am going to do right after i post this, you have to sit through a million other nominated posts and rate them. This is VERY time consuming, and aparently your rating has to be like others ratings, so stupid teens or children may not appreciate your entry on books and give you a low rating, and then I might give you a high rating and then I am not on the same page as other readers, it is so dumb. Also I got nominated ( someone told me they did it ) but I never saw my post to vote on. I did eventually see it when I signed in on my protected all women page, but then it was gone 10 min. later on yet another xanga, it is by far the stupidist thing xanga has ever done. And I pretty much told them that. It is almost worse than featured Content.
    Anyway, I think you do just fine here. It's not like you only get one or two comments and you get people that actually read and appreciate your posts. I get a lot of teens and people that just want me to comment them back for e props. I would be satisfied if I were you. As far as participating in the Isalnd topics, I say if people do they do if they don't they don't. It's your blog ring not mine, but I don't think people like to feel presured. With the featured grown up site, I only did some of the topics. I never felt Denise really cared one way or another. Also, when you have two weeks to do it, you forget, at least I do. I have over 460 people subbed to me. I get about 40 people who comment. I think that if your getting 10 percent of the people participating, your doing well. After all we all have lives, jobs, kids etc.. Just my two cents. :sunny:

  • Great story Mike. I read every single book in the school library in 7th grade. I love books. Judi

  • I nominated you, go give yourself a five, if it shows up after 50 other entries you have to read.

  • HEy Mike, just came back from the library...

    Thank you so much for posting your amazing poem..

    A beautiful effort  that brought tears to my eyes..

  • Brings back memories.

  • Ah,  beautiful memories.

    Our library,  Sarah Platte Decker Library was about three blocks from our home.
    Before I could read Mom would take me to the library with her,  she would pick out books for herself while picking out books for me to read.   I would be sitting off to the side looking at the pictures in books she took from the shelves.

    The Library had a big fireplace with benches at each end  (inglenook ?) where I would peer through the shadows and look at books.

    Before I could read I was given a nice "A Child's Garden Of Verses"  by Robert Lois Stevenson,   which now resides in our youngest child's home.       She read it to her children as they grew.    Late at night when everyone is in bed but me,  I go into their study, light the light and find that book and read it through once again while memories nudge my consciousness.

    When paperbacks became cheap I was in heaven,  I found books that weren't on library shelves and had a blast.

    I think I read the first Astounding Stories magazine  --  now Analog.

    Memories,   sweet, sweet memories.

  • Hmmm... I cant remember the first five books I read in my life.  But I do remember the most memorable books I read before I graduated from high school.  Most likely, I would not remember the authors of the books.

    The first book is called "Hawii".  It is a thousand page book on the 'fictional' history of hawii.  It took me about two years to read this book.  That book I read during high school. 

    The second book is called "Wherever you go, there you are".  It speaks about mindfulness and medation techniques.  I felt stupid in middle school and decided to withdrawl into how the thought processes worked when I was a freshman.  And so I read the book when I was a freshman.

    The third book is called "The Cronicals of Naria".  I am spelling the title wrong but the book was made into the movie Naria.  Its actually a book series (in which I read all of it) and I thought it was a adventurous type of book that expanded the imagination.  I read these series when I was in elementry school.

    The fourth book is called...well I dont remember.  I do know how the story goes.  It starts when the father (who is a scientist) learns knowledge of how to quickly move through space (without a vehicle to transport him) and gets kidnap by evil aliens.  Then the son and daughters of the scientist desire to find him and save him and after a year or so they get their opportunity from meeting this good alien.  They travel through the worlds of the universe, including the darkness covered planets (which is totally controlled by evil aliens) (they later seeing that Earth is partically covered in darkness which is a sign that evil aliens partically control Earth) in the effort to find their father.  Conficts with the evil aliens forces them to retreat back to a good planet to heal their wounds (ice covered planet with white, large, hairy aliens) while losing one of their siblings to the darkness.  The son and daughter later learns how to access their own powers and fight back to retrieve the father and daughter and all return back home.  I read this book when I was in middle school.

    The last book I read is called "Green Eggs and Ham" by Dr. Seuss.  It is the earliest book I read that I could remember.  I read this book when I was in elementry school.

  • I enjoy reading your auto-biographical blog. We are the same age and I had a boyfriend at Arroyo High--I was tall and precocious, though my love and I were chaperoned until I was sixteen, by then he had a green mustang and my family was ready to let me off the rope now and again. He was the Mascot at Arroyo High--literally my knight in shining armor.

    We both sang and I was good at harmony, though I never had his bullhorn of a voice. His Baritone and my Contralto mixed nicely. In those days everyone was listening to and learning the same songs.

    His father survived the Pacific and my father the Burma Theatre, though in reality there was less differrence than one might think, until the drawback throuugh the back door. They both had battle fatigue and we, their first children, both sufferred the effects, though I was in heavier denial than he.

    Until the next year when I was out of school for two months with viral pnuemonia. Not to ambush you on a sensitive subject, but, anyone whose immune system is weak should talk to their MD. There is something God-awful about. I had a heavy bout and got febrile then developed pnuemonia.

    Little more on that, but the ethics are going to be real eye-poppers. I can see why Mark Leavitt drew/was drawn back.

    The Queen of Swords2

  • I constantly emailed this weblog post page to all my friends, for the
    reason that if like to read it after that my friends will
    too.

  • Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your
    efforts and I am waiting for your further post thank you once again.

  • Generally I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to
    say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

  • When I originally commented I clicked the "Notify me when new comments are added" checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  • Hi, I do think this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it ;) I will return yet again since i have bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and
    continue to help others.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories