January 19, 2005

  • News and Notes

    It's already the middle of January. Past the middle, actually, and is that hard to believe, or what? Frankly, THIS is the year I can hardly wait for August, because that's when I finally pay off my 401k loan, and am looking forward to what will seem to amount to a 50 dollar a week raise. I've attempted frugality this year, as I did last year (with the possible exception of the digital camera purchase in Feb. 04 on a credit card.) I wanted to do something last weekend, but receiving a credit card bill on Friday which put me back over the top of the "limit", adding further "overlimit fees" plus "late fees" because I was late getting the payment in, hampered any attempts to go out and spend anymore money I don't have. Years of saying "to heck with it" and using more and more credit, and then not receiving any real raises has just about done me in, and I find it very hard to keep my head above water, as it were. I certainly have enough "entertainment" at home that I don't need to spend any more money, and I'm living proof that people shouldn't figure they will be able to "rectify" credit card situations when they owe over 20 grand in debt to cardholding banks who are little more than money suckers when it comes to APRs and fees. I'm at the point where I'm actually wondering if I'll ever be able to make a dent in the principle on these cards. But it's ALL MY FAULT. Trying to survive frugally right now is like closing the barn door after the horses run away. I know I was stupid. I didn't listen to my friends, and now I'm paying the price.

    But enough of this wallowing in self pity. The ipod MP3 player I've been gushing over now has quite a few CDs burned into it. I haven't checked the capacity lately, but I have nowhere near the 40,000 songs the machine says it's capable of holding. Each morning instead of listening to depressing news on NPR I get worked up by listening to favorite tunes on the way to work. (I have promised myself not to purchase any new CDs on credit, as well)

    The poems I posted last Sunday were given an interesting response on the ElectricPoetry Group. I got a few emails telling me I "used words that were too big" which prompted a laugh and a bit of despair that people who call themselves poets have so small vocabularies and don't want to have to "look up a word" they don't know. I responded telling the naysayers that "back in the day" having a large vocabulary was encouraged, and if one wants to call him or herself a writer, having many shades of meaning at one's disposal is a positive thing, and not a negative thing. I've always been in love with words, and found this kind of response rather shocking.

    It's slowing down a bit at work, after a firestorm of activity during the Holiday season, when municipalities have to get rid of their allotments of lose the money, so we sold a lot of panels during November and December. I noticed a slowdown in the amount of quotes I'm making, which means less work down the road. Good thing we didn't hire any technicians when it was busy, because we'd be looking to let them go after three months on the job.

    I notice I have't posted much here on the Xanga this week, but I haven't really done much to the AllThingsMike website in a while. I did post new poetry, and I'm in the planning stages of writing a "sexual history" which might be interesting. I was a young man during the "sexual revolution" in the 70s, and have what I consider to be some interesting stories to relate. I really want to write more prose this year, but each time I plant myself in front of the computer, I seem to go "exploring" as usual, and rarely finish anything I start. With the money situation, I might even be shutting down the website this year, but as Scarlett O'Hara was wont to say, "I won't think about that now, I'll think about it tomorrow. Because tomorrow is another day."

    Our weather has been nice. I'm still afraid the rains haven't completely "ended" yet so haven't shampooed the inside of the car, but driving around with the top down again is pleasant, and I opened up the windows in my rooms last night for the first time since late fall.

    This morning I go in to see the neurologist for the results of my MRI, prompted by the pinching of a nerve in my left shoulder about four months ago. I don't expect he'll have any news at all, and I'm "living" with the fact two fingers on my left hand seem to be permanently asleep.

    Well, I am at work, it's time to take my daily constitutional around the business park (another activity which had to be curbed during the rains.)

    Oscar nominations are next Tuesday, and I'm looking forward to my friend Jim's sister's Oscar Party again this year. I haven't seen a lot of the films yet, owing to high theater prices, but I'm sort of hoping Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" gets Best Film, Hilary Swank gets Best Actress for the same movie, and that Jaimie Fox gets Best Actor for "Ray" (which I have seen.)

     

Comments (71)

  • People had the nerve to complain that you used "big words":nono:  That is beyond ridiculous.  I :heartbeat: words....all kinds of words...big, small, obscure.....I have read a dictionary in my lifetime...as well as 2 thesaurus.  I respect someone with a great vocabulary....there is no need to dumb-down your writing for the ignorant masses.    Take care  ~jacki

  • I really enjoyed reading about your real life.  Sometimes it helps to read and understand a person's poetry by knowing more about that person.  Or at least I think it helps.

  • I'm with you, I can't wait to see Million Dollar Baby.

  • Anything that requires me to use a dictionary gets extra credit in my book!  Those people that complain about it are only inclined towards exiguous things and addle-pated thinking (gotta love my Thesaurus)!

    As for the financial stuff, I'm in the same boat and unemployed.  Fortunately, I had a great job interview today and feel optimistic about getting the job.  Maybe things will look better for me soon.  For now I guess we both just have to hang in there!

  • High Boy Buildings ClearSpan Fabric End Panels ClearSpan&#153.

  • Pingback: Blue Coaster33
  • Pingback: parking
  • First, what kinds of white and blue color will you after.
    t want to look preposterous and out of place,
    do you. Keep details to a minimum, a small ruffle at the bottom of the skirt would be nice and
    maybe a sash at the waist. Country darling Carrie Underwood never ceases to amaze on the red carpet.
    The dress shirt usually has ruffled collar and sleeve ends.
    s the gradation of color that is the most important thing to consider.
    It is much easier to apply which means you can build it up gradually.

  • Payment for mobile games from trusted sites only or else it will swim
    in the direction of video games can play clash of clans pc
    windows xp it over and over again.

  • I tried out a bomb yields 3, then Smartphone's and Portable
    Media Centers. All these races have got neither of these games.
    2 Froyo and adventure capitalist pc download it is not like
    to play or to leave your home but about the gaming control features.
    These coins can make it yap and try to determine what mobile game Chillingo Ltd, this makes a game or joining an available game.

  • Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I'm trying to
    get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I'm not seeing
    very good success. If you know of any please share.
    Thank you!

  • If you want to improve your know-how just keep visiting this website and be updated with the most up-to-date information posted here.

  • Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us
    so I came to look it over. I'm definitely enjoying the information. I'm bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Great blog and brilliant design and style.

  • Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I'll be subscribing on your rss feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  • This may be a additionally item for many individuals
    who do the job 9 to 5. Have you considered to your
    self if a payday cash advance could help you from a current low-cash circumstances Further more, the review offers information to suggest there is actually a
    detrimental relationship in between college graduating and all round economic affluence in the United States -- greater state government shelling out
    for higher education will be correlated by using lower fees
    of economic growth.

  • This piece of writing will help the internet people for creating
    new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

  • Hello it's me, I am also visiting this website daily,
    this web page is truly fastidious and the visitors are truly sharing good thoughts.

  • An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who has been doing a little
    homework on this. And he actually bought me breakfast because I found it
    for him... lol. So allow me to reword this.... Thanks for
    the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the
    time to talk about this issue here on your website.

  • I am ssure this paragraph has touched alll the internet visitors,
    its really really pleasant piece of writing on building up
    nnew blog.

  • 618085 259951Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a weblog website? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I had been just a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided brilliant transparent concept 272717

  • 842891 262913I dont feel Ive scan anything like this before. So excellent to locate somebody with some original thoughts on this topic. thank for starting this up. This site is something that is necessary on the internet, someone with a bit originality. Excellent job for bringing something new towards the internet! 854757

  • Hello colleagues, how is all, and what you want to say regarding
    this paragraph, in my view its really awesome designed
    for me.

  • Hello to all, how is the whole thing, I think every
    one is getting more from this web page, and your views are pleasant in favor of new people.

  • Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just
    your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable
    and everything. But think about if you added some great photos
    or videos to give your posts more, "pop"! Your content is
    excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could certainly be one of the very best in its niche.
    Good blog!

  • It's a shame you don't have a donate button! I'd definitely donate to this fantastic
    blog! I guess for now i'll settle for book-marking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  • This piece of writing offers clear idea designed for the new viewers of blogging, that truly how to do blogging and site-building.

  • 122765 152400Howdy! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the great information you might have here on this post. I will likely be coming back to your weblog for more soon. 760214

  • Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this post and the rest of the site is also very good.

  • Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly
    long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn't show up.
    Grrrr... well I'm not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

  • My partner and I stumbled over here from a
    different web address and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i'm following you. Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

  • Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital
    to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog
    posts. Anyway I'll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  • At this moment I am ready to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming yet again to read other news.

  • It's impressive that you are getting ideas from this paragraph as well as from our dialogue
    made at this time.

  • Thanks , I've recently been looking for information approximately this
    subject for a while and yours is the best I have found out till now.
    However, what concerning the bottom line?

    Are you certain in regards to the supply?

  • This excellent website truly has all of the information I
    wanted about this subject and didn't know who to ask.

  • Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article! It's the little changes that
    make the biggest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  • Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You have done a great job. I'll definitely digg it and in my opinion recommend to
    my friends. I am sure they'll be benefited from this web site.

  • Net als elke andere kaart spel, zijn er unieke merken voor
    dat verschillende armen deel aan poker.

  • If you place a bet, the chances are often set in stone; however, with a few athletics
    the odds aren't decided before genuine competition begins.
    Recalling the fundamental guidelines do assist,
    thus realizing which good hand, bad hand, is or good hand and the way to perform in your favor can really make the game more interesting.

  • Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever
    been blogging for? you make running a blog look easy.
    The full look of your site is great, as neatly as the content!

  • Excellent pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your site.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and
    in my view recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this site.

  • Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it,
    you will be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and
    may come back from now on. I want to encourage you to definitely
    continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  • Great blog here! Also your website quite a bit up fast!
    What web host are you using? Can I get your associate hyperlink
    on your host? I desire my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  • You are so awesome! I do not think I've read anything like that before.
    So nice to find somebody with a few original thoughts on this topic.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This website is something that
    is needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  • Please let me know if you're looking for a article author for your site.
    You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I'd love to write some content for your blog
    in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.

    Thanks!

  • Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I'd figured I'd ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My blog discusses
    a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you're interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward
    to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  • Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to say that I've really loved surfing around your weblog posts.

    After all I'll be subscribing to your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

  • Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I'm using the same blog platform as yours and I'm having problems
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

  • If some one wants expert view concerning blogging then i propose
    him/her to pay a visit this webpage, Keep up the nice job.

  • These benefits can be specified by body builders whom choose to use the common cooking of Masteron, Proviron.

  • It's going to be end of mine day, except before
    finish I am reading this wonderful paragraph to improve my experience.

  • What's up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to
    this sensible post.

  • Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!
    I certainly enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will remember to
    bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage you continue your great job,
    have a nice morning!

  • Hi, everything is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that's in fact excellent, keep up writing.

  • Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to
    be on the net the simplest factor to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at the same time as people consider worries that they plainly don't recognise about.

    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the whole thing without
    having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  • It's hard to come by well-informed people about this topic, but you seem like you know
    what you're talking about! Thanks

  • Greetings from Carolina! I'm bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.

    I love the information you provide here and can't wait to take a look when I get home.
    I'm amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell
    phone .. I'm not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

  • With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of unique content I've either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all
    over the internet without my agreement. Do
    you know any methods to help stop content from being stolen? I'd truly appreciate it.

  • Thanks , I've recently been searching for information approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I have discovered till now.
    But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the supply?

  • They also recognize exactly how much you have to spend
    for handling charges and the kind of documents
    that you need to send.

  • Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I'll bookmark your web site
    and take the feeds also? I'm satisfied to find numerous useful information here in the publish, we need work out more strategies in this regard, thank you for
    sharing. . . . . .

  • Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make severely posts
    I'd state. This is the first time I frequented
    your website page and up to now? I amazed with the research you made
    to create this particular submit amazing. Excellent process!

  • Hi! I'm at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone
    3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to
    all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

  • In several states, lawfully taken into consideration an expert on nutrition. Registered with the Payment of Dietetic Registration (CDR).

  • You could certainly see your expertise within the work you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time go after your heart.

  • This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I've joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I've shared your website in my social networks!

  • Though nutritionists are not allowed to provide or modify clinical prescriptions, they could advise certain supplements.

  • What you composed was actually very logical.
    However, what about this? suppose you were
    to write a killer headline? I mean, I don't wish to tell you how to
    run your website, but what if you added a headline that grabbed people's attention? I mean News and Notes
    | WhenWordsCollide is kinda boring. You might look at Yahoo's home page and watch how they create news titles to get viewers
    to open the links. You might try adding a video or a picture or two to grab readers excited
    about what you've written. In my opinion, it could bring your blog
    a little livelier.

  • Wonderful article! That is the type of info that should be shared
    around the web. Disgrace on Google for no longer positioning this post higher!

    Come on over and consult with my web site . Thank you =)

  • Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worked hard on. Any suggestions?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories